DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAI et al. (US 2021/0254774 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, MAI et al. reference discloses a device for adjusting the temperature inside a reformer tube (Abstract), comprising:
at least one heating element (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 5a),
the at least one heating element is located inside the reformer tube (Figures 1 and 2, numerals 5a – heating element and 2a – reformer tube),
wherein the at least one heating element is located approximately at the axial center of the reformer tube (Figure 2, numeral 5a), and
the reformer tube is filled with catalyst, thereby maintaining the location of the at least one heating element (Figure 2, numeral 3).
Regarding Claim 2, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1, comprising a single heating element (Figure 2, numeral 5a).
Regarding Claim 3, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1, comprising two heating elements (Figure 6, numerals 13a and 13b).
Regarding Claim 4, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1, comprising more than two heating elements (Figure 7, numerals 13a and 13b and Paragraph [0074] – plurality of first and second heating resistors).
Regarding Claim 5, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one heating element comprises an electrical heat source (Figure 6, numeral 5b – electrical resistance heating element).
Regarding Claim 7, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one heating element further comprises a heat moderating jacket (Figure 2, numeral 7b – metallic coating and Figure 4, numeral 12 – heating jacket).
Regarding Claim 8, MAI et al. reference discloses a method for adjusting the temperature inside a reformer tube, comprising:
providing at least one heating element (Figures 1 and 2, numeral 5a),
inserting the at least one heating element inside the reformer tube, wherein the at least one heating element is located approximately at the axial center of the reformer tube (Figure 2, numeral 5a), and
filling the reformer tube with catalyst, thereby maintaining the location of the at least one heating element (Figure 2, numeral 3 – catalyst),
adjusting the heat input rate of the at least one heating element thereby controlling the temperature of the catalyst (Paragraph [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8, comprising a single heating element (Figure 2, numeral 5a).
Regarding Claim 10, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8, comprising two heating elements (Figure 6, numerals 13a and 13b).
Regarding Claim 11, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8, comprising more than two heating elements (Figure 7, numerals 13a and 13b and Paragraph [0074] – plurality of first and second heating resistors).
Regarding Claim 12, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the at least one heating element comprises an electrical heat source (Figure 6, numeral 5b – electrical resistance heating element).
Regarding Claim 14, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the at least one heating element further comprises a heat moderating jacket (Figure 2, numeral 7b – metallic coating and Figure 4, numeral 12 – heating jacket).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAI et al. (US 2021/0254774 A1) in view of Noda et al. (US Patent No. 4,152,572).
Regarding Claim 6, MAI et al. reference discloses the device of claim 1 except for the at least one heating element comprises an outer wall with a wall thickness and a length, wherein the wall thickness varies along the length. Noda et al. reference discloses a high temperature heating elements wherein the temperature gradient obtainable along the length of the heating chamber may be varied in a variety of patterns by modifying the mode of variation in the outside diameter or wall thickness of the heating element (Figures 5-9 and Column 3, Lines 36-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the wall thickness of the heating element as taught by Noda et al., since Noda et al. states at Column 3, Lines 43-48 that such a modification would maintain the unique temperature gradient.
Regarding Claim 13, MAI et al. reference discloses the method of claim 8 except for the at least one heating element comprises an outer wall with a wall thickness and a length, wherein the wall thickness varies along the length. Noda et al. reference discloses a high temperature heating elements wherein the temperature gradient obtainable along the length of the heating chamber may be varied in a variety of patterns by modifying the mode of variation in the outside diameter or wall thickness of the heating element (Figures 5-9 and Column 3, Lines 36-40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the wall thickness of the heating element as taught by Noda et al., since Noda et al. states at Column 3, Lines 43-48 that such a modification would maintain the unique temperature gradient.
Conclusion
/HUY TRAM NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1774