Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 1 is met by patented claims 1 and 15.
Claim 2 is met by patented claim 15.
Claim 3 is met by patented claim 12.
Claim 7 is me by patented claim 1.
Claim 8 is met by patented claims 1 and 15.
Claim 9 is met by patented claim 15.
Claim 10 is met by patented claim 12.
Claim 14 is met by claim 1.
Claim 15 is met by claims 1 and 15.
Claim 16 is met by claim 15.
Claim 17 is met by claim 12.
Claim 19 is met by claims 1 and 15.
Claim 20 is met by claim 9.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim 1 is met by patented claims 1 and 4.
Claim 2 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 3 is met by patented claim 11.
Claim 5 is met by patented claims 4 and 5.
Claim 6 is met by patented claim 6.
Claim 7 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 8 is met by patented claims 1 and 4.
Claim 9 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 10 is met by patented claim 11.
Claim 12 is met by patented claim 4 and 5.
Claim 13 is met by patented claim 6.
Claim 14 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 15 is met by patented claim 1 and 4.
Claim 16 is met by patented claim 1.
Claim 17 is met by patented claim 11.
Claim 19 is met by patented claims 4 and 5.
Claim 20 is met by patented claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (2008/0158342) in view of Yamagishi et al. (7,136,096).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an image capturing apparatus, comprising: circuitry (14, 16, 18) configured to receive a start instruction for panorama image capture (at the commencement of step 200 in Fig. 2), in response to receipt of the start instruction, set a panorama image range (set total number of images in step 200) and an image capture direction corresponding to a first direction in case an amount of movement of the image capturing apparatus with regard to the first direction is greater than an amount of movement of the image capturing apparatus with regard to a second direction (note step 206), capture a plurality of images within the panorama image range as the image capturing apparatus moves in the image capture direction after the panorama image range and the image capture direction are set (212, 214), generate a panorama image using at least part of the plurality of images (218), and cause display of the panorama image on a display (24).
However, Jeong does not disclose cause display of a first image overlapped on a live view image, the first image showing at least a part of a border of the panorama image range as claimed.
Yamagishi, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a first image (freeze image) overlapping on a live view image, the first image showing at least a part of a border of the panorama image range (note Fig. 14b and par. 131; the freeze image is located at the border of the panoramic image). By overlapping a captured image (freeze image) over the live image, the user can be properly informed where his image capturing orientation is and hence a properly aligned panoramic image.
Therefore, in view of Yamagishi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to include Yamagishi into Jeong so that the panoramic image capturing process could be simplified.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses that image capturing apparatus according to wherein the first direction and the second direction are predetermined directions (note the vertical and horizontal motion information (par. 32).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong discloses the circuitry is further configured to notify a user when the user does not properly perform movement of the image capturing apparatus according to the direction for moving the image capturing apparatus (note the correction arrow in Fig. 7b and 7c, and par. 46).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses the notifying the user is by moving the display of the first image in accordance with the movement in a vertical direction (the correction arrow can be in any direction to compensate the incorrect movement of the camera as described in par. 46).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong discloses the notifying the user is by displaying a second image overlapped on the live view image (note the arrows in Fig. 7b and 7c).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong discloses the direction for moving the image capturing apparatus is a swing direction (note the Fig. 7a).
Regarding claim 7, Jeong discloses the first image is displayed on the display in its entirety (note the freeze image in Fig. 14b).
Regarding claims 8-20, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s arguments that no combination of Jeong and Yamagishi teaches or suggests, at least, the feature wherein an image capture direction corresponds to a first direction in case an amount of movement of the image capturing apparatus with regard to the first direction is greater than an amount of movement of the image capturing apparatus with regard to a second direction, nor the feature wherein the display of a first image is overlapped on a live view image, the first image showing at least a part of a border of the panorama image range, the examiner disagrees.
According to paragraph 39 of Jeong, when the horizontal motion vector mv_w is greater than zero and the vertical motion vector mv_h equals to zero, the camera move direction is set to rightward or direction 5. In other words, if the motion of the horizontal direction is greater than the motion of the vertical direction, the camera movement direction is set to the horizontal direction. Thus, when interpreted broadly, Jeong still meets the claimed direction setting limitation.
With respect to the image overlapping limitation, Fig. 12b and 13b of Yamagishi show the claimed limitation. According to the figure, the freeze image, which overlaps the live image, shows a border of the panoramic range. That is, the freeze image at the upper righthand corner is the beginning of the panoramic image, which has a border neighboring to the final image at the upper lefthand corner (see Fig. 13b) and a border neighboring to the second image at the lower righthand corner. Thus, in view of Figures 12b and 13b, Yamagishi clearly meets the image overlapping limitation as claimed.
In view of Foregoing arguments, it is clear that applicant fails to overcome the combination of Jeong and Yamagishi. As a result, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422