DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 12/05/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application JP 2022-200481, filed 12/15/2022 (Japan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-13, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohno et al. (hereafter Ohno, of record) US 20130063832 A1 in view of Ezawa et al. (hereafter Ezawa, of record, see IDS dated 12/05/2023) US 20130107381 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a lens device (digital camera 1 with lens barrel 10C, 10, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [89-103, 106-116, 08-09, 26-36, 38-45], emb. 3 with references to same features in embs. 1-2), comprising:
a fixing member formed in a tubular shape around an optical axis (tubular shaped holding frame 40 with wall 44 part, also as holding frame 21 around optical axis OA, paragraphs [31-3343, 47, 53,91-92], Figs. 2,5,8,14)
a holding member that is disposed inside the fixing member and holds a lens (lens holding frame 30,40, part 31, holding lens group 11, as 40 is inside 40, and 40 is inside 21, paragraphs [49-50, 89-103], as depicted in Figs. 2-7,13-14);
a movement member that moves the holding member in a first direction intersecting an optical axis (adjusting mechanism 50,cams 51 for moving 30 towards OA, paragraphs [30, 45-48, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13);
a first biasing member that biases the holding member in a second direction intersecting the optical axis (radial elastic member 52 applying pressing force on 30 in another direction towards OA, paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13); and
a second biasing member that biases the holding member at least in a direction of the optical axis (axial elastic member(s) 53 pressing 30 in OA direction, e.g. paragraphs [83, 89-107,109, 119], Figs. 14-12),
wherein the movement member has an engaging portion and a movement portion that engages with the engaging portion (as 50, has cams/off centered members 51 with shaft hole 51a and eccentric outer periphery 51b, where as 51b abuts and engages with periphery 31b of 30, it engages the 51a supported engaged on shaft 43 of 40, paragraphs [46, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13-14), and the movement portion of the movement member is provided on the holding member (as 50, has cams/off centered member 51 with periphery 51b on 30, see paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13-14).
But Ohno is silent that the fixing member has a hole penetrating therethrough in the first direction, and at least a part of the engaging portion is locked in the hole,
However, Ezawa teaches in the same field of invention of a lens unit (see Figs. 1-15, title, abstract, paragraphs [12-31, 55-58,64-75,81-92], including radial adjusting mechanism of first barrel 1 with lens unit 10, 20) and further teaches that the fixing member has a hole penetrating therethrough in the first direction (i.e. as second/fixed lens barrel 2 has penetrating hole 2D, 2E in 1st direction of movement member adjustment screw(s) 41,42 intersecting optical axis, that moves 1st lens barrel 1, e.g. Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [78-83, 85-92], where 41, 42 also has engaging and movement portions engaged as screw and top/cap portion of 41,42, and the engaged threaded and bulge portion 41T,42T, Figs. 13-15) and that and at least a part of the engaging portion is locked in the hole (i.e. as screw and top/cap portion of 41,42 is locked in 2D, 2E screw hole, Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [78-83, 85-92], and providing that the position along the optical axis direction, and the radial deviation of the lens unit 10 relative to the second lens unit 20 can be reliably adjusted, based on a simple construction see Ezawa paragraphs [81-83,92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the radial adjustment mechanism and adjusting member with engaging portion and a movement portion and holding frame of Ohno to include penetrating hole in holding frame and adjusting mechanism member with engaging and movement portions as screw and screw portions with a part of the engaging portion screw/top/cap part that is locked in the hole according to teachings of Ezawa in order to provide that the position along the optical axis direction, and the radial deviation of the first lens unit relative to the second lens unit can be reliably adjusted, based on a simple construction (see Ezawa paragraphs [81-83,92]).
Regarding claim 2, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the movement portion is provided on an inner side of an outer contour of the holding member (as members 51 on inner side of 30,31, over edge portion 33,33b and 32b,c of 32 flange, e.g. paragraphs [50-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-10,13-14).
Regarding claim 3, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the movement member has a screw and a nut , and the movement portion includes the nut ( 51 of 50 as modified per Ezawa, with movement portion i.e. as radial adjusting mechanism includes adjustment screw(s) 41,42, with top/cap screw portion and lower threaded and bulge portions 41T, 42T and threaded portion screw hole 2D(E) in lens barrel 1, 2, e.g. Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [81-83, 85-92]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the screw is rotatably fixed to the fixing member, and the nut is held by the holding member (i.e. as due to combination with Ezawa modification with screw and threaded screw portion e.g. 41, 41T in 10 (1) and screw hole in 20 (Ezawa 2), see paragraphs [49-50, 89-103], Figs. 2-7,13-14, and Ezawa Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [81-83, 85-92]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising: a restricting member that restricts a position of the holding member in the direction of the optical axis ( as positioning part(s) 41, sheet member 25,25b,c paragraphs [41-47, 52-53,56-58,68-77, 89-91], Figs. 2-10,13-14).
Regarding claim 6, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that a plurality of the restricting members are provided, and the plurality of restricting members are arranged in a direction around the optical axis (as positioning parts 41 and sheet member 25,25b,c around OA, paragraphs [41-47, 52-53,56-58,68-77, 89-91], Figs. 2-10,13-14).
Regarding claim 7, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the second biasing member is disposed at a position corresponding to the restricting member (as 53 at position corresponding to 41, 25, paragraphs [83, 89-91], Figs. 12-14).
Regarding claim 8, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising: a fixing member (holding frame 40, wall 44 part, also as holding frame 21, paragraphs [31-3343, 47, 53,91-92], Figs. 2,5,8,14), wherein the restricting member is loosely inserted into the fixing member (as 25 inserted to 44 of 40, also as 41of 40 is inserted into 21, paragraphs [43, 47, 53-54,91-93,96-100], Figs. 2,5,8,14).
Regarding claim 11, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the movement member includes a first movement member and a second movement member that moves the holding member in a direction different from a movement direction by the first movement member (adjusting mechanism 50 has two cams 51 moving 30 towards OA from different directions, e.g. paragraphs [30, 45-48, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13).
Regarding claim 12, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the first biasing member is disposed within a range of an angle formed by the first movement member and the second movement member, which is less than 180 degrees, as viewed from the direction of the optical axis (i.e. as 52 is disposed in range of angles less than 180 degrees from either of 51 of 50, viewed in OA direction depicted in Figs. 13,2, e.g. paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118]).
Regarding claim 13, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the first biasing member is disposed on a bisector line of the angle as viewed from the direction of the optical axis (disposed 52 as viewed in OA direction depicted in Figs. 13,2, e.g. paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) an angle formed by the first movement member (one of cams 51 of 50, paragraphs [30, 45-48, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13) and the first biasing member (52, Figs. 13,2, e.g. paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118) as viewed from the direction of the optical axis (OA) in degrees. But is silent that the angle is 30 degrees to 60 degrees or that the angle is a right angle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the angle a viewed along the optical axis OA between one of the movement cam members and the biasing member in order to provide that lens barrel is capable of preventing intrusion of dust while enabling highly-accurate and easy alignment and adjustment to align the optical centers (see e.g. paragraphs [08,98,100, 104-107]), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising: a fixing member (holding frame 40, paragraphs [31-3343, 47, 53,91-92], Figs. 2,5,8,14); and a restricting portion that restricts a position of the holding member in a direction around the optical axis with respect to the fixing member (e.g. as positioning part(s) 41, restricting movement of 30 around OA at least to an extent, paragraphs [41, 43-47,58,67,72-74], Figs. 2-5,8, 14), wherein the restricting portion is provided on an opposite side of the optical axis from the first movement member (as 41 opposite from one of 51, as depicted Figs. 2-5,8, 14, , paragraphs [41, 43-47,58,67,72-74).
Regarding claim 17, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the restricting portion is provided along a line connecting the first movement member and the optical axis as viewed from the direction of the optical axis (as line from 41 through OA to opposite one of 51 viewed along OA, as depicted Figs. 2-5,8, 14, paragraphs [41, 43-47,58,67,72-74).
Regarding claim 18, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) further comprising: a fixing member (holding frame 40, also as holding frame 21, paragraphs [31-3343, 47, 53,91-92], Figs. 2,5,8,14); and a restricting portion that restricts a position of the holding member in a direction around the optical axis with respect to the fixing member (e.g. as base parts 42 restricting position of 30 around OA, also as parts 41, paragraphs [43-52,76 Figs. 2,5,8,14).
Regarding claim 19, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the restricting portion has an engagement portion formed on the fixing member (i.e. as base parts 42, wall side of 44 on 40 paragraphs [43-52,76 Figs. 2,5,8,14), and an engagement target portion formed on the holding member and engaged with the engagement portion (e.g. as curved notch portions 33b,32c on 30 engaged with 42, 44 on 40, and parts of 41 and back surface of 30, paragraphs [43-52,76 Figs. 2,5,8,14).
Regarding claim 20, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the engagement portion has a first protruding portion (i.e. as 44 are protruding from the base of 40 to tip surface 42a, paragraphs [43-52,76 Figs. 2,5,8,14), and the engagement target portion has a second protruding portion that is in contact with the first protruding portion (e.g. at least upper protruding parts of 33b, and side protruding parts of 32c, paragraphs [43-52,76 Figs. 2,5,8,14]).
Regarding claim 21, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) that the second protruding portion extends in a direction intersecting a direction in which the first protruding portion extends (i.e. as upper protruding parts of 33b, and side protruding parts of 32c extend in direction intersecting direction of extending of 42, as depicted in e.g. Figs. 2,5,8,14, paragraphs [43-52,76]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohno et al. (hereafter Ohno, of record) US 20130063832 A1 in view of Ezawa et al. (hereafter Ezawa, of record, see IDS dated 12/05/2023) US 20130107381 A1 and in view of Frankovich et al. (hereafter Frankovich, of record) US 20110292527 A1
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a loose insertion portion of the restricting member is a member and that the member is a shaft member (as portion of 41of 40 inserted into 21 as a shaft due to cylindrical geometry, paragraphs [43, 47, 53-54,91-93,96-100], Figs. 2,5,8,14), but Ohno is silent that member is metal member.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to used metal as material for making lens holder and barrel parts of adjustable optical mount as taught by Frankovich (see e.g. abstract, paragraphs [60-61,10-18,37-48]) as mount parts are made by machining that can be used for precision fabrication of complex parts from metal and allowing optical element mount providing translational motion with reduced stress on the movable component (see e.g. paragraphs [60-61,10-18), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 02/17/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 and its dependent claims have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that the cited prior art of Ohno doesn’t not disclose the new amended limitations of claim 1, arguing that the amended claim entirely different from the structures disclosed in Ohno. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to Applicant’s argument, as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Ohno teaches most and in combination with Ezawa teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1, as Ohno teaches (see Figs. 1-14) a lens device (digital camera 1 with lens barrel 10C, 10, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [89-103, 106-116, 08-09, 26-36, 38-45], emb. 3 with references to same features in embs. 1-2), comprising:
a fixing member formed in a tubular shape around an optical axis (tubular shaped holding frame 40 with wall 44 part, also as holding frame 21 around optical axis OA, paragraphs [31-3343, 47, 53,91-92], Figs. 2,5,8,14)
a holding member that is disposed inside the fixing member and holds a lens (lens holding frame 30,40, part 31, holding lens group 11, as 40 is inside 40, and 40 is inside 21, paragraphs [49-50, 89-103], as depicted in Figs. 2-7,13-14);
a movement member that moves the holding member in a first direction intersecting an optical axis (adjusting mechanism 50,cams 51 for moving 30 towards OA, paragraphs [30, 45-48, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13);
a first biasing member that biases the holding member in a second direction intersecting the optical axis (radial elastic member 52 applying pressing force on 30 in another direction towards OA, paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13); and
a second biasing member that biases the holding member at least in a direction of the optical axis (axial elastic member(s) 53 pressing 30 in OA direction, e.g. paragraphs [83, 89-107,109, 119], Figs. 14-12),
wherein the movement member has an engaging portion and a movement portion that engages with the engaging portion (as 50, has cams/off centered members 51 with shaft hole 51a and eccentric outer periphery 51b, where as 51b abuts and engages with periphery 31b of 30, it engages the 51a supported engaged on shaft 43 of 40, paragraphs [46, 54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13-14), and the movement portion of the movement member is provided on the holding member (as 50, has cams/off centered member 51 with periphery 51b on 30, see paragraphs [54-55, 89-107,115-118], Figs. 3-5,13-14).
But Ohno is silent that the fixing member has a hole penetrating therethrough in the first direction, and at least a part of the engaging portion is locked in the hole,
However, Ezawa teaches in the same field of invention of a lens unit (see Figs. 1-15, title, abstract, paragraphs [12-31, 55-58,64-75,81-92], including radial adjusting mechanism of first barrel 1 with lens unit 10, 20) and further teaches that the fixing member has a hole penetrating therethrough in the first direction (i.e. as second/fixed lens barrel 2 has penetrating hole 2D, 2E in 1st direction of movement member adjustment screw(s) 41,42 intersecting optical axis, that moves 1st lens barrel 1, e.g. Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [78-83, 85-92], where 41, 42 also has engaging and movement portions engaged as screw and top/cap portion of 41,42, and the engaged threaded and bulge portion 41T,42T, Figs. 13-15) and that and at least a part of the engaging portion is locked in the hole (i.e. as screw and top/cap portion of 41,42 is locked in 2D, 2E screw hole, Figs. 13-15, paragraphs [78-83, 85-92], and providing that the position along the optical axis direction, and the radial deviation of the lens unit 10 relative to the second lens unit 20 can be reliably adjusted, based on a simple construction see Ezawa paragraphs [81-83,92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the radial adjustment mechanism and adjusting member with engaging portion and a movement portion and holding frame of Ohno to include penetrating hole in holding frame and adjusting mechanism member with engaging and movement portions as screw and screw portions with a part of the engaging portion screw/top/cap part that is locked in the hole according to teachings of Ezawa in order to provide that the position along the optical axis direction, and the radial deviation of the first lens unit relative to the second lens unit can be reliably adjusted, based on a simple construction (see Ezawa paragraphs [81-83,92]).
Therefore the cited prior art of Ohno teaches most and in combination with Ezawa teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 8 of the Remarks dated 02/27/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872