DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION CONCERNING RESPONSES
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on December 29, 2025, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on October 27, 2025. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-10 have been amended. As a result, claims 1-10 are now pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 29, 2025, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on October 27, 2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Hence, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further review a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Sporck et al. (Publication Number US 2017/0364114 A1).
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Publication Number US 2023/0268744 A1) in view of Yeh et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0223838 A1), Mossoba et al. (Publication Number US 2016/0103155 A1), and Sporck et al. (Publication Number US 2017/0364114 A1).
As per claim 1, Wang et al. discloses “A power transmission system for a universal serial bus (USB) receptacle, the USB receptacle including a plurality of USB interfaces (a USB charging system [Abstract, lines 1-2] with several USB output ports 440; FIG. 4), the system comprising: a plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules, corresponding one-to-one to the plurality of USB interfaces (AC-to-DC conversion unit 410(1) to 410(n) corresponding to USB output port 440(1) to 440(n); FIG. 4).” Wang et al. discloses “a switch module, including a first switch submodule electrically coupled between each of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules and the corresponding one of the plurality of USB interfaces (switch 450. There are also transistors 460 with a one-to-one correspondence to the USB output ports 440 with the transistors’ having functions that could act as switches; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0033), and a second switch submodule electrically coupled between each of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules and non-corresponding ones of the plurality of USB interfaces (see switches 450; FIG. 4).” Wang et al. discloses “and a control module, including a control chip (control chip; FIG. 4) communicatively coupled to the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules, the plurality of USB interfaces, and the switch module, [wherein the control chip is configured to obtain device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces by detecting electrical characteristics of one or more pins of each USB interface], and control the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules, the first switch submodule, and the second switch submodule [based solely on the device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces without regard to outputs of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules], to supply power to the corresponding or non-corresponding USB interfaces (see the arrangement of the transistors 460(1) to 460(n) that could act as switches connected to individual UBS output ports 440(1) to 440(n) while switches 450 can be connected to any of the USB output ports; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0044).”
However, Wang et al. does not disclose “based solely on the device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces without regard to outputs of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules” or “wherein the chips in the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules operate independently of each other.”
Yeh et al. discloses “based on the device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces without regard to outputs of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules (where the switch control signal is generated according to connection information at the USB ports; Paragraphs 0034-0037).”
Yeh et al. discloses “wherein the chips in the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules operate independently of each other (see examples ST31, ST34, and ST35 where there is a master and independent power supply unit (PSU); FIG. 16).”
Wang et al. and Yeh et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of switches used in the connection of power conversion units.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al. and Yeh et al. to allow for broader range of USB usability where there is a range of voltage and currents [Paragraph 0002].
However, Wang et al. and Yeh et al. do not disclose “each AC-to-DC conversion module including a chip which is a digitally controlled constant voltage and constant current offline flyback quasi resonant switch integrated circuit configured to perform high-voltage switching, synchronous rectification, and FluxLink feedback functions.”
Mossoba et al. discloses “each AC-to-DC conversion module including a chip which is a digitally controlled constant voltage and constant current offline flyback quasi resonant switch integrated circuit configured to perform high-voltage switching (switching regulator; Paragraph 0002), synchronous rectification (Paragraph 0002), and FluxLink feedback functions (see flux balancing; Paragraph 0018).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al. and Yeh et al. with elements of Mossoba et al. as the components to allow for different types of circuit topologies [Paragraph 0016].
However, Wang et al. and Yeh et al. and Mossoba et al. do not disclose “wherein the control chip is configured to obtain device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces by detecting electrical characteristics of one or more pins of each USB interface.”
Sporck et al. discloses “wherein the control chip is configured to obtain device connection information of the plurality of USB interfaces by detecting electrical characteristics of one or more pins of each USB interface (CC pins with their relationship to Vbus conductive elements; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0039).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al. and Yeh et al. and Mossoba et al. with elements of Sporck et al. as to check connection compliance [Paragraph 0011].
As per claim 2, Wang et al. discloses “The power transmission system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above), wherein the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules include a first AC-to-DC conversion unit and a second AC-to-DC conversion unit (AC-to-DC conversion unit 410(1) to 410(n); FIG. 4), the plurality of USB interfaces include a first USB interface and a second USB interface (USB output port 440(1) to 440(n); FIG. 4), and the switch module includes a first switch unit, a second switch unit, and a third switch unit (switch 450. There are also transistors 460 with a one-to-one correspondence to the USB output ports 440 with the transistors’ having functions that could act as switches; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0033), wherein the first switch unit is electrically coupled between the first AC-to-DC conversion unit and the first USB interface, the second switch unit is electrically coupled between the second AC-to-DC conversion unit and the second USB interface, the third switch unit is electrically coupled between the first AC-to-DC conversion unit and the second USB interface, and the third switch unit is electrically coupled between the second AC-to-DC conversion unit and the first USB interface (see the arrangement of the transistors 460(1) to 460(n) that could act as switches connected to individual UBS output ports 440(1) to 440(n) while switches 450 can be connected to any of the USB output ports; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0044).”
As per claim 3, Wang et al. discloses “The power transmission system of claim 2 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above), wherein the control chip in the control module is configured to, in response to external devices being connected to both the first and second USB interfaces to be charged, control the first switch unit and the second switch unit to close and control the third switch unit to open, wherein the first and second AC-to-DC conversion units independently supply power to the first and second USB interfaces, respectively (the switch management unit 660 is configured to open and/or close each switch of the one or more switches 450. In certain examples, the output port detection unit 670 is configured to determine, for each USB output port is connected to a load device; Paragraph 0044).”
As per claim 4, Wang et al. discloses “The power transmission system of claim 2 ((as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above), wherein the control chip in the control module is configured to, in response to an external device being connected the first USB interface to be charged and no external device being connected to the second USB interface, control the first switch unit and the third switch unit to close and control and the second switch unit to open, wherein the first and second AC-to-DC conversion units both supply power to the first USB interface (switch management unit 660 is configured to open and/or close each switch of the one or more switches 450. In certain examples, the output port detection unit 670 is configured to determine, for each USB output port is connected to a load device; Paragraph 0044 [FIG. 8]. See also power sharing model; FIG. 8).”
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Publication Number US 2023/0268744 A1) in view of Yeh et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0223838 A1) and Sporck et al. (Publication Number US 2017/0364114 A1).
As per claim 8, Wang et al. discloses “A power transmission method for a Universal Serial Bus (USB) receptacle, wherein the USB receptacle includes a plurality of USB interfaces (a USB charging system [Abstract, lines 1-2] with several USB output ports 440; FIG. 4).” Wang et al. discloses “by the control chip, [based solely on the device connection information without regard to any power conversion outputs], generating a first control command for controlling a plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules and a second control command for controlling a switch module, wherein the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules correspond one-to-one to the plurality of USB interfaces (AC-to-DC conversion unit 410(1) to 410(n) corresponding to USB output port 440(1) to 440(n); FIG. 4), wherein the switch module includes a first switch submodule electrically coupled between each AC-to-DC conversion module and its corresponding USB interface (switch 450. There are also transistors 460 with a one-to-one correspondence to the USB output ports 440 with the transistors’ having functions that could act as switches; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0033), and a second switch submodule electrically coupled between each AC-to-DC conversion module and its non-corresponding USB interfaces (see switches 450; FIG. 4).” Wang et al. discloses “and based on the first control command and the second control command, the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules, the first switch submodule, and the second switch submodule operating to supply power to the corresponding USB interfaces or the non-corresponding USB interfaces (see the arrangement of the transistors 460(1) to 460(n) that could act as switches connected to individual UBS output ports 440(1) to 440(n) while switches 450 can be connected to any of the USB output ports; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0044).”
However, Wang et al. does not disclose “based solely on the device connection information without regard to any power conversion outputs” or “and based on the first control command and the second control command, the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules operate independently of each other to generate a corresponding plurality of DC outputs, and the first switch submodule and the second switch submodule operate to supply the plurality of DC outputs to the corresponding USB interfaces or the non-corresponding USB interfaces.”
Yeh et al. discloses “based solely on the device connection information without regard to any power conversion outputs (where the switch control signal is generated according to connection information at the USB ports; Paragraphs 0034-0037).”
Yeh et al. discloses “and based on the first control command and the second control command, the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules operate independently of each other to generate a corresponding plurality of DC outputs, and the first switch submodule and the second switch submodule operate to supply the plurality of DC outputs to the corresponding USB interfaces or the non-corresponding USB interfaces (see examples ST31, ST34, and ST35 where there is a master and independent power supply unit (PSU); FIG. 16).”
Wang et al. and Yeh et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of switches used in the connection of power conversion units.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al. and Yeh et al. to allow for broader range of USB usability where there is a range of voltage and currents [Paragraph 0002].
However, Wang et al. and Yeh et al. do not disclose “the method comprising: by a control chip coupled to the plurality of USB interfaces, detecting electrical characteristics of one or more pins of each of the plurality of USB interfaces to obtain device connection information for the plurality of USB interfaces indicating whether or not each of the plurality of USB interfaces has a device inserted into it to be charged.”
Sporck et al. discloses “the method comprising: by a control chip coupled to the plurality of USB interfaces, detecting electrical characteristics of one or more pins of each of the plurality of USB interfaces to obtain device connection information for the plurality of USB interfaces indicating whether or not each of the plurality of USB interfaces has a device inserted into it to be charged (CC pins with their relationship to Vbus conductive elements; Paragraphs 0030-0034 and 0039).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al. and Yeh et al. with elements of Sporck et al. as to check connection compliance [Paragraph 0011].
As per claim 9, Wang et al. discloses “The power transmission method of claim 8 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., and Sporck et al. above), wherein the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules include a first AC-to-DC conversion unit and a second AC-to-DC conversion unit (AC-to-DC conversion unit 410(1) to 410(n); FIG. 4), the plurality of USB interfaces include a first USB interface and a second USB interface (USB output port 440(1) to 440(n); FIG. 4), and the switch module includes a first switch unit (switch 450. There are also transistors 460 with a one-to-one correspondence to the USB output ports 440 with the transistors’ having functions that could act as switches; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0033), a second switch unit, and a third switch unit, wherein the first switch unit is electrically coupled between the first AC-to-DC conversion unit and the first USB interface, the second switch unit is electrically coupled between the second AC-to-DC conversion unit and the second USB interface, the third switch unit is electrically coupled between the first AC-to-DC conversion unit and the second USB interface, and the third switch unit is electrically coupled between the second AC-to-DC conversion unit and the first USB interface, the method comprising: by the control chip, in response to external devices being connected to both the first and second USB interfaces to be charged, closing the first and second switch units and opening the third switch unit, so that the first and second AC-to-DC conversion units independently supply power to the first and second USB interfaces (see the arrangement of the transistors 460(1) to 460(n) that could act as switches connected to individual UBS output ports 440(1) to 440(n) while switches 450 can be connected to any of the USB output ports; FIG. 4; Paragraph 0044).”
As per claim 10, Wang et al. discloses “The power transmission method of claim 9 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., and Sporck et al. above), comprising: by the control chip, in response to an external device being connected to the first USB interface to be charged and no external device being connected to the second USB interface, closing the first switch unit and the third switch unit and opening the second switch unit, wherein the first and second AC-to-DC conversion units both supply power to the first USB interface (the switch management unit 660 is configured to open and/or close each switch of the one or more switches 450. In certain examples, the output port detection unit 670 is configured to determine, for each USB output port is connected to a load device; Paragraph 0044).”
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Publication Number US 2023/0268744 A1), Yeh et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0223838 A1), Mossoba et al. (Publication Number US 2016/0103155 A1), and Sporck et al. (Publication Number US 2017/0364114 A1) in view of Sanghvi et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0167623 A1).
As per claim 5, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. disclose “The power transmission system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above).” However, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. do not disclose “wherein each of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules has an output voltage range of 5-20V.”
Sanghvi et al. discloses “wherein each of the plurality of AC-to-DC conversion modules has an output voltage range of 5-20V (20 VAC for input voltage to an output voltage that can include 5, 9, or 15 VDC (note the use of ‘e.g.’ indicating that the listed values of 5, 9, and 15 are not exclusive); Paragraph 0145).”
Wang et al. and Sanghvi et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of power management in USB systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. with elements of Sanghvi et al. to help enable a means of charging differences across multiple standards of electrical systems [Paragraph 0003-0004].
As per claim 7, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. disclose “The power transmission system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above).” However, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. do not disclose “wherein each of the AC-to-DC conversion modules includes a flyback power supply.”
Sanghvi et al. discloses “wherein each of the AC-to-DC conversion modules includes a flyback power supply (Paragraph 0121 and 0166).”
Wang et al. and Sanghvi et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of power management in USB systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. with elements of Sanghvi et al. to help enable a means of charging differences across multiple standards of electrical systems [Paragraph 0003-0004].
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Publication Number US 2023/0268744 A1), Yeh et al. (Publication Number US 2021/0223838 A1), Mossoba et al. (Publication Number US 2016/0103155 A1), and and Sporck et al. (Publication Number US 2017/0364114 A1) in view of “Teardown of OnePlus SUPERVOOC 100W Dual Ports Charger (VCBAUACH)” from ChargerLab on April 3, 2023 (henceforth known as “ChargerLab”).
As per claim 6, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. disclose “The power transmission system of claim 1 (as disclosed by Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. above).” However, Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. do not disclose “wherein the control chip in the control module is an IP2738 chip.”
ChargerLab discloses “wherein the control chip in the control module is an IP2738 chip (under the section ‘Teardown’ describing the IP2738 as a dual-channel protocol chip).”
Wang et al. and ChargerLab are analogous art in that they in the field of power management in USB systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Wang et al., Yeh et al., Mossoba et al., and Sporck et al. with elements of ChargerLab to enable fast charging applications [under the section ‘Teardown’].
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach data transfer as they pertain to ascertaining connection characteristics:
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:
2011/0191503 A1 – [Abstract; FIG. 2B and 3]
CONCLUDING REMARKS
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 February 6, 2026
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181