Claims 1,3-4,7-10,14-15,17-21,23,25,27-32,36 and 38-42 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 8, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen
et al, US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461 A1, and in further view of Nix et al,
US 20120020293 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Landgen does disclose A method of establishing a call between a wireless terminal and a server(Fig. 8 [0059] [0060] The femtocell gateway 111 in response to the original invite,
notifying the femtocell access point 103 to contact the enterprise gateway server 105 for call handling. The femtocell access point 103, after being redirected, sends the invite to the enterprise
gateway server 105 to set up the call and the enterprise gateway server 105), the wireless terminal associated with a secondary base station of a multi-cell network, via network address translation-based packet forwarding by a primary base station of the multi-cell network (Fig. 8, The femtocell
gateway 111 shown in a first network 110. The Examiner interprets 110 and 101 to correspond to multicell network), the method comprising:
receiving, at the primary base station of the multi-cell network(Fig. 8, The femto cell gateway
111 shown in a first network 110. The Examiner interprets 110 and 101 to correspond to multi-cell
Network.),
a request to establish a call between the secondary base station of the multi-cell network and the server(Fig. 8 [0059] [0060] The femtocell gateway 111 in response to the original invite, notifying
the femtocell access point 103 to contact the enterprise gateway server 105for call handling. The
femtocell access point 103, after being redirected, sends the invite to the enterprise gateway server 105 to set up the call and the enterprise gateway server 105.);
Landgren does not explicitly disclose the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station to forward media packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward media packets of the call received from the secondary base station to the server.
However, Ranki does disclose the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station ([0140] The first base station 30, as well as any other base station that serves to route packets, routes
packets by detecting a destination address in a packet header, deciding on a route using predefined rules that are stored in the base station and passing the packet externally via its transmitter/receiver interface 49. The Examiner interprets the route using predefined rules to correspond to forwarding rules) to forward media packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward media packets of the call received from the secondary base station to the server ([0139] The first base station 30 to receive wireless packets from the second base station, convert protocol as necessary and transmit packets on the first wired link 59 to the server 48. The first base station 30 also is operable to receive packets from the server 48 via the first wired link 59 and to forward them as wireless packets via the second wireless link 62 to the second base station 41.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen with the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station to forward packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward packets of the call as taught by Ranki. The motivation for doing so would be to refrain from re-broadcasting if it is determined that a message with that identifier already has been broadcast by that base station. This will prevent looping of messages throughout the system 37. (Ranki, [0147]).
The combination of Landgen and Ranki does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call; and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station.
However, Nix does disclose obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call([0065][0067] An example of a Software Defined Radio 206 for a mobile telephony base station is described in “Field Trials of an All-Software GSM Base Station” in the March 2004 edition of RF Design, page 16. The above paper describes a fully functional GSM base station with signal processing, protocol processing, and BSC functionality implemented in software on a server with two 2.8 GHz microprocessors to support 32 traffic channels per server. The processing requirements for the personal computer 203 will be significantly lower, since normal operation of the femtocell 105 would typically support one or two simultaneous calls, although more calls could potentially be supported. In addition, the VoIP 205 client communicates with the Software Defined Radio 206, such as passing media and call control according to an internal interface. In a preferred exemplary embodiment, the VoIP Client 205 and SDR 206 are automatically launched every time the PC 104 is booted.);
and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station([0063][0065] Although a NAT router 119 is shown, the router could provide a public IP address directly to the personal computer on which the femtocell software is running, thus not requiring the network address translation functionality. An example of a Software Defined Radio 206 for a mobile telephony base station is described in “Field Trials of an All-Software GSM Base Station” in the March 2004 edition of RF Design, page 16. The above paper describes a fully functional GSM base station with signal processing, protocol processing, and BSC functionality implemented in software on a server with two 2.8 GHz microprocessors to support 32 traffic channels per server. The processing requirements for the personal computer 203 will be significantly lower, since normal operation of the femtocell 105 would typically support one or two simultaneous calls, although more calls could potentially be supported. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen and Ranki with obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call; and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station as taught by Nix. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the probability of lost packets. (Nix, [0224]).
Regarding claims 8 and 30, Landgen does disclose the method wherein one or more outbound packets flows from the primary base station to the server and/or secondary base station are disabled after said receiving a request to establish a call between the secondary base station and the server (Fig. 8 [0059] [0060] The femtocell gateway 111 in response to the original invite, notifying the femtocell access point 103 to contact the enterprise gateway server 105 for call handling. The femtocell gateway 105 may then either release itself from the call, or maintain the call status until it should receive subsequent disconnection information from the enterprise gateway server 105 or a handout procedure occurs. The femtocell access point 103, after being redirected, sends the invite to the enterprise gateway server 105 to set up the call and the enterprise gateway server 105.)).
Regarding claim 25, Landgen does disclose a system for establishing a call in a multi-cell network between a wireless terminal and a server via network address translation-based packet forwarding, the network including a plurality of base stations to provide communication with one or more wireless terminals (Fig. 8 [0059] [0060] The femtocell gateway 111 in response to the
original invite, notifying the femtocell access point 103 to contact the enterprise gateway server 105 for call handling. The femtocell access point 103, after being redirected, sends the invite to the enterprise gateway server 105 to set up the call and the enterprise gateway server 105), the system comprising:
wherein the primary base station comprises one or more processors in communication with a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform ([0077]FIG. 20 a memory 2010 and a processor 2020 may be discrete components of the network entity 2000 that are used to execute an application or set of operations.):
receiving, at the primary base station of the multi-cell system (Fig. 8, The femtocell gateway
111 shown in a first network 110. The Examiner interprets 110 and 101 to correspond to multi-cell
Network.),
a request to establish a call between the secondary base station of the multi-cell system and the server (Fig. 8 [0059] [0060] The femtocell gateway 111 in response to the original invite, notifying the femtocell access point 103 to contact the enterprise gateway server 105 for call handling. The femtocell access point 103, after being redirected, sends the invite to the enterprise gateway server 105 to set up the call and the enterprise gateway server 105.);
Landgren does not explicitly disclose a primary base station of the plurality of base stations,a secondary base station of the plurality of base stations in communication with the primary base station,a wireless terminal, of said one or more wireless terminals, associated with the secondary base station, the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station to forward media packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward media packets of the call received from the secondary base station to the server.
However, Ranki does disclose a primary base station of the plurality of base stations,a secondary base station of the plurality of base stations in communication with the primary base station,a wireless terminal, of said one or more wireless terminals, associated with the secondary base station ([0139] The first base station 30 to receive wireless packets from the second base station, convert protocol as necessary and transmit packets on the first wired link 59 to the server 48. The first base station 30 also is operable to receive packets from the server 48 via the first wired link 59 and to forward them as wireless packets via the second wireless link 62 to the second base station 41.),,
the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station ([0140] The first base station 30, as well as any other base station that serves to route packets, routes packets by detecting a destination address in a packet header, deciding on a route using predefined rules that are stored in the base station and passing the packet externally via its transmitter/receiverinterface 49. The Examiner interprets the route using predefined rules to correspond to forwarding rules) to forward media packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward media packets of the call received from the secondary base station to the server ([0139] The first base station 30 to receive wireless packets from the second base station, convert protocol as necessary and transmit packets on the first wired link 59 to the server 48. The first base station 30 also is operable to receive packets from the server 48 via the first wired link 59 and to forward them as wireless packets via the second wireless link 62 to the second base station 41.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgren with a primary base station of the plurality of base stations, a secondary base station of the plurality of base stations in communication with the primary base station, a wireless terminal, of said one or more wireless terminals, associated with the secondary base station, the set of forwarding rules instructing the primary base station to forward packets of the call received from the server to the secondary base station and to forward packets of the call as taught by Ranki. The motivation for doing so would be to refrain from re-broadcasting if it is determined that a message with that identifier already has been broadcast by that base station. This will prevent looping of messages throughout the system 37. (Ranki, [0147]).
The combination of Landgen and Ranki does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call; andadding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station,
However, Nix does disclose obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call([0065][0067] An example of a Software Defined Radio 206 for a mobile telephony base station is described in “Field Trials of an All-Software GSM Base Station” in the March 2004 edition of RF Design, page 16. The above paper describes a fully functional GSM base station with signal processing, protocol processing, and BSC functionality implemented in software on a server with two 2.8 GHz microprocessors to support 32 traffic channels per server. The processing requirements for the personal computer 203 will be significantly lower, since normal operation of the femtocell 105 would typically support one or two simultaneous calls, although more calls could potentially be supported. In addition, the VoIP 205 client communicates with the Software Defined Radio 206, such as passing media and call control according to an internal interface. In a preferred exemplary embodiment, the VoIP Client 205 and SDR 206 are automatically launched every time the PC 104 is booted.);
and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station([0063][0065] Although a NAT router 119 is shown, the router could provide a public IP address directly to the personal computer on which the femtocell software is running, thus not requiring the network address translation functionality. An example of a Software Defined Radio 206 for a mobile telephony base station is described in “Field Trials of an All-Software GSM Base Station” in the March 2004 edition of RF Design, page 16. The above paper describes a fully functional GSM base station with signal processing, protocol processing, and BSC functionality implemented in software on a server with two 2.8 GHz microprocessors to support 32 traffic channels per server. The processing requirements for the personal computer 203 will be significantly lower, since normal operation of the femtocell 105 would typically support one or two simultaneous calls, although more calls could potentially be supported. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen and Ranki with obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call; and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station as taught by Nix. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the probability of lost packets. (Nix, [0224]).
Claims 7 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al,
US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al, US 20130287006 A1., and in further view of Barchi et al, US 20110071992 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules.
However, Barchi does disclose the method further comprising: determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules ([0019][0023] [0024] Thus, when the directory access server 205 receives a call from a client computer 203, the directory access server 205 then retrieves, adds, modifies, or deletes information in the directory 209 based upon the operation requested in the call. That is, the transaction monitor 211 and the rule validator 213 cooperate to ensure that the attributes of each call seeking to add, modify or delete information from the directory 209 comply with attribute rules determined by the directory provider. If the attributes of a call comply with the rules specified by the directory provider, then the directory attribute rule enforcer 201 forwards the call to the directory access server 205 for action. If, however, the attributes of a call do not comply with the rules specified by the directory provider, then the directory attribute rule enforcer 201 does not relay the call to the directory access server 205. The directory attribute rule enforcer 201 may instead return an error message to the client computer 203 that submitted the call. The error message may, for example, simply indicate that the call does not comply with the rules governing the directory 209. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising: determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining
whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules as taught by Barchi. The
motivation for doing so would be to modify information in or delete information from a directory that
violate predetermined rules for controlling the directory's content. (Barchi, [0007]).
Regarding claim 29, Landgen discloses the system wherein the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform ([0077]FIG. 20 a memory 2010 and a processor 2020 may be discrete components of the network entity 2000 that are used to execute an application or set of operations.):
Landgen, Ranki, and Nix does not explicitly disclose determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules.
However, Barchi does disclose determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules ([0019][0023] Thus, when the directory access server 205 receives a call from a client computer 203,
the directory access server 205 then retrieves, adds, modifies, or deletes information in the directory 209 based upon the operation requested in the call. That is, the transaction monitor 211 and the rule validator 213 cooperate to ensure that the attributes of each call seeking to add, modify or delete information from the directory 209 comply with attribute rules determined by the directory provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising: determining whether the call has been terminated; and based on said determining
whether the call has been terminated, deleting the set of forwarding rules as taught by Barchi. The
motivation for doing so would be to modify information in or delete information from a directory that
violate predetermined rules for controlling the directory's content. (Barchi, [0007]).
Claims 3, 20, 27, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen
et al, US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, and in further view of Rajahalme et al, US 20170091258 A1.
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Landgen and Ranki do not explicitly disclose the method wherein said adding of the set of forwarding rules to the network address translation table is performed by a kernel of an operating system running on one or more processors of the primary base station.
However, Nix does disclose the method wherein said adding of the set of forwarding rules to the network address translation table ([0195] CN NAT 903 subsequently receives two media streams at IP:port 904, shown in FIG. 9 as the destination IP address and port for both MS 1 109 and MS 3 302. CN NAT 903 may then forward packets in both media streams to the same port implemented by CN 108 for the receipt of MS 1 109, shown as IP:port 905.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen and Ranki with obtaining, by the primary base station from call signaling associated with the call, media endpoint information identifying a server media address and a secondary base station media address for media packets of the call; and adding, based on the obtained media endpoint information, a set of forwarding rules to a network address translation table of the primary base station as taught by Nix. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the probability of lost packets. (Nix, [0224]).
Landgen, Ranki, and Nix does not explicitly disclose is performed by a kernel of an operating system running on one or more processors of the primary base station.
However, Rajahalme does disclose is performed by a kernel of an operating system running on one or more processors of the primary base station ([0031] [0035] The MFE database daemon 167 of some embodiments communicates with the network controller 180 in order to configure certain aspects of the MFE (e.g., of the MFE daemon 165 and/or the kernel module 120) other than the installation of flow entries. In some embodiments, the bridge 150 manages a set of rules (e.g., flow
entries) that specify operations for processing and forwarding packets. The bridge 150 communicates
with the MFE daemon 165 in order to process and forward packets that the bridge 150 receives. In the
example of FIG. 1, the bridge 150 includes a packet processor 155, a classifier 157, and an action processor 159. These data path cache flow entries are installed by the classifier 157, in some embodiments, based on processing of a packet through the set off low tables 175 by the MFE
daemon 165.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with is performed by a
kernel of an operating system running on one or more processors of the primary base station as
taught by Rajahalme. The motivation for doing so would be to modify an existing rule. (Rajahalme, [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further comprising: after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station tracked by a kernel connection tracker.
However, Rajahalme does disclose the method further comprising: after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station tracked by a kernel connection tracker ([0031] [0035] [0048] The MFE database daemon 167 of some embodiments communicates with the network controller 180 in order to configure certain aspects of the MFE (e.g., of the MFE daemon 165 and/or the kernel module 120) other than the installation of flow entries. In some embodiments, the bridge 150 manages a set of rules (e.g., flow entries) that specify operations for processing and forwarding packets. The bridge 150 communicates with the MFE daemon 165 in order to process and forward packets that the bridge 150 receives. In the example of FIG. 1, the bridge 150 includes a
packet processor 155, a classifier 157, and an action processor 159. These data path cache flow entries
are installed by the classifier 157, in some embodiments, based on processing of a packet through the set of flow tables 175 by the MFE daemon 165. Then, when a flow entry is deleted, modified, or added, the change is made into one of the tables considered as a "staging area".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising:after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the
primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station
tracked by a kernel connection tracker as taught by Rajahalme. The motivation for doing so would be to modify an existing rule. (Rajahalme, [0020]).
Regarding claim 40, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station tracked by a kernel connection tracker.
However, Rajahalme does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station tracked by a kernel connection tracker ([0031]
[0035] [0048] The MFE database daemon 167 of some embodiments communicates with the network controller 180 in order to configure certain aspects of the MFE (e.g., ofthe MFE daemon 165 and/or the kernel module 120) other than the installation of flow entries. In some embodiments, the
bridge 150 manages a set of rules (e.g., flow entries) that specify operations for processing
and forwarding packets. The bridge 150 communicates with the MFE daemon 165 in order to process
and forward packets that the bridge 150 receives. In the example of FIG. 1, the bridge 150 includes a
packet processor 155, a classifier 157, and an action processor 159. These data path cache flow entries
are installed by the classifier 157, in some embodiments, based on processing of a packet through the set of flow tables 175 by the MFE daemon 165. Then, when a flow entry is deleted, modified, or added, the change is made into one of the tables considered as a "staging area".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising:after said adding of the set of forwarding rules, deleting each packet flow between the
primary base station and the server and the primary base station and the secondary base station
tracked by a kernel connection tracker as taught by Rajahalme. The motivation for doing so would be to modify an existing rule. (Rajahalme, [0020]).
Claims 4 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al,
US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, in view of Nigam et al, US 20230370417 A1, and in further view of Cartmell et al, US 20140341109 A1.
Regarding claims 4 and 28, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the
method/(system as cited in claim 28) wherein said adding of the set of forwarding rules comprises:
adding a first rule to change a destination address of the packets to an address of the secondary base
station for packets inbound to the primary base station from the server; adding a second rule to
change a source address of the packets to an address of the primary base station for packets
outbound from the primary base station to the secondary base station
However, Nigam does disclose the method/(system as cited in claim 28) wherein said adding of
the set of forwarding rules comprises: adding a first rule to change a destination address of the
packets to an address of the secondary base station for packets inbound to the primary base station
from the server([0025] The network device of some embodiments uses the address translation rule, e.g.,a destination NAT (DNAT), to change IP addresses ofpackets sent between the first and second
endpoints..);
adding a second rule to change a source address of the packets to an address of the primary
base station for packets outbound from the primary base station to the secondary base station ([0026] the network device is one of multiple network devices that each change IP addresses and/or port addresses of packets sent between the first and second endpoints and displaying the route also includes displaying an identifier of each of the multiple network devices);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method/(system as
cited in claim 28) wherein said adding of the set of forwarding rules comprises: adding a first rule to
change a destination address of the packets to an address of the secondary base station for packets
inbound to the primary base station from the server; adding a second rule to change a source address
of the packets to an address of the primary base station for packets outbound from the primary base
station to the secondary base station as taught by Nigam. The motivation for doing so would be to
determine which DNAT rule to use in determining an indirect route. (Nigam, [0057])
The combination of Landgen, Ranki, Nix and Nigam do not explicitly disclose adding a third rule
to change a destination address of the packets to an address of the server for packets inbound from
the secondary base station to the primary base station; and adding a fourth rule to change a source
address of the packets to an address of the primary base station for packets outbound from the
primary base station to the server.
However, Cartmell does disclose adding a third rule to change a destination address of the
packets to an address of the server for packets inbound from the secondary base station to the
primary base station ([0387] For a message sent from the HNB 6305 to the MCN 6330, the
BWMserver 6310 may change the source IP address to the MCN 6330 provided IP address. For a
message sent from the MCN 6330 to the HNB 6305, the BWMserver 6310 may change the destination
IP address to the local IP address of the HNB 6305. [0392] destination addresses ofpackets that may be
routed between a WTRU and aBWMserver, either through a Wi-Fi or cellular connection, and between
the BWMserver and the application);
and adding a fourth rule to change a source address of the packets to an address of the
primary base station for packets outbound from the primary base station to the server( [0387] For a
message sentfrom the HNB 6305 to the MCN 6330, the BWMserver 6310 may change the source
IP address to the MCN 6330 provided IP address. For a message sent from the MCN 6330 to the
HNB 6305, the BWMserver 6310 may change the destination IP address to the local IP address ofthe
HNB 6305. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix and Nigam with adding a third
rule to change a destination address of the packets to an address of the server for packets inbound
from the secondary base station to the primary base station; and adding a fourth rule to change a
source address of the packets to an address of the primary base station for packets outbound from
the primary base station to the server as taught by Cartmell. The motivation for doing so would be to
provide flexibility (by mapping data packets appropriately and adaptively onto each RAT depending
upon various characteristics such as security, data rates, QoS, cost, robustness, and channel quality,
among others). (Cartmell, [0266])
Claim 9 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al, US
20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, and in further view of Cartmell et al, US 20140341109 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further
comprising generating an entry for the call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of
whether the set of forwarding rules is enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a
destination address of the secondary base station for the call.
However, Cartmell does disclose the method further comprising:generating an entry for the
call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of whether the set of forwarding rules is
enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a destination address of the secondary
base station for the call([0277] [0607][0666] [0668] An example of store, carry and forward may include
a stationary device that may use the CGW to hold data until the CGW can forward the data to its
destination. At 11042 a packet may be received from a mobile core network addressed to a device where
the packet may include or have a cellular (e.g. a 3G) IP destination address. At 11044, when the device
may not be reachable over a Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) network, the packet may be transmitted via a
cellular network. For each UE and the default entry, under ISRP, there may also be four ForFlowBased
entries, each one defining the routing rules for FTP, SIP, HTTP video and Other IP Flows. In each of these
ForFlowBased entries, the RulePriorityfield may be used. For the rules in the policy, RulePriority maybe
set to 1, except for the "Other" policy, which may use a higher numbered RulePriority the SOAP Serverin
the CGW may send the UE a getPolicyResponse message that may include the matching IFOM policy as
determined at 9..).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising generating an entry for the call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of
whether the set of forwarding rules is enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a
destination address ofthe secondary base station forthe call as taught by Cartmell. The motivation for
doing so would be to provide flexibility (by mapping data packets appropriately and adaptively onto
each RAT depending upon various characteristics such as security, data rates, QoS, cost, robustness, and
channel quality, among others). (Cartmell, [0266])
Regarding claim 31, Landgen does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform ([0077]FIG. 20 a memory 2010 and a processor 2020 may be discrete components of the network entity 2000 that are used to execute an application or set of operations.):
The combination of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose generating an entry for the call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of whether the set of forwarding rules is enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a destination address of the secondary base station for the call.
However, Cartmell does disclose generating an entry for the call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of whether the set of forwarding rules is enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a destination address of the secondary base station for the call ([0277][0580] [0666] [0668] An example of store, carry and forward may include a stationary device
that may use the CGW to hold data until the CGW can forward the data to its destination. In an example embodiment, a policy/rules that may be used for segregation may include one or more of the following parameters: a UE ID; a segregation enable/disable indicator or indication. For each UE and the default entry, under ISRP, there may also be four ForFlowBasedentries, each one defining the routing rules for FTP, SIP, HTTP video and Other IP Flows. In each ofthese ForFlowBased entries, the RulePriority field may be used. For the rules in the policy, RulePriority may be set to 1, except for the "Other" policy, which may use a higher numbered RulePriority the SOAP Server in the CGWmay send the UE a get PolicyResponse message that may include the matching IFOM policy as determined at 9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising generating an entry for the call in a call table, wherein the entry includes an indication of
whether the set of forwarding rules is enabled for the call, a destination address of the server, and a
destination address of the secondary base station for the call as taught by Cartmell. The motivation for
doing so would be to provide flexibility (by mapping data packets appropriately and adaptively onto
each RAT depending upon various characteristics such as security, data rates, QoS, cost, robustness, and channel quality, among others). (Cartmell, [0266]).
Claims 10 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al,
US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, in view of Cartmell et al, US 20140341109 A1, and in further view of Nishiyama et al, US 20110161786 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Cartmell do not explicitly disclose the method
further comprising: determining whether the call has terminated; and based on said determining
whether the call has ended, deleting the entry for the call in the call table.
However, Nishiyama does disclose the method further comprising: determining whether the call has terminated; and based on said determiningwhether the call has ended, deleting the entry for the call in the call table([0059] When the call between the IP telephone terminal T12 and the IP telephone terminal T18 ends, the exchange server BT updates the call state of the IP telephone terminal T12 of the IP terminalcall state data table 141 from "engaged in a call" to "idle", and deletes the port number. The examiner interprets the port number as entry.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Cartmell with the method
further comprising: determining whether the call has terminated; and based on said determining
whether the call has ended, deleting the entry for the call in the call table as taught by Jefferson. The
motivation for doing so would be to improve the reliability in judgment of the packet error reception
while suppressing the IP telephone terminals T11-T1i at a low cast. (Nishiyama, [0072])
Regarding claim 32, Landgen does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform([0077]FIG. 20 a memory 2010 and a
processor 2020 may be discrete components of the network entity 2000 that are used to execute an
application or set of operations.):
The combination of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Cartmell do not explicitly disclose determining
whether the call has terminated; and based on said determining whether the call has ended, deleting
the entry for the call in the call table.
However, Nishiyama does disclose determining whether the call has terminated; and based on
said determining whether the call has ended, deleting the entry for the call in the call
table([0207][0228] The task of determining whether the caller is on the participant list for the
conference, at step 1644, may be done by determining the caller ID/SIP unique resource identifier. Also
from the home state of displaying the call list 1710, the user may click on a "remove call" tab or menu
selection, which will manually delete the identified call entryfrom the calling list at state 1720.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Cartmell with determining
whether the call has terminated; and based on said determiningwhether the call has ended, deleting
the entry for the call in the call table as taught by Nishiyama. The motivation for doing so would be to
improve the reliability in judgment of the packet error reception while suppressing the IP telephone
terminals T11-T1i at a low cast. (Nishiyama, [0072])
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al, US
20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, and in further view of Jackson et al, US 20090293123 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further
comprising:determining whether to update or delete the set of forwarding rules based on one or
more SIP signaling events.
However, Jackson does disclose the method further comprising:determining whether to
update or delete the set of forwarding rules based on one or more SIP signaling events ([0051] the DoS
attack mitigator 155 authenticates the DoS header and, if authentic, updates its local database 610 of
DoS attack mitigation rules and/or filters, and then forwards the SIP 5XX response message to the
intervening border element 140, 141, 150, 152 without removing the DoS header and the DoS
authentication header. All subsequent DoS attack mitigators 155 receiving the SIP 5XX message 260
apply the updated DoS attack mitigation rules and/orfilters to subsequent SIP INVITE messages.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising determining whether to update or delete the set of forwarding rules based on one or
more SIP signaling events as taught by Jefferson. The motivation for doing so would be reduce the
allowed aggregate data rate for the communication path(s) between each of the border elements 140,
141, 150 and 152 and the IMS core 115. (Jackson, [0053])
Claims 15,17,18,36,38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Landgen et al, US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, and in further view of Alexander et al, US 20160277587 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method of any one
further comprising: determining whether one or more endpoints have changed; and based on said
determining whether one or more endpoints have changed, deleting the set of forwarding rules and
adding a new set forwarding rules to the network address translation table.
However, Alexander does disclose the method of any one further comprising: determining
whether one or more endpoints have changed; and based on said determining whether one or more
endpoints have changed, deleting the set of forwarding rules and adding a newset forwarding rules to
the network address translation table([0099][0106][0125][0129] NAT traversal handles issues
stemming from network address translation at the on-premise route/firewall. Thus, once the devices
have been created and configured, it is very easy and quick to change/ delete the configuration graph
and create new route and functionalities/rules. If at 320 method 300 determines that a communication
session (i.e., a connection) has been established between the session initiating endpoint of the caller
and the terminal device to which the call was assigned or changed, then the method 300 terminates at
324. In an embodiment, the updated call flow indicator is generated by appending/adding a new
destination identifier to the destination identifier used in the preceding leg ofthe communication
session (e.g., the initial destination identifier). The method proceeds to 412 and a terminal device
associated with the destination address specified in the forwarding/transfer request is selected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising: receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said
receiving a call hold indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding
rules to the network address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication as
taught by Alexander. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database
must be read. (Alexander, [0055])
Regarding claim 17, Landgen, Ranki, Nix and do not explicitly disclose the method further
comprising: receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said
receiving a call hold indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding
rules to the network address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication.
However, Alexander does disclose the method further comprising: receiving a call hold
indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said receiving a call hold indication; receiving
a call resume indication([0083] [0086][0099] [0106] [0127] CCXML absolves the programmer from
dealing with direct protocol level programming and provides a flexible and rapid mechanism
for call control, i.e. establishing, joining, un-joining, conferencing, holding, un-holding, transferring,
tearing down calls, etc. From 402, method 400proceeds to 404, where it is determined whether a call
forward/transfer request has been received from the parent device. If, at 406, it is determined that the
call has not been terminated, the method 400 returns/resumes to 402 and continues monitoring for
events. NAT traversal handles issues stemming from network address translation at the on-premise
route/firewall. Thus, once the devices have been created and configured, it is very easy and quick to
change/delete the configuration graph and create new route and functionalities/rules.);
and adding a new set of forwarding rules to the network address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication([0099][0106][0129] NAT traversal handles issues stemming from
network address translation at the on-premise route/firewall. Thus, once the devices have been created
and configured, it is very easy and quick to change/ delete the configuration graph and create new route
and functionalities/rules. In an embodiment, the updated callflow indicator is generated by
appending/adding a new destination identifier to the destination identifier used in the preceding leg of
the communication session (e.g., the initial destination identifier). The methodproceeds to 412 and a
terminal device associated with the destination address specified in the forwarding/transfer request is
selected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising: receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said
receiving a call hold indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding
rules to the network address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication as
taught by Alexander. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database
must be read. (Alexander, [0055])
Regarding claim 18, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further
comprising: determining, prior to said deleting the set of forwarding rules, with said deleting the set
of forwarding rules,whether the call hold indication was received from the secondary base station;
and proceeding, upon determining that the call hold indication was received from the secondary base
station.
However, Alexander does disclose the method further comprising: determining, prior to said
deleting the set of forwarding rules, with said deleting the set of forwarding rules, whether the call
hold indication was received from the secondary base station; and proceeding, upon determining that
the call hold indication was received from the secondary base station( [0083] [0086] [0099] [0106]
CCXML absolves the programmer from dealing with direct protocol level programming and provides a
flexible and rapid mechanism for call control, i.e. establishing, joining, un-joining,
conferencing, holding, un-holding, transferring, tearing down calls, etc. The permissions function of the
device platform 100 is handled at the application server 90 and includes enforcement of rules on which
users can configure and use each telephony device 110. Thus, once the devices have been created and
configured, it is very easy and quick to change/ delete the configuration graph and create new route and
functionalities/rules.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki ,and Nix with whether the call hold
indication was received from the secondary base station; and proceeding, upon determining that the
call hold indication was received from the secondary base station as taught by Alexander. The
motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database must be read. (Alexander, [0055])
Regarding claim 36, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the system wherein the
memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to
perform:determining whether one or more endpoints have changed; andbased on said determining
whether one or more endpoints have changed; deleting the set of forwarding rules and adding a new
set forwarding rules to the network address translation table.
However, Alexander does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:determining whether one or more
endpoints have changed; and based on said determining whether one or more endpoints have
changed; deleting the set of forwarding rules and adding a new set forwarding rules to the network
address translation table([0099][0106][0125][0129) NAT traversal handles issues stemming from
network address translation at the on-premise route/firewall. Thus, once the devices have been created
and configured, it is very easy and quick to change/delete the configuration graph and create new route
and functionalities/rules. Ifat 320 method 300 determines that a communication session (i.e., a
connection) has been established between the session initiating endpoint of the caller and the terminal
device to which the call was assigned or changed, then the method 300 terminates at 324. In an
embodiment, the updated call flow indicator is generated by appending/adding a new destination
identifier to the destination identifier used in the preceding leg of the communication session (e.g., the
initial destination identifier). The method proceeds to 412 and a terminal device associated with the
destination address specified in the forwarding/transfer request is selected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising: receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said
receiving a call hold indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding
rules to the network address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication as
taught by Alexander. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database
must be read. (Alexander, [0055])
Regarding claim 38, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the system wherein the
memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:
receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said receiving a call hold
indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding rules to the network
address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication.
However, Alexander does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform: receiving a call hold indication;
deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said receiving a call hold indication; receiving a call
resume indication([0083] [0086][0099] [0106] [0127] CCXML absolves the programmer from dealing
with direct protocol level programming and provides a flexible and rapid mechanism for call control, i.e.
establishing, joining, un-joining, conferencing, holding, un-holding, transferring, tearing down calls, etc.
From 402, method 400 proceeds to 404, where it is determined whether a call forward/transfer request
has been received from the parent device. If, at 406, it is determined that the call has not been
terminated, the method 400 returns/resumes to 402 and continues monitoring for events. NAT traversal
handles issues stemming from network address translation at the on-premise route/firewall. Thus, once
the devices have been created and configured, it is very easy and quick to change/delete the
configuration graph and create new route and functionalities/rules.);
and adding a new set of forwarding rules to the network address translation table based on
said receiving a call resume indication ([0099][0106][0129] NATtraversal handles issues stemming from
network address translation at the on-premise route/firewall. Thus, once the devices have been created
and configured, it is very easy and quick to change/delete the configuration graph and create new route
and functionalities/rules. In an embodiment, the updated call flow indicator is generated
by appending/adding a new destination identifier to the destination identifier used in the preceding leg
of the communication session (e.g., the initial destination identifier). The method proceeds to 412 and a
terminal device associated with the destination address specified in the forwarding/transfer request is
selected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the system wherein
the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:
receiving a call hold indication; deleting the set of forwarding rules based on said receiving a call hold
indication; receiving a call resume indication; and adding a new set of forwarding rules to the network
address translation table based on said receiving a call resume indication as taught by Alexander. The
motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database must be read. (Alexander,
[0055])
Regarding claim 39, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the system wherein the
memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to
perform:determining, prior to said deleting the set of forwarding rules, whether the call hold
indication was received from the secondary base station; and proceeding, upon determining that the
call hold indication was received from the secondary base station, with said deleting the set of
forwarding rules.
However, Alexander does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform: determining, prior to said deleting
the set of forwarding rules, whether the call hold indication was received from the secondary base
station; and proceeding, upon determining that the call hold indication was received from the
secondary base station, with said deleting the set of forwarding ([0083] [0086] [0099] [0106]
CCXML absolves the programmer from dealing with direct protocol level programming and provides a
flexible and rapid mechanism for call control, i.e. establishing, joining, un-joining,
conferencing, holding, un-holding, transferring, tearing down calls, etc. The permissions function of the
device platform 100 is handled at the application server 90 and includes enforcement of rules on which
users can configure and use each telephony device 110. Thus, once the devices have been created and
configured, it is very easy and quick to change/delete the configuration graph and create new route and
functionalities/rules. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with whether the call hold
indication was received from the secondary base station; and proceeding, upon determining that the
call hold indication was received from the secondary base station as taught by Alexander. The
motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number of times the database must be read. (Alexander,
[0055])
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al, US
20170280491 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, in view of Rajahalme et al, US 20170091258 A1, and in further view of Forte et al, US 20070121580 A1.
Regarding claim 19, Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme do not explicitly disclose the method
wherein the set of forwarding rules is configured after one or more media port selections have been
completed but before any media packets of the call have been received.
However, Forte does disclose the method wherein the set of forwarding rules is configured
after one or more media port selections have been completed but before any media packets of the
call have been received([0679] The port is used as an index, or key, to
a media stream table. This media stream table contains only media stream port definitions for the sole
purpose of separating media packets from control packets. Ifa packet is not classified as a media packet,
it is forwarded to a control processor for the remainder of the network stack processing. Media packets,
if not requiring further demultiplexing, are processed per
the media stream table match rules. These rules indicate count and drop, forward to media processing
engine, or demultiplex per Media Service Access Point (MSAP) service rules.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme with the
method wherein the set of forwarding rules is configured after one or more media port selections
have been completed but before any media packets of the call have been received as taught by
Alexander. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the number oftimes the database must be
read. (Alexander, [0055])
Claims 21 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al,
US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al, US 20130287006 A1, and in further view of Grebenschikov et al, US 20180121327 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the method further
comprising :disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and
disabling an outbound redirect message fromthe primary base station to the secondary base station.
However, Grebenschikov does disclose the method further comprising:disabling an outbound
redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and disabling an outbound redirect
message from the primary base station to the secondary base station ([0033] [0036] At
step 212 the network 108 routes the workstation application request from the multiplexer 112, to the
debug environment 104. The multiplexer 112 is operated to disable any redirects, such that all web
application requests will be forwarded to the server 114 and handled without any redirections.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising :disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and
disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the secondary base station
as taught by Ranford. The motivation for doing so would be to provide differentiated access services to
operably perform the functions allocated to the debug environment 104 in accordance with the present
disclosure. (Grebenschikov, [0019])
Regarding claim 41, Landgen, Ranki, and Nix do not explicitly disclose the system wherein the
memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to
perform:disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and
disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the secondary base station.
However, Grebenschikov does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:disabling an outbound redirect
message from the primary base station to the server; and disabling an outbound redirect message
from the primary base station to the secondary base station However, Grebenschikov does disclose the method further comprising:disablingan outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the
secondary base station ([0033] [0036] At step 212 the network 108 routes the workstation application
request from the multiplexer 112, to the debug environment 104. The multiplexer 112 is operated
to disable any redirects, such that all web application requests will be forwarded to the server 114 and
handled without any redirections.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, and Nix with the method further
comprising disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the server; and
disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the secondary base station
as taught by Ranford. The motivation for doing so would be to provide differentiated access services to
operably perform the functions allocated to the debug environment 104 in accordance with the present
disclosure. (Grebenschikov, [0019])
Claims 23 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Landgen et al, ,
US 20110065427 A1, in view of Ranki et al, US 20140051461, in view of Nix et al,
US 20130287006 A1, in view of Rajahalme et al, US 20170091258 A1, and in further view of Sugiyama et al, US 20120185563 A1.
Regarding claim 23, Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme do not explicitly disclose the method
further comprising:creating, prior to said adding the set forwarding rules to the network address
translation table, a shell process that includesa destination address of the secondary base station, a
destination address ofthe server, and a source address ofthe primary base station, wherein the shell
process is further configured to run an iptables command to add the set of forwarding rules to the
network address translation table.
However, Sugiyama does disclose the method further comprising:creating, prior to said adding
the set forwarding rules to the network address translation table ([0024] [0029] a static NATforming
device and a reverse proxy server are provided between the terminal and the server, and a virtual
connection between the terminal and the server is achieved through an IP address translating process of
two stages under the control of the reverse proxy server, wherein the two stages are a port forwarding
(static NAT) stage and a reverse proxy stage. If the terminal makes a connection request to the server in
a private network existing before the reverse proxy server, the static NAT forming device will set a static
NAT, and the reverse proxy server will set a reverse proxy, so that a data session will be formed between
the terminal and the server. ),
a shell process that includes a destination address of the secondary base station, a destination
address of the server, and a source address of the primary base station([0123] Further, the
player 111 provides a function as a shell, which is also referred to as an "application start control
section". A user interface provided by the player 111 for the user to connect to the server 103 is a
dedicated shell 208. When the personal authentication is normally completed, the dedicated shell 208 of the player 111 displays a window on the screen of the first terminal 105, and icon(s) is shown in the
window. The icon(s) includes an application start parameter (a command line), and the application name
of the application permitted to be executed, the server name of the server 103 permitted to be accessed, the virtual IP address provided by the local master box or the like is designated as the argument of the application.),
wherein the shell process is further configured to run an iptables command to add the set of
forwarding rules to the network address translation table([0230] On the other hand, the OS 201 is
provided with the shell 202 as standard. Further, obviously there is application program(s) started from
the shell 202. With regard to the shell 202 and the application (note: in FIG. 8, the application here is the
third application 203) that do not pass through the dedicated shell 208, the file system monitoring
section 810, the process monitoring section 811 and the clipboard monitoring section 812 closely
monitor the behavior of the shell 202 and application, and immediately stop the operation possible to
become a security threat to the server 103. For example, in the case of Linux (trademark), the term
"setting of static NAT" means an operation for setting a static NAT by using an iptables utility with
respect to a Netfilter driver of the kernel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme with the
method further comprising:creating, prior to said adding the set forwarding rules to the network
address translation table, a shell process that includes a destination address of the secondary base
station, a destination address of the server, and a source address of the primary base station, wherein
the shell process is further configured to run an iptables command to add the set of forwarding rules
to the network address translation table as taught by Sugiyama. The motivation for doing so would be
to improve security by encrypting and authenticating communication path is an application of OpenSSH.
(Sugiyama, [0020])
Regarding claim 42, Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme do not explicitly disclose the system
wherein the memory further comprises instructions executable by said one or more processors to
perform:creating, prior to said adding the set forwarding rules to the network address translation
table, a shell process that includes a destination address of the secondary base station, a destination
address of the server, and a source address of the primary base station, wherein the shell process is
further configured to run an iptables command to add the set of forwarding rules to the network
address translation table.
However, Sugiyama does disclose the system wherein the memory further comprises
instructions executable by said one or more processors to perform:creating, prior to said adding the
set forwarding rules to the network address translation table ([0024] [0029] a static NATforming device
and a reverse proxy server are provided between the terminal and the server, and a virtual connection
between the terminal and the server is achieved through an IP address translating process of two stages
under the control of the reverse proxy server, wherein the two stages are a port forwarding (static NAT)
stage and a reverse proxy stage. If the terminal makes a connection request to the server in a private
network existing before the reverse proxy server, the static NATforming device will set a static NAT, and
the reverse proxy server will set a reverse proxy, so that a data session will be formed between the
terminal and the server. ),
a shell process that includes a destination address of the secondary base station, a destination
address of the server, and a source address of the primary base station([0123] Further, the
player 111 provides a function as a shell, which is also referred to as an "application start control
section". A user interface provided by the player 111 for the user to connect to the server 103 is a
dedicated shell 208. When the personal authentication is normally completed, the dedicated shell 208 of the player 111 displays a window on the screen of the first terminal 105, and icon(s) is shown in the
window. The icon(s) includes an application start parameter (a command line), and the application name
of the application permitted to be executed, the server name of the server 103 permitted to be accessed, the virtual IP address provided by the local master box or the like is designated as the argument of the application.),
wherein the shell process is further configured to run an iptables command to add the set of
forwarding rules to the network address translation table([0230] On the other hand, the OS 201 is
provided with the shell 202 as standard. Further, obviously there is application program(s) started from
the shell 202. With regard to the shell 202 and the application (note: in FIG. 8, the application here is the
third application 203) that do not pass through the dedicated shell 208, the file system monitoring
section 810, the process monitoring section 811 and the clipboard monitoring section 812 closely
monitor the behavior of the shell 202 and application, and immediately stop the operation possible to
become a security threat to the server 103. For example, in the case of Linux (trademark), the term
"setting of static NAT" means an operation for setting a static NAT by using an iptables utility with
respect to a Netfilter driver of the kernel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Landgen, Ranki, Nix, and Rajahalme with the
method further comprising:disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to
the server; and disabling an outbound redirect message from the primary base station to the
secondary base station as taught by Sugiyama. The motivation for doing so would be to improve
security by encrypting and authenticating communication path is an application of OpenSSH. (Sugiyama,
[0020])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419