DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 and 12-22 are pending for examination.
Claims 1, 17 and 20 are independent Claims.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blinnikka (U.S. 2008/0126387 hereinafter Blinnikka) in view of Din (U.S. 6,754,631 hereinafter Din) in further view of Lim et al. (U.S. 2016/0021333 hereinafter Lim).
As Claim 1, Blinnikka teaches a method for multimedia processing, comprising:
displaying first text content, wherein the first text content corresponds to a first multimedia content (Blinnikka (¶0038 line 1-6, fig. 3 item 306), text content is displayed in area 306. The text is corresponding to the media stream)
playing second multimedia content in response to a triggering operation for the second multimedia content (Blinnikka (¶0037 line 4-8), user can play and watch the media stream),
Blinnikka does not explicitly disclose:
and is obtained by automatic speech recognition of the first multimedia content; and
Din teaches:
and is obtained by automatic speech recognition of the first multimedia content (Din (col. 5 line 21-23 and col. 6 line 23-33), session is record. Transcript is generated for captured audio); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transcript of Blinnikka instead be an auto-transcript taught by Din, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be conveniently “recording meeting minutes based upon speech recognition” (Din (col. 7 line 41-42)).
Blinnikka in view of Din does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second multimedia content comprises a segment of the first multimedia content that is associated with at least one second text content, and the at least one second text content is extracted from the first text content, and
wherein the second multimedia content is a summarized multimedia segment comprising at least two multimedia sub-segments, each multimedia sub-segment corresponds to a summary type selected from a plurality of summary types, and the at least one second text content comprises a text summary of at least one of the plurality of summary types; and
wherein the method further comprises:
during the playing of the second multimedia content, displaying an indicator of the at least one summary type corresponding to the text summary in association with a play timeline of the second multimedia content..
Lim teaches:
wherein the second multimedia content comprises a segment of the first multimedia content that is associated with at least one second text content (Lim (¶0048 line 1-2), “A video summary is technology to convert a long archived video into a short video summary”), and the at least one second text content is extracted from (Lim (¶0048 line 1-3), “The video summarizer 130 generates a video summary script regarding each original video by using the metadata generated by the metadata generator 140”) the first text content (Lim (¶0044 line 1-4), “The image reproducer 110 may also provide the metadata generator 140 with the original videos that are input. The metadata generator 140 extracts metadata from the original videos”), and
wherein the second multimedia content is a summarized multimedia segment comprising at least two multimedia sub-segments, each multimedia sub-segment corresponds to a summary type selected from a plurality of summary types (Lim (¶0073 line 1-7, fig. 8), “user selects a certain channel and may watch an original video and video summaries of certain time sections of the selected channel. For example, the user may watch video summaries of office hours 820, lunch time 830, and office leaving period 830 in a first channel 810 receiving an input video from a network surveillance camera that monitors entrances and exits of an office”), and the at least one second text content comprises a text summary of at least one of the plurality of summary types (Lim (¶0073 line 1-7), “For example, the user may watch video summaries of office hours 820, lunch time 830, and office leaving period 830”); and
wherein the method further comprises:
during the playing of the second multimedia content, displaying an indicator of the at least one summary type corresponding to the text summary in association with a play timeline of the second multimedia content (Lim (¶0073 line 1-7, fig. 8), “For example, the user may watch video summaries of office hours 820, lunch time 830, and office leaving period 830”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify close caption of Blinnikka in view of Din instead be summarized videos taught by Lim, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be conveniently allow “the user selects a certain channel and may watch an original video and video summaries of certain time sections of the selected channel” (Lim (¶0073 line 1-3)).
As Claim 2, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the at least one second text content comprises at least two consecutive text segments extracted from the first text content (Blinnikka (¶0043 line 1-8, ¶0052 line 1-4), text includes whole line of text or multiple words).
As Claim 3, besides Claim 2, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the playing second multimedia content in response to a triggering operation for the second content comprises:
in response to the triggering operation for the second multimedia content, according to an order of associated time periods of the at least two consecutive text segments of the at least one target second content in the first multimedia content (Lim (¶0048 line 1-3), “The video summarizer 130 generates a video summary script regarding each original video by using the metadata generated by the metadata generator 140”),
playing by jumping across multimedia segments in the first multimedia content, each of the multimedia segments corresponding to an associated time period of one of the consecutive text segments (Lim (¶0048 line 1-3), “The video summarizer 130 generates a video summary script regarding each original video by using the metadata generated by the metadata generator 140”).
As Claim 6, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the generating the second multimedia content based on the associated time period of the at least one second text content comprises:
in response to that there are a plurality of associated time periods, generating the second multimedia content by joining a plurality of multimedia segments corresponding to the plurality of associated time periods according to an order of the plurality of associated time periods in the first multimedia content (Lim (¶0048 line 1-3), “The video summarizer 130 generates a video summary script regarding each original video by using the metadata generated by the metadata generator 140”).
As Claim 7, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the generating the second multimedia content based on the associated time period of the at least one first text content comprises:
adjusting the associated time period of the at least one second text content based on a sentence integrity of an associated text of the at least one second text content (Blinnikka (¶0029 line 1-10), user can overwrite the start /end point of the portion); and
generating the second multimedia content based on the adjusted associated time period (Blinnikka (¶0029 line 1-10), user can overwrite the start /end point of the portion).
As Claim 8, besides Claim 7, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the second text is a text corresponding to the at least one first text content in the initial text content (Blinnikka (¶0051 line 1-4, ¶0053 line 1-5), user selects a starting point and ending point of text segment within the text body).
As Claim 15, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches further comprising:
receiving a download operation for the second multimedia content from a user, downloading and storing the second multimedia content (Blinnikka (¶0034 last 5 lines), display device 204 accesses content over a network).
As Claim 16, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the displaying first text content comprises: displaying the first text content in response to a triggering operation for a list page, wherein the list page displays abstract information of a plurality of multimedia contents (Blinnikka (¶0038 line 1-5), text displays multiple rows of text).
As Claim 17, Blinnikka teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a processor (Blinnikka (¶0031 line 4-5), processor and memory); and
a memory configured to store instructions that are executable by the processor (Blinnikka (¶0031 line 4-5), processor and memory);
the processor being configured to read the instructions from the memory and execute the instructions to implement a method for multimedia processing (Blinnikka (¶0031 line 4-5), processor and memory) comprising:
The rest of the limitation(s) are rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 18, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2.
As Claim 19, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3.
As Claim 20, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 21, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches determining the second multimedia content based on the at least one second text content (Lim (¶0048 line 1-2), “A video summary is technology to convert a long archived video into a short video summary”).
As Claim 22, besides Claim 21, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim teaches wherein the determining the second multimedia content based on the at least one second text content comprises:
generating the second multimedia content based on the associated time period of the at least one second text content, wherein the associated time period of the at least one second text content is used to characterize a time period of speech information corresponding to the at least one second text content in the second multimedia content (Lim (¶0048 line 1-2), “A video summary is technology to convert a long archived video into a short video summary”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blinnikka and Din in view of Lim in further view of Gilson (U.S. 2012/0059954 hereinafter Gilson).
As Claim 10, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the playing second multimedia content in response to a triggering operation for the second multimedia content comprises:
determining a type of the summary corresponding to the triggering operation in response to the triggering operation for the second multimedia content; and
obtaining a target multimedia sub-segment corresponding to the type of the summary and playing the target multimedia sub-segment; or
obtaining the summarized multimedia segment and playing the summarized multimedia segment based on a time period of the type of the summary in the summarized multimedia segment.
Gilson teaches wherein the playing an associated multimedia content in response to a triggering operation for the associated multimedia content comprises:
determining a type of the summary corresponding to the triggering operation in response to the triggering operation for the second multimedia content; and (Gilson (¶0074 line 17-26), user selects a caption stream for display); and
obtaining a target multimedia sub-segment corresponding to the type of the summary and playing the target multimedia sub-segment; or
obtaining the summarized multimedia segment and playing the summarized multimedia segment based on a time period of the type of the summary in the summarized multimedia segment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify caption content of Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim instead be a multiple caption system taught by Gilson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide more convenient, usable and/or advanced captioning functionalities (Gilson (¶0002).
As Claim 12, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the displaying an identification of the type of the summary corresponding to the text summary in association on the play timeline of the second multimedia content comprises:
displaying the identification of the type of the summary corresponding to the target text summary at an associated time point corresponding to the text summary on the play timeline of the second multimedia content
Gilson teaches wherein the displaying an identification of the type of the summary corresponding to the text summary in association on the play timeline of the second multimedia content comprises:
displaying the identification of the type of the summary corresponding to the target text summary at an associated time point corresponding to the text summary on the play timeline of the second multimedia content (Gilson (¶0030 line 1-5, fig. 4A), caption type is indicated with playback speed. Caption is displayed in according to the scene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify caption content of Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim instead be a multiple caption system taught by Gilson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide more convenient, usable and/or advanced captioning functionalities (Gilson (¶0002).
As Claim 13, besides Claim 12, Blinnikka and Din in view of Lim in further view of Gilson teaches wherein the associated time point corresponding to the text summary is a time point in the associated time period of the text summary (Gilson (¶0030 line 1-5, fig. 4A), caption type is indicated with playback speed. Caption is displayed in according to the scene).
As Claim 14, besides Claim 1, Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Lim does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising:
during the playing of second multimedia content, prominently displaying at least one second text content corresponding to a playing progress of the second multimedia content in sequence.
Gilson teaches:
during the playing of second multimedia content, prominently displaying at least one second text content corresponding to a playing progress of the second multimedia content in sequence (Gilson (¶0030 line 1-5, fig. 4A), caption type is indicated with playback speed. Caption is displayed in according to the scene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify caption content of , Blinnikka in view of Din in further view of Bishop instead be a multiple caption system taught by Gilson, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to provide more convenient, usable and/or advanced captioning functionalities (Gilson (¶0002).
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103:
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that cited references do not disclose “second multimedia content comprises a segment of the first multimedia content that is associated with at least one target text content” (third paragraph of page 9 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are moot because new reference Lim teaches the limitation(s).
As Claim 1, Applicants argue that cited references do not disclose “a summarized multimedia segment” (sixth paragraph of page 9 in the remarks).
Applicants’ arguments are moot because new reference Lim teaches the limitation(s).
Conclusion
/NHAT HUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147