DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 01/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouvier (US Pub. No. 2024/0378945 A1) in view of Louie et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0303260 A1 hereinafter referred to as Louie).
As per claim 1, Bouvier teaches a gaming system (abstract) comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, item 42); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 2, items 44 and 46), that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: cause a display, by a display device, of a digit set comprising a first digit position (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 see credit value symbol which comprise a numeric value) and a second digit position (Fig. 7, item 706 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position); cause a display, by the display device, of a first quantity of digits at the first digit position, the first quantity being at least one (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0037] see credit value symbols); cause a display, by the display device, of a digit increase indicator at the second digit position (Fig. 7, item 706 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position); cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of the digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position (Fig. 8, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); cause a display, by a display device, of an increase of a second quantity of the digits at the first digit position based on the digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position, wherein the second quantity is at least one, and wherein after the increase a third quantity of digits is displayed at the first digit position, the third quantity being at least one (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.); cause a display, by a display device, of a fourth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position, the fourth quantity being at least one (paragraph [0052] different numeric values can be applied to the flip symbol meaning more flips will occur to modify the digits of the first position); and cause a display, by a display device, of a combination of the third quantity of digits displayed at the first digit position and of the fourth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position such that the third quantity of digits and the fourth quantity of digits form a fifth quantity of digits, and an amount based on the combination (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] amount is based on the number of flips with multiple flips being possible). Bouvier does not teach the feature of the digits being in the same row. However, Louie teaches a slot game (abstract) wherein the feature array (Fig. 4, items 110b and 110c) is adjacent to the sides of the array of reels (Fig. 4, item 110a) to be modified (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0034]-[0036] the feeder arrays are considered feature arrays that provide a feature to the primary array in the middle and modify the positions based on an outcome in the game) including at least some affecting the same row as the feature array position (Fig. 6, see 114f to 114a at least with the top symbols. While random at least some of the display features would read on same row modification). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Bouvier with Louie, since Louie shows that a display layout can include placing a feature array in a vertical layout next to the primary array and allow mapping symbols from positions in the feature array to position in the same row on the primary array. Therefore determining where to place the feature array is a design choice based on the desired aesthetic of the game including where a designer may wish to avoid cluttering the top of the game or may desire to have at least some row to row interaction instead of columns thereby presenting a different feel for modification.
As per claim 8, Bouvier teaches a gaming system (abstract) comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, item 42); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 2, items 44 and 46), that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: cause a display, by a display device, of a digit set comprising a first digit position (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 see credit value symbol which comprise a numeric value) a second digit position (Fig. 7, item 702 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position), and a third digit position (Fig. 7, item 706 and paragraph [0051] see second flip symbol); cause a display, by the display device, of a first quantity of digits at the first digit position, the first quantity being at least one (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0037] see credit value symbols); cause a display, by the display device, of a first digit increase indicator at the second digit position (Fig. 7, item 702 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position); cause a display, by the display device, of a second digit increase indicator at the third digit position (Fig. 7, item 706 and paragraph [0051] see second flip symbol); cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of the first digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position (Fig. 8, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); cause a display, by a display device, of a first increase of a second quantity of the digits at the first digit position based on the digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position, wherein the second quantity is at least one, and wherein after the increase a third quantity of digits is displayed at the first digit position (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.); cause a display, by a display device, of a fourth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position, the fourth quantity being at least one (paragraph [0052] different numeric values can be applied to the flip symbol meaning more flips will occur to modify the digits of the first position); thereafter, cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of the second digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position (Figs. 10-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); cause a display, by a display device, of a second increase of a fifth quantity of the digits at the first digit position based on the second digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position, wherein the fifth quantity is at least one, and wherein after the increase a sixth quantity of digits is displayed at the first digit position, wherein the sixth quantity is at least one (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.); cause a display, by a display device, of a seventh quantity of replacement digits at the third digit position, the seventh quantity being at least one (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.); and cause a display, by a display device, of a combination of the sixth quantity of digits displayed at the first digit position, the fourth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position, the seventh quantity of replacement digits at the third digit position such that the sixth quantity of digits, the fourth quantity of digits, and the seventh quantity of digits form an eight quantity of digits, and an amount based on the combination (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] amount is based on the number of flips with multiple flips being possible). Bouvier does not teach the feature of the digits being in the same row. However, Louie teaches a slot game (abstract) wherein the feature array (Fig. 4, items 110b and 110c) is adjacent to the sides of the array of reels (Fig. 4, item 110a) to be modified (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0034]-[0036] the feeder arrays are considered feature arrays that provide a feature to the primary array in the middle and modify the positions based on an outcome in the game) including at least some affecting the same row as the feature array position (Fig. 6, see 114f to 114a at least with the top symbols. While random at least some of the display features would read on same row modification). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Bouvier with Louie, since Louie shows that a display layout can include placing a feature array in a vertical layout next to the primary array and allow mapping symbols from positions in the feature array to position in the same row on the primary array. Therefore determining where to place the feature array is a design choice based on the desired aesthetic of the game including where a designer may wish to avoid cluttering the top of the game or may desire to have at least some row to row interaction instead of columns thereby presenting a different feel for modification.
As per claim 15, Bouvier teaches a gaming system (abstract) comprising: a processor (Fig. 2, item 42); and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 2, items 44 and 46), that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: cause a display, by a display device, of a digit set comprising a first digit position (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 see credit value symbol which comprise a numeric value), a second digit position (Fig. 7, item 702 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position), and a third digit position (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 see credit value symbol which comprise a numeric value); cause a display, by the display device, of a first quantity of digits at the first digit position, the first quantity being at least one (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0037] see credit value symbols); cause a display, by the display device, of a first digit increase indicator at the second digit position (Fig. 7, item 702 and paragraph [0051] see flip symbol which is an indicator and comprises a numeric value which modifies a numeric value for a first digit position); cause a display, by the display device, of a second quantity of digit at the third digit position (Fig. 7, items 231 and 232 see credit value symbol which comprise a numeric value); cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of the first digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position (Fig. 8, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); cause a display, by a display device, of an increase of a third quantity of the digits at the first digit position based on the first digit increase indicator moved to the first digit position, wherein the third quantity is at least one, and wherein after the increase a fourth quantity of digits are displayed at the first digit position (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); cause a display, by a display device, of a fifth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position, the fifth quantity being at least one (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraph [0052] see flip indicator moving to the positions to indicate a change occurring which adds an additional award); and cause a display, by a display device, of a combination of the third quantity of digits displayed at the first digit position, the fifth quantity of replacement digits at the second digit position, the second quantity of digits at the third digit position such that the third quantity of digits, the fifth quantity of digits, and the second quantity of digits form a sixth quantity of digits, and an amount based on the combination (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] amount is based on the number of flips with multiple flips being possible). Bouvier does not teach the feature of the digits being in the same row. However, Louie teaches a slot game (abstract) wherein the feature array (Fig. 4, items 110b and 110c) is adjacent to the sides of the array of reels (Fig. 4, item 110a) to be modified (Fig. 6 and paragraphs [0034]-[0036] the feeder arrays are considered feature arrays that provide a feature to the primary array in the middle and modify the positions based on an outcome in the game) including at least some affecting the same row as the feature array position (Fig. 6, see 114f to 114a at least with the top symbols. While random at least some of the display features would read on same row modification). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Bouvier with Louie, since Louie shows that a display layout can include placing a feature array in a vertical layout next to the primary array and allow mapping symbols from positions in the feature array to position in the same row on the primary array. Therefore determining where to place the feature array is a design choice based on the desired aesthetic of the game including where a designer may wish to avoid cluttering the top of the game or may desire to have at least some row to row interaction instead of columns thereby presenting a different feel for modification.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.).
As per claim 3, 10, and 17, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the third quantity is greater than the first quantity (Figs. 9-11, items 231 and 232 and paragraphs [0052]-[0053] a new random value is determined which, as shown by the values on other credit value symbols, can include determining a higher value which comprises more digits or fewer since the symbol being flipped can be valued at “20” (paragraph [0053]) and higher values such as “250” are available.).
As per claims 4 and 11, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the fourth quantity is one (Fig. 7, items 702 and 706).
As per claims 5 and 12, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein each of the replacement digit is predetermined (paragraph [0053] a total award is determined before the replacement and the values set are based on the award amount divided among the flips).
As per claims 6 and 13, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein each of the replacement digit is zero (paragraph [0053] different values are used).
As per claim 7, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the first quantity is two and the second quantity is two (Figs. 7-11 various values can be set for the quantities).
As per claim 14, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the first, second, and fifth quantities are two (Figs. 7-11 various values can be set for the quantities).
As per claim 18, Bouvier teaches a gaming system wherein the fifth quantity is one, is predetermined, and is zero (paragraph [0053] a total award is determined before the replacement and the values set are based on the award amount divided among the flips).
As per claim 19, Bouvier does not specifically teach a gaming system wherein the second position is between the first position and the third position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the positions used for where the flip symbols occur and what values are being modified is a design choice for a GUI setup and therefore modifying the placement, such as putting the flip symbols between reels or around reels, would have been an obvious design choice based on the desired look of the game. Specifically this is a design feature.
As per claim 20, Bouvier does not specifically teach a gaming system wherein the third position is between the first position and the second position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the positions used for where the flip symbols occur and what values are being modified is a design choice for a GUI setup and therefore modifying the placement, such as putting the flip symbols between reels or around reels, would have been an obvious design choice based on the desired look of the game. Specifically this is a design feature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that amendments regarding the use of row overcomes the previous rejection. See above for newly cited prior art. Additionally examiner notes while a slot game is focused upon since this reads most closely to applicant’s disclosure the claims would also potentially read on a digital calculator which is well-known. Applicant is recommended to include display features that both clarify away from the cited prior art and include more of the game elements to differ from a basic calculator. For example the game symbols which are not digits also being displayed and clarifying the use of game reels with those symbols.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN L MYHR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 3/20/2026