DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6 are pending wherein claims 1-4 and 6 are amended and claim 5 is canceled.
Status of Previous Rejections
The previous rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumeta et al. (JP 2022-040517) in view of Maki et al. (US 2012/02944754) is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (US 4,402,906).
In regard to claim 1, Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses copper base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (abstract and column 2).
Element
Instant Claim
(mass percent)
Ueda et al. (‘906)
(weight percent)
Overlap
Mn
4.5 – 5.5
5 – 30
5 – 5.5
Fe
0.1 – 0.3
0 – 2.5
0.1 – 0.3
Sn
0.1 – 0.5
0 – 5
0.1 – 0.5
Cu
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of manganese, iron, and tin for the copper based alloys disclosed by Ueda et al. (‘906) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of manganese, iron and tin from the amounts disclosed by Ueda et al. (‘906) because Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the recitation “for a shunt resistor” in claim 1, the Examiner notes that this would be a recitation of intended use that would not further limit the structure of the alloy. MPEP 2111.02 II.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the copper-manganese-based copper alloy material has a change in resistance value which is -0.3% to 0% after heated at 175°C for 3000 hours” in claim 1, Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses substantially similar compositions and therefore this property would be expected. PEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the copper-manganese-based copper alloy material has a volume resistivity which is 15-25 µΩ·cm” in claim 2, Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses substantially similar compositions and therefore this property would be expected. PEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the copper-manganese-based copper alloy material has an absolute value of TCR which is 150 x 10-6/K or less” in claim 3, Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses substantially similar compositions and therefore this property would be expected. PEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the copper-manganese-based copper alloy material has a thermal electromotive force with respect to copper which is 1 µV/K or less” in claim 4, Ueda et al. (‘906) discloses substantially similar compositions and therefore this property would be expected. PEP 2112.01 I.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 6, the alloys of Ueda et al. (‘906) would be used for the hulls of ships and the applicability to resistors or specifically shunt resistors is not disclosed, suggested or a reasonable use of the alloys of Ueda et al. (‘906) (column 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSEE R ROE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759