DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
New Grounds of Rection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-40, 50, 56-57, and 60-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 35 is in part directed to “[a] method to treat… in-stent restenosis.” There is no description in the application of how the method can be used to treat “in-stent restenosis” as once a stent is implanted, the resulting in-stent restenosis can only be treated with replacement drug-eluting stents and balloons. The application provides no description or guidance of how to use to the method to treat in-stent restenosis, and as such, fails to comply with the written description reqreuiement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-40, 50, 56-57, and 60-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/39815 A2 to Szoka (IDS filed 12/5/2024) in view of Stefanick (ACS Nano, 2013 IDS filed 8/1/2024) in further view of Takayama (Am J Cardiol, 2016). Szoka teaches a method of treating a method comprises: a nanocarrier delivery system is administered to a subject in need thereof comprising liposome nanocarrier delivery system (a medicament comprising the nanocarrier delivery system and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers; a diagnostic preparation characterized in that the diagnostic preparation comprises the nanocarrier delivery system) comprising an agent for the treatment of disease (abstract) characterized in that the surface of the nanocarrier is partially modified by a targeting ligand, and the targeting ligand is a ligand capable of specifically binding to an activated CD44 molecule (page 7, lines 8-17; page 8, lines 6-27; page 12, line 13). The system may comprise 125I (an iodine-based nanoscale contrast agent) page 16, line 25) or MRI contrast agent (an MRI tracer; MRI contrast agents work by longitudinal relaxation, transverse relaxation, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 26-27). The liposomes may be small unilamellar, large unilammellar, or multi-lamellar vesciles (page 7, lines 15-17). The substance may be a regulator of CD44 (a CD44 activator) (page 6, lines 4-20). The targeting ligand may be hyaluronic acid (page 5, line 4). The hyaluronic acid may have a molecular weight of less than about 5,000 (less than 5Kda) (page 7, lines 8-12). The substance may be a drug or polypeptide (page 3, line 32; page 21, lines 28-32). The liposome nanocarrier delivery system may comprise a hyaluronan ligand with an affinity for CD44 receptors (abstract). The system may comprise anti-inflammatory agents (an active pharmaceutical ingredient for treating vulnerable plaques) (page 8, lines 25-27). The system may be a diagnostic preparation (page 3, lines 32-33). The system is part of a medicament comprising water (a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier) (page 3, lines 32-33; page 24, lines 19-29). The composition may comprise PEG (page 23, lines 4-32).
Szoka fails to teach treatment of one of the diseases enumerated in the claims, and further fails to teach incorporating hyaluronic acid or an active pharmaceutical ingredient enumerated in the present claims. Szoka further fails to teach a molecular weight of hyaluronic acid in the range of 2-20 kDa (claim 45) or 2-10 KDA (claim 60). Szoka further fails to teach “wherein the surface comprises PEG.”
Takayama teaches that rosuvastatin is a well established therapeutic agent for treating vulnerable plaques (Title; Abstract; pages 1207-1209).
Sefanick teaches that modifying the surface of liposomal delivery vehicles with PEG provides the advantage of imparting stealth to the particles for longer circulation times and to act as a linker connecting targeting ligands to the particle (abstract; page 2936, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate rosuvastatin into the composition for the treatment of vulnerable plaques. The motivation for this would be that rosuvastatin is well known for the treatment of vulnerable plaques, and by incorporating rosuvastatin into the composition, vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate hyaluronic acid into the formulation for treatment of vulnerable plaques, with the motivation being that vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate a mAb into the nano carrier delivery system. The motivation for this is that mAb is effective at treating disease. It would have been further obvious to optimize the molecular weight of hyaluronic acid in the nanocarrier delivery system of Szoka, and in this way, find 1-20 KDa, 2-10 kDa, and 2-20 kDA through routine experimentation. The prior art provides sufficient guidance to this end, as Szoka teaches a hyaluronic acid molecular weight range of less than 5kDa, which overlaps with the present ranges. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the formulation of Szoka to provide wherein the surface comprises PEG. The motivation for this is that doing so would provide the advantage of improved circulation times and a means to connect targeting ligands to the particle.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
December 13, 2025