DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication(s) filed 02/17/2026.
Claims 25, 28-33 and 36-40 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 28-30, 33 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro et al. (US 2014/0286176 A1) in view of Han et al. (US 2015/0004969 A1) hereinafter “Ro” and “Han.”
Regarding Claim 25, Ro teaches A network node (Ro: paragraphs 0015, 0050 & Fig. 2, network node or base station), the network node comprising:
a processor (Ro: paragraph 0100 & Fig. 7, processor), wherein the processor is configured to:
send a first message to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, transmit reference signal configuration information (RSCI) to user equipment; see also paragraphs 0050 & Fig. 2, user equipment), wherein the first message indicates a first set of reference signals associated with a cell and a second set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0015 and 0036, RSs of at least one RS type among RSs indicated by the received RSCI; see also paragraphs 0056 and 0060-0061, different RS types);
send a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, transmit monitoring reference signal (MRS) to UE for use in radio link monitoring of the UE; see also paragraphs 0006 & 0062), wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates whether to use the first set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0060-0061, i.e. network may configure an RS type for deciding "Out-of-sync") or the second set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0060-0061, i.e. network may configure an RS type for deciding "In-sync”) for radio link monitoring measurements (Ro: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 2, UE checks an RS for use in radio link monitoring and an MRS configuration); and
receive a second message from the WTRU after the PDCCH transmission has been sent (Ro: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 2 UE checks resource configuration for use in radio link monitoring), wherein the second message indicates a request for the RRC procedure (Ro: paragraphs 0054-0055, UE transmits an out-of-sync indication to higher layer and determines radio link failure).
Ro fails to explicitly teach sending and/or receiving a message indicating a measurement threshold (has been exceeded) that indicates a condition for the WTRU to request a RRC procedure. However, Han from an analogous art similarly teaches a UE comparing a measured metric value to a threshold that is received athe eNB and further reporting the measured metric value (to the eNB) if the measured metric value exceeds a threshold (Han: paragraphs 0036-0037). Han additionally teaches if the measured RRM metric value fulfills a condition for cell selection or reselection (based on the relationship of the RRM metric value to the threshold), then the UE may camp on the identified cell (Han: paragraph 0037) thus indicating the threshold condition has been fulfilled or exceeded for the UE to request the RRC procedure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro to include a measurement threshold as taught by Han so as to determine resources that meet a configured criteria for requesting the RRC procedure.
Regarding Claim 28, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first set of reference signals comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal (Ro: paragraph 0062, RSCI further includes CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 29, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals are sent via different sets of resources (Ro: paragraphs 0056 and 0060-0061, different RS types).
Regarding Claim 30, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the resources comprise physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, RS configuration and RS for use in RLM).
Regarding Claim 33, Ro teaches A method performed by a network node (Ro: paragraphs 0015, 0050 & Fig. 2, network node or base station), the method comprising:
sending a first message to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, transmit reference signal configuration information (RSCI) to user equipment; see also paragraphs 0050 & Fig. 2, user equipment), wherein the first message indicates a first set of reference signals associated with a cell and a second set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0015 and 0036, RSs of at least one RS type among RSs indicated by the received RSCI; see also paragraphs 0056 and 0060-0061, different RS types);
sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission, (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, transmit monitoring reference signal (MRS) to UE for use in radio link monitoring of the UE; see also paragraphs 0006 & 0062), wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates whether to use the first set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0060-0061, i.e. network may configure an RS type for deciding "Out-of-sync") or the second set of reference signals associated with the cell (Ro: paragraphs 0060-0061, i.e. network may configure an RS type for deciding "In-sync”) for radio link monitoring measurements (Ro: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 2, UE checks an RS for use in radio link monitoring and an MRS configuration); and
receiving a second message from the WTRU after the PDCCH transmission has been sent, wherein the second message indicates a request for a Radio Resource Control (RRC) procedure (Ro: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 2 UE checks resource configuration for use in radio link monitoring), wherein the second message indicates a request for a Radio Resource Control (RRC) procedure (Ro: paragraphs 0054-0055, UE transmits an out-of-sync indication to higher layer and determines radio link failure).
Ro fails to explicitly teach sending and/or receiving a message indicating a measurement threshold (has been exceeded) that indicates a condition for the WTRU to request a RRC procedure. However, Han from an analogous art similarly teaches a UE comparing a measured metric value to a threshold that is received athe eNB and further reporting the measured metric value (to the eNB) if the measured metric value exceeds a threshold (Han: paragraphs 0036-0037). Han additionally teaches if the measured RRM metric value fulfills a condition for cell selection or reselection (based on the relationship of the RRM metric value to the threshold), then the UE may camp on the identified cell (Han: paragraph 0037) thus indicating the threshold condition has been fulfilled or exceeded for the UE to request the RRC procedure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro to include a measurement threshold as taught by Han so as to determine resources that meet a configured criteria for requesting the RRC procedure.
Regarding Claim 36, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first set of reference signals comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal (Ro: paragraph 0062, RSCI further includes CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 37, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals are sent via different sets of resources (Ro: paragraphs 0056 and 0060-0061, different RS types).
Regarding Claim 38, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the resources comprise physical resource blocks (PRBs) (Ro: paragraph 0050 & Fig. 2, RS configuration and RS for use in RLM).
Claims 31, 32, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro-Han in view of Yi et al. (US 2015/0358094 A1) hereinafter “Yi.”
Regarding Claim 31, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach wherein one of the first set or the second set of reference signals is received via discovery resources. Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches performing RLM (Yi: paragraph 0058) and further teaches receiving a discovery signal indicating the reference signals used for RLM (Yi: paragraph 0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro-Han to transmit a discovery signal as taught by Yi to further indicate reference signals used for RLM.
Regarding Claim 32, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates an active state. Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches performing RLM (Yi: paragraph 0058) and further teaches transmitting to a user equipment a signal including a measurement configuration in which the user device can determine whether a cell is on state or off state based on a cell on/off indicator received by the measurement configuration signal (Yi: paragraph 0096). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro-Han to transmit an indication of the state of a cell as taught by Yi to ensure cells are currently active for RLM.
Regarding Claim 39, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach wherein one of the first set or the second set of reference signals is received via discovery resources. Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches performing RLM (Yi: paragraph 0058) and further teaches receiving a discovery signal indicating the reference signals used for RLM (Yi: paragraph 0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro-Han to transmit a discovery signal as taught by Yi to further indicate reference signals used for RLM.
Regarding Claim 40, Ro-Han teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach wherein the PDCCH transmission indicates an active state. Yi from an analogous art similarly teaches performing RLM (Yi: paragraph 0058) and further teaches transmitting to a user equipment a signal including a measurement configuration in which the user device can determine whether a cell is on state or off state based on a cell on/off indicator received by the measurement configuration signal (Yi: paragraph 0096). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ro-Han to transmit an indication of the state of a cell as taught by Yi to ensure cells are currently active for RLM.
Response to Amendments
In view of remarks filed 02/17/2026, previous rejection under 35 USC § 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments:
a) Ro-Han alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest a network node sending a first message including a measurement threshold that indicates a condition for the WTRU to request an RRC procedure and further receiving a second message from the WTRU which indicates the measurement threshold has been exceeded and indicates a request for the RRC procedure (remarks, pages 7-8).
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As previously presented Ro teaches comparing the measured metric value to a threshold that is received from the eNB and further reporting the measured metric value (to the eNB) if the measured metric value exceeds a threshold (Han: paragraphs 0036-0037). Han additionally teaches if the measured RRM metric value fulfills a condition for cell selection or reselection (based on the relationship of the RRM metric value to the threshold), then the UE may camp on the identified cell (Han: paragraph 0037). Examiner notes since Han teaches cell selection or reselection occurs after the condition of the metric value is fulfilled (based on comparison to the threshold value), Han similarly teaches indicating a request for the RRC-defined mobility procedure for cell selection or reselection based a comparison of the measured metric value to the threshold, thus indicating the threshold condition has been fulfilled or exceeded for the UE to request the RRC procedure.
Therefore the rejection(s) of claims 25, 33 and respective dependent claims is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463