DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LECUIVRE USPGPUB 20230018342 A1 (hereinafter “LECUIVRE”).
As to claim 1, LECUIVRE teaches a method comprising (abstract “method for power management of a computing system”): providing an uninterruptable power supply (UPS) to use for a load (abstract “uninterruptible power supplies and/or the load” and FIG. 1); determining a first subset of power supply units (PSUs) that are coupled to a first Power Distribution Unit (PDU) powered through the UPS (FIG. 1 and paragraph 0041-0043), and a second subset of PSUs that are coupled to a second PDU not powered through the UPS (FIG. 1 and paragraph 0041-0043); and conditioned upon a presence of a main power signal, shifting a predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs coupled to the second PDU not powered by the UPS (FIG. 1 show main power and it supply power to both PSU and paragraph 0042-0043, 0045-0048, FIG. 3).
As to claim 2, LECUIVRE teaches further comprising: conditioned upon an absence or a disruption of the main power signal, the second subset of PSUs are automatically powered through the second PDU by the UPS (paragraph 0045-0048 and FIG. 1, 3).
As to claim 11, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 12, is related to claim 2 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 16, is related to claim 1 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 17, is related to claim 2 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 9-10 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LECUIVRE USPGPUB 20230018342 A1 (hereinafter “LECUIVRE”) in view of Lee USPGPUB 2022/0131408 (hereinafter “Chen”).
As to claim 3, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE does not explicitly teach wherein providing an uninterruptable power supply (UPS) further comprises monitoring at least one of a magnitude, frequency, phase, and shape of one or more one system input signals; and comparing a measured signal to a main power signal.
Chen teaches wherein providing an uninterruptable power supply (UPS) further comprises monitoring at least one of a magnitude, frequency, phase, and shape of one or more one system input signals (paragraph 0087 “FIG. 6 includes current sensors and voltage sensors for system monitoring” and paragraph 0077-0078, FIG. 6); and comparing a measured signal to a main power signal (paragraph 0086 “compare the phases measured on the input lines with the phases measured at the output of the UPS”).
As to claim 4, LECUIVRE and Chen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE further teaches further comprises configuring a UPS detector for monitoring one or more one system signals from the first PDU and the second PDU (paragraph 0005 “monitoring and managing physical power devices (UPSs, ePDUs, etc) or PSs or virtual environments (Hypervisor, VMs, etc)”).
LECUIVRE and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to uninterruptable power supply (UPS).
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above uninterruptable power supply (UPS), as taught by LECUIVRE, and incorporating detector for monitoring one or more one system signals, as taught by Chen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring, controlling protective devices to actuate. This may cause at least momentary loss of power to the load, which obviates one of the essential functions of the UPS, as suggested by Chen (paragraph 0013).
As to claim 5, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE does not explicitly teach wherein determining the first subset of PSUs and the second subset of PSUs further comprises measuring current using respective current sensors coupled to output ports of the first PDU and output ports of the second PDU to identify a respective redundant power path through the first subset of PSUs and through the second subset of PSUs not powered through the UPS.
However, Chen teaches wherein determining the first subset of PSUs and the second subset of PSUs further comprises measuring current using respective current sensors coupled to output ports of the first PDU and output ports of the second PDU to identify a respective redundant power path through the first subset of PSUs and through the second subset of PSUs not powered through the UPS (paragraph 0091-0093).
As to claim 6, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE teaches wherein shifting a predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs coupled to the second PDU not powered by the UPS (paragraph 0041-0043 and FIG. 1) but it does not explicitly teach further comprises shifting a selected percentage value of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs, wherein the selected percentage value is provided in a range between 60% and 100% of the main power signal.
However, Chen teaches further comprises shifting a selected percentage value of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs, wherein the selected percentage value is provided in a range between 60% and 100% of the main power signal (paragraph 0093-006 and it’s a design issue to setup the range).
As to claim 7, LECUIVRE and Chen teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chen further teaches wherein the selected percentage value is based on a minimum amount of the main power signal in the presence of the main power signal to enable at least one of: load powering operation by the UPS upon the absence or a disruption of the main power signal, or recovery by the UPS following the absence or the disruption of the main power signal (paragraph 0063-0064).
As to claim 8, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE does not explicitly teach wherein conditioned upon a presence of a main power signal, shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs further comprises providing a voltage control signal to operatively control the second subset of PSUs for power shifting and incrementally adjust the voltage control signal for shifting the predefined amount.
However, Chen teaches wherein conditioned upon a presence of a main power signal, shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs further comprises providing a voltage control signal to operatively control the second subset of PSUs for power shifting and incrementally adjust the voltage control signal for shifting the predefined amount (paragraph 0045-0046).
As to claim 9, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE does not explicitly teach wherein conditioned upon a presence of a main power signal, shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs further comprises providing a power shifting control module for applying and incrementally adjusting a voltage control signal to the second subset of PSUs for load shifting by the second subset of PSUs.
However, Chen teaches wherein conditioned upon a presence of a main power signal, shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs further comprises providing a power shifting control module for applying and incrementally adjusting a voltage control signal to the second subset of PSUs for load shifting by the second subset of PSUs (paragraph 0045-0048).
As to claim 10, LECUIVRE teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
LECUIVRE does not explicitly teach wherein shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs coupled to the second PDU not powered by the UPS decreases UPS power consumption during system operation in the presence of the main power signal, increasing system efficiency.
However, Chen teaches wherein shifting the predefined amount of the main power signal to the second subset of PSUs coupled to the second PDU not powered by the UPS decreases UPS power consumption during system operation in the presence of the main power signal, increasing system efficiency (paragraph 0058-0063).
As to claim 13, is related to claim 3 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 14, is related to claim 6 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 18, is related to claim 3 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
As to claim 19, is related to claim 6 with similar limitations also rejected by same rational.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 15 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and listed on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brundridge et al USPGPUB 2009/0189774 teaches a power topology determination system includes a management engine. A power line communication device is coupled to the management engine. A first power device is coupled to the power line communication device through a power line connection. The power line communication device is operable to retrieve first power device information from the first power device and the management engine is operable to provide the first power device information for power topology display.
LEE USP 10,565,073 teaches a peak power control (PPC) system/method providing a uninterruptable power supply (UPS) to one or more protected load devices (PLD) supplied by power supply units (PSU) serviced by a primary power source (PPS) and a secondary power source (SPS) is disclosed. The PPS is configured to provide only a portion of peak power demand (PPD) required by the PSU to support the PLD power demand. During periods where power supplied by the PPS is insufficient to support the PLD power demand, the SPS augments the power supplied to the PSU to meet the PLD power demand. During periods where power supplied by the PPS is sufficient to meet the PLD power demand, the SPS is recharged by any excess power available from the PPS. Power provisioning controls (PPC) generate state control information (SCI) instructing the PLD to modulate computing clock speeds and/or prioritize PLD computing tasks in real-time.
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119