DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to the amendment filed on 10-27-2025. Claims 2, 12 and 21 have been amended and claims 2-11 have been withdrawn. Claims 12-21 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
5. Claims 12-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,864,886. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the current (18/529,822) claim limitations are broader than claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,864,886 as shown in the table below.
Instant Application No. 18/529,822
US PAT. 11,864,886
12. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a tone generator configured to output a signal to cause a speaker to emit a tone; a compensation element coupled to an output of the tone generator, with the compensation element configured to: receive a communication from a control sub-system; and apply, based on the communication, a compensation to the signal; the speaker to emit the tone based on the signal; a microphone to detect the tone emitted by the speaker; and a sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element separate from the microphone, the SPL measurement element configured to receive data corresponding to the tone detected by the microphone, and determine an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone based on the data received.
1. A system comprising: a tone generator to: receive an indication of a tone to be emitted from headphones, and output a first signal to cause a speaker to emit the tone; a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) to generate an analog signal indicative of the tone by converting a signal indicative of the first signal from a digital domain to an analog domain; a speaker to emit the tone based on. the analog signal; a microphone to detect the tone emitted by the speaker; an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) to generate a digital signal. indicative of the tone detected by the microphone by converting a second signal indicative of the tone detected by the microphone from the analog domain to the digital domain; a sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element to: receive an indication of the tone detected by the microphone, and determine are SPL of the tone detected by the microphone, wherein the SPL is to be used to verify that the SPL is equal to an intended SPL for the tone, the SPL measurement element being separate from and coupled to the microphone via at least the ADC; and a compensation element coupled to an output of the tone generator, the compensation element to apply compensation to the first signal, wherein each of the tone generator, the DAC, the speaker, the microphone, the ADC, and the SPL measurement element is integrated into the headphones.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 12-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (2) as being anticipated by Blau et al.(US 2019/0320268).
Consider Claim 12, Blau teaches a system (see fig. 1) comprising:
a tone generator(see fig. 1(106)) configured to output a signal to cause a speaker to emit a tone(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).;
a compensation element(See fig. 1(105)) coupled to an output of the tone generator, with the compensation element(see figs.1, 2. 4-10) configured to:
receive(see figs. 4-10) a communication from a control sub-system; and apply, based on the communication, a compensation to the signal(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0115]- [0139]);
the speaker(see fig. 1(120)) to emit the tone based on the signal; a microphone(see fig. 1(125)) to detect the tone emitted by the speaker(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and
a sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element (see fig. 4) separate from the microphone(see fig. 1), the SPL measurement element configured to receive data corresponding to the tone detected by the microphone(see fig. 2), and determine an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone based on the data received
(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).
Consider Claims 13 and 14, Blau teaches the system wherein the control sub-system is configured to output a second signal associated with the tone(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and the system wherein the control sub-system is further configured to: receive an indication of the SPL; and verify that the SPL is equal to an intended SPL for the tone(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).
Consider Claims 15 and 16, Blau teaches the system with at least one of an amplitude of the tone or a frequency of the tone being based on an attribute of the second signal(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and the system wherein the attribute comprises one or more of a value, an amplitude, a frequency, a timing offset, a voltage offset(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).
Consider Claims 18 and 19, Blau teaches the system further comprising a wireless communication element coupled with the tone generator and the SPL measurement element, and configured to receive communications from the SPL measurement element(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and the system wherein the wireless communication element is further coupled with the compensation element, and is further configured to provide communication between the compensation element and the control sub-system see figs. 1, 2, 4-10 and paragraphs[0115]- [0139]).
Consider Claims 20 and 21, Blau teaches the system wherein the speaker and the microphone are integrated into headphones, with the speaker and the microphone assembled to be directed toward an ear of a subject when the headphones are worn by the subject(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and the system comprising a buffer coupled to the microphone and configured to: receive analog signals from the microphone; and alter an amplitude of the analog signals; wherein the SPL measurement element is configured to determine, based on the analog signals, an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blau et al.(US 2019/0320268) in view of Soli et al. (US PAT. 5,325,436).
Consider Claim 17, Blau does not explicitly teach the system wherein the compensation element is further configured to apply an equalization technique by attenuating sound using an inverted audiogram to create a linear frequency characteristic
However, Soli teaches the system wherein the compensation element is further configured to apply an equalization technique by attenuating sound using an inverted audiogram to create a linear frequency characteristic(see figs, 2-8 and col.5, line 1-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Soli in to the teaching of Blau to provide determined and compensated to restore the ability to have directional hearing in individuals wearing hearing aids. In one aspect a method involves finding the ratio of the unaided head related transfer function to the aided head related transfer function and then designing a hearing aid filter that is the inverse of that derived insertion effect, thereby restoring the ability to hear interaural differences in aided systems both in level and in time of arrival to improve hearing in the presence of noise. The insertion effects can be derived either through frequency domain analyses, using the above-mentioned transfer function calculations and measurements, or in another aspect through time domain analyses, using optimal filter calculations and measurement obtained using a successive data acquisition system that is subsequently time aligned by recording trigger pulses with the data.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed on 10-27-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection of claims 12-21 on the ground of non- statutory double patenting as being allegedly unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US 11,864,886.
The examiner respectfully submits that the Office has to demonstrate that at least the elements of “ a microphone to detect the tone emitted by the speaker; anda sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element separate from the microphone, the SPL measurement element configured to receive data corresponding to the tone detected by the microphone, and determine an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone based on the data received” as recited in claim 12, are specifically recited by or obvious over claims 1-20 of the US 11,8964,886 (emphases added). Therefore, the double patenting rejection based on US 11,864,886 should be maintained.
Applicant further argued that Blau or Soli, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose "a sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element separate from the microphone, the SPL measurement element configured to receive data corresponding to the tone detected by the microphone, and determine an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone based on the data received' (emphasis added) as is recited in amended independent claim 12(see the remarks page 7, last paragraph).
The examiner disagrees that argument respectfully. Blau discloses
a tone generator(see fig. 1(106)) configured to output a signal to cause a speaker to emit a tone(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]).;
a compensation element(See fig. 1(105)) coupled to an output of the tone generator, with the compensation element(see figs.1, 2. 4-10) configured to:
receive(see figs. 4-10) a communication from a control sub-system; and apply, based on the communication, a compensation to the signal(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0115]- [0139]);
the speaker(see fig. 1(120)) to emit the tone based on the signal; a microphone(see fig. 1(125)) to detect the tone emitted by the speaker(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]); and
a sound pressure level (SPL) measurement element (see fig. 4) separate from the microphone(see fig. 1), the SPL measurement element configured to receive data corresponding to the tone detected by the microphone(see fig. 2), and determine an SPL of the tone detected by the microphone based on the data received(see figs. 1, 2, 4-8 and paragraphs[0063]- [0097]). It meets the limitation as recited in claim 12.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Pandey et al. (US 2011/0206226) is cited to show other related the HEARING DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM.
15. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 03-12-2026