DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species Juvenile neuronal ceroid lipofuscinosis (CLN3) disease in claim 2, and a protein in claim 6, in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
This application is a CIP of PCT/US23/65318 (4/4/2023) which claims benefit of 63/362,574 (4/6/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 3/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”.
In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-21 are preceded by the word “Figure” instead of the abbreviation “FIG.”. View numbers should be updated to recite the abbreviation “FIG.”. Any changes to the drawings should also be reflected in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the acronym “TPP1”. Claim 2 recites the acronym “SCMAS”. When an acronym is used in a claim set, it should be defined the first time it appears in the claims. For the purposes of examination, the term “TPP1” is interpreted to mean “tripeptidyl peptidase 1” and the term “SCMAS” is interpreted to mean “subunit c of mitochondrial ATP synthase”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maxfield et al., US 2011/0166074 A1 and as evidenced by Ezaki et al., The Journal of Biochemistry. 2000;128(3):509-16.
Regarding claim 1, Maxfield teaches a method of treating a neurological disorder, wherein a subject in need of treatment for such a disorder is administered a CLN2 therapeutic (Maxfield p. 1 para. 7). The term CLN2 or CLN2 protein is interchangeable with tripeptidyl-peptidase I (TPP1) protein (Maxfield p. 1 para. 11). Maxfield teaches that for amelioration of a neurological disorder, a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, comprising a CLN2 therapeutic, will restore or enhance TPP1 activity to levels that ameliorate the neurological disorder (Maxfield p. 9 para. 94). Therefore, Maxfield teaches a method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of an agent that increases the TPP1 level. As Maxfield teaches the claimed active method steps, i.e. administering a therapeutically effective amount of an agent that increases a level of TPP1 to ameliorate the neurological disorder, it is expected that this method would result in reducing neuroinflammation or correcting brain weight loss in the subject.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Maxfield teaches that CLN2 may be used as a therapeutic to attenuate the accumulation of abnormal protein deposits associated with neurodegenerative diseases including Juvenile Neural Ceroid Lipofuscinosis, or Juvenile NCL (Maxfield pp. 8-9 para. 78, 86). Juvenile NCL is known in the art to be caused by a deficiency in CLN3 protein and is characterized by an accumulation of subunit c of mitochondrial ATP synthase (SCMAS) in lysosomes of affected cells (see Ezaki p. 509 para. 1, p. 514 Discussion para. 5). Thus, Maxfield teaches that the subject has a disease characterized by accumulation of SCMAS in the lysosomes of cells and characterized by a deficiency in CLN3 protein function, Juvenile NCL.
Regarding claim 4, Maxfield teaches administering an agent (CLN2 protein) that increases the level of TPP1 in affected cells (Maxfield p. 1 para. 7, p. 9 para. 94). TPP1 is known in the art to have the function of reducing accumulation of the hydrophobic protein SCMAS in the lysosomes of affected cells (see Ezaki p. 513 first full para.). Therefore, the agent used in the method of Maxfield, which increases TPP1 levels, is considered to have the function of reducing SCMAS accumulation in affected cells.
Regarding claim 5, Maxfield teaches that the affected cells are neuronal cells (Maxfield p. 9 para. 90).
Regarding claim 6, Maxfield teaches that the agent is a protein, i.e. direct administration of CLN2 as a protein (Maxfield p. 1 para. 13; p. 3 para. 29).
Regarding claim 7, Maxfield teaches that the therapeutic agent is a recombinant human CLN2, or TPP1, protein (Maxfield p. 7 para. 67; p. 14 para. 136).
Regarding claim 8, Maxfield teaches that the CLN2 protein is an inactive proenzyme (Maxfield p. 15 para. 148).
Regarding claim 9, Maxfield teaches that the CLN2 protein may be conjugated to a targeting molecule, and that the targeting molecule includes mannose-6-phosphate, i.e. the CLN2 protein is mannose-6-phosphorylated (Maxfield p. 9 para. 96).
Regarding claim 10, Maxfield teaches that the affected cells receive 10 nM recombinant CLN2 enzyme (Maxfield p. 18 para. 185).
Regarding claim 13, Maxfield teaches that the CLN2 therapeutic may be administered in a controlled release system (Maxfield p. 10 para. 103).
Regarding claim 14, Maxfield teaches that the CLN2 therapeutic may be delivered to lysosomes of affected cells (Maxfield p. 15 para. 145).
Regarding claim 15, Maxfield teaches that the subject is a human (Maxfield p. 9 para. 92).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxfield et al., US 2011/0166074 A1.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Maxfield teaches that the CLN2 therapeutic may be administered by injection, including intracranial injection (Maxfield p. 10 para. 101). Maxfield teaches applying 10 nM of recombinant CLN2 enzyme topically to the surface of the exposed brain (Maxfield p. 18 para. 185). Maxfield additionally teaches testing various concentrations of CLN2 protein on murine microglia, specifically 100 nM, 50 nM, 25 nM, and 12.5 nM, which are within the claimed range (Maxfield p. 14 para. 134).
Maxfield does not expressly teach that a therapeutically effective amount in the range of 1-100 nM of recombinant human TPP1 protein is administered via injection, or specifically via intracranial injection, as required by claims 11 and 12.
However, Maxfield teaches that a therapeutically effective amount of the CLN2 therapeutic protein, sufficient to ameliorate the neurological disorder, is delivered, and that the therapeutically effective amount and treatment regimen can be developed for an individual by an ordinary skilled physician, taking into account factors such as the age, sex, size, and physical well-being of the patient; the extent of the disease; previous treatment regimens and the potential for drug interactions; all of which are routinely considered by a physician in prescribing administration of a pharmaceutical agent (Maxfield p. 9 para. 94). Maxfield additionally teaches that intracranial injection is an acceptable method for delivering the therapeutic (Maxfield p. 10 para. 101).
Therefore, it is clear that the amount and concentration of CLN2 being delivered via injection, including intracranial injection, would have been routinely optimized by a skilled artisan based on other conditions. Maxfield clearly teaches that the CLN2 protein is provided in a concentration effective to ameliorate neurological disorders such as Juvenile NCL. Maxfield additionally teaches that optimization of the amount of the therapeutic agent is a common practice based on various parameters which would be known to a skilled artisan, and is therefore a result-effective variable. Result-effective variables would be optimized through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to deliver a concentration of recombinant human TPP1 in the claimed range of 1-100 nM via intracranial injection, especially given Maxfield’s teachings using concentrations within this range administered via different methods, and the routine optimization known to be involved in developing therapeutic amounts of TPP1 protein for treatment of distinct individuals. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Therefore, the limitations of claims 11 and 12 are considered obvious in view of Maxfield.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-10, and 14 of copending Application No. 18/854,132 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to methods of treating a subject by administering a therapeutically effective amount of an agent that increases a level or activity of TPP1.
Regarding instant claim 1, claim 1 of ‘132 recites a method of treating a subject having a disease or disorder characterized by accumulation of SCMAS in the lysosomes of affected cells, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an agent that increases a level or activity of TPP1, to reduce or eliminate symptoms caused by the disease or disorder.
Regarding instant claims 2-15, the limitations of these dependent claims are recited in claims 1-7, 9-10, and 14 of ‘132.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653