Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the adjustable ratchet on each of the pivot point brace and the main brace as described in par. 20 and 23 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show top handle’s clamp locking mechanism in par. 18 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the adjustable pivot ratchet, the adjustable ratchet, the clamp locking mechanism, the clamp attaching mechanism, platform, spring must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 16 and 19. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claim 12 recites “a connecting mechanism attaching the bottom left arm with a lifting handle” and “a connecting mechanism attaching the bottom right arm with a lifting handle”. The three prong tests are:
All three prongs are met and therefore this claim limitation is going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f; andpar. 0024 of the specification reveals “the bottom left arm 12 further comprises a hole 13 for carabiner, cables, hooks, or handles to connect to a lifting handle 18” and par. 0026 of the specification reveals “the lifting handles are designed to attach beneath a box and comprise a spring or bungee cord that connects the lifting handles to each other”, “the lifting handles are designed to support a material tray or platform” and “Each variation of lifting handles 18 may be used to lift objects of different sizes and weight during use of the present invention as needed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a connecting mechanism attaching the bottom left arm with a lifting handle, … and a connecting mechanism attaching the bottom right arm with a lifting handle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if “a lifting handle” is part of “lifting handles” earlier recited in claim 1 or is different. Based on Figs. of the invention this claim language is suggested to be amended as below to overcome this rejection:--a first connecting mechanism attaching the bottom left arm with a first lifting handle of the lifting handles, … and a second connecting mechanism attaching the bottom right arm with a second lifting handle of the lifting handles--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Martini et al. (US 20090121203 A1) hereinafter Martini.
Claim 1 recites a device that is used for lifting storage tote. More limiting the features and relationship between the storage tote and the device mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited device. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the device.
Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a cantilevered lifting device comprising: a top section, a pivot point brace (angle member 126 connected to the wheels 138), an attaching mechanism (connector 124, threaded bolt 116, a flat washer 118, a lock washer 120 and a threaded nut 122) on said pivot point brace, a middle section (114), a main brace (main brace comprises at least 108, 106L, 106R, 132, 132), a bottom left arm (left side receiver tube 146), a bottom right arm (right side receiver tube 146), and lifting handles (left and right lift members 152, 152). Device of Martini is capable of lifting totes by engaging U-shaped part of handles under a tote lip.
Regarding claim 2, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top section further comprising: a top handle, a top left arm, and a top right arm.
Regarding claim 3, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top handle further comprising a locking mechanism.
Regarding claim 5, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top section further comprising: an outer sleeve of the top left arm (left side 112), inner tubing (left side of 102) of the top left arm, an outer sleeve of the top right arm (right side 112), inner tubing (left side of 102) of the top right arm, and locking pins (132, 132).
Regarding claims 6, 18 and 20, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the attaching mechanism comprises at least two drill holes and locking pins (holes through which threaded bolt 116/locking pin passes).
Regarding claim 9, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the middle section further comprising: a middle left arm (left side of 130), and a middle right arm (right side of 130).
Regarding claim 10, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the main brace further comprising an adjustable (adjustability by plurality of attachment holes as shown in Fig. 13A-13B below) pivot ratchet (106L/106R) .
Regarding claim 11, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the main brace further comprising: an outer sleeve (108) of the main brace, inner tubing (tube shaped cap plug 132) of the main brace, and locking pins (hair pin cotter pins 162).
Regarding claim 12, Martini teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a hole found on the bottom left arm (rectangular shaped hole inside 146), a connecting mechanism (grip pins and holes) attaching the bottom left arm with a lifting handle, a hole found on the bottom right arm, and a connecting mechanism (ring grip pins 128 and holes) attaching the bottom right arm with a lifting handle.
Claim 13 is further limiting intended use of the lifting handles being shaped specifically for lifting totes. U-shaped part of handles of Martini are capable of engaging under a tote lip to lift.
Claim 14 is further limiting intended use of the lifting handles being shaped specifically for lifting totes. U-shaped part of handles of Martini are capable of engaging under a tote lip to lift. Martini further teaches lifting handles comprise spring lock washer 120.
Claim 17 is combination of claims 1, 2 and 9 and is rejected for the same reasons by Martini.
Claim 19 is combination of claims 1-3, 5 and 9-11 and is rejected for the same reasons by Martini.
Claims 1-3, 9, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 116789033 A) hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a storage tote lifting device
comprising: a top section, a pivot point brace, an attaching mechanism (rotation connections 111, 121) on said pivot point brace, a middle section, a main brace (13), a bottom left, a bottom right arm, and lifting handles.
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top section further comprising: a top handle, a top left arm, and a top right arm.
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the top handle further comprising a locking mechanism (“fastening pieces”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the middle section further comprising: a middle left arm (422), and a middle right arm (412).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the lifting handles are shaped specifically for lifting totes (for locating flat bottom section of tote on flat top of the lifting handles).
Claim 17 is combination of claims 1, 2 and 9 and is rejected for the same reasons by Yang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini in view of Forester (US 5099539 A).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, telescopic pieces are fixed together by bolt/pin and not a clamp.
Forester teaches spring loaded pivoting clamping mechanism for fixing telescopic pieces (col. 8, line 39-col. 9, line 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use clamp for fixing inner tubes to outer tubes of Martini instead of regular pins/bolts for faster adjustment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini in view of Rabey (US 0852846 A).
Regarding claim 8, in cantilevered device of Martini, angle of middle section (114) relative to the lifting handles (152, 152) can be set on zero or 90 degrees, but not incrementally adjustable.
Rabey teaches a cantilevered device with incremental adjustment of handle G relative to the base I using ratcheting mechanism (O, N).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ratcheting angular adjustment between the lifting handles (152, 152) and the middle section (114) of Martini. Doing so would make the device capable of changing lifting height level.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini in view of Perlstein (US 20200079627 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the two lifting handles of Martini do not have a tray platform.
Perlstein teaches a lifting system 100 with two lifting handles (120, 122) connected together by a tray platform (184) having a width 186.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a tray platform to the lifting handle to increase engagement width with the lifted object such as base of a tote.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini in view of Wallace et al. (US 20220371637 A1) hereinafter Wallace.
Claim 15 is further limiting intended use of the lifting handles being shaped specifically for lifting totes. U-shaped part of handles of Martini are capable of engaging under a tote lip to lift. Martini does not have tie-downs such as bungee cord to fasten cargo/load to the lifting device.
Wallace teaches a lifting hand-truck using tie-down devices such as straps, bungees to secure and stabilize a cargo to the frame of the lifting device (see par. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tie-downs such as bungee cords to securely hold the load on the device.
Claims 4-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Forester.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 11, Yang teaches the top section further comprising: an outer sleeve (6) of the top left arm, inner tubing (51) of the top left arm, an outer sleeve of the top right arm, inner tubing of the top right arm; the main brace further comprising: an outer sleeve of the main brace, inner tubing of the main brace.Yang does not clearly show the fastening mechanism between the outer sleeve 6 and inner tubing 51 and locking pins between the inner tubing 13 and the outer sleeve 6.
Forester teaches spring loaded pivoting clamping mechanism with locking pin 296 for fixing telescopic pieces (col. 8, line 39-col. 9, line 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use clamp for fixing inner tubes to outer tubes of Yang for faster assembly and disassembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao Zhi et al. (CN 111483951) teaches a cantilevered lifting device pivotally installed on an A frame structure (12).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723