DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed February 24, 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-20 were previously pending; claims 11 and 12 were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-10 and 13-20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 8 of Remarks) amends independent claim 9 to include the subject matter of claim 11 and 12. Claim 12 was previously indicated to possess allowable subject matter, thus claim 9 is now in condition for allowance.
The Applicant's second point (page 8-9 of Remarks) amends claim 1 to include limitations that overcome the prior grounds of rejections. New grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendment are provided below.
The Applicant's third point (page 9-10 of Remarks) amends claim 17 and 18 to include limitations that overcome the prior grounds of rejections. The new limitations over come the current grounds of rejection and can not be found in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COX (US 20210152047 A1).
Regarding claim 1, COX teaches:
An oil distributor(Fig 1; 15), comprising:
a first distribution channel(Fig 4; a)(the first distribution elements are denoted by a) comprising a first inlet section with a first inlet(Fig 4; 26a), and a first outlet section(Fig 4; 17a)[0059-0060]; and
a second distribution channel(Fig 4; b)(the second distribution elements are denoted by b) comprising a second inlet section with a second inlet(Fig 4; 26b), and a second outlet section(Fig 4; 17b) [0059-0060], wherein:
the first and second inlet sections (Fig 4; 26a/b)are included in a main body (Fig 4; 15)and the first and second outlet sections(Fig 4; 17a/b) protrude radially away from the main body (Fig 4; 15)in opposite directions;
the first outlet section and the second outlet section (Fig 4; 26a/b)are positioned coaxial with each other (coaxial shown in Fig 5 and 6 of COX);
the first inlet and the second inlet (Fig 4; 26a/b)are positioned coaxial with each other, and at opposite ends of the main body(Fig 4; 15); and
the first distribution channel (Fig 4; a)distributes oil to a first rotor shaft (Fig 4; 8a)coupled to a first electric motor (Fig 1; 2a)and the second distribution channel(Fig 4; b) distributes oil to a second rotor shaft (Fig 4; 8b)coupled to a second electric motor(Fig 1; 2b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify COX because they discloses the oil distributor of claim 1 except for rearrangement of the first inlet and the second inlet being positioned coaxial with each other along an axis perpendicular to the first outlet section and the second outlet section. It would have been an obvious matter of rotating one partial machine 180 degrees about the axis of rotation in order to have the first inlet and the second inlet positioned coaxial with each other along an axis perpendicular to the first outlet section and the second outlet section; thus, allowing coolant to be delivered through the whole machine more asymmetrically, and allowing a more evenly distributed cooling across the whole machine. Rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 1:
wherein the main body further (Fig 4; 15) comprises a first outer rim(Fig 4; 18a) and a second outer rim(Fig 4; 18b)[0062], the first and second outer rims (Fig 4; 18a/b)positioned circumferentially about the main body(Fig 4; 15).
Regarding claim 3, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 2:
wherein the first and second outer rims (Fig 4; 18a/b)define therebetween a first groove (Fig 5; 30a)and a second groove(Fig 5; 30b), wherein the first groove(Fig 5; 30a) is in fluid communication with the first inlet section (Fig 5; 26a)via the first inlet(Fig 5; 26a)[0062] and the second groove is (Fig 5; 30b)in fluid communication with the second inlet section(Fig 5; 26b) via the second inlet(Fig 5; 26b)(rims 18a and 18b are identical [0053] therefor second groove has the same properties as the first groove).
Regarding claim 4, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 3:
wherein the first distribution channel (Fig 5; a) is configured to direct oil from the first groove (Fig 5; 30a)to the first outlet (Fig 5; 17a)via the first inlet section(Fig 5; 26a) and the first outlet section (Fig 5; 17a)and the second distribution channel (Fig 5; b)is configured to direct oil from the second groove (Fig 5; 30b)to the second outlet (Fig 5; 17b)via the second inlet section (Fig 5; 26b)and the second outlet section(Fig 5; 17b)[0062].
Regarding claim 5, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 3:
wherein the first and second grooves(Fig 5; 30a/b) are separated by a dividing wall (Fig 9; 28)of the main body(Fig 9; 15).
Regarding claim 6, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 3:
wherein the first groove(Fig 5; 30a) is in fluid communication with a first oil inlet (Fig 5; 26a)and the second groove (Fig 5; 30b)is in fluid communication with a second oil inlet(Fig 5; 26b), wherein oil entering the oil distributor via the first oil inlet (Fig 5; 26a) is conditioned for the first electric motor (Fig 1; 2a)[0060]and oil entering the oil distributor via the second oil inlet (Fig 5; 26b)is conditioned for the second electric motor(Fig 5; 2b).
Regarding claim 7, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 1:
wherein the first and second outlet sections(Fig 1; 17a/b) are positioned coaxial (shown in Fig 1)with each other and with a shared axis of rotation of the first and second rotor shafts(Fig 1; 8).
Regarding claim 8, COX teaches the oil distributor of claim 7:
wherein the first and second inlet sections (Fig 4; 26a/b) are parallel to each other and positioned at an angle(perpendicular) respective to the shared axis of rotation(Fig 4; 8), the first inlet section (Fig 5; 26a)positioned towards a first end (axial towards motor 2a) of the oil distributor and the second inlet section(Fig 5; 26b) positioned towards a second end (axial towards motor 2b) of the oil distributor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 13-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 9: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: COX (US 20210152047 A1) and COX 2 (US 20190199170 A1)teaches:
An electric drive unit, comprising:
a first electric motor and a second electric motor arranged in a back-to-back configuration; and
a common oil distributor positioned between the first electric motor and the second electric motor, the common oil distributor comprising;
a first distribution channel configured to distribute oil to the first electric motor and a second distribution channel configured to distribute oil to the second electric motor, wherein the first distribution channel comprises a first inlet in fluid communication with a first outlet via a first inlet section and a first outlet section and the second distribution channel comprises a second inlet in fluid communication with a second outlet via a second inlet section and a second outlet section; and
a first outer rim and a second outer rim positioned circumferentially about a main body.
However, COX (US 20210152047 A1) and COX 2 (US 20190199170 A1) does not teach: the first and second outer rims comprise o-ring seals (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claims 9-16 are allowed, and not rejected, because the limitation of the first and second outer rims comprise o-ring seals is too specific which makes it novel. The prior art teach the claimed sealing through a press fit method, but does not teach the claimed sealing using an o-ring, this is what makes it novel.
Claims 10 and 13-16 are also allowed because they depend from allowed claims 9.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Regarding claim 17: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: COX (US 20210152047 A1) and COX 2 (US 20190199170 A1)teaches:
An oil distribution system for an electric drive unit, comprising:
an oil distributor comprising a main body with a first outer rim and a second outer rim that are circumferential about the main body and define therebetween, wherein the oil distributor is positioned between a first rotor shaft coupled to a first electric motor and a second rotor shaft coupled to a second electric motor, wherein the first and second electric motors are arranged in a back-to-back configuration, and the oil distributor is configured to:
receive, at the first groove, oil conditioned for the first electric motor from a first oil inlet;
receive, at the second groove, oil conditioned for the second electric motor from a second oil inlet;
distribute oil from the first oil inlet to the first rotor shaft via a first distribution channel; and
distribute oil from the second oil inlet to the second rotor shaft via a second distribution channel.
However, COX (US 20210152047 A1) and COX 2 (US 20190199170 A1) does not teach: a first groove and a second groove that are separated by a dividing wall that is perpendicular to a circumference of the main body (The underlined is allowable subject matter.).
Claims 17-20 are allowed, and not rejected, because the limitation of a dividing wall that is perpendicular to a circumference of the main body may be rearrangeable but would lead the prior art to be inoperable.
Claims 18-20 are also allowed because they depend from allowed claims 17.
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Prior Art:
COX 2 (US 20190199170 A1) teaches the sealing limitation of claim 12 using a press fit not an o-ring as claimed. COX 2 is also skewed at an angle like the present application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834