Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al (US 2015/0162427).
Re claims 1 and 10: Lee et al teaches a semiconductor device and the method of manufacturing thereof comprising, as following: A semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate 101; a buffer layer on the substrate 103; an n- type epitaxial layer on the buffer layer 110; a protective layer “g” on the n- type epitaxial layer; a p type layer 120 disposed in a trench structure (c; 130) on the protective layer “g”, and penetrating the protective layer and within the n- type epitaxial layer; a gate insulating layer 22 on the p type layer; and a gate electrode 13 on the gate insulating layer (see para 0076 through para 0099; and see figs. 3A-3F, specifically fig. 3F).
Re claim 7: wherein the protective layer “g” includes SiO2 (see para. 0148).
Re claim 8: wherein the gate insulating layer 22 includes SiO2 (see para. 0124).
Re claim 11: Lee et al teaches a semiconductor device and the method of manufacturing thereof comprising, as following: wherein the forming of the p type layer, the gate insulating layer, and the gate electrode is performed by an etching process (see para. 0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. The teachings of Lee et al have been discussed above.
Re claims 4-5: Although, Lee et al discloses that the buffer layer 101 and the n- type epitaxial layer 110 includes gallium nitride (see para. 0059 through 0060), Lee et al is silent that these layers further consist of gallium oxide. However, at the time the invention was made or filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who has expert knowledge of the manufacturing of the MOSFET/semiconductor, would have substituted the gallium nitride with the gallium oxide because gallium oxide has a wider bandgap (4.9eV) than gallium nitride (3.4 eV) allowing it to handle higher voltages (above 10kV) with lower losses, making it (gallium oxide) suitable for next-generation power devices. Further, while gallium nitride dominates high-frequency and LED markets, the gallium oxide is primarily targeted at high-voltage and high-efficiency applications. Accordingly, such incorporation of gallium oxide to the teachings of Lee et al would have been obvious design variation to one of ordinary skill in the art to further accommodate what application is being design and manufactured thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6, 9 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to specifically teach, as following:
Re claims 2, 9 and 12-16: the semiconductor device further includes an n+ type epitaxial layer on the n- type epitaxial layer; a source electrode on the n+ type epitaxial layer and the protective layer; and a drain electrode on the n+ type epitaxial layer and the protective layer.
Re claims 3 and 17: wherein the p type layer includes NiOX (0.98≤x≤1).
Re claim 6: wherein the n- type epitaxial layer has a concentration of 1E16 cm-3 to1E19 cm-3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Joo et al (US 2023/0045172); Park et al (US 2023/0207683); Shih et al (US 2021/0288167); Todd (US 2002/0000612); Pak et al (US 2024/0136301); Okabe et al (US 6,603,173); and Chen (US 2012/0205772) discloses a semiconductor device and method for manufacturing thereof.
/MICHAEL G LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876