DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: a period missing at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joseph et al. (US 20220305191 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 & 11, Joseph discloses an apparatus/method for collecting urine from a user ("urine collection device configured to receive fluid discharged from a user" Abstract), the apparatus/method comprising:
gathering liquid with a urinary catheter ("first tube 108" [0019]; FIGs. 1A-1B) comprising an outlet to enable liquid to exit therefrom ([0027-0028]; FIGs. 1A-1B);
conveying the liquid through a transport channel ("second tube 110" [0019]) having a first end coupled to the outlet (FIGs. 1A-1B); and
drawing the liquid through the transport channel using a cannister-free pump module ("pump 106" [0022-0023]) coupled to a second end of the transport channel (the end distal to the fluid collection container 104 in FIGs. 1A-1B) and configured to draw the liquid into the cannister-free pump module and expelling, using the cannister-free pump module, the liquid into an output channel ([0030-0032]).
Regarding Claims 2 & 12, Joseph discloses the urinary catheter is one of a male external urinary catheter and a female external urinary catheter ("urine collection device 102 may include a male or female fluid collection device" [0025]).
Regarding Claims 3 & 13, Joseph discloses the cannister-free pump module is further configured to generate a vacuum in the transport channel ("Suction force may be introduced into the urine collection device 102 via the first tube 108 responsive to suction (e.g., vacuum) force applied at the pump 106" [0019]).
Regarding Claims 5 & 15, Joseph discloses the cannister-free pump module is configured to be wirelessly activated by a remote control ("remote" [0023]).
Regarding Claims 6 & 16, Joseph discloses the cannister-free pump module is configured to be manually activated with a switch ("switch" [0023]).
Regarding Claims 7 & 17, Joseph discloses the cannister-free pump module is powered by a battery ("one or more batteries" [0020-0023]).
Regarding Claims 8 & 18, Joseph discloses the battery is rechargeable ("rechargeable battery" [0033]).
Regarding Claims 9 & 19, Joseph discloses that the battery is incorporated into the cannister-free pump module ("internal battery" [0033]; FIG. 2B).
Regarding Claims 10 & 20, Joseph discloses the output channel empties into one of a receptacle and a toilet ("suction device 106 may discharge the fluid to the fluid collection container 104" [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al. (US 20220305191 A1) in view of Andersen et al. (US 3598124 A).
Regarding Claims 4 & 14, Joseph fails to specify an air entry module, at or near the outlet, to enable air to enter the transport channel. However, Andersen teaches a urine drainage system having an indwelling catheter (1), the outlet (5) of which is connected to an air entry module (“valve 4”, Fig. 2), at or near the outlet (FIG. 2), to enable air to enter the transport channel (col. 2 lines 56-60 & col. 3 lines 53-59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Joseph by adding the Andersen vent valve to allow urine to flow to the collection container more easily and eliminate airlocks in the fluid circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781