DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
can
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvite (US 4,784,421).
Claim 1:
Alvite discloses a robot system (abstract) comprising:
an arm part (30) (figs. 1-2, col. 5, lines 25-27);
a tool part (18) (figs. 1-2, col. 5, lines 6-15); and
a connection part (16) comprising a receiving part (70, 72) and a projection part (56, 58), wherein the receiving part (70, 72) is provided on one of the arm part and the tool part, and the projection part (56, 58) is provided on the other one of the arm part and the tool part, and wherein the receiving part (70, 72) is configured to connect the arm part and the tool part by securely receiving the projection part (56, 58), and to disconnect the arm part from the tool part by releasing the projection part (56, 58) (figs. 1-2, col. 5, lines 61-68 and col. 5, lines 42-51).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicholson (US 4,913,617).
Nicholson discloses a robot system (abstract) comprising:
an arm part (14) (figs. 1-2, col. 3, lines 30-33);
a tool part (10) (figs. 1-2, col. 5, lines 30-33); and
a connection part (32) comprising a receiving part (72) and a projection part (38), wherein the receiving part (72) is provided on one of the arm part and the tool part, and the projection part (38) is provided on the other one of the arm part and the tool part, and wherein the receiving part (72) is configured to connect the arm part and the tool part by securely receiving the projection part (38), and to disconnect the arm part from the tool part by releasing the projection part (38) (figs. 1-5, col. 4, lines 6-10 and col. 4, lines 42-45).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asano et al. (US 2022/0016789 A1).
Claim 13:
Asano discloses a robot system (abstract) comprising:
an arm part (100) comprising a first connection part (250) (fig. 23, [0168]);
a tool part (300c’) comprising a second connection part (301) (fig. 23, [0168]);
and, at least one processor (600) (fig. 1, [0058], [0061] and [0208]-[0212]),
wherein the first connection part (250) comprises one of a receiving part (392, 393) and a projection part (252, 253), and the second connection part comprises the other one of the receiving part (392, 393) and the projection part (252, 253) (fig. 23, [0175] and [0176]); and,
wherein the at least one processor (600) is configured to: control the arm part to connect to the tool part by securely receiving the projection part (252, 253) with the receiving part (392, 393), and control the arm part to disconnect from the tool part by causing the receiving part (392, 393) to release the projection part (252, 253) (figs. 1 and 23, [0058], [0061], [0175] and [0176]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Nicholson (US 4,913,617).
Claim 14:
Asano discloses the robot system of claim 13; and Asano fails to disclose a plurality of claws configured to fit between a front end part and the foundation part.
Nicholson discloses a robot system (abstract) further comprising
a projection part including a front end part (38), a groove part (47), and a foundation part (44) (fig. 2, col. 4, lines 6-10), and
a receiving part including a plurality of claws (46) configured to fit between the front end part (38) and the foundation part (44) in the groove part (47) (fig. 2, col. 4, lines 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection structure of Asano to incorporate the claw-and-groove engagement mechanism of Nicholson in order to provide a known alternative retention mechanism for securing a projection within a receiving structure, yielding predictable results in the form of reliable engagement and disengagement of the tool. See MPEP § 2143 A which describes the prima facie obviousness of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The results would have been predictable because both Asano and Nicholson are directed to mechanisms for attaching and detaching components in robotic or manipulator systems, and thus are reasonably combinable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726