DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations of claim 21 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language: “means for measuring a signal”; “means for measuring, simultaneous”; and “means for selecting a beam pair”.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 21 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding claim 21, a review of the specification shows that there is
corresponding structure for, means for measuring a signal, in the form of a communication manager 420, receiver 410, and transmitter 415 or any combination thereof (see paragraphs 0095 and 0099), means for measuring, simultaneous to measuring the signal, in the form of a communication manager 420, receiver 410, and transmitter 415 or any combination thereof (see paragraphs 0095 and 0099), and means for selecting a beam pair, in the form of a communication manager 420, receiver 410, and transmitter 415 or any combination thereof (see paragraphs 0095 and 0099) described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation.
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by
reference characters in response to this Office Action.
If Applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 11-13, 20-23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the
same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories ([0005] “memory”) storing processor-executable code ([0007] “code may include instructions”); and
one or more processors ([0005] “processor”) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
measure a signal via a first set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a first measurement for a first beam pair, ([0003] “the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. [0108] At 520, the UE 115-b may receive the multiple sets of SSB signals and measure a signal strength (e.g., an RSRP value) of the multiple sets of SSB signals”);
measure, simultaneous to measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the signal via a second set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a second measurement for a second beam pair, ([0076] “the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0081] The UE 115-a may receive the series of SSBs 230 using a set of directional beams 225 (e.g., a directional beam 225-a, a directional beam 225-b, and a directional beam 225-c) and measure a signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) of the SSBs 230. [0003] the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. Additionally, the UE may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements. The UE may then transmit an indication of the selected beam pair to the network entity”);
wherein the first set of antenna ports is different from the second set of antenna ports, ([0075] “the network entity 105-a may include an antenna panel 210-a and the UE 115-a may include an antenna panel 210-b. Moreover, each antenna panel 210 may include multiple physical antenna elements 215. For example, the antenna panel 210-a may include four columns of antenna elements 215-a and the antenna panel 210-b may include one column of antenna elements 215-b. [0076] the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0067] the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”);
and select a beam pair based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0003] “The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein, to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, ([0073] “the UE 115 may utilize measurements of enhanced SSBs for beam management procedures. […] the UE 115 may receive a first set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity 105 and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via a second antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, (“[…] the UE 115 may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. […] The UE 115 may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”);
wherein the first antenna component is different from the second antenna component, ([0067] “the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu discloses wherein the signal comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB), ([0039] “a user equipment (UE) may perform a beam management procedure with a network entity to determine a best directional beam to use while communicating with the network entity […] The UE may measure a signal strength of the received SSBs and select a directional beam that corresponds to the highest measured signal strength”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: measuring a signal via a first set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a first measurement for a first beam pair, ([0003] “the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. [0108] At 520, the UE 115-b may receive the multiple sets of SSB signals and measure a signal strength (e.g., an RSRP value) of the multiple sets of SSB signals”);
measuring, simultaneous to measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the signal via a second set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a second measurement for a second beam pair, ([0076] “the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0081] The UE 115-a may receive the series of SSBs 230 using a set of directional beams 225 (e.g., a directional beam 225-a, a directional beam 225-b, and a directional beam 225-c) and measure a signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) of the SSBs 230. [0003] the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. Additionally, the UE may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements. The UE may then transmit an indication of the selected beam pair to the network entity”);
wherein the first set of antenna ports is different from the second set of antenna ports, ([0075] “the network entity 105-a may include an antenna panel 210-a and the UE 115-a may include an antenna panel 210-b. Moreover, each antenna panel 210 may include multiple physical antenna elements 215. For example, the antenna panel 210-a may include four columns of antenna elements 215-a and the antenna panel 210-b may include one column of antenna elements 215-b. [0076] the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0067] the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”);
and selecting a beam pair based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0003] “The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu discloses wherein measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, ([0073] “the UE 115 may utilize measurements of enhanced SSBs for beam management procedures. […] the UE 115 may receive a first set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity 105 and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via a second antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, ([0073] “[…] the UE 115 may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. […] The UE 115 may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”);
wherein the first antenna component is different from the second antenna component, ([0067] “the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu discloses wherein the signal comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB), ([0039] “a user equipment (UE) may perform a beam management procedure with a network entity to determine a best directional beam to use while communicating with the network entity […] The UE may measure a signal strength of the received SSBs and select a directional beam that corresponds to the highest measured signal strength”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: means for measuring a signal via a first set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a first measurement for a first beam pair, ([0003] “the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. ([0133], (FIG. 6), [0115] “the communications manager 620, the receiver 610, the transmitter 615, or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in hardware [...] configured as or otherwise supporting a means for performing the functions described in the present disclosure. [0108] At 520, the UE 115-b may receive the multiple sets of SSB signals and measure a signal strength (e.g., an RSRP value) of the multiple sets of SSB signals”);
means for measuring, simultaneous to measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the signal via a second set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a second measurement for a second beam pair, ([0076] “the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. ([0133], (FIG. 6), [0115] “the communications manager 620, the receiver 610, the transmitter 615, or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in hardware [...] configured as or otherwise supporting a means for performing the functions described in the present disclosure. [0081] The UE 115-a may receive the series of SSBs 230 using a set of directional beams 225 (e.g., a directional beam 225-a, a directional beam 225-b, and a directional beam 225-c) and measure a signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) of the SSBs 230. [0003] the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. Additionally, the UE may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements. The UE may then transmit an indication of the selected beam pair to the network entity”);
wherein the first set of antenna ports is different from the second set of antenna ports, ([0075] “the network entity 105-a may include an antenna panel 210-a and the UE 115-a may include an antenna panel 210-b. Moreover, each antenna panel 210 may include multiple physical antenna elements 215. For example, the antenna panel 210-a may include four columns of antenna elements 215-a and the antenna panel 210-b may include one column of antenna elements 215-b. [0076] the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0067] the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”);
and means for selecting a beam pair based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0133], (FIG. 6), [0115] “the communications manager 620, the receiver 610, the transmitter 615, or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in hardware [...] configured as or otherwise supporting a means for performing the functions described in the present disclosure. ([0003] The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code ([0005] “memory”) for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors ([0005] “processor”) to: measure a signal via a first set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a first measurement for a first beam pair, ([0003] “the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. [0108] At 520, the UE 115-b may receive the multiple sets of SSB signals and measure a signal strength (e.g., an RSRP value) of the multiple sets of SSB signals”);
measure, simultaneous to measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the signal via a second set of antenna ports of the UE to obtain a second measurement for a second beam pair, ([0076] “the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0081] The UE 115-a may receive the series of SSBs 230 using a set of directional beams 225 (e.g., a directional beam 225-a, a directional beam 225-b, and a directional beam 225-c) and measure a signal strength (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP)) of the SSBs 230. [0003] the UE may receive a first set of SSBs from a network entity. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams. Additionally, the UE may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements. The UE may then transmit an indication of the selected beam pair to the network entity”);
wherein the first set of antenna ports is different from the second set of antenna ports, ([0075] “the network entity 105-a may include an antenna panel 210-a and the UE 115-a may include an antenna panel 210-b. Moreover, each antenna panel 210 may include multiple physical antenna elements 215. For example, the antenna panel 210-a may include four columns of antenna elements 215-a and the antenna panel 210-b may include one column of antenna elements 215-b. [0076] the network device may transmit the same data stream via more than one antenna port simultaneously. […] Using MIMO, the network device may transmit two different data streams via more than one antenna port simultaneously. An antenna port may be mapped to one or more physical antenna elements 215. [0067] the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”);
and select a beam pair based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0003] “The UE may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”).
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu discloses wherein the instructions to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports are executable by the one or more processors to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, ([0073] “the UE 115 may utilize measurements of enhanced SSBs for beam management procedures. […] the UE 115 may receive a first set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The first set of SSBs may be associated with a first antenna port of the network entity 105 and correspond to a first polarization and each SSB of the first set may be associated with respective directional beams of a set of directional beams”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via a second antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, ([0073] “[…] the UE 115 may receive a second set of SSBs from the network entity 105. The second set of SSBs may be associated with a second antenna port of the network entity corresponding to a second polarization and each second SSB of the second set may be associated with respective directional beams of the set of directional beams. […] The UE 115 may measure the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs and select a beam pair based on the measurements”);
wherein the first antenna component is different from the second antenna component, ([0067] “the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas […] Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting”).
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 22, wherein the signal comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB), ([0039] “a user equipment (UE) may perform a beam management procedure with a network entity to determine a best directional beam to use while communicating with the network entity […] The UE may measure a signal strength of the received SSBs and select a directional beam that corresponds to the highest measured signal strength”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Ahmadi; Sassan (US 20130142054 A1) hereinafter Ahmadi.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahmadi discloses wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location, ([0042] [0046] [Claims 17] “[…] electronic device in a radio communications network having at least first and second geographically separated antenna nodes that are coupled to a base station, the method comprising: when the electronic device is at a first location within range of the first antenna node, establishing a first uplink communications path with the base station via the first antenna node; and when the electronic device is at a second location within range of the second antenna node, terminating the first uplink communications path and establishing a second uplink communications path with the base station via the second antenna node”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to combine with the first and second geographically separated antenna nodes, disclosed by Ahmadi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE maintains strong signal with the BS upon switching from the first antenna node and establishing communication via the second antenna node, Ahmadi ([0042] [0046] [Claims 17]).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahmadi discloses wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location, ([0042], [0046], [Claims 17] “[…] electronic device in a radio communications network having at least first and second geographically separated antenna nodes that are coupled to a base station, the method comprising: when the electronic device is at a first location within range of the first antenna node, establishing a first uplink communications path with the base station via the first antenna node; and when the electronic device is at a second location within range of the second antenna node, terminating the first uplink communications path and establishing a second uplink communications path with the base station via the second antenna node”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to combine with the first and second geographically separated antenna nodes, disclosed by Ahmadi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE maintains strong signal with the BS upon switching from the first antenna node and establishing communication via the second antenna node, Ahmadi ([0042] [0046] [Claims 17]).
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahmadi discloses wherein the first antenna component is positioned at a first location of the UE and the second antenna component is positioned at a second location of the UE different than the first location, ([0042], [0046], [Claims 17] “[…] electronic device in a radio communications network having at least first and second geographically separated antenna nodes that are coupled to a base station, the method comprising: when the electronic device is at a first location within range of the first antenna node, establishing a first uplink communications path with the base station via the first antenna node; and when the electronic device is at a second location within range of the second antenna node, terminating the first uplink communications path and establishing a second uplink communications path with the base station via the second antenna node”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to combine with the first and second geographically separated antenna nodes, disclosed by Ahmadi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the UE maintains strong signal with the BS upon switching from the first antenna node and establishing communication via the second antenna node, Ahmadi ([0042] [0046] [Claims 17]).
Claims 4, 15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20210105046 A1) hereinafter Gutman.
The applied references have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein, to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports; and
wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports,
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman discloses, wherein, to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, ([0027] “[…] receive beams of the set of receive beams for receiving subsequent transmissions from the base station based on the measuring, receiving, using the first receive port via one of the two receive beams, a subsequent first transmission from the base station based on the selecting, and receiving, using the second receive port via the other one of the two receive beams, […]”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, ([0029] “[…] decoding the first signal received using the first receive port via the first receive beam, and measuring channel state information for the second signal received using the second receive port via the second receive beam”);
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports, ([0042] [0093] “Second antenna panel 225 may be similarly configured as first antenna panel 220. That is, second antenna panel 225 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized transmissions. Also, second antenna panel 225 may be associated with a third receive port and a fourth receive port and may similarly be configured to receive transmissions arriving from a certain direction, as represented by second receive beam 235. [0092] UE 215 may be configured with first antenna panel 220 and second antenna panel 225. First antenna panel 220 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized antennas”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first antenna panel 220, disclosed by Gutman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to equip the first antenna panel 220 with the first and second antenna sets, thus enable it to receive diverged transmissions, Gutman ([0042], [0093]).
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu does not disclose, wherein measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, and
wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports,
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman discloses, wherein measuring the signal via the first set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports ([0027] “[…] receive beams of the set of receive beams for receiving subsequent transmissions from the base station based on the measuring, receiving, using the first receive port via one of the two receive beams, a subsequent first transmission from the base station based on the selecting, and receiving, using the second receive port via the other one of the two receive beams, […]”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measuring the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, ([0029] “[…] decoding the first signal received using the first receive port via the first receive beam, and measuring channel state information for the second signal received using the second receive port via the second receive beam”);
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports, ([0042] [0093] “Second antenna panel 225 may be similarly configured as first antenna panel 220. That is, second antenna panel 225 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized transmissions. Also, second antenna panel 225 may be associated with a third receive port and a fourth receive port and may similarly be configured to receive transmissions arriving from a certain direction, as represented by second receive beam 235. [0092] UE 215 may be configured with first antenna panel 220 and second antenna panel 225. First antenna panel 220 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized antennas”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first antenna panel 220, disclosed by Gutman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to equip the first antenna panel 220 with the first and second antenna sets, thus enable it to receive diverged transmissions, Gutman ([0042], [0093]).
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu does not disclose, wherein the instructions to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports are executable by the one or more processors to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports;
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports,
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman discloses, wherein the instructions to measure the signal via the first set of antenna ports are executable by the one or more processors to: measure the signal via a first antenna component comprising the first set of antenna ports, ([0027] “[…] receive beams of the set of receive beams for receiving subsequent transmissions from the base station based on the measuring, receiving, using the first receive port via one of the two receive beams, a subsequent first transmission from the base station based on the selecting, and receiving, using the second receive port via the other one of the two receive beams, […]”);
and wherein measuring the signal via the second set of antenna ports comprises: measure the signal via the first antenna component comprising the second set of antenna ports, ([0029] “[…] decoding the first signal received using the first receive port via the first receive beam, and measuring channel state information for the second signal received using the second receive port via the second receive beam”);
wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports, ([0042] [0093] “Second antenna panel 225 may be similarly configured as first antenna panel 220. That is, second antenna panel 225 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized transmissions. Also, second antenna panel 225 may be associated with a third receive port and a fourth receive port and may similarly be configured to receive transmissions arriving from a certain direction, as represented by second receive beam 235. [0092] UE 215 may be configured with first antenna panel 220 and second antenna panel 225. First antenna panel 220 may include a first antenna set configured to receive horizontally polarized transmissions and a second antenna set configured to receive vertically polarized antennas”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first antenna panel 220, disclosed by Gutman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to equip the first antenna panel 220 with the first and second antenna sets, thus enable it to receive diverged transmissions, Gutman ([0042], [0093]).
Claims 5, 16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Gutman et al. (US 20210105046 A1) hereinafter Gutman, further in view of Cirik et al. (US 20220159733 A1) hereinafter Cirik.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Zhu as modified by Gutman does not disclose, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE, ([0379] “based on the monitoring, for the second DCI, the second PDCCH in the second coreset, the wireless device may determine that the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first PDCCH indicating/comprising the PDCCH order and the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second PDCCH comprising the second DCI are the same. Based on the determining, the wireless device may set the second antenna port quasi co-location property same as the first antenna port quasi co-location property” (determination to quasi co-location property the first and second antenna ports entails equivalency of the said antenna ports, inclusive of location, thus properties of one can be inferred from the other)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) as modified by Gutman to include the wireless device, disclosed by Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the first and second antenna ports maybe set same quasi co-location property for the purpose of efficient beam switching, Cirik ([0379]).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Zhu as modified by Gutman does not disclose, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE, ([0379] “based on the monitoring, for the second DCI, the second PDCCH in the second coreset, the wireless device may determine that the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first PDCCH indicating/comprising the PDCCH order and the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second PDCCH comprising the second DCI are the same. Based on the determining, the wireless device may set the second antenna port quasi co-location property same as the first antenna port quasi co-location property” (determination to quasi co-location property the first and second antenna ports entails equivalency of the said antenna ports, inclusive of location, thus properties of one can be inferred from the other)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) as modified by Gutman to include the wireless device, disclosed by Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the first and second antenna ports maybe set same quasi co-location property for the purpose of efficient beam switching, Cirik ([0379]).
Regarding claim 26, as applied to claim 23 above, Zhu as modified by Gutman does not disclose, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Cirik discloses, wherein the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports are at a same location of the UE, ([0379] “based on the monitoring, for the second DCI, the second PDCCH in the second coreset, the wireless device may determine that the first antenna port quasi co-location property of the first PDCCH indicating/comprising the PDCCH order and the second antenna port quasi co-location property of the second PDCCH comprising the second DCI are the same. Based on the determining, the wireless device may set the second antenna port quasi co-location property same as the first antenna port quasi co-location property” (determination to quasi co-location property the first and second antenna ports entails equivalency of the said antenna ports, inclusive of location, thus properties of one can be inferred from the other)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) as modified by Gutman to include the wireless device, disclosed by Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the first and second antenna ports maybe set same quasi co-location property for the purpose of improved efficient in beam switching, Cirik ([0379]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of STIRLING-GALLACHER et al. (US 20210092575 A1) hereinafter STIRLING-GALLACHER.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose a first antenna component configured to communicate and comprising the first set of antenna ports, the first antenna component is at a first location of the UE; and a second antenna component configured to communicate and comprising the second set of antenna ports, the second antenna component at a second location of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, STIRLING-GALLACHER discloses, a first antenna component configured to communicate and comprising the first set of antenna ports, the first antenna component is at a first location of the UE; and a second antenna component configured to communicate and comprising the second set of antenna ports, the second antenna component at a second location of the UE, ([0044] “[…] the plurality of antenna ports are mounted to a vehicle or UE at different locations and are controlled by at least one processor of the vehicle or UE. [0022] […] a first set of the antenna ports arranged in a first spatial area is assigned a first logical subset of the resources, and a second set of the antenna ports arranged in a second spatial area is assigned a second logical subset of the resources”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the plurality of antenna ports, disclosed by TIRLING-GALLACHER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency in beam switching, TIRLING-GALLACHER ([0044], [0022]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (US 20180007707 A1) hereinafter Alvarino.
The applied references have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose further comprising: a first antenna component configured to communicate, wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports.
In the same field of endeavor, Alvarino discloses further comprising: a first antenna component configured to communicate, wherein the first antenna component comprises the first set of antenna ports and the second set of antenna ports, ([0126] “Antenna switching component 835 may transmit a first uplink communication on a first subframe using a first set of antenna ports and transmit a second uplink communication on a second subframe using a second set of antenna ports”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first antenna port, disclosed by Zhu ([0003]) to include the first and second sets of antenna ports, disclosed by Alvarino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency in beam switching, Alvarino ([0126]).
Claims 8, 17, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et
al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220271815 A1) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receive the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receive the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain, ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107] “The radio subsystem 605 may include one or more RF chains, e.g., as variously described above. Each RF chain may be configured to receive signals from the radio propagation channel […] Thus, each RF chain may include a transmit chain and/or a receive chain. The radio subsystem 605 may be coupled to one or more antennas (or arrays of antennas) to facilitate signal transmission and reception. Each RF chain (or, some of the RF chains) may be tunable to a desired frequency, thus allowing the RF chain to receive or transmit at different frequencies at different times” (essentially, the UE has at least four receive chains, and a set of antenna ports can be only one port)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the arrays of antennas, disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to map each of the RF chains to respective antenna ports for the purpose of improving signal transmission and reception, Zhang ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107]).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu does not disclose further comprising: receiving the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receiving the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses further comprising: receiving the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receiving the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain, ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107] “The radio subsystem 605 may include one or more RF chains, e.g., as variously described above. Each RF chain may be configured to receive signals from the radio propagation channel […] Thus, each RF chain may include a transmit chain and/or a receive chain. The radio subsystem 605 may be coupled to one or more antennas (or arrays of antennas) to facilitate signal transmission and reception. Each RF chain (or, some of the RF chains) may be tunable to a desired frequency, thus allowing the RF chain to receive or transmit at different frequencies at different times” (essentially, the UE has at least four receive chains, and a set of antenna ports can be only one port)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the arrays of antennas, disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to map each of the RF chains to respective antenna ports for the purpose of improving signal transmission and reception, Zhang ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107]).
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: receive the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receive the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: receive the signal via the first set of antenna ports using a first radio frequency chain; and receive the signal via the second set of antenna ports using a second radio frequency chain, ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107] “The radio subsystem 605 may include one or more RF chains, e.g., as variously described above. Each RF chain may be configured to receive signals from the radio propagation channel […] Thus, each RF chain may include a transmit chain and/or a receive chain. The radio subsystem 605 may be coupled to one or more antennas (or arrays of antennas) to facilitate signal transmission and reception. Each RF chain (or, some of the RF chains) may be tunable to a desired frequency, thus allowing the RF chain to receive or transmit at different frequencies at different times” (essentially, the UE has at least four receive chains, and a set of antenna ports can be only one port)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the arrays of antennas, disclosed by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to map each of the RF chains to respective antenna ports for the purpose of improving signal transmission and reception, Zhang ((FIG. 8), [0156] [0107]).
Claims 9, 10, 18, 19, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240080831 A1), hereinafter Zhu, in view of VENUGOPAL et al. (US 20230397027 A1) hereinafter VENUGOPAL.
The applied references have a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: estimate a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: estimate a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0121] [0125] “As shown in FIG. 6, the first network entity 602 estimates initial channel states 620 for each of the measurement resources 618. For example, the first network entity 602 may estimate a first initial channel state 620a (h.sub. i (0)) based on the first measurement resource 618a, . . ., and may estimate a second initial channel state 620b h.sub. i+k−1(0) based on the second measurement resource 618b. Thus, the first network entity 602 may estimate an initial channel state for each beam pair”);
wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel, ([0107] “Beam management procedures aim to support mobility and the selection of the best beam pairing (or beam pair link (BPL)) between the first network entity and the second network entity. Beam selection may be based on a number of considerations including logical state, power saving, robustness, mobility, throughput, […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first network entity 602, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to perform first and second measurements, and select the best beam pairing based on measurements results, VENUGOPAL ([0121], [0125], ([0107]).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Zhu does not disclose wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, ([0233] “Aspect 14 is the method of any of aspects 1 to 13, further including that the measurement report includes at least one of a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1 RSRP) or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR). [0145] The quality metric may include an RSRP (e.g., a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP)) and/or an SINR measurement associated with the corresponding measurement resource”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the measurement report, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to assess the quality of the received signal, VENUGOPAL ([0233].
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu does not disclose further comprising: estimating a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses further comprising: estimating a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0121] [0125] “As shown in FIG. 6, the first network entity 602 estimates initial channel states 620 for each of the measurement resources 618. For example, the first network entity 602 may estimate a first initial channel state 620a (h.sub. i (0)) based on the first measurement resource 618a, . . ., and may estimate a second initial channel state 620b h.sub. i+k−1(0) based on the second measurement resource 618b. Thus, the first network entity 602 may estimate an initial channel state for each beam pair”);
wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel, ([0107] “Beam management procedures aim to support mobility and the selection of the best beam pairing (or beam pair link (BPL)) between the first network entity and the second network entity. Beam selection may be based on a number of considerations including logical state, power saving, robustness, mobility, throughput, […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first network entity 602, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to perform first and second measurements, and select the best beam pairing based on measurements results, VENUGOPAL ([0121], [0125], ([0107]).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 12 above, Zhu does not disclose, wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, ([0233] “Aspect 14 is the method of any of aspects 1 to 13, further including that the measurement report includes at least one of a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1 RSRP) or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR). [0145] The quality metric may include an RSRP (e.g., a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP)) and/or an SINR measurement associated with the corresponding measurement resource”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the measurement report, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to assess the quality of the received signal, VENUGOPAL ([0233].
Regarding claim 28, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu does not disclose, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: estimate a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: estimate a channel based at least in part on the first measurement for the first beam pair and the second measurement for the second beam pair, ([0121] [0125] “As shown in FIG. 6, the first network entity 602 estimates initial channel states 620 for each of the measurement resources 618. For example, the first network entity 602 may estimate a first initial channel state 620a (h.sub. i (0)) based on the first measurement resource 618a, . . ., and may estimate a second initial channel state 620b h.sub. i+k−1(0) based on the second measurement resource 618b. Thus, the first network entity 602 may estimate an initial channel state for each beam pair”);
wherein selecting the beam pair is based at least in part on estimating the channel, ([0107] “Beam management procedures aim to support mobility and the selection of the best beam pairing (or beam pair link (BPL)) between the first network entity and the second network entity. Beam selection may be based on a number of considerations including logical state, power saving, robustness, mobility, throughput, […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the first network entity 602, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to perform first and second measurements, and select the best beam pairing based on measurements results, VENUGOPAL ([0121] [0125], ([0107]).
Regarding claim 29, as applied to claim 22 above, Zhu does not disclose, wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, VENUGOPAL discloses, wherein the first measurement or the second measurement, or both, include a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, ([0233] “Aspect 14 is the method of any of aspects 1 to 13, further including that the measurement report includes at least one of a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1 RSRP) or a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR). [0145] The quality metric may include an RSRP (e.g., a layer 1 RSRP (L1-RSRP)) and/or an SINR measurement associated with the corresponding measurement resource”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different antennas, disclosed by Zhu ([0067]) to include the measurement report, disclosed by VENUGOPAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to assess the quality of the received signal, VENUGOPAL ([0233].
Conclusion
/GILBERT M. GRANT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642