DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6733479 B1 to Ott in view of US 20060184095 A1 to Ott (Ott ‘095).
Regarding claim 1:
Ott discloses:
A spray device (figure 4) for delivering an aerosolized substance (column 9, lines 38-43) into a body cavity (6 as shown in figure 2), the spray device comprising:
an elongate member (31) having a proximal portion (32), a distal portion (34), and a longitudinal axis (Ax) extending generally from the proximal portion (32) to the distal portion (34), the distal portion (34) being configured to be removably placed in the body cavity (column 2, lines 25-32), the elongate member (31) configured to receive a substance in a liquid form at the proximal portion (32) (liquid and gas can be received and then expelled as atomized liquid in a gas; column 9, lines 38-43), the elongate member (31) further configured to deliver the substance to the body cavity in an aerosolized form from the distal portion (34) (column 9, lines 38-43), the distal portion (34) comprising:
one or more axial spray holes (36) configured to direct the substance from the distal portion (34) in a distal direction (as shown in figure 4); and
at least two radial spray holes (see radial spray hole A in figure 1 below of 39) disposed at a first axial distance (as shown in figure 5) from a distal end (34) of the elongate member to form a first row of radial spray holes (as shown in figure 5), the first row of radial spray holes (see radial spray hole A in figure 1 below of 39) being configured to direct the substance from the distal portion in a radially outward direction (see F in figure 4), the at least two radial spray holes of the first row being spaced evenly about an outer surface of the elongate member (as shown in figure 5),
at least two radial spray holes (see radial spray hole B in figure 1 below of 39) disposed at a second axial distance (as shown in figure 5) from the distal end (34) of the elongate member to form a second row of radial spray holes (as shown in figure 1 below), the second row of radial spray holes being configured to direct the substance from the distal portion in the radially outward direction (see F in figure 4), the at least two radial spray holes of the second row being spaced evenly about an outer surface of the elongate member (as shown in figure 5),
the one or more axial spray holes (36) and the one or more radial spray holes (39) configured to cause the substance to exit from the distal portion (34) in the aerosolized form (column 9, lines 38-43).
Ott fails to disclose:
The radial spray holes of the second row being angularly offset from the radial spray holes of the first row.
Ott ‘095 teaches:
A spray device (figure 1) for delivering an aerosolized substance (¶0021) into a body cavity (13), the spray device comprising: at least two radial spray holes (see radial spray hole C in figure 2 below of 49) disposed at a first axial distance (see figure 2 below) and at least two radial spray holes (see radial spray hole D in figure 2 below of 49) disposed at a second axial distance (as shown in figure 2 below). Further, the radial spray holes at the first and second axial distance are angularly offset from each other (as shown in figure 2 below). The reference further teaches an embodiment where radial holes are angularly aligned (as shown in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ott to modify the radial spray holes at the first and second axial distance to be angularly offset from each other as taught by Ott ‘095. This is a simple substitution of one known element (radial spray holes at the first and second distance angularly aligned as disclosed in Ott) for another (radial spray holes at the first and second distance angularly offset as taught by Ott ‘095) to obtain predictable results (to spray the gas or liquid containing drugs into the body cavity).
Figure 1 – figure 5 of Ott, annotated by the examiner
Figure 2 – figures 3 and 3a of Ott ‘095, annotated by the examiner
Regarding claim 3:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein the elongate member (31) has a generally round outer surface (as shown in figure 8a and 4), and wherein the at least two radial spray holes (39) of the first row and the at least two radial spray holes of the second row are evenly spaced about a circumference (as shown in figure 8a) of the distal portion (34) of the elongate member (31).
Regarding claim 4:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein the one or more axial spray holes (36) and the one or more at least two radial spray holes (39) of the first row and the at least two radial spray holes of the second row (A and B in figure 1 above) are configured to cause the substance to exit from the distal portion in the aerosolized form (column 9, lines 38-43) when the substance is received at the proximal portion (32) in the liquid form at a flow rate of between 20 mL/min and 120 60mL/min (100 to 20000 ml (0.1 to 20 liters; column 1, lines 45-52)).
Regarding claim 8:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein one axial spray hole (36) of the one or more axial spray holes is disposed at the distal end (as shown in figure 4) of the elongate member (31).
Regarding claim 9:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein one axial spray hole (36) of the one or more axial spray holes is disposed proximal to (as shown in figure 4) the distal end (34) of the elongate member (31).
Regarding claim 11:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein a number of radial spray holes in the first row is equal to a number of radial spray holes in the second row (as shown in figure 5 there are multiple rows of radial spray holes 39 which are equally spaced).
Regarding claim 13:
Ott discloses:
The spray device of claim 1 wherein at least one of the at least two radial spray holes (74/39) of the first row of radial spray holes or the second row of radial spray holes (see figure 10c where the radial spray holes 74/39 can be arranged toward the proximal end) is angled towards the proximal portion (32) of the elongate member (31).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6733479 B1 to Ott and US 20060184095 A1 to Ott (Ott ‘095) as applied to claims 3 and 11 above.
Regarding claim 5:
Ott discloses:
The arrangement of the radial holes can vary based on the organs or other structures in the body cavity (column 6, lines 18-29). This teaches that the angle and the quantity of holes is a results effective variable dependent on the structures within the body cavity.
Ott fails to disclose:
The spray device of claim 3 wherein the elongate member comprises four radial spray holes in the first row spaced 90 degrees about the circumference of the distal portion of the elongate member and four radial spray holes in the second row spaced 90 degrees about the circumference of the distal portion of the elongate member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radial spray holes spacing to 90 degrees (4 holes in quantity for the radially holes at the first and second distance) about the circumference in order to avoid organs or structures within the body cavity since the spacing and quantity of the radial spray holes is a results effective variable as indicated above.
Regarding claim 6:
Ott discloses:
The arrangement of the radial holes can vary based on the organs or other structures in the body cavity (column 6, lines 18-29). This teaches that the angle and the quantity of holes is a results effective variable dependent on the structures within the body cavity.
Ott fails to disclose:
The spray device of claim 3 wherein the elongate member comprises three radial spray holes in the first row spaced 120 degrees about the circumference of the distal portion of the elongate member and three radial spray holes in the second row spaced 120 degrees about the circumference of the distal portion of the elongate member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radial spray holes spacing to 120 degrees (3 holes in quantity for the radially holes at the first and second distance) about the circumference in order to avoid organs or structures within the body cavity since the spacing and quantity of the radial spray holes is a results effective variable as indicated above.
Regarding claim 12:
Ott discloses:
The arrangement of the radial holes can vary based on the organs or other structures in the body cavity (column 6, lines 18-29). This teaches that the angle and the quantity of holes is a results effective variable dependent on the structures within the body cavity.
Ott fails to disclose:
The spray device of claim 11 wherein the first row comprises 4 radial spray holes and the second row comprises 4 radial spray holes, and wherein the 4 radial spray holes of the second row are angularly offset from the 4 radial spray holes of the first row by 45 degrees.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radial spray holes spacing of the first and second row of holes to 45 degrees (4 holes in quantity) about the circumference in order to avoid organs or structures within the body cavity since the spacing and quantity of the radial spray holes is a results effective variable as indicated above.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 15-19 and 21-25 is/are allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant' s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant' s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “inserting a second trocar sleeve into the body cavity; and delivering an insufflation gas via the second trocar sleeve to form a hollow space in the body cavity” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 15; and
the prior art of record does not teach “a second trocar sleeve different from the first trocar sleeve, the second trocar sleeve adapted to be inserted into the body cavity; a supply of insufflation gas configured to be delivered to the body cavity via the second trocar sleeve to form a hollow space in the body cavity” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 21.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant' s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant' s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 8/18/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9 and 11-3 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 6733479 B1 to Ott and US 20060184095 A1 to Ott (Ott ‘095).
Regarding 35 USC 112(b) claim rejections:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have addressed the previous claim rejections and for this reason they have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783