DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/15/2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
Specification
The amendment filed 01/15/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “[29] Hermetic seal is a vacuum-tight or air-tight structural connection that prevents the leakage of fluids and prevents the entry of external contaminants.” in P8. “[30] [...] a central manifold 26 that is fluidly connected to the passageway 20” in P8. “[56] [...] a central distribution hub 26 attached to the flow channels 28” in P18. The term “radial flow channels” is not found in the specification as originally filed 12/05/2023; or in the amended specification filed 01/15/2026. “[54] [...] The fully enclosed flow chamber 12 further system comprising the fully enclosed flow chamber 12 being composed of biocompatible material 48 to prevent coagulation and contamination of the aqueous biological material 44.” in P17. “[60] The medical diagnostic sensors 36 track the in vivo and in vitro, measuring, and monitoring of the aqueous biological material 44 of the host 62 using standard electrochemical principles for measuring and recording the data once the aqueous biological material 44 is pumped into the plurality of flow channels 28. Standard electrochemical principles can include pH, ion selective electrode (Na, K, Ca, etc.), oxidation, reduction reaction, glucose, lactate, and neurotransmitter detection sensors.” in P19. “[88] The biocompatible material 48 can be chosen to minimize interaction with whole blood or similar biological materials, thereby preserving the original sample compositions and prevent coagulation and similar conditions that can affect the analysis” in P31.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 23, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 21, 23 and 33 recites in part, “a central distribution hub located within the interior space and fluidly connected to the passageway.” The current remarks urges support therefor “the central distribution hub 26, radial flow channels 28, and microtubes 30 at the outer ends 32 was explicitly described throughout the original description and visually present in original Figures 3, 4, 5, 7, and 9 of the application as filed.” The examiner cannot find support for the central distribution hub 26 or radial flow channels 28 in the specification as originally filed 12/05/2023. The specification as originally filed 12/05/2023 discloses: a top surface 26, at least one flow channel 28, at least one microtube 32, and outer ends without a reference number.
Claim 21 recites in part, “[...] the plurality of microtubes for stationary sensor analysis”. The current remarks states support therefor can be found “[...] in the original disclosure at [Paragraph 0036], which describes biological materials remaining in a stationary position within the microtubes for measurement.” The examiner cannot find support for the stationary sensor analysis; and the specification as originally filed 12/05/2023 discloses “[36] While the invention has been described in detail and with reference to specific embodiments thereof, it will be apparent to one skilled in the art that various changes and modifications can be made therein without departing from the spirit and scope thereof.”
Accordingly, the disclosure as originally filed provided no implicit or explicit support for above limitations. Applicants are reminded that it is their burden to show where the specification and priority document as appropriate supports any amendments to the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the flow chamber" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 is unclear reciting “such that a pump force moves the biological material from the injection point, through the central distribution hub, and into the plurality of microtubes for stationary sensor analysis.” The limitation, “[...] a pump force moves the biological material from the injection point, through the central distribution hub, and into the plurality of microtubes for stationary sensor analysis” appears to define a result to be achieved. In addition, the claim is unclear as to what stationary sensor analysis entails.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the biological material" in L21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the radial arrangement" in L3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the biological material" in L3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 is unclear reciting “an optical sensor configured to perform quantitative measurements of the biological material without prior analyte concentration or separation”, because the claim is unclear what or how the optical sensor is structurally configured, and what “without prior analyte concentration or separation” entails.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the pump force insertion" in L3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 is unclear reciting “further comprising a pre-filled syringe containing the aqueous biological material, the syringe comprising a manual user-actuated plunger mechanism coupled to the injection point to provide the pump force insertion.” It is unclear whether the applicant is claiming a step of providing the pump force by insertion, a providing step by inserting a pre-filled syringe, or something else.
Claim 33 is unclear reciting “said distribution hub configured to distribute the material simultaneously into the plurality of flow channels” because it is unclear what structural configuration is being claimed.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the plurality of sensors" in L2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 35 is unclear reciting “optical sensors configured to perform quantitative measurements on the material within the flow channel without prior analyte concentration or separation”, because the claim is unclear what or how the optical sensors are structurally configured, and what “without prior analyte concentration or separation” entails.
Claim 24 contains the trademark/trade name Luer lock connector/Luer connector. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe female/male connectors and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 25-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Shachar et al. (US 2022/0097064).
Regarding claim 21, Shachar teaches:
21. An integrated analysis system (e.g., 10) comprising,
a fully enclosed flow chamber (e.g., disk 13) having a top surface, a bottom surface, and an interior space defined between the top and bottom surfaces (see Figs. 2-3 for example);
a passageway extending along a substantially vertical axis through a flow chamber (see Fig. 20A for example), the passageway comprising a substantially circular hollow tube (see i.e., A sample receiving volume is defined below outer cone 231 and is characterized by an axial or central inverted cone 232 in its lower planar surface in which an axial outlet 233 is defined. ¶ 0123) defining an injection point at the bottom surface (e.g., axial outlet 233, see Fig. 20A for example);
a central distribution hub (e.g., 231, 232) located within the interior space and fluidly connected to the passageway (see Figs. 20A-20B for example);
a plurality of flow channels monolithically integrated within the flow chamber and extending radially from the central distribution hub (see Figs. 11-13 for example);
a plurality of microtubes (e.g., 26, 36) located at outer ends of the flow channels, the microtubes comprising interior compartments (see ¶ 0099 for example);
at least one medical diagnostic sensor (e.g., sensor 38 ¶ 0057+) embedded within the interior compartments of the microtubes (see ¶ 0057, 0098, 0115; and ¶ 0073 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1) for example);
at least one memory cartridge (e.g., 60) attached to the fully enclosed flow chamber (see Fig. 1 for example); and
a remote access device (e.g., smart device ¶ 0112, microcontroller 43 ¶ 0103; GUI ¶ 0176) comprising artificial intelligence (AI) processing units (¶ 0016, 0058) in wireless communication with the memory cartridge and the medical diagnostic sensor (e.g., wireless/Wi-Fi module 68 Fig. 1; ¶ 0006, 0057, 0105 for example);
wherein the injection point is configured to receive an aqueous biological material from a clinical specimen collection equipment removably attached thereto (e.g., syringe ¶ 0098, 0123 and ¶ 0071 & Fig. 12 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)).
With regard to limitations in claims 21, 23, 25-29, 31, 33, 35 (e.g., [...] such that a pump force moves the biological material from the injection point, through the central distribution hub, and into the plurality of microtubes for stationary sensor analysis; such that the structural arrangement prevents flow reversal of the aqueous biological material, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Regarding claims 22, 23, and 25-35, Shachar teaches:
22. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the fully enclosed flow chamber is composed of a biocompatible material (this limitation is sufficiently broad to have read on the disk composed of polymer composition ¶ 0100).
23. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the plurality of microtubes are positioned below a vertical plane of the central distribution hub and beneath the top surface of the flow chamber (see Figs. 11-20 for example).
25. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, further comprising a glass slide horizontally extending across the top surface of the flow chamber and fixed thereon (see Fig. 6 & ¶ 0174 for example).
26. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the medical diagnostic sensor is an optical sensor configured to perform quantitative measurements of the aqueous biological material (see ¶ 0054 for example).
27. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the medical diagnostic sensor is capable of measuring at least one physical parameter and at least one chemical parameter of the aqueous biological material (see ¶ 0058, 0075 for example).
28. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the memory cartridge and the medical diagnostic sensor are interconnected via a local internal bus within the sealed flow chamber (see ¶ 0104-0105; and ¶ 0111, 0151 & Figs. 7-10 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)).
29. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the AI processing unit is capable of executing predictive analytics to analyze biometric data in real time (see ¶ 0010, 0016-0017 for example) and transmitting final diagnostic results, rather than raw sensor data, via a wireless transmitter (e.g., Wi-Fi module 68; see ¶ 0006, 0057, 0105 for example).
30. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the plurality of microtubes are arranged capable for individual preliminary analysis of the aqueous biological material across at least five distinct analysis points (see Fig. 6, ¶ 0081, 0145, 0153-0154 and Claim 22 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)).
31. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein at least one of the medical diagnostic sensors is capable of connecting (see ¶ 0057 and ¶ 0155 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)) capable of tracking physical parameters (see ¶ 0016 for example).
32. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, further comprising a pre-filled syringe containing the aqueous biological material, the syringe comprising a manual user-actuated plunger mechanism coupled to the injection point to provide the pump force insertion (e.g., syringe ¶ 0098, 0123 and ¶ 0071 & Fig. 12 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)).
33. The integrated analysis system of any one of claims 21, 22, or 23, wherein the vertical passageway is in fluid communication with the central distribution hub located within the interior space (see ¶ 0099 for example).
34. The integrated analysis system of any one of claims 21, 22, or 23, further comprising a pre-filled syringe containing the aqueous biological material (e.g., syringe ¶ 0098, 0123 for example), the syringe comprising a barrel and a plunger, wherein an outlet of the syringe is coupled to the injection point of the passageway (this appears to be an inherent property of a syringe; see also Fig. 12 of a related parent U.S. Application Ser. No. 15/597,090 (Shachar et al. US 2018/0334697 A1)).
35. The integrated analysis system of any one of claims 21, 22, or 23, wherein the plurality of sensors are optical sensors capable of performing quantitative measurements on the material within the flow channel (see ¶ 0054 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shachar et al. (US 2022/0097064 A1) in view of Goldberger et al. (US 2006/0079809 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Shachar teaches: 24. The integrated analysis system of claim 21, wherein the injection point of the passageway comprises a female connector configured to receive a corresponding male connector of the clinical specimen collection equipment capable of forming a hermetic seal (see i.e., A self-healing septum (not shown) provides positive closure of sample inlet and reservoir 12 of the closed microfluidic circuit of system 10, typically by means of a syringe. ¶ 0098+). However, Shachar does not explicitly teach: a female Luer lock connector configured to receive a corresponding male Luer connector of the clinical specimen collection equipment.
Goldberger teaches: a blood monitoring system capable of forming a hermetic seal at an injection point of a passageway via a female luer lock connector configured to receive a corresponding male luer connector of a clinical specimen collection equipment (see ¶ 0100 for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Shachar with female lock/male connectors, such as luer-lock connectors, as taught by Goldberger, since luer-lock connectors are well-known in the art (Goldberger ¶ 0100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Based on the claim amendments, 35 USC § 112 rejections have been revised.
Applicant is thanked for their thoughtful amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798