otice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite an apparatus with structural limitations and material worked upon by the apparatus. While there is nothing wrong with claiming the material worked upon, such limitations are only given weight to the extent that they limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115. See In re Rishoi (94 USPQ 71), In re Smith (3 USPQ 315), and In re Young (25 USPQ 69).
In Rishoi, a film of liquid was claimed as part of an apparatus, it being clear that the liquid film is only present during use of the apparatus. It was held that the liquid film is not a structural limitation and therefore cannot impart patentability to those claims which are otherwise unpatentable. It was further stated that there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.
In Smith, a particular web material having an extra length of carbons was claimed as part of an apparatus. The web material is worked upon by the apparatus. The court considered the possibility of combining the specified web with an old machine to provide a patentable combination, but it was held that a person may not patent a combination of a device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.
In Young, a concrete structure upon which an apparatus works was claimed as part of the apparatus. It was held that the inclusion of the material worked upon may not lend patentability to the apparatus.
In view of the cited cases and MPEP 2115, the claimed material worked upon has only been given weight to the extent that such limitations indicate structural limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (US 2014/0053974).
As to claim 1, Hirose discloses an apparatus for handling a wafer, comprising: an upper wafer holder 59 (figs 8-10, 59 capable of holding a wafer than can be an upper wafer) having a front surface (upper surface of 59); and a compliant ring 41 (ring is compliant (i.e. conforming to requirements – see attached definition) as it is compliant with the lamination device and wafer) mounted around the upper wafer holder and having a front surface (figs 8-10, front surface of compliant ring is upper surface of 41), wherein the front surface of the compliant ring is flush with and extends from the front surface of the upper wafer holder in a radial direction (figs 8-10, discussion of said figures, para 11-20, 52-60) direction, wherein the compliant ring comprises a material that is more compliant, flexible, or compressible than the upper wafer holder (the material of compliant ring 41 is more compliant than the upper wafer holder 59 as 41 and its material is required and 59 is optional (para 55) and thus 59 is less “compliant” for meeting functional requirements).
As to claim 2, Hirose discloses the front surface of the upper wafer holder is configured to suck a primary surface of a first wafer (para 54-55), and wherein an area of the front surface of the upper wafer holder is less than an area of a primary surface of a first wafer (para 54-55, figs 8-10).
As to claim 3, Hirose discloses the front surface of the compliant ring is configured to extend in the radial direction beyond the primary surface of the first wafer, and wherein an area of a combined surface of the front surfaces of the upper wafer holder and the compliant ring is greater than the area of the primary surface of the first wafer (para 54-55, figs 8-10).
As to claim 9, the compliant ring 41 is more compliant than the upper wafer holder 59 as 41 is required and 59 is optional (para 55) and thus 59 is less “compliant” (see claim 1 discussion) such that compliant ring is configured to flexibly restrict a relative movement between a first wafer and a second wafer or allow movement of a first wafer to mitigate stress (para 40-43, reduction in stress as wafer breaking less likely),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2010/0248446) in view of Hirose.
As to claims 1 and 10, Liu discloses apparatus for handling a wafer, comprising: an upper wafer holder having a front surface configured to hold a first wafer; a compliant ring mounted around the upper wafer holder and having a front surface, wherein the front surface of the compliant ring is flush with and extends from the front surface of the upper wafer holder in a radial direction (flush as the surfaces define the same plane); and a bottom wafer holder having a front surface configured to hold a second wafer (see annotated fig below, para 18-27).
Liu does not disclose the compliant ring comprises a material that is more compliant, flexible, or compressible than the upper wafer holder.
Hirose discloses an apparatus as detailed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the compliant ring material of Liu to be more compliant than the upper wafer holder as taught by Hirose above as such reduces the risk of wafer defects (such as breaking – para 40-42).
As to claims 2 and 11, Liu discloses the front surface of the upper wafer holder is configured to suck a primary surface of the first wafer, and wherein an area of the front surface of the upper wafer holder is less than an area of the primary surface of the first wafer (fig 2, annotated fig below, para 12-25).
As to claims 3 and 12, Liu discloses the front surface of the compliant ring is configured to extend in the radial direction beyond the primary surface of the first wafer, and wherein an area of a combined surface of the front surfaces of the upper wafer holder and the compliant ring is greater than the area of the primary surface of the first wafer (see annotated fig below, para 18-27).
As to claim 13, Liu discloses the upper wafer holder comprises a first vacuum-assisted chuck, and wherein the bottom wafer holder comprises a second vacuum-assisted chuck (fig 2, annotated fig below, para 12-25).
As to claim 14, Liu discloses the upper wafer holder is configured to move the first wafer in the vertical direction relative to the bottom wafer holder to bond the first wafer and the second wafer (fig 2, annotated fig below, para 12-25).
As to claim 15, Liu discloses the bottom wafer holder is configured to move the second wafer in the vertical direction relative to the upper wafer holder to bond the first wafer and the second wafer (fig 2, annotated fig below, para 12-25).
As to claim 16, Liu discloses an area of the front surface of the upper wafer holder is less than an area of the front surface of the bottom wafer holder, and wherein an area of a combined surface of the front surfaces of the upper wafer holder and the compliant ring is greater than the area of the front surface of the bottom wafer holder (see annotated fig below, para 18-27, boxes represent the area defined as each “an” area of each front surface).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose.
As to claims 7-8 Hirose does not expressly disclose the compliant ring 41 extends at least 2.25mm from an edge of the upper wafer holder in the radial direction. However, Hirose discloses the radial width of the ring can be varied based on the design parameters of a wafer to be processed (para 40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the compliant ring to extend at least 2.25 mm from an edge of the upper wafer holder in the radial direction as such is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2010/0216282).
As to claims 5-6, while Hirose discloses the compliant ring can be made from a resin material, Hirose does not expressly disclose the ring comprises PDMS. Wang discloses an apparatus for handling a wafer, wherein at least a portion of the handling surface comprises PDMS (para 11-19, 37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the compliant ring of Hirose to comprises PDMS as taught by Wang above as PDMS is biocompatible and non-flammable (para 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are either moot or not persuasive. While the examiner has used the same references, the nature and grounds (e.g. 102/103) of the rejection has changed. Thus, arguments directed at the previous grounds are moot. Arguments as they might apply only to the new grounds will be addressed. Applicant asserts Hirose does not disclose a material that is more “compliant, flexible or compressible” than the upper wafer holder. This is not persuasive because the examiner is interpreting “compliant” as meaning whether or not something conforms to requirements. The wafer ring of Hirose conforms to requirements because it’s required. 59 is not required, and thus less “compliant”. See attached definition. Applicant’s arguments directed at Liu as a 102 reference are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746