DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on September 19, 2025, which paper has been placed of record in the file.
2. Claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21-22 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sargent et al. (hereinafter Sargent, US 2022/0391930) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim, US 2017/0344955).
Regarding to claim 1, Sargent discloses a scheduling system comprising:
a computerized device housing a processor and a memory, the memory storing instructions for execution by the processor (para [0033], FIG. 1 illustrates a computer system 100, which may be utilized to execute the processes described herein. The computer system 100 is comprised of a standalone computer or mobile computing device, a mainframe computer system, a workstation, a network computer, a desktop computer, a laptop, or the like. The computer system 100 includes one or more processors 110 coupled to a memory 120 via an input/output (I/O) interface);
a graphical user interface connected to the computerized device (para [0044], The application system 300 includes a user interface module 308 to permit the user to interact with the system, such as by creating a live event, interacting with other users, and selecting reactions);
a user input device connected to the computerized device (figure 1 and para [0033], One or more input/output (I/O) devices 140, such as video device(s) (e.g., a camera), audio device(s), and display(s) are in operable communication with the computer system 100);
a service infrastructure connected to the computerized device (para [0034], a computing device can be embedded in another device, e.g., a mobile telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a mobile tablet device, a mobile audio or video player, a game console, a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver, or a portable storage device (e.g., a universal serial bus (USB) flash drive));
wherein the computerized device and the service infrastructure are connected over a public network (figure 1 and para [0035], A network interface may be configured to allow data to be exchanged between the computer system 100 and other devices attached to a network 130, such as other computer systems, or between nodes of the computer system 100);
wherein the scheduling system is operable to:
create, using the service infrastructure, one or more schedules and automatically generate, using the service infrastructure, a QR code associated with each of one or more schedules (para [0046], the event generation module 440 allows a group of users to create a virtual event in which they can interact with one another. The event generation module will assign a unique QR code, alphanumeric code and internet link that event. The creator of the virtual event may invite (by sharing the codes and/or links for the event) other users to join the event);
open and save, using the computerized device, the one or more schedules, for each of the one or more schedules, from the associated QR code (para [0044], The application system 300 includes a user interface module 308 to permit the user to interact with the system, such as by creating a live event, interacting with other users, and selecting reactions…. The events database 314 stores a plurality of events such as sporting events, live performances, etc. The events are associated with a code, which is transmitted to each user 200 to permit the users to enter the event virtually and contribute to the aggregate crowd noise);
wherein, each of the one or more schedules includes one or more events (para [0049], Each event is scheduled by the creator of the event inputting a date and time of the event, including a start time and an end time. Once the event is created, the code generation module 450 generates a QR code, and an alphanumeric code, and an internet link providing access to the event);
select, using the computerized device, by inputs of a user, one or more target events or target schedules from the one or more schedules (para [0052], FIG. 8 illustrates a method for creating a virtual event. In step 800, the user selects to create a virtual event. In step 810, the user selects a live event occurring in the present or future. The system then corresponds the virtual event with the live event. In step 820, the user indicates if the virtual event is public or private. In step 830, the code generation engine 450 generates a code, which is shared by the user to permit other users to enter the virtual event. If the event is private, the user selects a plurality of users with whom to share the code in step 840. If the event is public, the user shares the code such that any other user can access and utilize the code to enter the event in step 850);
generate and display a timeline, using the computerized device, on the graphical user interface, including the one or more target events or targe schedules (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each virtual event corresponds to a live event. The virtual event may be hosted by the user or a third-party user who has created the virtual event. Each virtual event indicates whether the virtual event is public (i.e., made accessible to any user of the system) or private (i.e., attendees must be invited to the virtual event).
Sargent does not disclose, however, Kim discloses:
wherein each event in the timeline is associated with a thumbnail, the thumbnail being operable to direct the user to a target schedule, among the one or more schedules, containing the target event (para [0108], the operation for associating the specific event with a specific schedule of the scheduler will be described in more detail with reference to appended drawings. Meanwhile, if a specific event is associated with the scheduler, a thumbnail image corresponding to the specific event may be displayed on a specific schedule of the scheduler to visualize the association; para [0119], The first event E1 included in the window W may be an image. The image is a thumbnail image of a specific event to which schedule information is mapped; the schedule information may be mapped as meta information and stored in the thumbnail image; para [0137], If a new event is generated through the interface, the controller 180 may display a thumbnail image corresponding to the newly generated event by adding the thumbnail image on the window W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sargent’s to incorporate the features taught by Kim above, for the purpose of providing easier and more convenient for the user to access to the event with the help of the thumbnail image associated with the event. Since Sargent discloses displaying on the user interface target events, Kim discloses displaying on the user interface the thumbnails associated with the target events, as described above, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Sargent and Kim would have yield predictable results in displaying the target events to the user.
Regarding to claim 2, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 further comprising a camera connected to the computerized device (para [0033], One or more input/output (I/O) devices 140, such as video device(s) (e.g., a camera), audio device(s), and display(s) are in operable communication with the computer system 100).
Regarding to claim 3, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 2 wherein the camera scans QR code (para [0048], FIG. 5, the user may select to scan a QR code or enter an alphanumeric code associated with a virtual event to enter the user into the virtual event. In such, the user may enter a virtual event with a group of friends or fans of a particular team. Once the user selects a join event chat button, they are able to text chat with other users in the same virtual event via the communications module 470).
Regarding to claim 4, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the processor is operable to add any one of the one or more schedules to a listing of favorite schedules in a first single action (para [0030], Scanning the QR code instantly loads the event into the system, such that users can join the remote audience for that event. A “batch event” feature allows a host to assign a group of related events, for example, a sports team's entire season of games or every episode of a TV show, to a single set of codes so all of the related events can be added to a user's event queue with a single scan, code, or link).
Regarding to claim 5, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 4 wherein the processor is operable to display the listing of favorite schedules on the graphical user interface and open a first schedule from the listing of favorite schedules with a second single action (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each virtual event corresponds to a live event. The virtual event may be hosted by the user or a third-party user who has created the virtual event. Each virtual event indicates whether the virtual event is public (i.e., made accessible to any user of the system) or private (i.e., attendees must be invited to the virtual event). Each event is scheduled by the creator of the event inputting a date and time of the event, including a start time and an end time. Once the event is created, the code generation module 450 generates a QR code, and an alphanumeric code, and an internet link providing access to the event).
Regarding to claim 6, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 5 wherein the processor is operable to open a second schedule from the listing of favorite schedules without being operable to close the first schedule (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each event is scheduled by the creator of the event inputting a date and time of the event, including a start time and an end time).
Regarding to claim 7, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the user input device comprises at least one of a keyboard or a touch screen (para [0045], A communications module 470 permits the utilization of a text chat feature provided during the event. In such, users can text chat with one another while utilizing the other functionalities described herein. The preferences module 480 allows the user to input user preferences, such as which events they would like to access, which users they would like to interact with, reaction settings, etc.)
Regarding to claim 8, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 7 wherein the processor is operable to:
receive a click from at least one of the keyboard or the touch screen selecting the a savable schedule (para [0030], Scanning the QR code instantly loads the event into the system, such that users can join the remote audience for that event);
display the savable schedule on the graphical user interface (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each virtual event corresponds to a live event. The virtual event may be hosted by the user or a third-party user who has created the virtual event); and
add the savable schedule to a listing of favorite schedules in a single action (para [0030], A “batch event” feature allows a host to assign a group of related events, for example, a sports team's entire season of games or every episode of a TV show, to a single set of codes so all of the related events can be added to a user's event queue with a single scan, code, or link).
Regarding to claim 9, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the scheduling system is operable to constantly update the timeline so that the timeline displayed on the graphical user interface is always current (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each virtual event corresponds to a live event. The virtual event may be hosted by the user or a third-party user who has created the virtual event. Each virtual event indicates whether the virtual event is public (i.e., made accessible to any user of the system) or private (i.e., attendees must be invited to the virtual event).
Regarding to claim 10, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the processor is operable to simultaneously display a hyperlink to a social media website, the unique matrix code, and the unique link on the graphical user interface for marketing the one or more schedules (para [0030], The codes and links can be shared via the mobile application, by text, email, or by simply displaying the QR code on a TV, computer screen, or in print).
Regarding to claim 11, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the processor is operable to automatically update a dashboard when the QR code is scanned, and display the dashboard on the graphical user interface (para [0048], FIG. 5, the user may select to scan a QR code or enter an alphanumeric code associated with a virtual event to enter the user into the virtual event. In such, the user may enter a virtual event with a group of friends or fans of a particular team. Once the user selects a join event chat button, they are able to text chat with other users in the same virtual event via the communications module 470).
Regarding to claim 12, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 1 wherein the processor is operable to integrate a plurality of schedules and a plurality of events into a single integrated listing (para [0030], A “batch event” feature allows a host to assign a group of related events, for example, a sports team's entire season of games or every episode of a TV show, to a single set of codes so all of the related events can be added to a user's event queue with a single scan, code, or link)
Regarding to claim 13, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 12 wherein the single integrated listing is the timeline, and the processor is operable to display the timeline on the graphical user interface without concurrently displaying a personal calendar (para [0049], FIG. 6 illustrates an events interface 600, which displays the various virtual events with which the user may interact. Each event is scheduled by the creator of the event inputting a date and time of the event, including a start time and an end time. Once the event is created, the code generation module 450 generates a QR code, and an alphanumeric code, and an internet link providing access to the event).
Regarding to claim 14, Sargent discloses the scheduling system of claim 13 wherein the timeline displayed on the graphical user interface auto-populates and can be named and marketed as the one or more schedules (para [0049], Each event is scheduled by the creator of the event inputting a date and time of the event, including a start time and an end time).
5. Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savage et al. (hereinafter Savage, US 2016/0021233) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim, US 2017/0344955).
Regarding to claim 16, Savage discloses a method for creating and promoting schedules carried out by a first computerized device housing a first processor and a first memory, the first memory storing instructions for execution by the first processor, wherein, upon execution (para [0031], As illustrated in FIG. 6, a memory 610 and a processor 620 may be discrete components of the network entity 600 that are used to execute an application or set of operations. The application may be coded in software in a computer language understood by the processor 620, and stored in a computer readable medium, such as, the memory 610), the first processor is operable to perform the following steps:
displaying at least one of a scheduling application or a scheduling website on a user interface (para [0023], FIG. 2A illustrates an example user interface of the scheduling application on the user device (e.g., smartphone), according to example embodiments. Referring to FIG. 2A, the user interface 200 includes a set of menu options related to scheduling a conference room);
receiving a plurality of credentials for an account creation (para [0022], The user authentication may be performed by a persisted authentication token/cookie. In operation, the application can authenticate returning users based on a previous login session. The “Sign On” prompt/page may include an optional “Remember Me” option that, if checked, the web application will persist a session authentication token as an encrypted browser cookie);
verifying a user identity and creating the account (para [0022], Upon subsequent access to the mobile scheduling web application, the user authentication token can be provided to the server 152 to validate the user's identity and grant the user access without requiring the user to resubmit their credentials);
displaying a template for creating a schedule on the user interface (para [0023], In this example, the user interface option 220 includes a topic or main purpose of the event “appreciation dinner” with other parameters, such as date, time, location, etc. The parameters may be retrieved from different user profiles and related information sources and combined into a single user interface menu based on other users' selections and requests. The organizer 222 may be the user who initiated the event, which is by default the first user to select the event and setup the event in the calendar application);
create, using the service infrastructure, one or more schedules and automatically generate, using the service infrastructure, a QR code associated with each of one or more schedules (para [0024], This provides an authorized user to access the master calendar stored on the scheduling server and add an event time for their event. Some users may have administrative privileges so that the user can change others scheduled events based on seniority or due to scheduling conflicts. However, the default user can only add to available time slots and cannot otherwise make modifications to existing time slots. The other example user interface 262 shows a list of times 264 for easier viewing so the user can observe the daily activities and which ones are part of his or her schedule);
open and save, using the computerized device, the one or more schedules, for each of the one or more schedules, from the associated QR code (para [0021], FIG. 1B illustrates an example logic diagram of the logic functions and controls of the application used to schedule the events. Referring to FIG. 1B, the system 150 includes a schedule database 152, which may store schedule information and provide information to the logic modules or scripts used to identify the current schedule 154, the identification information 158 of the users, the available rooms 156, the QR codes received 164, and the updated schedule 162 once a user device 110 selection has been processed and received);
wherein, each of the one or more schedules includes one or more events (para [0024], As may be observed, multiple calendar entries 254-258 are illustrated as being part of the day events on the calendar for one particular conference room. This provides an authorized user to access the master calendar stored on the scheduling server and add an event time for their event);
select, using the computerized device, by inputs of a user, one or more target events or target schedules from the one or more schedules (para [0023], The organizer 222 may be the user who initiated the event, which is by default the first user to select the event and setup the event in the calendar application. The attendees 224 may include all of the users who are signed up to attend the event or who may have selected the conference room at a particular time frame that overlaps the scheduled event, and who are also certified or authorized to attend the event. Lastly, the notes section 226 may be provided by any of the users who are interested in identifying the event or sharing comments about the event);
generate and display a timeline, using the computerized device, on the graphical user interface, including the one or more target events or targe schedules (para [0023], FIG. 2A illustrates an example user interface of the scheduling application on the user device (e.g., smartphone), according to example embodiments. Referring to FIG. 2A, the user interface 200 includes a set of menu options related to scheduling a conference room. In this example, the user interface option 220 includes a topic or main purpose of the event “appreciation dinner” with other parameters, such as date, time, location, etc. The parameters may be retrieved from different user profiles and related information sources and combined into a single user interface menu based on other users' selections and requests).
Savage does not disclose, however, Kim discloses:
wherein each event in the timeline is associated with a thumbnail, the thumbnail being operable to direct the user to a target schedule, among the one or more schedules, containing the target event (para [0108], the operation for associating the specific event with a specific schedule of the scheduler will be described in more detail with reference to appended drawings. Meanwhile, if a specific event is associated with the scheduler, a thumbnail image corresponding to the specific event may be displayed on a specific schedule of the scheduler to visualize the association; para [0119], The first event E1 included in the window W may be an image. The image is a thumbnail image of a specific event to which schedule information is mapped; the schedule information may be mapped as meta information and stored in the thumbnail image; para [0137], If a new event is generated through the interface, the controller 180 may display a thumbnail image corresponding to the newly generated event by adding the thumbnail image on the window W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Savage’s to incorporate the features taught by Kim above, for the purpose of providing easier and more convenient for the user to access to the event with the help of the thumbnail image associated with the event. Since Savage discloses displaying on the user interface target events, Kim discloses displaying on the user interface the thumbnails associated with the target events, as described above, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Savage and Kim would have yield predictable results in displaying the target events to the user.
Regarding to claim 17, Savage discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising saving the timeline on a database (para [0021], Referring to FIG. 1B, the system 150 includes a schedule database 152, which may store schedule information and provide information to the logic modules or scripts used to identify the current schedule 154, the identification information 158 of the users, the available rooms 156, the QR codes received 164, and the updated schedule 162 once a user device 110 selection has been processed and received).
Regarding to claim 18, Savage discloses the method of claim 16 further comprising generating at least one of a matrix code or a link for the one or more schedules (para [0018], The user may engage the QR code 120 via a camera scan of the code 120 via the mobile device 110, which initiates a particular web link or mobile device application 125 on the mobile device 110).
6. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sargent et al. (hereinafter Sargent, US 2022/0391930) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim, US 2017/0344955), and further in view of Strong et al. (hereinafter Strong, US 2016/0357768).
Sargent and Kim do not disclose, however, Strong discloses:
wherein the computerized device is further operable to generate and display a hybrid user interface integrating contents form both a scheduling application containing the timeline and a third-party website, on the graphical user interface (para [0013], a generated hybrid calendar/map user interface indicating calendar entries for a given day, month, or other time period and a map of the location of calendared events. The integrated calendar/map display may be provided via a webpage, a dedicated application (e.g., a mobile device app), or otherwise. Thus, disclosed herein is an enhancement over conventional techniques that produces a dual-source or multi-source integrated hybrid calendar/map display; para [0029], A hybrid calendar/map user interface may be generated indicating calendar entries for a given day, month, or other time period and a map of the location of calendared events. The integrated calendar/map display may be provided via a webpage, a dedicated application (e.g., a mobile device app), or otherwise. Thus, disclosed herein is an enhancement over conventional techniques that produces a dual-source or multi-source integrated hybrid calendar/map display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Sargent’s to adopt the features taught by Strong above, for the purpose of providing dual-source by integrating a hybrid user interface. Since Sargent discloses displaying on the user interface target events, Strong discloses a hybrid user interface, as described above, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Sargent and Strong would have yield predictable results in displaying the target events to the user.
7. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savage et al. (hereinafter Savage, US 2016/0021233) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim, US 2017/0344955), and further in view of Strong et al. (hereinafter Strong, US 2016/0357768).
Savage and Kim do not disclose, however, Strong discloses:
generating and displaying, using the fist computerized device, a hybrid user interface integrating contents form both a scheduling application or website, including the timeline, and a third party website (para [0013], a generated hybrid calendar/map user interface indicating calendar entries for a given day, month, or other time period and a map of the location of calendared events. The integrated calendar/map display may be provided via a webpage, a dedicated application (e.g., a mobile device app), or otherwise. Thus, disclosed herein is an enhancement over conventional techniques that produces a dual-source or multi-source integrated hybrid calendar/map display; para [0029], A hybrid calendar/map user interface may be generated indicating calendar entries for a given day, month, or other time period and a map of the location of calendared events. The integrated calendar/map display may be provided via a webpage, a dedicated application (e.g., a mobile device app), or otherwise. Thus, disclosed herein is an enhancement over conventional techniques that produces a dual-source or multi-source integrated hybrid calendar/map display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Savage’s to adopt the features taught by Strong above, for the purpose of providing dual-source by integrating a hybrid user interface. Since Savage discloses displaying on the user interface target events, Strong discloses a hybrid user interface, as described above, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination of Savage and Strong would have yield predictable results in displaying the target events to the user.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21-22 have been fully considered but persuasive.
I. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21-22 are eligible because the claims recite significantly more than the abstract idea and integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, specially the limitations “create, using the service infrastructure, one or more schedules and automatically generate, using the service infrastructure, a QR code associated with each of one or more schedules; and generate and display a timeline, using the computerized device, on the graphical user interface, including the one or more target events or targe schedules, wherein each event in the timeline is associated with a thumbnail, the thumbnail being operable to direct the user to a target schedule, among the one or more schedules, containing the target event”, provides a technical
solution to the technical problem of efficiently saving, accessing, and integrating multiple schedules from various sources (See Specification, para [0020-0021]). By enabling users to capture schedules via QR codes or links, select events to construct a consolidated timeline, and navigate back to the original schedule through interactive thumbnails, the claimed invention improves the computer-implemented handling of schedule data, reduces the complexity and steps required for users to manage multiple schedules, and ensures that all saved schedules remain current and easily navigable. Therefore, the claims are eligible.
Accordingly, the 101 rejection has been withdrawn.
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new ground of 103 rejections described above.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. Claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21-22 are rejected.
11. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Frank et al. (US 2021/0049205) disclose the thumbnails associated the events/meetings (para [0274])
Burns et al. (US 2018/0113577) disclose the event thumbnails (see para [0314]).
Kurrus et al. (US 2014/0237380) disclose an online shared calendar application which facilitates communication, coordination and scheduling for users to plan get-togethers and share event information with others.
Krishna et al. (US 2014/0149771) discloses smart calendar for scheduling and controlling collaboration devices.
Spivack et al. (US 2011/0289422) discloses a system for generating an interactive calendar guide to scheduled web-based events.
/NGA B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625 January 17, 2026