Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Eaton et al. (U.S. patent 5,938,616, hereinafter “Eaton”). Regarding claim 1, Eaton teaches an endoscope comprising:
A control portion including a housing (figure 1 element 22 shown by the right arrow in the first image below) and an actuator (figure 1 element 28 shown by the middle arrow in the image below)
An insertion tube (figure 1 element 12 shown by the left arrow in the image below) configured for insertion into a cavity of a patient to perform at least one of visual inspection and a therapeutic intervention (col. 5 lines 51-55), wherein the actuator is configured to articulate an articulating end of the insertion tube (col 1. Lines 58-62)
A first alignment indicator (figure 4 element 82 shown with an arrow in the second image below) on the housing
A second alignment indicator (figure 4 element 80 circled in the second image below) on the actuator, wherein when the second alignment indicator on the actuator is aligned with the first alignment indicator on the housing, the insertion tube is articulated in a neutral position allowing insertion and removal of the insertion tube from the cavity of the patient (col. 4 lines 16-20)
Regarding claim 2, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the actuator includes a first articulation knob (figure 4 element 28 shown by the left arrow below) and a second articulation knob (figure 4 element 30 shown by the right arrow below) that are mounted coaxially.
Regarding claim 3, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the first articulation knob includes the second alignment indicator (figure 4 element 80 on element 28), and the second articulation knob includes a third alignment indicator (figure 4 element 80 on element 30).
Regarding claim 4, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the insertion tube is in the neutral position when the second alignment indicator on the first articulation knob and the third alignment indicator on the second articulation knob are aligned with the first alignment indicator on the housing (column 4 lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 5, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the actuator includes a first articulation knob and a second articulation knob, and the first articulation knob includes the second alignment indicator (figure 4 element 80 on element 28 labeled “Second”) and a third alignment indicator (figure 4 the raised edge on element 28 labeled “Third”), and one of the housing and the second articulation knob includes a fourth alignment indicator (figure 4 the raised edge on 30 labeled “Fourth”).
Regarding claim 6, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the insertion tube is in the neutral position when the second alignment indicator on the first articulation knob is aligned with the first alignment indicator (figure 4 element 82) on the housing (figure 4 circled below) and the third alignment indicator on the first articulation knob is aligned with the fourth alignment indicator on the second articulation knob (figure 4 shown by arrows below).
Regarding claim 7, Eaton teaches an endoscope wherein the first alignment indicator and the second alignment indicator are visually different than the third alignment indicator and the fourth alignment indicator. As seen in figure 4, the first and second alignment indicators circled below are visually different than the third and fourth indicators pointed to by arrows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eaton in view of Gorringe et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2921/0353132, hereinafter “Gorringe”). While Eaton teaches the elements of claim 1, it fails to teach an endoscope wherein the actuator comprises a lever. Gorringe teaches an endoscope wherein the actuator (figure 2 element 118) comprises a lever. The two knob actuators of Eaton are said in the specification to respectively deflect the distal end in two transverse planes (col. 2 40-44), while Gorringe’s lever actuator controls angular movement of the distal end from -270 to +270 degrees from neutral (paragraph 48). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eaton with the lever actuator of Gorringe in order to add angular rotation capability to the endoscope’s distal end.
Conclusion
/DAYTON HYUN JIN BARKER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795