DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment to claim 12 overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b). The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 19 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 13, 19-21 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US 2019/0068343, Kwak hereafter) in view of Zhou et al. (US 11,051, 310, Zhou hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 19, Kwak discloses a user equipment (US) and method for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (Figure 21 and paragraphs 42-46 and 183), the at least one processor operable to cause the UE to: receive configuration information indicating one or more configurations of CSI-RS resources for one or more CSI-RS resource sets, wherein each configuration of the one or more configurations includes a respective number of CSI-RS resources for a respective CSI-RS resource set of the one or more CSI-RS resource sets (Paragraphs 166-168, discloses: “the configuration of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets. A plurality of CSI-RS resource sets may be configured, and individual CSI-RS resource sets are individually configured via ResourceSetConfig. ResourceSetConfig has ResourceSetConfigld, CSI-RS-ResourceConfigList, and CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations.”, and “In addition, when the CSI-RS resource repetition is configured within the CSI-RS resource set, when OFDM symbols at which corresponding CSI-RS resources are transmitted are the same according to CSI-RS-ResourceMapping configuration of each of the CSI-RS resources, the CSI-RS resources may not be allowed for repetition configuration or the terminal may be configured to disregard the corresponding configuration;”) and measure a CSI-RS in accordance with the configuration information (Paragraph 59: “The CSI-RS is used to measure the channel state of a reference signal transmitted for terminals belonging to one cell. A plurality of CSI-RSs may be transmitted in a single cell.”)
Kwak does not explicitly disclose the UE transmitting information indicating a respective supported number of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for each CSI-RS resource set of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets
However, Zhou teaches a UE transmitting information indicating a respective supported number of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for each CSI-RS resource set of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets (Claim 16, a UE indicates “a number of supported report configurations per aperiodic trigger state, a number of total supported triggered aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS) resources, a number of A-CSI-RS resources supported per resource set, a number of supported transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states per A-CSI-RS resource, a number of supported TCI states for all A-CSI-RS resources triggered by different active aperiodic trigger states, or a combination thereof.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE and method of Kwak with the teachings Zhou to provide for UE capability aware configuration of CSI-RS measurement and reporting.
RE claims 2 and 20, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 1 and the method of claim 19 as set forth above. Note that Kwak further discloses wherein the configuration information is associated with repetition of CSI-RS resources (Paragraph 166-168: “CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations”).
RE claims 10 and 25, Kwak discloses a network node and method or wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one memory (Figure 21 and paragraphs 42-46 and 183), the at least one processor operable to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information indicating one or more configurations of CSI-RS resources for one or more CSI-RS resource sets, wherein each configuration of the one or more configurations includes a respective number of CSI-RS resources indicated by the one or more supported numbers of CSI-RS resources (Paragraphs 166-168, discloses: “the configuration of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets. A plurality of CSI-RS resource sets may be configured, and individual CSI-RS resource sets are individually configured via ResourceSetConfig. ResourceSetConfig has ResourceSetConfigld, CSI-RS-ResourceConfigList, and CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations.”, and “In addition, when the CSI-RS resource repetition is configured within the CSI-RS resource set, when OFDM symbols at which corresponding CSI-RS resources are transmitted are the same according to CSI-RS-ResourceMapping configuration of each of the CSI-RS resources, the CSI-RS resources may not be allowed for repetition configuration or the terminal may be configured to disregard the corresponding configuration;”),; and transmit a CSI-RS in accordance with the configuration information (Paragraph 59: “The CSI-RS is used to measure the channel state of a reference signal transmitted for terminals belonging to one cell. A plurality of CSI-RSs may be transmitted in a single cell.”).
Kwak does not explicitly disclose the UE transmitting information indicating a respective supported number of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for each CSI-RS resource set of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets
However, Zhou teaches a UE transmitting information indicating a respective supported number of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for each CSI-RS resource set of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets (Claim 16, a UE indicates “a number of supported report configurations per aperiodic trigger state, a number of total supported triggered aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS) resources, a number of A-CSI-RS resources supported per resource set, a number of supported transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states per A-CSI-RS resource, a number of supported TCI states for all A-CSI-RS resources triggered by different active aperiodic trigger states, or a combination thereof.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the network node and method of Kwak with the teachings Zhou to provide for UE capability aware configuration of CSI-RS measurement and reporting.
RE claims 11 and 26, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the network node of claim 10 and the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Note that Kwak further discloses wherein the configuration information is associated with repetition of CSI-RS resources (Paragraph 166-168: “CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations”).
RE claims 13 and 27, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the network node of claim 10 and the method of claim 25 as set forth above. Note that Kwak further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the network node to transmit signaling indicating a selected configuration of the one or more configurations (Paragraphs 166-168, discloses: “the configuration of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets. A plurality of CSI-RS resource sets may be configured, and individual CSI-RS resource sets are individually configured via ResourceSetConfig. ResourceSetConfig has ResourceSetConfigld, CSI-RS-ResourceConfigList, and CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations.”, and “In addition, when the CSI-RS resource repetition is configured within the CSI-RS resource set, when OFDM symbols at which corresponding CSI-RS resources are transmitted are the same according to CSI-RS-ResourceMapping configuration of each of the CSI-RS resources, the CSI-RS resources may not be allowed for repetition configuration or the terminal may be configured to disregard the corresponding configuration;”), wherein transmitting the CSI-RS is in accordance with the selected configuration (Paragraph 59: “The CSI-RS is used to measure the channel state of a reference signal transmitted for terminals belonging to one cell. A plurality of CSI-RSs may be transmitted in a single cell.”)
RE claim 21, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the method of claim 19 as set forth above. Note that Kwak further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive signaling indicating a selected configuration of the one or more configurations (Paragraphs 166-168, discloses: “the configuration of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets. A plurality of CSI-RS resource sets may be configured, and individual CSI-RS resource sets are individually configured via ResourceSetConfig. ResourceSetConfig has ResourceSetConfigld, CSI-RS-ResourceConfigList, and CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations.”, and “In addition, when the CSI-RS resource repetition is configured within the CSI-RS resource set, when OFDM symbols at which corresponding CSI-RS resources are transmitted are the same according to CSI-RS-ResourceMapping configuration of each of the CSI-RS resources, the CSI-RS resources may not be allowed for repetition configuration or the terminal may be configured to disregard the corresponding configuration;”), wherein measuring the CSI-RS is in accordance with the selected configuration (Paragraph 59: “The CSI-RS is used to measure the channel state of a reference signal transmitted for terminals belonging to one cell. A plurality of CSI-RSs may be transmitted in a single cell.”)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0125856. Liu hereafter).
RE claim 3, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 2 as set forth above. Kwak in view of Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, to cause the UE to measure the CSI-RS, is operable to cause the UE to receive the CSI-RS on a set of CSI-RS resources using two or more different spatial reception filter.
However, Liu teaches wherein the at least one processor, to cause the UE to measure the CSI-RS, is operable to cause the UE to receive the CSI-RS on a set of CSI-RS resources using two or more different spatial reception filter (Paragraph 217 teaches: “transmitting a CSI-RS resource set whose repetitions are set to open or ON, that is, all CSI-RS resources in the CSI-RS resource set are transmitted by using the optimal transmitting spatial filter corresponding to the first checkpoint predicted by the first network model, and the terminal device measures the CSI-RSs through different receiving spatial filters and selects the optimal receiving spatial filter.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Liu since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claims 5-9, 14-18, 22-24 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0068549, Kang hereafter).
RE claims 5, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the UE of claim 4 as set forth above. Note that Kwak further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive signaling indicating a selected configuration of the one or more configurations (Paragraphs 166-168, discloses: “the configuration of a plurality of CSI-RS resource sets. A plurality of CSI-RS resource sets may be configured, and individual CSI-RS resource sets are individually configured via ResourceSetConfig. ResourceSetConfig has ResourceSetConfigld, CSI-RS-ResourceConfigList, and CSI-RS ResourceRepetitionConfig configurations.”, and “In addition, when the CSI-RS resource repetition is configured within the CSI-RS resource set, when OFDM symbols at which corresponding CSI-RS resources are transmitted are the same according to CSI-RS-ResourceMapping configuration of each of the CSI-RS resources, the CSI-RS resources may not be allowed for repetition configuration or the terminal may be configured to disregard the corresponding configuration;”), wherein measuring the CSI-RS is in accordance with the selected configuration (Paragraph 59: “The CSI-RS is used to measure the channel state of a reference signal transmitted for terminals belonging to one cell. A plurality of CSI-RSs may be transmitted in a single cell.”)
Kwak in view of Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the selected configuration is a first configuration for beam management, and wherein the signaling indicates a second configuration for channel state information (CSI) measurement that is mapped to the first configuration.
However, Kang teaches wherein the selected configuration is a first configuration for beam management, and wherein the signaling indicates a second configuration for channel state information (CSI) measurement that is mapped to the first configuration ( Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE, network node or methods of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 14, 22 and 28, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses network node of claim 13 and methods of claims 21 and 27 as set forth above. Kwak in view of Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the selected configuration is a first configuration for beam management, and wherein the signaling indicates a second configuration for channel state information (CSI) measurement that is mapped to the first configuration.
However, Kang teaches wherein the selected configuration is a first configuration for beam management, and wherein the signaling indicates a second configuration for channel state information (CSI) measurement that is mapped to the first configuration ( Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE, network node or methods of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 6, 15, 23 and 29, Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang discloses the UE of claim 5, network node of claim 14 and methods of claims 22 and 28 as set forth above. Note that Kang further teaches wherein the selected configuration is mapped to the second configuration (Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE, network node or methods of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 7, 16 and 30, Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang discloses the UE of claim 5, network node of claim 14 and methods of claim 28 as set forth above. Note that Kang further teaches wherein the selected configuration is mapped to the second configuration (Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE, network node or method of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 8 and 17, Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang discloses the UE of claim 5 and network node of claim 14 as set forth above. Note that Kang further teaches wherein the one or more configurations include multiple configurations, and wherein the second configuration is mapped to the multiple configurations (Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claims 9 and 18, Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang discloses the UE of claim 5 and network node of claim 14 as set forth above. Note that Kang further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to receive information indicating a mapping between the selected configuration and the second configuration (Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
RE claim 24, Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Kang discloses the method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Kang further teaches receiving information indicating a mapping between the selected configuration and the second configuration (Paragraph 134 teaches “Links between report setting and resource setting are configured by an agreed CSI measurement configuration.”. The UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on this configuration and paragraph 134 teaches this is for “beam management”.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Kang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Zhou and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0337415, Chen hereafter).
RE claim 12, Kwak in view of Zhou discloses the network node of claim 11 as set forth above. Kwak in view of Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor, to cause the UE to transmit the CSI-RS, is operable to cause the UE to transmit repetitions of a CSI-RS using a same spatial transmission filter.
However, Chen teaches wherein the at least one processor, to cause the UE to transmit the CSI-RS, is operable to cause the UE to transmit repetitions of a CSI-RS using a same spatial transmission filter (Paragraph 190-191 teaches CSI-RS transmitted by the base station via a “same spatial filter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the network node of Kwak in view of Zhou with the teachings of Chen since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
RE claim 31, prior arts do not explicitly disclose teach or suggest the respective supported number of CSI-RS resources for each CSI-RS resource set of the plurality of CSI-RS resource sets of the UE corresponds to a respective number of active antenna elements at the UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461