DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/26.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5, line 3 “configured to receive” describes a device that is capable of performing and/or containing the composition, but does not necessarily require that it performs and/or contains the described composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller (US Pub.: 2020/0254413) and in view of Bowe (WO 2009/101434) and in view of Rees (US Pat.: 2552737).
Miller describes a device for use in methane reforming (para. 2). The device contains a steam methane reformer tube (Fig. 1, 101 and para. 19), which can be considered the reformer tube of Claim 5. Inside the reactor is a pressurized gas conduit, 107 (para. 24) that is positioned at the center of the reactor (see para. 48). Next to the pressurized gas conduit is a temperature measurement device (abstract). Therefore, since the pressurized gas conduit is for gas and is next to a temperature measurement device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this pressurized gas conduit would be effective to receive a temperature control gas.
Around the bottom of the pressurized gas conduit, the reactor is filled with catalyst (para. 46, 47 and Figure 8, 112). Although some of the pictures show that the catalyst does not fill the tube, paragraph 46 of Miller states that the reactor tube is filled.
Miller does not teach that the flow rate of the temperature control gas is adjusted.
As to the flow rate of the temperature control gas, Bowe teaches a steam methane reforming reaction module (abstract). Bowe explains that in a steam reforming module (page 11, lines 10-14), a gas mixture, 36, which consists of steam and methane, is subjected to a control loop comprising a pressure tramsitter that provides data about the pressure of the gas mixture to a pressure controller (page 11, lines 13-15). The pressure controller can adjust the flow rate using a control valve and can open a vent valve to divert a gas mixture to a flare if the pressure of the gas mixture exceeds a predetermined safe threshold pressure for the reactor (page 11, lines 15-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a flow controller, as taught by Bowe for use with the process of Miller because Bowe explains that use of a flow controller can adjust the flow if the pressure of the gas mixture exceeds a predetermined safe threshold pressure for the reactor.
As to the multiple delivery holes, Miller does not specifically teach this.
Rees describes a process for producing synthesis gas (title) by reacting methane with CO2 and steam (col. 1, lines 7-9). The process feeds a flow of the reactants into a reactor with porous walls (Claim 1) so that a combustible mixture of reactants passes through the pore walls to produce a hot combustion gas that contacts the methane (Claim 1). The reactor with porous walls is a pipe with pores (col. 5, lines 60-61). The amount of hydrocarbon reactants can pass through in the proportion required for a reaction to form and produce CO and H2 (Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add numerous pores to the device of Miller, as taught by Rees because Rees explains that use of a tube with porous walls allows a required proportion of hydrocarbon reactants to pass through the pipe in order to produce the reactants CO and H2.
As to introducing a temperature control gas into the lance, Rees explains that the temperature conditions are maintained in the reaction zone so that the hydrocarbon reacts with CO2 and steam from a surface combustion (col. 1, lines 45-50).
As to the method of assembling the device, although Miller does not describe this feature, such as, placing the gas conduit inside the reactor, since Miller described the final structure, such as, the pressurized gas conduit in the reactor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that these steps were taken in order to assemble the product.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller, Bowe and Rees as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yang (US Pub.: 2021/0197160).
Yang teaches a reactor (title) used to react chemicals in a reaction (para. 3). The reference explains that the pores in the reactor can be distributed evenly in a flow channel (para. 31) so that the reactants can be reacted evenly (para. 40, 83).
The reference relates to the current invention because it is concerned with chemical reactors and use of those reactors in chemical reactions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the pores in an even distribution, as taught by Yang for use with the device of Miller, Bowe and Rees because an even distribution facilities an even distribution of reactants.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Miller does not teach that there is a second axial quench lance or the features described in Claim 11.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 3, 2026