DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 05/20/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 02/20/2026. Independent claims 1, 14 and 20 are amended. Claims 17-19 are canceled. A new set of claims 21-23 are added. Therefore, claims 1-16 and 20-23 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 8, 14-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (2018/0254863 as submitted in IDS), Choi hereinafter, in view of Ren et al. (2022/0095144), Ren hereinafter.
Re. claims 1, 14 and 20, Choi teaches a method (Fig/ 6-7 & ¶0085-¶0087) performed by a device of a base station (Fig. 1, 105), a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1, 185) including instructions wherein the instructions (Fig.1 & ¶0048-¶0049), when executed by at least one processor (Fig. 1, 180) of a device of a base station (Fig. 1, 105), and a device of a base station (Fig. 1, 105), comprising: memory (Fig. 1, 185) storing instructions (Fig.1 & ¶0048-¶0049); a transceiver (Fig. 1, 125/190); and at least one processor (Fig. 1, 180) including processing circuitry (Fig. 1, 180), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (Fig.1 & ¶0048-¶0049), cause the device to: receive, through the transceiver, uplink signals within symbols of a first slot (Fig. 7 & ¶0085 - while the SRS for beam tracking of UE 2 can be transmitted in a corresponding symbol through all bands, if UE 1 or UE 3 transmits an uplink control channel or an uplink data channel through the corresponding symbol, interference due to SRS of UE 2 increases in the corresponding symbol. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - For UE Tx beam tracking, a UE needs to transmit the SRS depending on each candidate Tx beam. As the number of candidate Tx beams of the UE increases, the number of SRS symbols increases due to repeated SRS transmission for beam tracking. Accordingly, different frame structures may be configured in a serving cell and neighbor cells. Particularly, an SRS channel causes big interference to other cells during UE Tx beam tracking on uplink.); in response to receiving the uplink signals, obtain an interference strength of a symbol that has an index usable for transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) on a neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot (Fig. 7 & ¶0085 - while the SRS for beam tracking of UE 2 can be transmitted in a corresponding symbol through all bands, if UE 1 or UE 3 transmits an uplink control channel or an uplink data channel through the corresponding symbol, interference due to SRS of UE 2 increases in the corresponding symbol. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - For UE Tx beam tracking, a UE needs to transmit the SRS depending on each candidate Tx beam. As the number of candidate Tx beams of the UE increases, the number of SRS symbols increases due to repeated SRS transmission for beam tracking. Accordingly, different frame structures may be configured in a serving cell and neighbor cells. Particularly, an SRS channel causes big interference to other cells during UE Tx beam tracking on uplink. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - method through which a UE previously detects candidate Tx beam IDs that may cause big interference and reports, to a serving cell, information about the candidate Tx beam IDs and information about corresponding neighbor cell IDs (neighbor cell IDs corresponding to the candidate Tx beam IDs) during SR transmission or through transmission of a new physical uplink control channel (e.g., xPUCCH hereinafter). Fig. 7 & ¶0087 - each UE is previously aware of neighbor cell IDs and Tx beam IDs that cause interference to other cells during SRS transmission through neighbor cell search around the serving cell.); transmit, through the transceiver to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information indicating the determined at least one symbol from among the symbols of the second slot as the time resources for uplink data to be transmitted from the UE within the second slot, wherein the downlink control information is used by the UE to prevent transmission of uplink data within a symbol of the second slot having an index corresponding to the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI.).
Yet, Choi does not expressly teach based on the interference strength being greater than a threshold strength, determine, from among symbols of a second slot, at least one symbol each having another index distinct from the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell;
However, in the analogous art, Ren explicitly discloses based on the interference strength being greater than a threshold strength, determine, from among symbols of a second slot, at least one symbol each having another index distinct from the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell; (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0094 - The network may use the measurement report to determine whether the UE-to-UE CLI (e.g., CLI 225) is causing too much performance degradation at UE 115-b or whether UE 115-b can handle more interference (e.g., whether the performance degradation at UE 115-b due to CLI 225 is above or below a threshold or tolerance). In some cases, the network may determine that UE 115-b can handle more interference from the CLI 225 and implement more aggressive TDD configurations 205 for one or both of the cells (e.g., the first and second cells associated with UE 115-a and 115-b). The more aggressive TDD configurations 205 may introduce an increase in overlapping symbols and increased instances or durations of CLI 225, but possibly result in higher throughput. In some cases, the network may determine that the interference from the CLI 225 affects the downlink reception at UE 115-b too much (e.g., performance degradation at UE 115-b due to CLI 225 is above a threshold or tolerance), and the network may implement less aggressive TDD configurations 205 for one or both of the cells. The less aggressive TDD configurations 205 may reduce the number of overlapping symbols and reduce the UE-to-UE CLI (e.g., CLI 225), provide for reduced transmission power, or combinations thereof, which may improve channel conditions for the victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b). Fig. 2-7 & ¶0095 - Based on channel reciprocity of the TDD channel, the measurement performed by UE 115-a may also reflect aggressor-to-victim interference strength. In cases where CLI measurements are based on SRS, measurement and reporting may be based on SRS at different levels. For example, measurement and reporting may be cell-specific in which all UEs in a cell transmit the same SRS, group-specific in which a subset of UEs in the cell transmit the same SRS, or UE-specific in which each UE in the cell transmits a distinctive SRS (e.g., an SRS associated with the UE). Fig. 2-7 & ¶0096 - for SRS-based CLI measurements, the UE 115-b in the victim cell may observe strong interference (e.g., interference above a threshold) and report it (CLI) to the base station 105-b. The system may trigger the CLI measurement among cells, and a potential aggressor UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may transmit SRS in two symbols of a slot. The victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b) may measure the SRS in the configured resource in a downlink reception, and provide a CLI report including measured parameters, such as RSRP, RSSI, one or more other parameters (e.g., signal to noise ratio (SNR), or combinations thereof. In other examples that include performing measurements and reporting based on other uplink traffic (e.g., PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions), the aggressor UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may send a transmission using scheduled resources, and victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b) may estimate the downlink reception at configured CLI resources and provide a CLI measurement report to base station 105-b. Fig. 2-7 & ¶0124 - At 745, the base station 105-d may transmit a CLI measurement report to the base station 105-c. The base station 105-c may receive the CLI measurement report and, at 750, modify one or more UE transmissions based on the CLI measurement report. For example, if CLI measurements are above a threshold value, the base station 105-d may change the first TDD configuration to a more aggressive TDD configuration or provide for increased transmit power to be used at UE 115-c. If CLI measurements are below a threshold value, the base station 105-c may change the first TDD configuration to be less aggressive or provide for reduced transmit power to be used at the UE 115-c);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system to include Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for backhaul communications and identification of resources for cross-link interference (CLI) measurements and reporting, for wireless networks deployed in time division duplexing (TDD) system, in turns, provides an efficient identification and mitigation of excessive CLI due to the TDD system, which further improves efficiency and reliability of the wireless communications system. (¶0002-¶0004, Ren)
Re. Claims 2 and 15, Choi and Ren teach claims 1 and 14.
Choi further teaches wherein transmission of uplink data on a bandwidth configured for the UE within the symbol of the second slot having the index corresponding to the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell is disabled based on the interference strength being greater than the threshold strength, and wherein transmission of uplink data on at least a portion of the bandwidth within the symbol of the second slot having the index corresponding to the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell is enabled based on the interference strength being less than the threshold strength. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI. Also, See, claims 1-7 & 9-15.).
Re. Claims 3 and 16, Choi and Ren teach claims 1 and 14.
Choi further teaches determining the at least one symbol as the time resources by recognizing, based on the interference strength being greater than the threshold strength, that a symbol having an index corresponding to the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell is interfered by the SRS. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI).
Re. Claim 4, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Choi further teaches obtaining the symbol usable for transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot based on information associated with the SRS and a reference symbol different from the symbol usable for transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot, wherein the information associated with the SRS includes the index of the symbol usable for transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot, and wherein the interference strength is calculated based on first reception power of uplink signals within the symbol usable for transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot and second reception power of uplink signals within the reference symbol of the first slot. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI).
Re. Claim 8, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Choi further teaches wherein the interference strength of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell is identified based on a first set of interference strengths for resource blocks in the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot and a second set of interference strengths for reception paths included in the base station in the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI).
Re. Claim 21, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Choi further teaches based on the interference strength being less than the threshold strength, refrain from determining, from among the symbols of the second slot, the at least one symbol each having the another index distinct from the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI. Also, See, claims 1-7 & 9-15).
Re. Claim 22, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Choi further teaches based on the interference strength being less than the threshold strength, determine the symbols of the second slot as usable for transmission of the uplink data to be transmitted from the UE. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI. Also, See, claims 1-7 & 9-15).
Re. Claim 23, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Choi further teaches based on the interference strength being less than the threshold strength, transmit, through to the UE, other downlink control information indicating the symbols of the second slot as the time resources for the uplink data to be transmitted from the UE. (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0092 - it may be assumed that a TRP Tx beam and a UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are paired in a serving cell and that the neighbor cell ID to which high interference is applied via overhearing (during this operation, signals are detected as the UE Rx beam is swept) and information on the TRP Tx beam of the neighbor cell and the UE Rx beam corresponding thereto are acquired. As a method of permitting a UE to have the neighbor cell ID and the UE Rx beam ID, during downlink beam search, a sequence indicating each TRP beam ID may be transmitted by a prepared cell and the ID may be detected via beam sweeping of the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0093 - When a power value in the TRP Tx/UE Rx pair in any neighbor cell is greater than a specific threshold a, the UE may have the pair information. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0095 - A UE may perform uplink transmission using an uplink data resource and an SRS resource corresponding to TRP Tx/UE Rx beam with a serving cell and have TRP Tx/UE Rx beam ID in neighbor cells via the downlink beam search method. Accordingly, according to beam reciprocity, the UE Rx beam ID may be the UE Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0103 - Referring to Table 12, the UE can transmit an SR and an xPUCCH including a 1-bit flag. Here, the 1-bit flag indicates whether a Tx beam ID causing big interference to a neighbor cell during SRS transmission and a related neighbor cell ID is reported (or a reporting request). Fig. 6-12 & ¶0104 - When the 1-bit flag is enabled (e.g., when the flag is set to “1”), the serving BS may indicate the position of an xPUCCH resource or an xPUSCH resource through which information about a UE Tx beam ID causing interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID related to the Tx beam ID will be transmitted by transmitting downlink control information (DCI) to the UE. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0108 - Referring to FIG. 10, the serving BS may allocate only the information about a Tx beam ID that causes the biggest interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto to an xPUCCH resource such that the information will be transmitted through the xPUCCH resource. Particularly, the serving BS can indicate the position of a resource used for transmission in the xPUCCH through DCI. Also, See, claims 1-7 & 9-15).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Ren, further in view of IBRAHIM et al. (2024/0121648), IBRAHIM648 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Choi and Ren teach claim 4.
Choi further teaches when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, 180), cause the device to: based on the uplink signals, which do not include uplink data across the symbols of the first slot, that are obtained within a resource block of a bandwidth configured for the UE (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0100 - An indicator (e.g., a flag) indicating reporting of information about a UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell due to SRS transmission and information about a related neighbor cell ID to a serving cell (or serving BS) may be transmitted (through an xPUCCH). When the flag is enabled, the UE can report, to the serving cell, the information about the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to uplink of a neighbor cell and information about the neighbor cell ID corresponding to the UE Tx beam ID. Accordingly, the serving cell can instruct the UE not to transmit an SRS corresponding to the reported Tx beam ID. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0101 - When the flag is used, the UE can transmit the UE Tx beam ID that causes big interference to a neighbor cell and a neighbor cell ID corresponding thereto through the xPUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (referred to as xPUSCH hereinafter) only when the UE desires, reducing uplink resource overhead.),
Yet, Choi and Ren do not teach calculate the first reception power identified based on noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot, calculate the second reception power identified based on noise of the reference symbol; and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the second reception power.
However, in the analogous art, IBRAHIM648 explicitly discloses calculate the first reception power identified based on noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot, calculate the second reception power identified based on noise of the reference symbol (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0006 - receive, from one or more of a network node or a second UE, a reference signal in a first subband of a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) slot; and transmit, to the network node, a cross-link interference (CLI) report that indicates: a first CLI measurement associated with the reference signal in the first subband of the SBFD slot, and a second CLI measurement associated with a second subband of the SBFD slot. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0085 - For inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement, in a first approach, a victim UE may measure RSSI and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) within a downlink subband. In a second approach, a victim UE may measure an RSRP of an aggressor UE within an uplink subband. In a third approach, a victim UE may measure an RSSI within an uplink subband. A restriction that CLI is only measured within a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) may not forbid a UE from measuring CLI in an uplink subband when the uplink subband is confined within the downlink BWP. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0091 - The UE may experience inter-cell CLI, which may be interference from UEs in adjacent cells. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0099 - An uplink subband associated with the third slot may be associated with a CLI reference signal (CLI-RS), which may be a sounding reference signal (SRS). Fig. 3-17 & ¶0120 - CLI-RSRP measurement resource may correspond to (or match with) a CLI-RS transmitted by a second UE (e.g., an aggressor UE) in an uplink subband of an SBFD slot. For example, the second UE may be configured with an SRS in the uplink subband, and a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) may be configured with the CLI-RSRP measurement resource for measuring a CLI-RSRP associated with the SRS transmitted by the second UE); and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the second reception power (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0145 - the CLI report may indicate whether a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) is associated with the blocking. The first UE may determine whether or not the blocking exists by comparing a CLI measurement (e.g., a CLI-RSRP measurement or a CLI-RSSI measurement) and a maximum input power. The blocking may be based at least in part on a comparison of the CLI measurement to the maximum input power. For example, when a difference between the measurement and the maximum input power satisfies a threshold, the first UE may determine that the blocking exists, and the first UE may transmit an indication that the blocking exists to a network node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system and Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system to include IBRAHIM648’s invention of a system and a method for cross-link interference (CLI) reporting with measurements for multiple subbands in a 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement for working in two operating bands identified as frequency range designations FR1 (410 MHz-7.125 GHz) and FR2 (24.25 GHz-52.6 GHz) in the 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0042, IBRAHIM648)
Re. Claim 6, Choi and Ren teach claim 4.
Choi further teaches when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, 180), cause the device (Fig. 1, 105) to: based on the uplink signals, which include uplink data across one or more symbols that are different from the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell from among the symbols of the first slot, that are obtained within a resource block of a bandwidth configured for the UE (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 7 & ¶0085 - while the SRS for beam tracking of UE 2 can be transmitted in a corresponding symbol through all bands, if UE 1 or UE 3 transmits an uplink control channel or an uplink data channel through the corresponding symbol, interference due to SRS of UE 2 increases in the corresponding symbol. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - For UE Tx beam tracking, a UE needs to transmit the SRS depending on each candidate Tx beam. As the number of candidate Tx beams of the UE increases, the number of SRS symbols increases due to repeated SRS transmission for beam tracking. Accordingly, different frame structures may be configured in a serving cell and neighbor cells. Particularly, an SRS channel causes big interference to other cells during UE Tx beam tracking on uplink. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - method through which a UE previously detects candidate Tx beam IDs that may cause big interference and reports, to a serving cell, information about the candidate Tx beam IDs and information about corresponding neighbor cell IDs (neighbor cell IDs corresponding to the candidate Tx beam IDs) during SR transmission or through transmission of a new physical uplink control channel (e.g., xPUCCH hereinafter). Fig. 7 & ¶0087 - each UE is previously aware of neighbor cell IDs and Tx beam IDs that cause interference to other cells during SRS transmission through neighbor cell search around the serving cell.),
Yet, Choi and Ren do not expressly teach calculate the first reception power identified based on noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot; calculate noise of the reference symbol associated with the second reception power using a reference signal mapped to the reference symbol included in the one or more symbols; and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the noise of the reference symbol.
However, in the analogous art, IBRAHIM648 explicitly discloses calculate the first reception power identified based on noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot; calculate noise of the reference symbol associated with the second reception power using a reference signal mapped to the reference symbol included in the one or more symbols; and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the noise of the reference symbol. (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0006 - receive, from one or more of a network node or a second UE, a reference signal in a first subband of a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) slot; and transmit, to the network node, a cross-link interference (CLI) report that indicates: a first CLI measurement associated with the reference signal in the first subband of the SBFD slot, and a second CLI measurement associated with a second subband of the SBFD slot. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0085 - For inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement, in a first approach, a victim UE may measure RSSI and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) within a downlink subband. In a second approach, a victim UE may measure an RSRP of an aggressor UE within an uplink subband. In a third approach, a victim UE may measure an RSSI within an uplink subband. A restriction that CLI is only measured within a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) may not forbid a UE from measuring CLI in an uplink subband when the uplink subband is confined within the downlink BWP. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0091 - The UE may experience inter-cell CLI, which may be interference from UEs in adjacent cells. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0099 - An uplink subband associated with the third slot may be associated with a CLI reference signal (CLI-RS), which may be a sounding reference signal (SRS). Fig. 3-17 & ¶0120 - CLI-RSRP measurement resource may correspond to (or match with) a CLI-RS transmitted by a second UE (e.g., an aggressor UE) in an uplink subband of an SBFD slot. For example, the second UE may be configured with an SRS in the uplink subband, and a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) may be configured with the CLI-RSRP measurement resource for measuring a CLI-RSRP associated with the SRS transmitted by the second UE); and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the noise of the reference symbol (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0145 - the CLI report may indicate whether a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) is associated with the blocking. The first UE may determine whether or not the blocking exists by comparing a CLI measurement (e.g., a CLI-RSRP measurement or a CLI-RSSI measurement) and a maximum input power. The blocking may be based at least in part on a comparison of the CLI measurement to the maximum input power. For example, when a difference between the measurement and the maximum input power satisfies a threshold, the first UE may determine that the blocking exists, and the first UE may transmit an indication that the blocking exists to a network node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system and Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system to include IBRAHIM648’s invention of a system and a method for cross-link interference (CLI) reporting with measurements for multiple subbands in a 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement for working in two operating bands identified as frequency range designations FR1 (410 MHz-7.125 GHz) and FR2 (24.25 GHz-52.6 GHz) in the 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0042, IBRAHIM648)
Re. Claim 7, Choi and Ren teach claim 4.
Choi further teaches when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, 180), cause the device (Fig. 1, 105) to: based on the uplink signals, which include uplink data across the symbols of the first slot, that are obtained within a resource block of a bandwidth configured for the UE, calculate the first reception power identified based on reception power for uplink data of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot (Fig. 6-12 & ¶0053 - For Tx beam tracking of a UE, the UE needs to transmit an SRS according to each candidate UE Tx beam. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0054 - SRS transmission in a 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system …. described in the following table 1 <SRS Bandwidth, BSRS >. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0056 - The following table 3 < The serving cell specific SRS transmission bandwidths C.SRS are configured by higher layers… The SRS transmission bandwidth and starting physical resource block assignment are the same for all the configured antenna ports of a given serving cell.> shows additional description related to SRS transmission in the 3GPP LTE/LTE-A system. Fig. 6-12 & ¶0091 - downlink beam search setting requires assumption that a UE has a serving cell and neighbor cell ID in a network configured by prepared cells including a serving cell. Fig. 7 & ¶0085 - while the SRS for beam tracking of UE 2 can be transmitted in a corresponding symbol through all bands, if UE 1 or UE 3 transmits an uplink control channel or an uplink data channel through the corresponding symbol, interference due to SRS of UE 2 increases in the corresponding symbol. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - For UE Tx beam tracking, a UE needs to transmit the SRS depending on each candidate Tx beam. As the number of candidate Tx beams of the UE increases, the number of SRS symbols increases due to repeated SRS transmission for beam tracking. Accordingly, different frame structures may be configured in a serving cell and neighbor cells. Particularly, an SRS channel causes big interference to other cells during UE Tx beam tracking on uplink. Fig. 7 & ¶0086 - method through which a UE previously detects candidate Tx beam IDs that may cause big interference and reports, to a serving cell, information about the candidate Tx beam IDs and information about corresponding neighbor cell IDs (neighbor cell IDs corresponding to the candidate Tx beam IDs) during SR transmission or through transmission of a new physical uplink control channel (e.g., xPUCCH hereinafter). Fig. 7 & ¶0087 - each UE is previously aware of neighbor cell IDs and Tx beam IDs that cause interference to other cells during SRS transmission through neighbor cell search around the serving cell.),
Yet, Choi and Ren do not expressly teach noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot; calculate the second reception power identified based on noise of the reference symbol and reception power for uplink data of the reference symbol; and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the second reception power.
However, in the analogous art, IBRAHIM648 explicitly discloses noise of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0006 - receive, from one or more of a network node or a second UE, a reference signal in a first subband of a sub-band full-duplex (SBFD) slot; and transmit, to the network node, a cross-link interference (CLI) report that indicates: a first CLI measurement associated with the reference signal in the first subband of the SBFD slot, and a second CLI measurement associated with a second subband of the SBFD slot. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0085 - For inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement, in a first approach, a victim UE may measure RSSI and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) within a downlink subband. In a second approach, a victim UE may measure an RSRP of an aggressor UE within an uplink subband. In a third approach, a victim UE may measure an RSSI within an uplink subband. A restriction that CLI is only measured within a downlink bandwidth part (BWP) may not forbid a UE from measuring CLI in an uplink subband when the uplink subband is confined within the downlink BWP. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0091 - The UE may experience inter-cell CLI, which may be interference from UEs in adjacent cells. Fig. 3-17 & ¶0099 - An uplink subband associated with the third slot may be associated with a CLI reference signal (CLI-RS), which may be a sounding reference signal (SRS). Fig. 3-17 & ¶0120 - CLI-RSRP measurement resource may correspond to (or match with) a CLI-RS transmitted by a second UE (e.g., an aggressor UE) in an uplink subband of an SBFD slot. For example, the second UE may be configured with an SRS in the uplink subband, and a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) may be configured with the CLI-RSRP measurement resource for measuring a CLI-RSRP associated with the SRS transmitted by the second UE); calculate the second reception power identified based on noise of the reference symbol and reception power for uplink data of the reference symbol; and calculate the interference strength based on a maximum value of reference power and a difference between the first reception power and the second reception power. (Fig. 3-17 & ¶0145 - the CLI report may indicate whether a first UE (e.g., a victim UE) is associated with the blocking. The first UE may determine whether or not the blocking exists by comparing a CLI measurement (e.g., a CLI-RSRP measurement or a CLI-RSSI measurement) and a maximum input power. The blocking may be based at least in part on a comparison of the CLI measurement to the maximum input power. For example, when a difference between the measurement and the maximum input power satisfies a threshold, the first UE may determine that the blocking exists, and the first UE may transmit an indication that the blocking exists to a network node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system and Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system to include IBRAHIM648’s invention of a system and a method for cross-link interference (CLI) reporting with measurements for multiple subbands in a 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing inter-UE inter-subband CLI measurement for working in two operating bands identified as frequency range designations FR1 (410 MHz-7.125 GHz) and FR2 (24.25 GHz-52.6 GHz) in the 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0042, IBRAHIM648)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Ren, further in view of IBRAHIM et al. (2024/0080875), IBRAHIM875 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Choi and Ren teach claim 1.
Yet, Choi and Ren do not expressly teach wherein the threshold strength is identified based on at least one modulation coding scheme (MCS), a power headroom (PH), or a number of allocatable resource blocks.
However, in the analogous art, IBRAHIM875 explicitly discloses wherein the threshold strength is identified based on at least one modulation coding scheme (MCS), a power headroom (PH), or a number of allocatable resource blocks. (Fig. 3-6 & ¶0078 - network unit 105 may determine the interference level threshold(s) based on the parameters associated with the scheduled downlink communications to the UE 115b and/or other UEs. For example, the interference level threshold may be based on a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) associated with the downlink communications, time/frequency resources associated with the downlink communications. Please note that examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system and Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system to include IBRAHIM875’s invention of a system and a method for uplink configured grant adaption based on interference measurements in a 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for self-contained integrated subframe supporting communications in unlicensed or contention-based shared spectrum along with adaptive uplink/downlink as used for flexibly configured on a per-cell basis in order to dynamically switch between uplink and downlink to meet the current traffic needs operating in the 5G/New Radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0027, IBRAHIM875).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Ren, further in view of Vadapalli et al. (2023/0328742), Vadapalli hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Choi and Ren teach claim 2.
Yet, Choi and Ren do not expressly teach wherein the bandwidth represents one activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a plurality of BWPs configured for the UE on a cell of the base station.
However, in the analogous art, Vadapalli explicitly discloses wherein the bandwidth represents one activated bandwidth part (BWP) of a plurality of BWPs configured for the UE on a cell of the base station. (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0003 - the UE may tune away from a first subscription to a second subscription and operate using the second subscription for a given time interval (e.g., a tune away gap). During the tune away gap, the network entity may transmit downlink signaling, such as downlink control information (DCI), to the UE which indicates a switch from a first BWP (e.g., a currently active BWP) to a second BWP for the first subscription. As the UE is operating using the second subscription during the tune away gap, the UE may be unable to receive the DCI. After the tune away gap, the UE may tune from the second subscription to the first subscription and transmit a scheduling request (SR) to the network entity on one or more BWPs (e.g., including the second BWP) other than the first BWP. The UE may monitor each of the one or more BWPs to determine which is the active BWP for the first subscription. For instance, the network entity may transmit a response to the SR on the second BWP, which is the active BWP after the DCI indicating the switch, to the UE and based on the response, the UE may determine to use the second BWP for communicating with the network entity after the tune away gap using the first subscription. Fig. 2-3 & ¶0064 - the network entity 105-a may configure the UE 115-a with multiple BWPs, may transmit a DCI message for a BWP switch to the UE 115-a, and may expect the UE 115-a to switch BWPs in accordance with the DCI message. For instance, the network entity 105-a may configure the UE 115-a with a BWP 210-a, a BWP 210-b, a BWP 210-c, and a BWP 210-d (e.g., the UE 115-a can be configured with up to four BWPs in the downlink with a single downlink BWP being active at a given time). In such examples in which the network entity 105-a configures the UE 115-a with multiple BWPs, the network entity 105-a may be able to switch the BWP of the UE 115-a via a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 0_1 through a BWP indicator field.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Choi’s invention of a system and a method for reducing inter-cell interference caused by transmission beam tracking in a wireless communication system and Ren’s invention of measurement and reporting for UE-to-UE interference in a wireless communication system to include Vadapalli’s invention of a system and a method for supporting control mechanisms for bandwidth part (BWP) switching for multiple subscribers in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling a user equipment (UE) that supports multiple subscriber identification modules (SIMS) in determining a BWP (bandwidth part) to use for communication with a network device after a tune away gap during which the UE tunes away from a first subscription (e.g., a default data SIM (DDS) subscription) to a second subscription (e.g., a non-DDS (nDDS) subscription) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0003, Vadapalli).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 10 – store the interference strength identified at first timing; and in response to identifying an event at second timing after the first timing, perform reservation for at least one resource block of the symbol having the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell of the first slot or allocation the at least resource block for the UE transmitting uplink signals, wherein the second timing represents a time for scheduling resources on the at least one symbol, wherein the reservation is performed in response to the uplink signals including a resource block not including uplink data in the symbols of the first slot or a resource block including uplink data in the at least one symbol of the symbols of the first slot, wherein the allocation is performed in response to the uplink signals including uplink data in the symbols of the first slot.
Claim 11 – Depends on claim 10.
Claim 12 – based on the interference strength being less than the threshold strength and greater than another threshold strength which is less than the threshold strength, store information for the interference strength; in response to transmitting to the UE, the downlink control information indicating the at least one symbol as the time resources for the uplink data, receive the uplink data on the at least one symbol of the second slot; perform decoding for the uplink data using noise information corrected by the stored information for the interference strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/20/2026 with respect to independent claims 1, 14 and 20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 10-11 as submitted on 05/20/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts Choi or Ren fails to teach, “based on the interference strength being greater than a threshold strength, determine, from among symbols of a second slot, at least one symbol each having another index distinct from the index usable for the transmission of the SRS on the neighbor cell;”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Ren discloses that the network may use the measurement report to determine whether the UE-to-UE CLI <i.e., cross-link interference > (e.g., CLI 225) is causing too much performance degradation at UE 115-b or whether UE 115-b can handle more interference (e.g., whether the performance degradation at UE 115-b due to CLI 225 is above or below a threshold or tolerance). In some cases, the network may determine that UE 115-b can handle more interference from the CLI 225 and implement more aggressive TDD configurations 205 for one or both of the cells (e.g., the first and second cells associated with UE 115-a and 115-b). The more aggressive TDD configurations 205 may introduce an increase in overlapping symbols and increased instances or durations of CLI 225, but possibly result in higher throughput. In some cases, the network may determine that the interference from the CLI 225 affects the downlink reception at UE 115-b too much (e.g., performance degradation at UE 115-b due to CLI 225 is above a threshold or tolerance), and the network may implement less aggressive TDD configurations 205 for one or both of the cells. The less aggressive TDD configurations 205 may reduce the number of overlapping symbols and reduce the UE-to-UE CLI (e.g., CLI 225), provide for reduced transmission power, or combinations thereof, which may improve channel conditions for the victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b). Based on channel reciprocity of the TDD channel, the measurement performed by UE 115-a may also reflect aggressor-to-victim interference strength. In cases where CLI measurements are based on SRS, measurement and reporting may be based on SRS at different levels. For example, measurement and reporting may be cell-specific in which all UEs in a cell transmit the same SRS, group-specific in which a subset of UEs in the cell transmit the same SRS, or UE-specific in which each UE in the cell transmits a distinctive SRS (e.g., an SRS associated with the UE)…. for SRS-based CLI measurements, the UE 115-b in the victim cell may observe strong interference (e.g., interference above a threshold) and report it (CLI) to the base station 105-b. The system may trigger the CLI measurement among cells, and a potential aggressor UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may transmit SRS in two symbols of a slot. The victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b) may measure the SRS in the configured resource in a downlink reception, and provide a CLI report including measured parameters, such as RSRP, RSSI, one or more other parameters (e.g., signal to noise ratio (SNR), or combinations thereof. In other examples that include performing measurements and reporting based on other uplink traffic (e.g., PUSCH and PUCCH transmissions), the aggressor UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) may send a transmission using scheduled resources, and victim UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-b) may estimate the downlink reception at configured CLI resources and provide a CLI measurement report to base station 105-b. See ¶0094-¶0096 along with Fig. 2-7.
Ren further discloses that at 745 of Fig. 7, the base station 105-d may transmit a CLI <cross-link interference> measurement report to the base station 105-c. The base station 105-c may receive the CLI measurement report and, at 750, modify one or more UE transmissions based on the CLI measurement report. For example, if CLI measurements are above a threshold value, the base station 105-d may change the first TDD configuration to a more aggressive TDD configuration or provide for increased transmit power to be used at UE 115-c. If CLI measurements are below a threshold value, the base station 105-c may change the first TDD configuration to be less aggressive or provide for reduced transmit power to be used at the UE 115-c, quite a contrast to applicant’s allegation at least at pages 10-11 of remarks as submitted on 05/20/2026.
Regarding arguments in page 12 for motivation to combine Ren’s reference with the reference of Choi:
In response of applicant’s argument that Ren’s reference would not be an obvious combination with the teachings of Choi so as to suggest applicants' invention. The Examiner would like to point out the following statement as identified by court “It is not required that the prior art disclose or suggest the properties newly-discovered by an applicant in order for there to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, as long as some motivation or suggestion to combine the references is provided by the prior art taken as a whole, the law does not require that the references be combined for the reasons contemplated by the inventor. See In re Beattie, 974 F.2d 1309, 24 USPQ2d 1040 (Fed. Cir. 1992); In re Kronig, 539 F.2d 1300, 190 USPQ 425 (CCPA 1976) and In re Wilder, 429 F.2d 447, 166 USPQ 545 (CCPA 1970)”. In this case, the suggestion to combine the references, is provided by Ren, as because, Ren provides an efficient mechanism for backhaul communications and identification of resources for cross-link interference (CLI) measurements and reporting, for wireless networks deployed in time division duplexing (TDD) system, in turns, provides an efficient identification and mitigation of excessive CLI due to the TDD system, which further improves efficiency and reliability of the wireless communications system. (¶0002-¶0004, Ren)
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 14 and 20.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, in view of Ren.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 14, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467