DETAILED ACTION
The following is an initial Office Action upon examination of the above-identified application on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5 December 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “170” in figures 2, 4, 5 and “190” (see [0057-0063]) have both been used to designate camera assembly and reference characters “132” in figure 4 and “134” (see [0059]) have both been used to designate door.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220145511 A1 (US 11,987,920 B2) to Mashal in view of US 20170163438 A1 (US 11,018,888 B2) to GARY, JR. et al.
As per claim 1, the Mashal reference discloses a method of operating a household appliance, the household appliance comprising a camera assembly (see [0033], “camera assembly 170”), the camera assembly (“camera assembly 170”) operable to obtain an image (“obtaining images”), the method comprising: obtaining a first image from a first camera of the camera assembly, the first image of an exterior of the household appliance; obtaining a second image (“images or video”) from a second camera (“camera 178”) of the camera assembly (“camera assembly 170”), the second image (“images or video”) of an interior (“inside of wash chamber 126”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”); obtaining a reading from a sensor of the household appliance, the reading indicative of a status of a component of the household appliance; generating a real-time interactive visual representation (see [0051], “one or more images”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) from the first image, the second image (“images or video”), and the reading from the sensor; displaying the real-time interactive visual representation (“one or more images”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) on a remote user interface device (“remote device”); receiving a control input (see [0052], “user input”) at the remote user interface device (“remote device”); and activating the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) in response to the control input (“user input”) received at the remote user interface device (“remote device”), wherein activating the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) comprises initiating an operation cycle (see [0051], “permit the commencement of an operating cycle, cancel the operating cycle, make certain operating parameter adjustments, or control the operating cycle in any other suitable manner”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”).
The Mashal reference does not expressly disclose the limitations taught by the GARY, JR. et al. reference, namely: obtaining a first image (see [0044], “captures an image”) from a first camera (“image sensor”) of the camera assembly, the first image (“image”) of an exterior (see 0023], “outer surface”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”) and obtaining a reading from a sensor (see [0025], “sensing system 350, one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B, a door open/closed sensor 350C”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), the reading indicative of a status of a component (“temperature level, or output level, of each of the burners; temperature in the cooking cavity, or oven; open/closed state of the door”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the camera assembly and controller taught by the Mashal reference to include the image sensor on an outer surface of the housing and sensing system taught by the GARY, JR. et al. reference to capture images of the interior of the cooking cavity and the room and sense a temperature level or output level of each of the burners, a temperature in the cooking cavity or oven, and an open/closed state of the door.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the camera assembly and controller to include the image sensor on an outer surface of the housing and sensing system to capture images of the interior of the cooking cavity and the room and sense a temperature level or output level of each of the burners, a temperature in the cooking cavity or oven, and an open/closed state of the door to facilitate remote monitoring and control of appliances.
As per claim 2, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the household appliance (see [0026], “appliances 110”) is activated in response to the control input received (“initiate operation in accordance with the operating parameters set by the user”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile device 150”) without a direct physical input at a local user interface (“remote access”) of the household appliance (“appliances 110”).
As per claim 3, the Mashal reference discloses initiating the operation cycle (“permit the commencement of an operating cycle, cancel the operating cycle, make certain operating parameter adjustments, or control the operating cycle in any other suitable manner”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) comprises locking a door (see [0023], “door lock 138”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”).
As per claim 4, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses initiating the operation cycle (see [0024], “initiate and/or terminate a cooking operation, to maintain a desired cooking temperature and/or time”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 300”) comprises activating a heating element (“burner(s) 255 and/or heating element(s) 225”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 300”).
As per claim 5, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses detecting motion (see [0023], “detect motion”) with a motion detector (“sensor 245”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200”), wherein the real-time interactive visual representation (see [0025], “display 265”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200”) comprises a visual indicator (“operational state and status”) of the detected motion (“detect motion”).
As per claim 6, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the sensor (“sensor 245”) is a temperature sensor (see [0025], “one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B”) and the reading from the temperature sensor (“one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B”) is indicative of a status (see [0022], “operational information”) of a heating element (“burners 255 and/or the heating elements 225”) of the household appliance (“appliance 300”).
As per claim 7, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the sensor (“sensor 245”) is a door switch (see [0022], “door sensor 270”) and the reading from the door switch (“door sensor 270”) is indicative of a position of a door (“open and closed state of the door 240”) of the household appliance (“appliance 200”).
As per claim 9, the Mashal reference discloses the household appliance (see [0033], “washing machine appliance 100”) is a laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”), wherein the image (“images or video”) from the second camera (“camera 178”) of the interior (“inside of wash chamber 126”) of the laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) is of a tub (“bottom side of wash tub 124”) or drum (“bottom side of wash tub 124”) of the laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”).
As per claim 10, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the household appliance (“appliances 110”) is an oven appliance (see [0021], “cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), wherein the image from the second camera (see [0022], “image sensor 280, or camera 280”) of the interior of the oven appliance (“interior of the oven 230”) is of a cooking chamber of the oven appliance (see [0037], “cooking chamber 230, or oven 230”).
Claim(s) 11-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220145511 A1 (US 11,987,920 B2) to Mashal in view of US 20170163438 A1 (US 11,018,888 B2) to GARY, JR. et al. as applied to claims 1-7, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of CN 104838621 A to KIM et al.
As per claim 11, neither the Mashal nor GARY, JR. et. al. reference expressly discloses the limitations taught by the KIM et al. reference, namely: receiving an inspection input (see step 1312, “desired inspection”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”) while displaying the real-time interactive visual representation (“remote control application”) of the household appliance (“home device #2”) on the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”) prior to receiving the control input (see step 1306, “home monitoring function”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the mobile device taught by the Mashal and GARY, JR. et al. reference to include the home monitoring function of the remote control application taught by the KIM et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the mobile device to include the home monitoring function of the remote control application to enlarge and display images captured by the selected camera.
As per claim 12, the reference discloses a method of operating a household appliance, the household appliance comprising a camera assembly (see [0033], “camera assembly 170”), the camera assembly (“camera assembly 170”) operable to obtain an image (“obtaining images”), the method comprising: obtaining a first image from a first camera of the camera assembly, the first image of an exterior of the household appliance; obtaining a second image (“images or video”) from a second camera (“camera 178”) of the camera assembly (“camera assembly 170”), the second image (“images or video”) of an interior (“inside of wash chamber 126”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”); generating a real-time interactive visual (see [0051], “one or more images”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) from the first image and the second image (“images or video”); displaying the real-time interactive visual representation (“one or more images”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) on a remote user interface device (“remote device”); receiving an inspection input at the remote user interface device while displaying the real-time interactive visual representation of the household appliance on the remote user interface device; receiving a control input at the remote user interface device after the inspection input; and activating the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) in response to the control input (“user input”) received at the remote user interface device (“remote device”), wherein activating the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) comprises initiating an operation cycle (see [0051], “permit the commencement of an operating cycle, cancel the operating cycle, make certain operating parameter adjustments, or control the operating cycle in any other suitable manner”) of the household appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”).
The Mashal reference does not expressly disclose the limitations taught by the GARY, JR. et al. reference, namely: obtaining a first image (see [0044], “captures an image”) from a first camera (“image sensor”) of the camera assembly, the first image (“image”) of an exterior (see 0023], “outer surface”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”) and obtaining a reading from a sensor (see [0025], “sensing system 350, one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B, a door open/closed sensor 350C”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), the reading indicative of a status of a component (“temperature level, or output level, of each of the burners; temperature in the cooking cavity, or oven; open/closed state of the door”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”).
Neither the Mashal nor GARY, JR. et. al. reference expressly discloses the limitations taught by the KIM et al. reference, namely: receiving an inspection input (see step 1312, “desired inspection”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”) while displaying the real-time interactive visual representation (“remote control application”) of the household appliance (“home device #2”) on the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”) prior to receiving the control input (see step 1306, “home monitoring function”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile terminal”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the mobile device taught by the Mashal and GARY, JR. et al. reference to include the home monitoring function of the remote control application taught by the KIM et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the mobile device to include the home monitoring function of the remote control application to enlarge and display images captured by the selected camera.
As per claim 13, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the household appliance (see [0026], “appliances 110”) is activated in response to the control input received (“initiate operation in accordance with the operating parameters set by the user”) at the remote user interface device (“mobile device 150”) without a direct physical input at a local user interface (“remote access”) of the household appliance (“appliances 110”).
As per claim 14, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses detecting motion (see [0023], “detect motion”) with a motion detector (“sensor 245”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200”), wherein the real-time interactive visual representation (see [0025], “display 265”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200”) comprises a visual indicator (“operational state and status”) of the detected motion (“detect motion”).
As per claim 15, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses obtaining a reading from a sensor obtaining a reading from a sensor (see [0025], “sensing system 350, one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B, a door open/closed sensor 350C”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), the reading indicative of a status of a component (“temperature level, or output level, of each of the burners; temperature in the cooking cavity, or oven; open/closed state of the door”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), wherein the real-time interactive visual representation (see [0025], “display 265”) of the household appliance (“cooking appliance 200”) is further generated from the reading from the sensor (“sensing system 350, one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B, a door open/closed sensor 350C”).
As per claim 16, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the sensor (“sensor 245”) is a temperature sensor (see [0025], “one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B”) and the reading from the temperature sensor (“one or more burner temperature sensors 350A, one or more oven temperature sensors 350B”) is indicative of a status (see [0022], “operational information”) of a heating element (“burners 255 and/or the heating elements 225”) of the household appliance (“appliance 300”).
As per claim 17, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the sensor (“sensor 245”) is a door switch (see [0022], “door sensor 270”) and the reading from the door switch (“door sensor 270”) is indicative of a position of a door (“open and closed state of the door 240”) of the household appliance (“appliance 200”).
As per claim 19, the Mashal reference discloses the household appliance (see [0033], “washing machine appliance 100”) is a laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”), wherein the image (“images or video”) from the second camera (“camera 178”) of the interior (“inside of wash chamber 126”) of the laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”) is of a tub (“bottom side of wash tub 124”) or drum (“bottom side of wash tub 124”) of the laundry appliance (“washing machine appliance 100”).
As per claim 20, the GARY, JR. et al. reference discloses the household appliance (“appliances 110”) is an oven appliance (see [0021], “cooking appliance 200, or range 200”), wherein the image from the second camera (see [0022], “image sensor 280, or camera 280”) of the interior of the oven appliance (“interior of the oven 230”) is of a cooking chamber of the oven appliance (see [0037], “cooking chamber 230, or oven 230”).
9. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220145511 A1 (US 11,987,920 B2) to Mashal in view of US 20170163438 A1 (US 11,018,888 B2) to GARY, JR. et al. as applied to claims 1-7, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of CN 219418008 U to DU et al.
As per claim 8, neither the Mashal nor GARY, JR. et. al. reference expressly discloses the limitations taught by the DU et al. reference, namely: the sensor (see page 5 4th paragraph, “temperature sensor module”) is a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor module”) and the reading from the temperature sensor (“temperature sensor module”) is indicative of a temperature (“temperature detecting value”) at a motor (“motor driving module”) of the household appliance (“electric appliance”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sensing system taught by the Mashal and GARY, JR. et al. reference to include the motor driving module connected to the controller taught by the DU et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the sensing system to include the motor driving module connected to the controller so as to control whether the fan module is started to reduce the temperature of the electric appliance and reduce the fire risk.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220145511 A1 (US 11,987,920 B2) to Mashal in view of US 20170163438 A1 (US 11,018,888 B2) to GARY, JR. et al. as applied to claims 1-7, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of CN 104838621 A to KIM et al. and CN 219418008 U to DU et al.
As per claim 18, neither the Mashal, GARY, JR. et. al., nor KIM et al. reference expressly discloses the limitations taught by the DU et al. reference, namely: the sensor (see page 5 4th paragraph, “temperature sensor module”) is a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor module”) and the reading from the temperature sensor (“temperature sensor module”) is indicative of a temperature (“temperature detecting value”) at a motor (“motor driving module”) of the household appliance (“electric appliance”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sensing system taught by the Mashal, GARY, JR. et al., and KIM et al. references to include the motor driving module connected to the controller taught by the DU et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further modify the sensing system to include the motor driving module connected to the controller so as to control whether the fan module is started to reduce the temperature of the electric appliance and reduce the fire risk.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to remote monitoring and control of household appliances:
US 12,534,843 B2 to Fuchs et al.
US 12,188,165 B2 to Chung
US 11,644,198 B2 to Lee et al.
US 11,633,081 B2 to Boyer et al.
US 11,259,681 B2 to Boyer et al.
US 11,026,559 B2 to Boyer et al.
/CRYSTAL J BARNES-BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117 27 March 2026