DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “notch” recited in claims 10 and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, the term may be amended as “the [[rear]]support wall” to be consistent with the support wall recited in claim 1.
In claims 10, 15, and 19, the term “the pivot shaft” may be amended as “the [[pivot]]rotatable shaft”. Specification of the instant application discloses the drive shaft 140 and the shaft 160. It appears both the rotatable shaft and the pivot shaft are the shaft 160.
The term may be amended as “a locking pin” in claim 12, line 2, and “the locking pin” in claim 13, line 2 to be consistent with the term “the locking pin” in claim 14. Specification of the instant application discloses the locking pin 182 and the guide pin (¶ 0048), but the guide pin is the locking pin.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the locking mechanism configured to receive the locking pin” in claim 14, and “a lift mechanism configured to move the cylindrical cartridge” and “a rotating mechanism configured to move the cartridge” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, the phrase “the first rail guide is securely coupled to the support wall and the rail is securely coupled to the first rail guide to minimize oscillations and produce a sound that is less than 90 decibels” renders claim vague and indefinite because the claim language can be understood the first rail guide and the rail can be insecurely coupled so that they wobble and produce greater than 90 decibel sound in operation. Not securely coupling the components to produce noise is not an invention unless there is an intended purpose. For examination purpose the examiner has interpreted the first rail guide is coupled to the support wall, the rail is coupled to the first rail guide, and they produce less than 90 decibel sound as long as they are coupled as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 106741282B, cited on 06/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses, in fig. 2, a lift device (robot leg) comprising:
a first rail guide (supporting frame 12) coupled vertically to a support wall (housing 4);
a rail coupled to the first rail guide (annotated Zhang fig. 2 below, a linear guide rail 13 [corresponds to the recited rail] is coupled to the support frame 12);
a carrier plate (slider 9) coupled to the rail by at least one linear bearing rail block (linear bearing 10) coupled to the carrier plate and the rail, the at least one linear bearing rail block configured to move along a length of the rail (annotated Zhang fig. 2 below, a slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] is coupled to the rail 13 by the linear bearing 10 [corresponds to the recited linear bearing rail block] to move up and down the rail);
a threaded drive shaft extending parallel to the first rail guide, through the carrier plate, and coupled to the carrier plate at a top edge and a bottom edge of the carrier plate (annotated Zhang fig. 2 below, a screw 14 [corresponds to the recited threaded drive shaft] extends parallel to the support framer 12 and extends through the slider 9 thus it couples to a top edge and a bottom edge of the slider 9); and
a drive motor (motor 11) coupled with the drive shaft, wherein the drive motor drives movement of the carrier plate along the drive shaft (Zhang English translation, p. 5:22-23, motor 11 drives the screw 14 [corresponds to the recited threaded drive shaft] to move the slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] up and down).
Annotated Zhang Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a second rail guide coupled vertically to the rear wall, separated from the first rail guide, and a second rail coupled to the second rail guide (annotated Zhang fig. 2 above and Zhang English translation, p. 5:14, there are two linear guide rails 13. Thus, the other side of the screw 14 [corresponds to the recited drive shaft] includes a second rail guide and a second rail).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the drive shaft is coupled to the carrier plate by at least one threaded connector (Zhang English translation, p. 5:18, the slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] has a screw hole that matches with the screw 14 [corresponds to the recited drive shaft]. Thus, the screw hole works as the threaded connector).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the carrier plate is coupled to a carrying basket (annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, the slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] is coupled to a connecting rod 6 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket]. The connecting rod 6 can hold an object 5).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the carrier plate is coupled to the carrying basket by a shaft extending between the carrier plate and the carrying basket (annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, a connecting piece 8 is considered as the recited shaft which extends between the slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] and the connecting rod 6 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket] to couple them together).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh (KR 101122358B1).
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses, in figs. 1 and 2, a device for lifting and orienting a cylindrical cartridge, the device comprising:
a lift mechanism this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The lift mechanism is the lift device 100 comprising a rail guide, a rail, a carrier plate, a drive shaft, a drive motor, and equivalents thereof as described in claim 18 or ¶ 0027 and 0033-38) configured to move the cylindrical cartridge from a first vertical position to a second vertical position (see annotated Oh figs. 2 and 4 below for the recited components; Oh English translation, p. 5:21-23, a container 50 [corresponds to the recited cylindrical cartridge] moves vertically from a first position to a second position because a lifting unit moves up and down along the lifting frame); and
a rotating mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The rotating mechanism comprises the rotatable shaft, the pinion gear along with components of the lift mechanism and equivalents thereof as described in claim 19 or ¶ 0047) configured to move the cylindrical cartridge from a first orientation to a second orientation (annotated Oh figs. 2 and 4 below and Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, the device comprises a horizontal rotary shaft 31 and a gearbox 33 which can rotate a clamping unit 40 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket]. Thus, the container 50 moves from a first orientation to a second orientation. The device of Oh comprises other components as presented in the lift mechanism);
wherein the lift mechanism and the rotating mechanism work to lift and change the orientation of the cylindrical cartridge (Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23 and 5:21-23, the device of Oh can lift and rotate the clamping unit 40).
Annotated Oh Fig. 2
Annotated Oh Fig. 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Kelley et al. (US 2005/0076495, hereinafter Kelley).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose explicitly at least one linear bearing rail block comprises four linear bearing rail blocks, and wherein each linear bearing rail block is coupled to a corner of the carrier plate and configured to translate along a respective one of the first rail guide and the second rail guide.
Kelley teaches, in an analogous rail device field of endeavor, at least one linear bearing rail block comprises four linear bearing rail blocks, and wherein each linear bearing rail block is coupled to a corner of the carrier plate and configured to translate along a respective one of the first rail guide and the second rail guide (fig. 3 and ¶ 0014, a positioning apparatus 10 [equivalent to the recited carrier plate] slides along rails 20 on a base frame 12. There are four linear bearings blocks 22 [correspond to the recite linear bearing rail blocks]. Each linear bearing block is couples to a corner of a base plate 27 of the positioning apparatus 10 to translate along the two rails 20. The bearing blocks of Kelley can be applied to the rails of Zhang to translate the slider 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the life device of Zhang to provide the four linear bearing rail blocks as taught by Kelley. The linear bearing blocks are anti-friction devices, thus they allow smooth translation of the slider/carrier plate (Kelley ¶ 0014).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claims 1 and 6 above respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first rail guide is securely coupled to the support wall and the rail is securely coupled to the first rail guide (fig. 1 and annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, the supporting frame 12 [corresponds to the recited first rail guide] is coupled to the housing 4 [corresponds to the recited support wall] and the guide rail 13 is coupled to the supporting frame 12), but does not disclose the coupling minimizes oscillations and produces a sound that is less than 90 decibels.
However, as discussed in 112(b) rejection above, the coupling of the support frame 12, the housing 4, and the guide rail 13 enables minimizing the oscillations and producing the sound less than 90 decibels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lift device of Zhang to couple the components to be securely coupled so that integrity of the device remains during the repeated operation.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the carrying basket is configured to receive a cylindrical cartridge (annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, the connecting rod 6 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket] can be configured to receive a cylindrical cartridge. Receiving a cylindrical cartridge is an intended use which has no patentable weight).
Further, Zhang does not disclose the cylindrical cartridge comprises a mass of approximately 6.5kg when empty and approximately 56.5kg when carrying powder contents. However, the claim limitations are also intended use and have no patentable weight. A cylindrical cartridge of approximately 6.5 kg can be used with the device of Zhang. If 50 kg of powder is filled in the cartridge, the filled cartridge will be approximately 56.5 kg.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Oh.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the lift device as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose the shaft is rotatable relative to the carrier plate and is configured to allow a change in orientation of the carrying basket.
Oh teaches, in an analogous lift device field of endeavor, the shaft is rotatable relative to the carrier plate and is configured to allow a change in orientation of the carrying basket (annotated Oh fig. 4 above and Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, a lift device comprises a horizontal rotary shaft 31 which can rotate a clamping unit 40 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lift device of Zhang to provide the rotatable shaft as taught by Oh so that the device can pour contents out of a container by rotating the container (Oh English translation, p. 5:24-26).
Claims 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 101122358B1), in view of Zhang et al. (CN 106741282B, cited on 06/07/2024 IDS, hereinafter Zhang) and Semrau (US 2912762).
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses a device for changing an orientation of a carrying basket (fig. 1 and annotated Oh fig. 2 above, tablet input device), the device comprising:
a support wall (vertical frame 10);
a rail coupled to the support wall (a guide rail 14 coupled to the vertical frame 10);
a carrier plate coupled to the rail, the carrier plate configured to move between a first position and a second position along the rail (annotated Oh fig. 4 above, a lifting frame 23 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] is coupled to the guide rail 14; Oh English translation, p. 4:10, the frame 23 can move up and down); and
a rotatable shaft extending between the carrier plate and the carrying basket, and configured to rotate about a rotational axis (annotated Oh fig. 4 above and Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, the horizontal rotary shaft 31 [corresponds to the recited rotatable shaft] extends between lifting frame 23 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] and the clamping unit 40 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket]. The shaft 31 can rotate, thus the shaft 31 becomes a rotational axis); and
wherein rotation of the pivot shaft causes the carrying basket to change from a first orientation to a second orientation (Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, the rotation of the shaft 31 allows the clamping unit 40 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket] to rotate, thus an orientation of the clamping unit 40 would change from a first orientation to a second orientation), but does not disclose a support wall including an elongated slot.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous rail device field of endeavor, a support wall including an elongated slot (see annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, the housing 4 [corresponds to the recited support wall] includes an elongated slot for accommodating the rails, the drive shaft, and the carrier plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support wall of Oh to provide the elongated slot as taught by Zhang in order to securely couple the lift device with the support wall.
Oh as modified by Zhang teaches the rotatable shaft passes through the elongated slot in the support wall.
By modifying the rail, the carrier plate, and the rotatable shaft of Oh to be disposed in the elongated slot of Zhang, the shaft 31 would pass through the elongated slot in the support wall of Zhang. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang to provide the rotatable shaft to pass through the elongated slot. Assuming that a depth of the slot is deep enough to enclose all lifting structure, the shaft which carries load of the basket and contents would endure load for safe operation over repeated load carrying operations.
However, Oh as modified by Zhang still does not disclose the elongated slot including a notch supporting a rack; the rotatable shaft carrying a pinion gear, wherein as the carrier plate moves between the first position and the second position, the pinion gear moves into engagement with the rack thereby causing the rotatable shaft to rotate about the rotational axis.
Semrau teaches, in an analogous orientation changing device field of endeavor, the elongated slot including a notch supporting a rack (fig. 4, a rack 40 is coupled to a shaft 39. The shaft has a notch to accommodate the rack 40); the rotatable shaft carrying a pinion gear, wherein as the carrier plate moves between the first position and the second position, the pinion gear moves into engagement with the rack thereby causing the rotatable shaft to rotate about the rotational axis (figs. 2, 7, and 8, and col. 2:9-37, a dial 16 [equivalent to the recited carrier plate] rotates about a shaft 19 [corresponds to the recited rotatable shaft], and is connected with pinion 41. The rack 40 engages by the pinion 41 when a wheel 42 rotates. The rotation of pinions and gear 30 lead to the rotation of the dial 16 from a first position to a second position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang to provide the pinion gear and the rack as taught by Semrau in order to allow a rotating component of the device to rotate in unison with other moving components (Semrau col. 2:1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Oh as modified by Zhang and Semrau teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the rack comprises teeth configured to cooperate with teeth of the pinion gear (Semrau, col. 2:12-14, the rack 40 is adapted to be engaged by the pinion 41 as discussed in claim 10 above), but does not disclose the rack comprises three teeth.
Semrau does not disclose a number of teeth of the rack 40. However, specification of the instant application states it can be any number of teeth (¶ 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rack of Semrau to provide three or any number of teeth in order to engage with the pinion (Semrau col. 2:12-14).
Regarding claim 15, Oh as modified by Zhang and Semrau teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the pinion gear is configured to engage the rack to rotate the pivot shaft about the rotational axis approximately 90 degrees (Semrau, examination of figs. 1 and 6 reveals the dial 16 rotates about the shaft 19 including approximately 90 degrees).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Zhang and Semrau, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Mushynski et al. (US 2019/0263607, hereinafter Mushynski).
Regarding claim 12, Oh as modified by Zhang and Semrau teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 10, but does not disclose a limit arm coupled with and extending radially from the shaft, the limit arm having a pin and the arm configured to swing radially about the rotational axis.
Mushynski teaches, in a rotating mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a limit arm coupled with and extending radially from the shaft, the limit arm having a pin and the arm configured to swing radially about the rotational axis (fig. 26, mechanical components of a vehicle comprise a rocker member 140 [corresponds to the recited limit arm] extends radially from a pin 142 [corresponds to the recited shaft] and the rocker member 140 swings radially about the pin 142, thus the pin 142 becomes a rotational axis. The rocker member 140 has a pin 138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang and Semrau to provide the rotating limit arm and the pin as taught by Mushynski. The rotating carrier plate of Oh does not have the limit arm thus they may rotate indefinitely. By combining the arm and the pin of Mushynski to the carrier plate of Oh, its rotation can be restricted so that the container of Oh has a limited tilt motion.
Regarding claim 13, Oh as modified by Zhang, Semrau, and Mushynski teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 12, further comprising a locking plate coupled to the carrier plate, the locking plate having a limit slot configured to receive the pin, such that the pin moves along the limit slot as the arm swings radially about the rotational axis (Mushynski, fig. 26, the device comprises a panel 38 [corresponds to the recited locking plate] having a slot 144 [corresponds to the recited limit slot]. The slot 144 receives the pin 138 such that the pin 138 moves along the slot 144 as the rocker member 140 [corresponds to the recited limit arm] swings about the pin 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang, Semrau, and Mushynski to provide the limit slot as taught by Mushynski so that the rotating component of the device rotates only the limited range. By apply the slot of Mushynski to the carrier plate of Oh, it ensures the limited tilt of the container.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Zhang, Semrau, and Mushynski, as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Wood et al. (US 2014/0076904, hereinafter Wood).
Regarding claim 14, Oh as modified by Zhang, Semrau, and Mushynski teaches the device as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose the locking plate further comprises a locking mechanism, the locking mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The locking mechanism may be an electronic rotary latch configured to receive a locking pin and equivalents thereof as described in ¶ 0049) configured to receive the locking pin to maintain a position of the arm and prevent rotation of the shaft and the carrying basket.
Wood teaches, in a mechanical locking system field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a locking mechanism, the locking mechanism configured to receive the locking pin to maintain a position of the arm and prevent rotation of the shaft and the carrying basket (fig. 5 and ¶ 0037, a locking system of a mechanical apparatus comprises a latch 540 comprising an aperture 520. The aperture 520 receives an electronic locking pin 300 of a body 550 [equivalent to the recited limit arm]. By applying the locking system of Wood to the device of Oh as modified by Semrau and Mushynski, the rotation of limit arm would be fixed by locking the pin sliding along the slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang, Semrau, and Mushynski to provide the locking mechanism as taught by Wood. The locking system of Wood prevents a lid from rotating/opening for safety issue. The locking system applied to Oh as modified by Semrau would secure the rotation of the carrier plate for appropriate application such as fixing the container at a tilted orientation for emptying contents of the container.
Claim 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as applied to claim 16 above.
Regarding claim 17, Oh discloses the device as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose the first orientation of the cylindrical cartridge is a horizontal orientation and the second orientation of the cylindrical cartridge is a vertical orientation.
Oh discloses the clamping unit 40 rotates but does not disclose the initial orientation and the final orientation. Because the container 50 can be moved vertically and be rotated (Oh English translation, p. 3:15-20), the first orientation can be designated as the horizontally rotated position and the second orientation can be designated as a vertically upright position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh to provide the different orientation positions in order to carry and empty contents in a container.
Regarding claim 20, Oh discloses the device as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose explicitly the lift mechanism and the rotating mechanism work to lift and rotate the cylindrical cartridge simultaneously.
Oh discloses the device can lift and rotate the clamping unit 40 (Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23 and 5:21-23). Although it does not disclose explicitly whether the lifting and rotation can be done simultaneously, the lifting and the rotating are mutually exclusive mechanisms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh to provide the lifting and the rotating the cartridge simultaneously so that the transporting and emptying the contents of the container can be done effectively in a short time.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 18, Oh discloses the device as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the lift mechanism comprises: a rail guide (flange 13) coupled vertically to a support wall (vertical frame 10); a rail (guide rail 14) coupled to the rail guide; a carrier plate (frame 23) coupled to the rail; a threaded drive shaft (screw shaft 21) extending parallel to the rail; and a drive motor (drive motor 24) coupled with the drive shaft, wherein the drive motor drives movement of the carrier plate along the drive shaft (see annotated Oh figs. 2 and 4 above for the recited components; Oh English translation, p. 3:34-35, the drive motor 24 rotates the screw shaft 21 for moving the components vertically), but does not disclose explicitly at least one linear bearing rail block is coupled to the carrier plate and the rail, the at least one linear bearing rail block configured to move along a length of the rail; and the drive shaft through the carrier plate, coupled to the carrier plate at a top edge and a bottom edge of the carrier plate.
Zhang teaches, in the analogous lift device field of endeavor, at least one linear bearing rail block is coupled to the carrier plate and the rail, the at least one linear bearing rail block configured to move along a length of the rail; and the drive shaft through the carrier plate, coupled to the carrier plate at a top edge and a bottom edge of the carrier plate (annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, a slider 9 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] is coupled to the rail 13 by the linear bearing 10 [corresponds to the recited linear bearing rail block] to move up and down the rail. The screw 14 [corresponds to the recited threaded drive shaft] extends parallel to the support framer 12 and extends through the slider 9 thus it couples to a top edge and a bottom edge of the slider 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh to provide the linear bearing rail block as taught by Zhang in order to provide smooth sliding motion along the rails.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Zhang and Semrau.
Regarding claim 19, Oh discloses a device for changing an orientation of a carrying basket (fig. 1 and annotated Oh fig. 2 above, tablet input device), the device comprising:
a support wall (vertical frame 10);
a rail coupled to the support wall (a guide rail 14 coupled to the vertical frame 10);
a carrier plate coupled to the rail, the carrier plate configured to move between a first position and a second position along the rail (annotated Oh fig. 4 above, a lifting frame 23 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] is coupled to the guide rail 14; Oh English translation, p. 4:10, the frame 23 can move up and down); and
a rotatable shaft extending between the carrier plate and the cylindrical cartridge, and configured to rotate about a rotational axis (annotated Oh fig. 4 above and Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, the horizontal rotary shaft 31 [corresponds to the recited rotatable shaft] extends between lifting frame 23 [corresponds to the recited carrier plate] and the container 50 [corresponds to the recited cylindrical cartridge]. The shaft 31 can rotate, thus the shaft 31 becomes a rotational axis); and
wherein rotation of the pivot shaft causes the carrying basket to change from a first orientation to a second orientation (Oh English translation, p. 4:16-23, the rotation of the shaft 31 allows the clamping unit 40 [corresponds to the recited carrying basket] to rotate, thus an orientation of the clamping unit 40 would change from a first orientation to a second orientation), but does not disclose a support wall including an elongated slot.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous rail device field of endeavor, a support wall including an elongated slot (see annotated Zhang fig. 2 above, the housing 4 [corresponds to the recited support wall] includes an elongated slot for accommodating the rails, the drive shaft, and the carrier plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support wall of Oh to provide the elongated slot as taught by Zhang in order to securely couple the lift device with the support wall.
Oh as modified by Zhang teaches the rotatable shaft passes through the elongated slot in the support wall.
By modifying the rail, the carrier plate, and the rotatable shaft of Oh to be disposed in the elongated slot of Zhang, the shaft 31 would pass through the elongated slot in the support wall of Zhang. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang to provide the rotatable shaft to pass through the elongated slot. Assuming that a depth of the slot is deep enough to enclose all lifting structure, the shaft which carries load of the basket and contents would endure load for safe operation over repeated load carrying operations.
However, Oh as modified by Zhang still does not disclose the elongated slot including a notch supporting a rack; the rotatable shaft carrying a pinion gear, wherein as the carrier plate moves between the first position and the second position, the pinion gear moves into engagement with the rack thereby causing the rotatable shaft to rotate about the rotational axis.
Semrau teaches, in an analogous orientation changing device field of endeavor, the elongated slot including a notch supporting a rack (fig. 4, a rack 40 is coupled to a shaft 39. The shaft has a notch to accommodate the rack 40); the rotatable shaft carrying a pinion gear, wherein as the carrier plate moves between the first position and the second position, the pinion gear moves into engagement with the rack thereby causing the rotatable shaft to rotate about the rotational axis (figs. 2, 7, and 8, and col. 2:9-37, a dial 16 [equivalent to the recited carrier plate] rotates about a shaft 19 [corresponds to the recited rotatable shaft], and is connected with pinion 41. The rack 40 engages by the pinion 41 when a wheel 42 rotates. The rotation of pinions and gear 30 lead to the rotation of the dial 16 from a first position to a second position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oh as modified by Zhang to provide the pinion gear and the rack as taught by Semrau in order to allow a rotating component of the device to rotate in unison with other moving components (Semrau col. 2:1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liao et al (CN 214905230U) discloses a rail system wherein a moving process generates sound less than 40 decibels.
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723