DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/8/2026, have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be fully persuasive. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objects are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-40, 50, 56-57, and 60-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/39815 A2 to Szoka (IDS filed 12/5/2024) in view of Stefanick (ACS Nano, 2013 IDS filed 8/1/2024) in further view of Takayama (Am J Cardiol, 2016). Szoka teaches a method of treating comprises: a nanocarrier delivery system is administered to a subject in need thereof comprising liposome nanocarrier delivery system (a medicament comprising the nanocarrier delivery system and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers; a diagnostic preparation characterized in that the diagnostic preparation comprises the nanocarrier delivery system) comprising an agent for the treatment of disease (abstract) characterized in that the surface of the nanocarrier is partially modified by a targeting ligand, and the targeting ligand is a ligand capable of specifically binding to an activated CD44 molecule (page 7, lines 8-17; page 8, lines 6-27; page 12, line 13). The system may comprise 125I (an iodine-based nanoscale contrast agent) page 16, line 25) or MRI contrast agent (an MRI tracer; MRI contrast agents work by longitudinal relaxation, transverse relaxation, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 26-27). The liposomes may be small unilamellar, large unilammellar, or multi-lamellar vesciles (page 7, lines 15-17). The substance may be a regulator of CD44 (a CD44 activator) (page 6, lines 4-20). The targeting ligand may be hyaluronic acid (page 5, line 4). The hyaluronic acid may have a molecular weight of less than about 5,000 (less than 5Kda) (page 7, lines 8-12). The substance may be a drug or polypeptide (page 3, line 32; page 21, lines 28-32). The liposome nanocarrier delivery system may comprise a hyaluronan ligand with an affinity for CD44 receptors (abstract). The system may comprise anti-inflammatory agents (an active pharmaceutical ingredient for treating vulnerable plaques) (page 8, lines 25-27). The system may be a diagnostic preparation (page 3, lines 32-33). The system is part of a medicament comprising water (a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier) (page 3, lines 32-33; page 24, lines 19-29). The composition may comprise PEG (page 23, lines 4-32).
Szoka fails to teach treatment of one of the diseases enumerated in the claims, and further fails to teach incorporating hyaluronic acid or an active pharmaceutical ingredient enumerated in the present claims. Szoka further fails to teach a molecular weight of hyaluronic acid in the range of 2-20 kDa (claim 45) or 2-10 KDA (claim 60). Szoka further fails to teach “wherein the surface comprises PEG.”
Takayama teaches that rosuvastatin is a well-established therapeutic agent for treating vulnerable plaques (Title; Abstract; pages 1207-1209).
Sefanick teaches that modifying the surface of liposomal delivery vehicles with PEG provides the advantage of imparting stealth to the particles for longer circulation times and to act as a linker connecting targeting ligands to the particle (abstract; page 2936, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate rosuvastatin into the composition for the treatment of vulnerable plaques. The motivation for this would be that rosuvastatin is well known for the treatment of vulnerable plaques, and by incorporating rosuvastatin into the composition, vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate hyaluronic acid into the formulation for treatment of vulnerable plaques, with the motivation being that vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate a mAb into the nano carrier delivery system. The motivation for this is that mAb is effective at treating disease. It would have been further obvious to optimize the molecular weight of hyaluronic acid in the nanocarrier delivery system of Szoka, and in this way, find 1-20 KDa, 2-10 kDa, and 2-20 kDA through routine experimentation. The prior art provides sufficient guidance to this end, as Szoka teaches a hyaluronic acid molecular weight range of less than 5kDa, which overlaps with the present ranges. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the formulation of Szoka to provide wherein the surface comprises PEG. The motivation for this is that doing so would provide the advantage of improved circulation times and a means to connect targeting ligands to the particle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that there would be no motivaton to incorporate an agent for treating vulnerable plaques into the compostion of Szoka as Szoka is focused on treating cancer, the examiner’s response is that, as stated in the rejection, the system of Szoka may comprise anti-inflammatory agents (page 8, lines 25-27), which are an active pharmaceutical ingredient for treating vulnerable plaques. Regarding applicant’s results, the examiner agrees that the result is unexpected, but they are not not commensurate in scope with the claimed method, which is directed to a method of treating vulnerable plaques and number of other diseases, using the liposome nanocarrier set forth in the claims. By contrast, the results are limited t an example of treating vulnerable plaque with a specific amount and relative ratio of the claimed components to be administered. The artisan would not accept that the results, which are limited to a single example of treatment of a specific vulnerable plaque, would necessarily extend across the scope of the invention, but would find it reasonable, absent even a second example that falls under the scope of the invention, that the results that hold for this one example would hold across the scope of the invention. Regarding applicant’s argument that Takayama only teaches stabilizing plaques, but frails to reverse plaque growth, the examiner’s reponse iis that the claims are not directed to a method of reversing plaque growth, but to a method of treating vulnerable plaques. Sopping the progress of a vulnerable plaque is treating the vulnerable plaque.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the news grounds of rejection. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
June 17, 2026