DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda Sumihisa et al. (the IDS - JP 2014157830).
Regarding claim 20, Fukuda discloses:
at least one fixed contact (33),
a contact bridge (35, 832) and an upper yoke element (63) in a switching chamber (3),
wherein the upper yoke element (63) is attached to a switching chamber wall (61) of the switching chamber (3),
wherein the upper yoke element (63) is held to an inside of the switching chamber (3) by a fastening part made of a plastic material.
Although Fukuda does not explicitly disclose the fastening part made of a plastic material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plastic fastening part for the purpose of reducing cost and resisting the corrosion from moisture or chemicals. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Fukuda teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the switching chamber wall (61) comprises a ceramic material.
Fukuda discloses the container 73 is made of a heat-resistant material such as a ceramic material (para. [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use the ceramic material as taught by Fukuda to make the switching chamber wall for the purpose of resisting heat. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 2/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS:
Applicant argued that:
“Fukuda does not teach or suggest that "the upper yoke element is held to an inside of the switching chamber by a fastening part made of a plastic material."
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because although Fukuda does not explicitly disclose the fastening part made of a plastic material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the plastic fastening part for the purpose of reducing cost and resisting the corrosion from moisture or chemicals. Since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 16, 18, 19 and 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not teach or suggest the switching device comprising
Claim 1: the retaining member comprises at least one clip member, which comprises the at least one guide element and the at least one stop and which at least partially embraces the contact bridge, including along with the remaining limitations of claim 1.
Claim 21: the retaining member comprises at least one clip member, which comprises the at least one guide element and the at least one stop and which at least partially embraces the contact bridge, including along with the remaining limitations of claim 21.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
May 11, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837