DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed February 22, 2024 cited the foreign document of JP 2013-33786 on line 573. This document as written could not be found upon attempting to retrieve it after searching through available databases. However, the examiner was able to find the document of JP 2013-033786, and therefore surmises, that this is the correct number and that the reference in the IDS is erroneous as the zero is left out and is, therefore, considered by the Examiner an erroneous number.
Therefore, the reference number of “JP 2013-033786” on line 573 is considered by the Examiner to be representative of the missing reference. Therefore, it is not necessary for the applicant to resubmit a corrected IDS to comply with CFR 1.97, 1.98. See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 35-38 and 40 in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the product of Group II is alleged to be able to be made by a materially different process that the processes of Group I including "roughening one or more surface of the first element and/or second element prior to forming the interface layer" and "applying the silane coupling agent as a patterned layer , e.g., via micro-contact printing , inkjet printing, using a mask or stencil and spraying , or by photolithography."
Applicant argues that these identified processes are not mutually exclusive with the process recited in claim 1 because claim 1 does not require that the “inorganic dielectric surface” and “organic dielectric surface “are untreated, unaltered, or otherwise unprocessed after the first and second elements are “provided” but before the inorganic dielectric surface is exposed to the silane coupling agent and, the interface layer is formed.
Moreover, claim 1 recites that the interface layer is formed by “exposing the inorganic dielectric surface to a silane coupling agent” without requiring a specific method or process is to be used to expose the inorganic dielectric surface to the silane coupling agent, and therefore, claim 1 could include the possibility of forming a patterned layer on the inorganic dielectric surface using processes such as micro-contact printing , inkjet printing, using a mask or stencil and spraying , or by photolithography.
In summary, the applicant argues that the processes of Group I can include these example processes identified by the restriction and that there would not be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction is not required (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 03/30/2026 pp. 6-7).
This is not found persuasive because restriction requires (a) patentable distinctness, and (b) burden, but the argument that two groups may contain similar elements does not address either of these bases for restriction. It would seem that when inventions are related as product and process for making, as in the instant case, they would necessarily always include similar elements pertaining to the product. However, the essence of the position set forth in the restriction is that the product could be made using a materially different process, including "roughening one or more surface of the first element and/or second element prior to forming the interface layer" and "applying the silane coupling agent as a patterned layer , e.g., via micro-contact printing , inkjet printing, using a mask or stencil and spraying , or by photolithography" and the applicant’s arguments do not appear to dispute that determination. Therefore, the inventions are still patentably distinct as set forth in the rejection.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The recitation “from conductive feature” in the last line of claim 5 should be changed to “from the conductive feature”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liff (US 2021/0098411 A1) IDS 02/22/2024 in view of Hasegawa (JP 2000183052 A) with machine translation with evidence provided for claim 15 from non-patent literature: J.H. MacMillan – Computational Chemistry List Using Silanes as Adhesion Promoters (2009) from academia.edu
Regarding Claim 1, Liff discloses a method of forming a bonded structure (Fig. 5 abs, paragraph [064] operation – 504), the method comprising:
providing a first element (paragraph [0015] where the terms “connected” or “coupled” indicate that two or more elements are in direct or indirect physical or electrical contact) having an inorganic dielectric surface (Fig. 1A paragraph [0032] a coating layer – 111 comprising an inorganic layer – 111 on the surface of the composite dielectric layer – 107; inorganic dielectric layer – 116 of the die bonding layer – 120 is on the top surface of the substrate bonding layer – 102);
providing a second element (paragraph [0015] where the terms “connected” or “coupled” indicate that two or more elements are in direct or indirect physical or electrical contact) having an organic dielectric surface (Fig. 1A paragraph [0028] composite dielectric layer – 107 (which has a top surface – 110) has an organic dielectric material/layer – 106).
However, while Liff discloses the contacting of the first and second elements to form a bond (Fig. 2B paragraph [0045] composite dielectric layer – comprises an organic dielectric material – 106 filled with inorganic filler material – 106 where the formation process – 201 may use various formation techniques including thermal annealing),
Liff does not disclose exposing the inorganic dielectric surface to a silane coupling agent to form an interface layer and then contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer to bond the first element to the second element.
Hasegawa discloses a manufacturing method for an electronic device where an organic dielectric film is bonded to an inorganic dielectric film (Fig. 1(a) abs, paragraph [0022] organic dielectric film – 12 inorganic dielectric film – 11a substrate – 10). Hasegawa further discloses a step of exposing the inorganic dielectric surface to a silane coupling agent to form an interface layer (paragraphs [0027] [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Liff with the teachings of Hasegawa whereby a method of forming a bonded structure by providing a first element having an inorganic dielectric surface and a second element having an organic dielectric surface which are bonded to together by contacting each other, as disclosed by Liff, includes a step of exposing the inorganic dielectric surface to a silane coupling agent to form an interface layer, as taught by Hasegawa, and prior to the bonding step of Liff, by contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer of the inorganic dielectric surface.
One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use this step because organic dielectric surfaces have problems with adhesion to inorganic dielectric surfaces and a certain degree of adhesion is usually ensured by applying an adhesion layer such as a silane coupling agent (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Liff and Hasegawa disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Liff further discloses that after contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer (Fig. 1C, paragraphs [0032] [0033] coating (inorganic) layer – 111 is bonded to the organic dielectric material – 106 with the inorganic filler operation – 508, covalent bonding occurs after subsequent temperature processing).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Liff and Hasegawa disclose all the limitations of claim 8 and Liff further discloses that heating the bonded first and second elements comprises heating the bonded first and second elements to a first temperature, the method further comprising:
after heating the bonded first and second elements to the first temperature, heating the bonded first and second elements to a second temperature that is greater than the first temperature (Fig. 2F paragraph [0049] where in at least one embodiment where coating layer – 267 comprising an inorganic dielectric material is formed on the dielectric organic material layer – 107 at one temperature below degradation or at a temperature with above degradation temperature but with laser pulses - laser pulse annealed).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Liff and Hasegawa disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and while Hasegawa discloses the presence of a silane coupling agent, however, Hasegawa does not disclose that the silane coupling agent comprises a vinyl group, an epoxy group, an amino group, an isocyanate group, or a mercapto group.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use these chemical groups in a method for exposing a silane coupling agent to form an adhesion interface layer, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. This is evidenced from non-patent academic literature on silane coupling agents, where MacMillan (J.H. MacMillan – Computational Chemistry List Using Silanes as Adhesion Promoters (2009) from academia.edu) teaches that silane coupling agents can be modified to comprise functional groups designed to react with functional groups in an industrial resin which includes all the groups recited (Table 2, Figs. 10, Slides 5 -34). One with ordinary skill in the art would utilize silane coupling agents with chemical groups designed or tailored to improve adhesion to various polymers with compatible functionalities (Slide 23).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liff (US 2021/0098411 A1) IDS 02/22/2024 and Hasegawa (JP 2000183052 A) with machine translation as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uzoh (US 2019/0096741 A1) IDS 02/22/2024 with further evidence for claim 2 from non-patent literature website: Silico Silicone Global Oriented Chemical Supplies, Material Modification, Silane vs. Silane Coupling Agent Key Differences and Applications, Shandong Silico Organosilicon Materials Co., LTD (2025) https://silicorex.com/tag/material-modification/
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Liff and Hasegawa disclose all the limitations of claim 1 where Liff discloses that the first element comprises a conductive feature (Figs. 1A, 1B paragraphs [0026] [0033] an inorganic dielectric material – 116 with conductive die interconnect structures disposed – 118 therein, coating layer – 111 (inorganic) is on a portion of the sidewalls of the conductive substrate interconnect structures – 112), however, Liff does not disclose that the inorganic dielectric surface comprises a non-conductive field region.
Uzoh, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a method for forming an interconnect structure in an element (abs) whereby the interconnect structure can have an inorganic dielectric surface comprising a non-conductive field region (Fig. 1A paragraph [0042] interconnect structure – 10 includes non-conductive material – 3 with a conductive material – 4 defined within at least a portion of the non-conductive material – 3 and this can comprise an inorganic material which can be a dielectric material).
Moreover, Uzoh further discloses, in at least one embodiment, the surface of the non-conductive material can be exposed to a nitriding process to improve reactivity and adhesion especially for organic materials which has been previously cleaned (paragraph [0045] the surfaces of the bonding layer to be bonded may be cleaned) and includes, in at least one example, that the cleaned non-conductive material may be exposed to silane gas prior to the nitriding process (Figs. 2A-2I paragraph [0059]). However, while Uzoh discloses the use of silane gas it does not disclose the use of a silane coupling agent.
But it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted a silane coupling agent for silane gas in the disclosure of Uzoh because it would have been obvious to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I(B)).
This is evidenced from non-patent literature where a website/blog Silico Silicone Global Oriented Chemical Supplies, Material Modification, Silane vs. Silane Coupling Agent Key Differences and Applications, (see above for full citation) states that in the field of modern materials engineering including semiconductor manufacturing (#1 What is silane? (3)), both silane and silane coupling agents are essential for improving adhesion, durability and compatibility (#4 Why Are Silane and Silane Coupling Agents Important? (1) Enhancing Industrial Performance.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination of Liff/Hasegawa with Uzoh whereby the inorganic dielectric surface comprises a non-conductive field region which is exposed to silane gas as taught by Uzoh, where a simple substitution of a silane coupling agent for the silane gas could be used (see evidence above and MPEP §2143I(B)), and would be considered an improvement as it would be for silane gas because the non-conductive field regions provide bonding surfaces for the various interconnect structures with conductive materials (Uzoh, paragraph [0042]) and exposure of a silane coupling agent would enhance adhesion as indicated in Hasegawa (paragraph [0027]) and as for silane gas in Uzoh (paragraph [0059])
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Liff, Hasegawa and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and Uzoh further discloses that the inorganic dielectric surface to the silane coupling agent comprises exposing the non-conductive field region to the silane coupling agent without exposing the conductive feature to the silane coupling agent (paragraphs [0064], [0080] surface of non-conductive material may be treated with the surface-treating species – N (which included silane/silane coupling agents) prior to coating with the conductive material – 9).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Liff, Hasegawa and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and while Uzoh further discloses in claim 3 exposing the non-conductive field region to silane coupling agent without exposing the conductive feature to the silane coupling agent, Uzoh does not disclose exposing at least 60% of the non-conductive field region to the silane coupling agent
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an exposure of at least 60% of the non-conductive field region to the silane coupling agent since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to amount of at least 60% of the non-conductive field region for the purpose of optimizing adhesion between the non-conductive field region and the conductive features (paragraph [0045] respective bonding surfaces of the conductive materials and the non-conductive materials can be prepared for bonding).
Regarding Claims 11 and 13, the combination of Liff and Hasegawa disclose all the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the forming of hydroxy groups on the inorganic or the organic dielectric surfaces.
Uzoh discloses that the bonding surface of both the conductive and non-conductive surfaces including organic and/or inorganic materials (paragraph [0042]) can include in its method that before applying the silane coupling agent to the inorganic dielectric surface and before contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer, there is a method step of forming hydroxyl groups on the inorganic dielectric surface or the organic dielectric surface (paragraph [0045] the introduction of hydroxyl from water can provide additional chemical activity at the bonding surface of interest, for example, in dielectric-to dielectric direct surface bonding applications and particularly for oxide-to-oxide bonding surfaces).
Claim(s) 35-38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liff (US 2021/0098411 A1) IDS 02/22/2024 in view of Uzoh (US 2019/0096741 A1) IDS 02/22/2024 with evidence provided for claim 36 from non-patent literature website: Silico Silicone Global Oriented Chemical Supplies, Material Modification, Silane vs. Silane Coupling Agent Key Differences and Applications, Shandong Silico Organosilicon Materials Co., LTD (2025) https://silicorex.com/tag/material-modification/ and
with evidence for claim 37 from non-patent literature: J.H. MacMillan – Computational Chemistry List Using Silanes as Adhesion Promoters (2009) from academia.edu
Regarding Claim 35, Liff discloses a method of forming a bonded structure (Fig. 5 abs, paragraph [064] operation – 504), the method comprising:
providing a first element (paragraph [0015] where the terms “connected” or “coupled” indicate that two or more elements are in direct or indirect physical or electrical contact)
having an inorganic dielectric surface (Fig. 1A paragraph [0032] a coating layer – 111 comprising an inorganic layer – 111 on the surface of the composite dielectric layer – 107; inorganic dielectric layer – 116 of the die bonding layer – 120 is on the top surface of the substrate bonding layer – 102) and wherein the first element comprises a first conductive feature exposed at the inorganic dielectric surface ( Figs. 1A, 1B paragraphs [0026] [0033] an inorganic dielectric material – 116 with conductive die interconnect structures disposed – 118 therein, coating layer – 111 (inorganic) is on a portion of the sidewalls of the conductive substrate interconnect structures – 112);
providing a second element (paragraph [0015] where the terms “connected” or “coupled” indicate that two or more elements are in direct or indirect physical or electrical contact)
having an organic dielectric surface (Fig. 1A paragraph [0028] composite dielectric layer – 107 (which has a top surface – 110) has an organic dielectric material/layer – 106) and wherein the first element comprises a first conductive feature exposed at the organic dielectric surface (Fig. 1A paragraph [0027] substrate bonding layer – 102 comprises a composite organic dielectric layer – 107 and one or more conductive substrate interconnect structures – 112)
However, Liff does not disclose that the inorganic dielectric surface and the organic dielectric surface comprise a first and second non-conductive field region, respectively, and having an interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface at least partially covering the first non-conductive region and contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer such at least a portion of the second non-conductive field region contacts the interface layer.
Uzoh discloses a method for forming an interconnect structure in an element (abs) whereby the interconnect structure can have an inorganic dielectric surface comprising a first non-conductive field region (Fig. 1A paragraph [0042] interconnect structure – 10 includes non-conductive material – 3 with a conductive material – 4 defined within at least a portion of the non-conductive material – 3 and this can comprise an inorganic material which can be a dielectric material).
Uzoh further discloses that the interconnect structure can have an organic dielectric surface that comprises a second non-conductive field region (Fig. 2E paragraphs [0042] [0054] non-conductive material – 3 can comprise any suitable type of non-conductive material including organic and/or inorganic materials; where a second non-conductive material – 3A (which may be the same as or different from the non-conductive material – 3) and where both the first and second elements having the inorganic and organic dielectric surfaces comprise a first (non-conductive material – 3) and a second non-conducting material – 3A comprise a first and second conductive feature exposed at the inorganic and organic dielectric surfaces, respectively. (Figs. 2B 3F, paragraphs [0050] ]0020] exposed upper surface – 13 of the non-conductive material; exposing surfaces of the second non-conductive material to a surface-treating species).
Uzoh further discloses a forming an interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface, and wherein the interface layer at least partially covers the first non-conductive field region; and contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer such that at least a portion of the second non-conductive field region contacts the interface layer (Fig. 2E paragraph [0054] protective layer – 11 (an interlayer dielectric) provided over the non-conductive material – 3 and a second non-conductive material – 3A can be provided over the protective layer – 11 to further build up layers of the interconnect structure – 10) ; and
heating the first and second elements to cause the first and second conductive features to expand and contact each other, wherein, after heating the first and second elements, the first and second non-conductive field regions are both bonded to the interface layer (Figs. 2E 2H paragraphs [0047] [0054] in various embodiments the elements – 1, 1’ may be heated after bonding at least the non-conductive materials – 3, 3’ such heat treatment can strengthen the bonds between the non-conductive materials – 3, 3’ and heating after initially bonding the non-conductive materials – 3, 3; can expand the conductive materials – 4, 4’; protective layer – 11 can improve adhesion between the non-conductive material – 3 and the second non-conductive material – 3A). See Fig. 2E below:
it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Liff with the teaching of Uzoh whereby a method of forming a bonded structure by providing a first element having an inorganic dielectric surface and a second element having an organic dielectric surface, as disclosed by Liff, would further include that the inorganic dielectric surface comprises
a first non-conductive field region having a first conductive feature exposed at the inorganic dielectric surface and that the organic dielectric surface comprises
a second non-conductive field region having a second conductive feature exposed at the organic dielectric surface with an interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface and
contacting the organic dielectric surface to the interface layer such that at least a portion of the second non-conductive field region contact the interface layer followed by
heating these first and second elements to bond the first and second non-conductive field region to be both bonded to the interface layer, as all taught by Uzoh.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider this feature of an interface between the first non-conductive field region, which is inorganic, and the second field region, which is organic, to be advantageous because this interface improves adhesion between the first non-conductive field (material) and the second non-conductive field (material) (paragraph [0054]).
However, while Liff discloses that the inorganic layer – 111 is between about 110 nm to about 1600 nm (Fig. 1C, paragraph [0032]) there is no explicit disclosure that the interface is a thickness of 15 nm or less from either Liff or Uzoh.
But it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the interface layer have a thickness of 15 nm or less since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to use this value for the purpose of optimizing the adhesion between the first non-conductive field region and the second non-conductive field region (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding Claim 36, the combination of Liff and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 35 and Uzoh further discloses, in at least one embodiment, in the forming the interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface (Fig. 2E paragraph [0054] protective layer – 11 provided over the non-conductive material – 3) and the surface of the non-conductive material can be exposed to a nitriding process to improve reactivity and adhesion especially for organic materials which has been previously cleaned (paragraph [0045] the surfaces of the bonding layer to be bonded may be cleaned) and includes, in at least one example, that the cleaned non-conductive material may be exposed to silane gas prior to the nitriding process (Figs. 2A-2I paragraph [0059]).
However, while Uzoh discloses the use of silane gas, it does not disclose the use of a silane coupling agent.
But it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted a silane coupling agent for silane gas in the disclosure of Uzoh because it would have been obvious to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I(B)).
This is evidenced from non-patent literature where a website/blog Silico Silicone Global Oriented Chemical Supplies, Material Modification, Silane vs. Silane Coupling Agent Key Differences and Applications, (see above for full citation) states that in the field of modern materials engineering including semiconductor manufacturing (#1 What is silane? (3)), both silane and silane coupling agents are essential for improving adhesion, durability and compatibility (#4 Why Are Silane and Silane Coupling Agents Important? (1) Enhancing Industrial Performance.
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Liff and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 36 and Uzoh further discloses that the forming of the interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface further comprises:
after exposing the first non-conductive field region to the silane coupling agent, heating the inorganic dielectric surface to cause the silane coupling agent to covalently bond to the first non-conductive field region. This is evidenced from non-patent academic literature on silane coupling agents, where MacMillan (J.H. MacMillan – Computational Chemistry List Using Silanes as Adhesion Promoters (2009) from academia.edu) where functionally a silane coupling agent acts to form a covalent bond to improve adhesion (Figs. 6, 8 Slides 21, 23, 28)
Regarding Claim 38, the combination of Liff and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 35 and Uzoh further discloses a method of forming the interface layer over the inorganic dielectric surface comprises forming the interface layer such that it does not cover the first conductive feature (see Figs. 3F, 3H, 3I paragraph [0067] in some embodiments, an additional etch process can etch through the portions of the protective layer – 11 disposed over the conductive material – 9 so as to expose the conductive material – 9 where it is evident that no protective layer – 11 is present in Figs. 3H, 3I).
Regarding Claim 40, the combination of Liff and Uzoh disclose all the limitations of claim 35 and Uzoh further discloses that after heating the first and second elements, the first and second non-conductive field regions are both covalently bonded to the interface layer (paragraph [0047] in various embodiments the bonding forces of the non-conductive materials – 3, 3’ can include covalent bonds that are greater than Van der Waals bonds and exert significant forces between the conductive features).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest as recited in claim 5: “before exposing the inorganic dielectric surface to the silane coupling agent, forming a photoresist over the conductive feature, the photoresist preventing the silane coupling agent from contacting the conductive feature; and after applying the silane coupling agent to the inorganic dielectric surface, removing the photoresist from conductive feature to expose the conductive feature.”
While the prior art does disclose use and presence of silane coupling agents as adhesive enhancers in the method of manufacturing printed circuit systems with multilayers and with photoresists, the examiner failed to find a method of forming a bonded structure having a first element and a second element whereby the first element has an inorganic dielectric surface and the second element has an organic dielectric surface with the inorganic dielectric surface exposed to a silane coupling agent forming an interface layer that was combined with:
a photoresist formed over a conductive feature which prevents the silane coupling agent from contacting it, and after applying the silane coupling agent to the inorganic dielectric surface, removing the photoresist from the conductive feature to expose it.
Prior art references investigated included Koo (US 2012/0074585 A1), Kang (US 2013/0249045 A1), Lin (US 9,368,563, B2), Yu (US 2019/0115277 A1) and Meigs (WO 00/07197 A2), but all of these references disclosed the use of a photoresist as a mask for standard etching of printed circuit boards and components but there was no disclosure, teaching or suggestion as to a photoresist being used as a method step for preventing the exposure of a conductive feature contacting a silane coupling agent followed by a removal step to expose the conductive feature.
Conclusion
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748