DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informality: "in an at least an upward vertical direction" includes a duplicated article. Appropriate correction is required. This is a grammatical defect under MPEP § 608.01(m), not an uncertainty about the required direction.
Suggested Correction: In claim 9, replace "in an at least an upward vertical direction" with "in at least an upward vertical direction."
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 is interpreted according to its own manufacturing limitations. Unlike claims 1 and 21, claim 20 does not require a free end or deflection by unrolling or rolling onto itself. The disclosed free-ended embodiments do not narrow the express method language to exclude a rolled bumper whose outer end is secured. For claims 1 and 21, the stated rolling or unrolling mode must be established; generic resilient compression or vertical flexure alone does not establish that mode.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 6,860,685 B2.
Reference 2 - US 9,789,885 B2.
Reference 3 - US 2016/0174709 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) A method of producing a protector for a railway vehicle interior, comprising: (L2) a) forming an extruded body having a body with a wall, and a pair of bumpers, each bumper of the bumper pair joining with and extending outwardly from the body wall, and including a first bumper connected to the body wall, and a second bumper connected to the body wall; (L3) b) forming said first bumper into a rolled configuration, and forming the second bumper into a rolled configuration; (L4) c) maintaining the respective rolled configurations of the first bumper and the second bumper to produce respective rolled bumpers that are biased to remain in the respective rolled configurations and to return to the respective rolled configurations after being deflected.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches producing a protector for a railway vehicle interior, namely multiple tube configuration foam protector 12 mounted on the inner sidewalls of an autorack (Figs. 1-2 and 8-9; col. 3, lines 60-67; col. 4, lines 7-25). (L2) Reference 1 forms the protector from flat foam material 14 having intermediate portion 14c as the mounting wall and outwardly extending end portions 14a and 14b, each continuously joined to that wall and forming one of the two bumpers (Figs. 1-2; col. 4, lines 15-25). Reference 1 does not expressly describe extrusion of that body. Reference 2 teaches making an elongated railcar bumper guard 50 from relatively soft, resilient thermoplastic material by extrusion into its profile (col. 6, lines 26-41). Reference 3 independently teaches forming the elongate base and shell of a bumper assembly by an extrusion process (para. [0078]; elongate base 104 in Fig. 1). These teachings supply extrusion as the manufacturing technique for the elongated wall-and-bumper blank of Reference 1. (L3) Reference 1 expressly rolls each of ends 14a and 14b over and welds them to intermediate portion 14c, thereby forming two parallel rolled tubes 12 (Figs. 1-2; col. 4, lines 15-20). (L4) The welds maintain the respective rolled tube configurations, and the resilient foam tubes collapse when contacted by a car door and quickly bounce back (col. 4, lines 7-20). Thus, the rolled bumpers have a restoring bias that maintains their rolled condition and returns them to it following deflection. This teaching satisfies claim 20 without requiring an unattached outer end or unrolling during deflection, neither of which is recited in this method claim.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to produce the elongated body blank of Reference 1 by the extrusion technique taught for resilient railcar guard 50 in Reference 2 and for the elongate bumper components in Reference 3, then retain Reference 1's rolling, welding and resilient recovery. Extrusion produces an elongated profile with a repeatable cross-section, making it a suitable continuous manufacturing technique for the wall and two joined bumper portions before they are rolled. Reference 2 applies that technique to a resilient guard in the same railcar environment, while Reference 3 confirms its use for elongate bumper components. The modification changes the method of producing the blank, rather than adding Reference 3's rigid shell to Reference 1's foam tubes. It predictably provides the same two rolled, resilient protective portions with consistent longitudinal geometry along the required protector length.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 10-19, and 21-24 are allowed. Claim 9 contains allowable subject matter and is objected to only for the informality stated above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 1 and 21 require a rolled body portion having a free end that deflects by at least one of unrolling from its rolled condition or rolling onto itself and is biased to return to that condition. Reference 2's C-shaped bumper section 112 with free curved portion 118 provides resilient vertical deflection, but the disclosure does not establish the claimed rolling or unrolling response. Reference 1's tubes 12 are formed by rolling end portions 14a and 14b and welding those ends to portion 14c; their compression and recovery do not establish the free-ended rolling mechanism. The claimed motion is not inferred merely from the curved appearance of a guard. Reference 3's extruded base and retained shell likewise do not supply that mechanism. Providing a second bumper, ordinary mounting rows, or post protection does not resolve this difference, and the cited teachings do not provide a reason to remove the tube welds while providing the claimed free-ended roll and restoring response. Claims 2-19 and 22-24 include the limitations of their respective independent claims.
________________________________________
Response to Arguments
Applicant explains the amendments and cites support in original paragraphs [0037]-[0042] and [0051] (Remarks filed September 28, 2026, pp. 9-10). The support argument is persuasive. The amended roll, deflection and return language is supported by those passages and Figures 2A-5, and the amendment is treated as entered.
Applicant states that the wording objections to claims 10, 13 and 20 have been corrected (Remarks, p. 10). This argument is persuasive. The duplicated deflection language, inconsistent coverage terminology and missing article have been corrected, and those objections are withdrawn. The separate grammatical informality in claim 9 is addressed above.
Applicant argues that claim 21 now separately introduces the first and second bumpers (Remarks, p. 11). This argument is persuasive. The amendment removes the duplicated first-bumper wording that caused the prior uncertainty. The rejection of claims 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn, with no replacement 112(b) rejection.
Applicant argues that the C-shaped guard of Reference 2 does not disclose the amended free-ended rolled body and its unrolling or rolling-onto-itself response (Remarks, pp. 12-13). This argument is persuasive as to claims 1-3 and 16. The prior reliance on a "rolled-like" curved section and vertical spring action does not establish the presently claimed motion. The rejection of claims 1-3 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn; it is not replaced by a new ground.
Applicant argues that Reference 1 joins its rolled ends to the intermediate portion, and that combining this welded structure with Reference 2 does not supply the claimed free-ended bumper behavior (Remarks, pp. 13-15). This argument is persuasive as to the apparatus claims. The prior analysis equated inward collapse of a closed tube with rolling onto itself without establishing the recited free-ended mechanism. Neither the desire for additional coverage nor the ordinary resilience of the materials cures that deficiency. The rejection of claims 4-15 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn, without a replacement ground.
Applicant argues that the combination also fails to disclose the manufacturing method of claim 20, particularly the rolled configurations and their retained restoring bias (Remarks, pp. 16-17). This argument is not persuasive. Claim 20 does not contain the free-end or impact-unrolling limitations that distinguish the apparatus claims. Reference 1 expressly rolls both end portions 14a and 14b into tubes 12, welds them to portion 14c, and describes their collapse and quick recovery (col. 4, lines 7-20). Welding therefore does not take that method outside claim 20. Reference 2 teaches extruding a resilient thermoplastic railcar guard (col. 6, lines 26-41), and Reference 3 expressly teaches extrusion of elongate bumper components (para. [0078]). The proposed combination uses extrusion to make the blank and retains Reference 1's rolled, welded, resilient tubes; it does not substitute a rigid shell for those tubes. The specific manufacturing reason and limitation mapping are stated above. The same 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 20 is maintained.
Applicant argues that the additional railcar and guard-arrangement references do not overcome the missing protector mechanism in claims 21-24 (Remarks, pp. 17-18). This argument is persuasive. US 2010/0104391 A1 supplies conventional wheelsets, sidewalls, posts and decks, and US 10,676,113 B2 supplies rows and end-to-end guards, but these features do not provide the claimed free-ended rolling or unrolling bumper. The prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 21-24 are withdrawn, without replacement grounds.
________________________________________
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-24 are pending. Claim 20 is rejected. Claims 1-8, 10-19, and 21-24 are allowed. Claim 9 is objected to for form and otherwise contains allowable subject matter. The specification objections remain outstanding.
The March 27, 2026 objections to claims 10, 13 and 20 are withdrawn because the September 28, 2026 amendment corrects those informalities. The March 27, 2026 rejection of claims 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn because claim 21 now separately introduces both bumpers. The March 27, 2026 rejection of claims 1-3 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejections of claims 4-15, 17-19 and 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn because the applied teachings do not establish the amended free-ended rolling or unrolling mechanism. No new ground replaces those withdrawn rejections.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Its relevance is stated below.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2010/0104391 A1 discloses the autorack frame 12, trucks 14, wheels 16, sidewalls 20, roof 22, posts 28 and spaced positioning devices 52 (paras. [0039]-[0043]). It supplies the railcar environment of claim 21, but its viewing members do not supply the free-ended rolled bumper with the claimed rolling or unrolling and return response.
US 10,676,113 B2 discloses cushioning guard strips 42 and door edge guards 206 arranged at different heights and end to end (Figs. 2 and 4; cols. 5-7). These arrangements are pertinent to claims 22 and 24, but magnetic fastening and ordinary compression of the strips do not supply the inherited free-ended rolled-body mechanism.
US 6,553,917 B1 discloses resilient bumper members 42a-42e on a railcar guard (Figs. 3-5). Its arched members have connecting arms rather than the claimed free-ended rolled body portions. Their cushioning does not establish deflection by unrolling or rolling onto themselves, so this structure does not provide a stronger basis for rejecting claims 1 or 21.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615