DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/24/2026.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 12, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 2, 11, and 16 have been canceled.
Claim 1, 3-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are pending in this application.
Rejection to claim 8 under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but are respectfully traversed.
(I) Applicant argues that Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190132882, hereafter “Li”) determines PRACH occasions based directly on SS/PBCH block rather than “analog beams,” and that Ly (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230362847, hereafter “Ly”) merely discloses signal reflection by an RIS (‘Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface’) without providing “analog beams” (pages 10-11, the Argument filed on 04/24/2026).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument attempts to create a false dichotomy between SSBs and analog beams that is inconsistent with the well-known principles of 5G NR systems.
Li explicitly teaches configuring Msg1 (PRACH) transmission occasions specifically for scenarios where the system relies exclusively on analog beamforming. As disclosed in para [0259] of Li.
“However, configuring Msg1 within an uplink centric slot provides better flexibility for a gNB to schedule DL/UL data, especially during a long RACH occasion (e.g., when the gNB and/or the UE does not have beam correspondence, or only supports analog beamforming).”
As explicitly taught by Li (e.g., para [0259]), the disclosed RACH procedure operates in an environment that extensively utilizes “analog beamforming.” In such beamformed networks, each SS/PBCH block (SSB) is explicitly transmitted via a specific directional analog beam. Therefore, selecting a specific SSB functionally equates to determining the PRACH occasion based on the specific analog beam associated with that SSB.
Furthermore, Applicant’s own specification (para [0052]) defines the claimed “wireless auxiliary device” as including a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS). It is well known in the art that an RIS reflects signals by actively adjusting phase shifts across its elements to cooperatively form highly directional signal beams, which is the very definition of passive analog beamforming. Thus, when the system of Li is combined with the RIS of Ly, the RIS-reflected SSB is intrinsically associated with the analog beams of the RIS. Consequently, determining the PRACH occasion based on the RIS-reflected SSB structurally and functionally reads on determining it based on the analog beams associated with the first SSB, as broadly claimed.
(II) Applicant argues that Li fails to teach determining a PRACH transmission occasion based on CORESET configuration/detection, asserting that Li instead uses PRACH configuration (from SIBs) and mapping rules (page 12, the Argument filed on 04/24/2026).
The Examiner respectfully points out that Applicant is improperly attempting to narrow the scope of the claims by reading in a “directly/solely based on” limitation. During examination, claims are given their Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI). A review of amended claim 1 reveals that the claim broadly recites a series of sequential steps: “detecting, by the terminal, the CORESET; and determining, by the terminal, the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the second SSB.” The claim language does not require that the determination be made directly from the CORESET configuration while excluding intermediate system information processing.
Li (para [0156]) explicitly discloses this claimed sequence of operations. Li teaches that the UE obtains the CORESET configuration, detects the CORESET to receive the PDCCH, and decodes the PDCCH which schedules the system information blocks (SIBs). From the PRACH configuration within those SIBs, the UE determines the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1 (the PRACH transmission occasion). In the framework of Li, detecting the CORESET is an absolute prerequisite in the causal chain for obtaining the PRACH resources. Because the determination of the PRACH occasion strictly depends upon and occurs sequentially after the detection of the CORESET, Li clearly teaches the broad claim recitation of detecting the CORESET and determining the PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the second SSB.
Applicant cannot avoid the prior art by arbitrarily excluding intermediate signal processing steps or by ignoring the functional realities of analog beamforming when the broad claim language encompasses them. Because the combination of Li and Ly discloses or suggests all the limitations of amended Claim 1, the rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 is proper and is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-10, 13-15, 17, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190132882, hereafter “Li”) in view of Ly et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230362847, hereafter “Ly”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, A transmission processing method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, a first Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission occasion, wherein the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponds to analog beams of (para [0156]: a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure (interpreted as “corresponds to analog beams of a wireless auxiliary device”, the gNB is interpreted as “a wireless auxiliary device”). Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration. From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.) (para [0310]: the UE can determine its available PRACH occasions within an association period of SS/PBCH blocks to the PRACH occasions (interpreted as “determining, by a terminal, a first Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission occasion … corresponds to analog beams of a wireless auxiliary device”), which can be one or multiple PRACH configuration periods.) (para [0259]: However, configuring Msg1 within an uplink centric slot provides better flexibility for a gNB to schedule DL/UL data, especially during a long RACH occasion (e.g., when the gNB and/or the UE does not have beam correspondence, or only supports analog beamforming))
(The missing/crossed out limitation ‘ will be discussed in view of Ly.); and
sending, by the terminal, a first message Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion (para [0157]: In step 903, the UE transmits Msg1 over the determined RACH occasion, ...),
wherein determining, by the terminal, the first PRACH transmission occasion comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal, a first transmission parameter, wherein the first transmission parameter is a parameter associated with a Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block (SSB) and the wireless auxiliary device (para [0156]: a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration. From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters (interpreted as “the first transmission parameter is a parameter associated with a Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block (SSB) ), such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.) ; and
determining, by the terminal, in response to detecting a first SSB and based on the first transmission parameter, the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the analog beams that are associated with the first SSB (para [0156]: a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) (interpreted as “detecting a first SSB”) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block (interpreted as “a first SSB”)for the RACH procedure. …, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters (interpreted as “the first transmission parameter”), such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1 )(para [0310]: Through detecting these parameters from its detected SS/PBCH block and the predefined mapping rules of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions, the UE can determine its available PRACH occasions (interpreted as “determining, …, the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the analog beams that are associated with the first SSB”) within an association period of SS/PBCH blocks to the PRACH occasions, which can be one or multiple PRACH configuration periods.) (Examiner’s comments: As discussed above, Li explicitly teaches configuring Msg1 (PRACH) transmission occasions specifically for scenarios where the system relies exclusively on analog beamforming. As disclosed in para [0259] of Li. As taught by Li (e.g., para [0259]), the disclosed RACH procedure operates in an environment that extensively utilizes “analog beamforming.” In such beamformed networks, each SS/PBCH block (SSB) is explicitly transmitted via a specific directional analog beam. Therefore, selecting a specific SSB functionally equates to determining the PRACH occasion based on the specific analog beam associated with that SSB.);
or
obtaining, by the terminal, in response to detecting a second SSB, Control Resource Set (CORESET) configuration information corresponding to the second SSB, wherein the CORESET configuration information indicates a time-frequency resource of a CORESET (para [0156]: a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) (interpreted as “in response to detecting a second SSB”) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) (interpreted as “Control Resource Set (CORESET) configuration information corresponding to the second SSB”) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration. … the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.);
detecting, by the terminal, the CORESET; and determining, by the terminal, the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the second SSB (para [0156]: Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration. From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.).
Li does not specifically teach about the “analog beams of wireless auxiliary device” as recited in claim 1.
Ly discloses a wireless communication system incorporating a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS, interpreted as “wireless auxiliary device”). Specifically, Ly teaches that a UE (interpreted as “a terminal”) receives a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) after the SSB transmission has been reflected by the RIS, and the UE proceeds to perform RIS-assisted procedures based on receiving this RIS-reflected SSB (para [0086] of Ly : The UE 104 b may receive a type 1 SSB from base station 102 after the type 1 SSB transmission has been reflected by the RIS 410. Based on receiving the type 1 SSB, the UE 104 b may determine that RIS-assisted procedures may be needed …”)
Examiner’s note: Applicant’s own specification (para [0052]) defines the claimed “auxiliary device” as encompassing an RIS (‘auxiliary device (such as a panel, the RIS)’). Furthermore, an RIS operates by controlling phase shifts to actively direct reflected signals, which structurally and functionally constitute passive analog beamforming. Therefore, the RIS disclosed in Ly directly corresponds to the claimed “wireless auxiliary device,” and the directional signal reflection provided by the RIS correspond to the claimed “analog beams.”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify the random access procedure of Li by incorporating the RIS-assisted SSB reflection framework of Ly. The motivation to combine these teachings is to enhance network coverage and signal reliability for UEs located in blind spots or areas lacking a direct line-of-sight to the base station. By deploying the RIS of Ly within the analog beamforming network of Li, the system structurally provides analog beams associated with the auxiliary device (the RIS) to reflect the SSB toward the UE. Consequently, the UE utilizes the parameters of this reflected SSB, and the corresponding CORESET configuration information, to determine the PRACH transmission occasions precisely as claimed. As such, the claimed invention as a whole constitute a predictable variation of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 15, it is a terminal claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except limitations “a processor (Fig. 3 and para [0103]: a processor 340); and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon (Fig. 3 and para [0103]: a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362.)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except limitations “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium (para [0021]: Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium… A “non-transitory” computer readable medium excludes wired, wireless, optical, or other communication links that transport transitory electrical or other signals. A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data can be stored and later overwritten, such as a rewritable optical disc or an erasable memory device.” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 3, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 1, Li further teaches wherein the first transmission parameter comprises at least one of the following (para [0156]: a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration. From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, (interpreted as “first transmission parameter”)):
…
a cycle of a PRACH transmission occasion (para [0310]: … Through detecting these parameters from its detected SS/PBCH block and the predefined mapping rules of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions, the UE can determine its available PRACH occasions within an association period of SS/PBCH blocks to the PRACH occasions, which can be one or multiple PRACH configuration periods (interpreted as “a cycle of a PRACH transmission occasion”).).
Regarding Claim 6, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 1, wherein before the sending, by the terminal, a first message Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion, the method further comprises:
Li further teaches
determining, by the terminal, whether to send the Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB (para [0156]: In steps 901 and 902, a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains … an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. …) (para [0303]: The LBT down-selection can follow an iterative process as illustrated in FIG. 23. Specifically, the UE first performs LBT over the entire bandwidth 2301. The UE can transmit PRACH when the energy level the UE observes over the entire bandwidth is below Γ dB. Otherwise, the UE can segment a bandwidth for LBT, for example into two contiguous segments, and measure an energy level over each bandwidth segment 2302. When the energy level over any segment is below (Γ−3) dB, the UE can transmit PRACH over the segment and the LBT process is completed (interpreted as “determining, by the terminal, whether to send the Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB”). Otherwise, the UE continues to perform the down-selection process by further segmentation to perform LBT, until either LBT succeeds over one or more of the segments or the number of such down-selection processes has reached a maximum allowed number of times (i.e., n in FIG. 23).)
Regarding Claim 7, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 6, wherein the determining, by the terminal, whether to send the Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB comprises: Li further teaches
detecting, by the terminal, signal strength of a first signal, and determining to send the Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB when the detected signal strength is less than a first threshold (para [0156]: In steps 901 and 902, a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. … From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like…) (para [0303]: The LBT down-selection can follow an iterative process as illustrated in FIG. 23. Specifically, the UE first performs LBT over the entire bandwidth 2301. The UE can transmit PRACH when the energy level the UE observes over the entire bandwidth is below Γ dB (interpreted as “when the detected signal strength is less than a first threshold”). Otherwise, the UE can segment a bandwidth for LBT, for example into two contiguous segments, and measure an energy level over each bandwidth segment 2302. When the energy level over any segment is below (Γ−3) dB, the UE can transmit PRACH over the segment and the LBT process is completed..); or
measuring, by the terminal, a channel correlation of a first signal, and determining to send the Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB when the measured channel correlation is less than a second threshold (para [0303]: The LBT down-selection can follow an iterative process as illustrated in FIG. 23. Specifically, the UE first performs LBT over the entire bandwidth 2301. The UE can transmit PRACH when the energy level the UE observes over the entire bandwidth is below Γ dB. Otherwise, the UE can segment a bandwidth for LBT, for example into two contiguous segments, and measure an energy level over each bandwidth segment 2302 (interpreted as “measuring, by the terminal, a channel correlation of a first signal”, see para [0084] of the Specification of the instant application: The channel correlation of the first signal may be measured in such a way that two first signals are transmitted separately at two different time periods, or the channel correlation on a plurality of symbols are occupied during a transmission process of the first signal.’). When the energy level over any segment is below (Γ−3) dB, the UE can transmit PRACH over the segment and the LBT process is completed..).
Regarding Claim 8, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 7, Li further teaches wherein the first signal comprises the first SSB; or a signal in Quasi Co-Location (QCL) with the first SSB (para [0156]: In steps 901 and 902, a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) (interpreted as “the first signal comprises the first SSB”) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. …the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, … an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.) (para [0303]: The LBT down-selection can follow an iterative process as illustrated in FIG. 23. Specifically, the UE first performs LBT over the entire bandwidth 2301. The UE can transmit PRACH when the energy level the UE observes over the entire bandwidth is below Γ dB. Otherwise, the UE can segment a bandwidth for LBT, for example into two contiguous segments, and measure an energy level over each bandwidth segment 2302. When the energy level over any segment is below (Γ−3) dB, the UE can transmit PRACH over the segment and the LBT process is completed..).
Regarding Claim 9, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the terminal, a first message Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion comprises: Li further teaches
repeatedly sending, by the terminal, the Msg1 for N times based on a second transmission parameter on the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the first SSB (para [0156]: In steps 901 and 902, a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration (interpreted as “a second transmission parameter”). From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains … a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, …) (para [0315]: a burst of K>=1 Msg1 transmission occasions can be allocated together in time-domain to form an Msg1 occasion burst, wherein the number of Msg1 occasions within the burst can be K>=1 (interpreted as “N times”).) (Fig. 24 and para [0316]: FIG. 24 illustrates an exemplary Msg1 occasion burst according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. …) Fig. 24 is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 24 of Li)
(para [0317]: Within the Msg1 occasion burst 2401, a burst of K>=1 Msg1 occasions 2402-2405 are available for Msg1 transmissions (subject to LBT for NR-U), and all these Msg1 occasions 2402-2405 within the Msg1 occasion burst 2401 can be corresponding to a same SS/PBCH block (SSB) (interpreted as “corresponding to the first SSB”); such that a UE detecting the SS/PBCH block can be associated with RACH resources on an Msg1 occasion burst basis.),
wherein:
N is equal to the number of the analog beams associated with the first SSB (para [0318]: The Msg1 occasion burst can be configured by allocating a burst of K>=1 Msg1 occasions associated with the actually transmitted SS/PBCH block(s) (interpreted as “N is equal to the number of the analog beams associated with the first SSB”) ...), and
the second transmission parameter remains unchanged during the N times of sending (para [0156]: In steps 901 and 902, a UE first detects the SS/PBCH block(s) from the gNB and selects a suitable SS/PBCH block for the RACH procedure. Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration (interpreted as “a second transmission parameter”). From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains …, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst (interpreted as a part of “a second transmission parameter”), …) (para [0315]: a burst of K>=1 Msg1 transmission occasions can be allocated together in time-domain to form an Msg1 occasion burst,)(Fig. 24 and para [0317]: Within the Msg1 occasion burst 2401, a burst of K>=1 Msg1 occasions 2402-2405 are available for Msg1 transmissions (subject to LBT for NR-U), and all these Msg1 occasions 2402-2405 within the Msg1 occasion burst 2401 can be corresponding to a same SS/PBCH block (SSB)) (Examiner’s note: Fig. 24 discloses K times of sending based on the configuration of Msg1 occasion burst. Thus, the configuration of Msg1 occasion burst in the PRACH configuration remains unchanged during the K time of sending).
Regarding Claim 10, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 9, wherein the second transmission parameter comprises at least one of the following: Li further teaches
a sending power; a preamble; or an occupied PRACH transmission occasion. (para [0156]: … Then UE obtains the configuration of a control resource set (CORESET) for receiving PDCCH, which schedules the system information blocks that contain the PRACH configuration (interpreted as “second transmission parameter”). From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format (interpreted as “a preamble”), indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst (interpreted as “an occupied PRACH transmission occasion”), a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1.)
Regarding Claim 13, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 1, wherein after the sending, by the terminal, a first message Msg1 on the first PRACH transmission occasion, the method further comprises: Li further teaches
receiving, by the terminal, a second message Msg2 sent by a network side device (Fig. 9: Msg2 sent, in step 904, by a gNB), wherein the Msg2 is scrambled by using a Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) (para [0158]: Upon detecting Msg1 from a UE, the gNB scrambles the CRC of PDCCH by a 2-step random access radio network temporary identifier (RA2-RNTI) for transmission of PDSCH containing a random access response (RAR) addressed to the UE.), and the RA-RNTI is calculated based on a second PRACH transmission occasion (para [0014]: the RNTI of the UE is determined based on at least one of a radio resource used to transmit the preamble of the RA message (interpreted as “a second PRACH transmission occasion”), a radio resource used to transmit the data portion of the RA message, a PRACH preamble sequence included in the preamble portion of the RA message; and at least a part of a UE-identification (ID) carried in the data portion of the RA message.);
when the first PRACH transmission occasion comprises a plurality of PRACH transmission occasions, the second PRACH transmission occasion is a PRACH transmission occasion on which signal strength of a signal on the plurality of PRACH transmission occasions meets a preset condition (Fig. 25 and para [0363]: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary RAR occasion in response to the detected Msg1(s) from the Msg1 occasion burst (interpreted as “a plurality of PRACH transmission occasions,”) according to one embodiment of the present disclosure.)(Fig. 27 and para [0371]: As shown in FIG. 27, a UE fails to transmit Msg1 within the Msg1 occasion burst until it succeed in LBT to transmit Msg1 in occasion 2701, and a gNB fails to respond a RAR message after it receives Msg1 2701, until the gNB succeeds in LBT to transmit the RAR message to the UE in occasion 2702 within the RAR window (interpreted as “a PRACH transmission occasion on which signal strength of a signal on the plurality of PRACH transmission occasions meets a preset condition”, see LBT down-selection operation discussed in para [0302-0303] of Li “When the energy level over any segment is below (Γ−3) dB,” ). The RAR occasions within the RAR window after 2702 are not utilized.), and
when the first PRACH transmission occasion comprises one PRACH transmission occasion, the second PRACH transmission occasion is the first PRACH transmission occasion (para [0014]: the RNTI of the UE is determined based on at least one of a radio resource used to transmit the preamble of the RA message (interpreted as “the first PRACH transmission occasion”), a radio resource used to transmit the data portion of the RA message, a PRACH preamble sequence included in the preamble portion of the RA message; and at least a part of a UE-identification (ID) carried in the data portion of the RA message.).
Regarding Claim 14, Li and Ly teach The transmission processing method according to claim 13, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, a second message Msg2 sent by a network side device comprises: Li further teaches
calculating, by the terminal, when the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponds to a plurality of PRACH transmission occasions, a plurality of RA-RNTIs based on the plurality of PRACH transmission occasions (para [0390]: in case of multiple Msg1 transmissions within an Msg1 occasion burst, the UE can continue to monitor its RAR window until either the UE detects a RAR message that corresponds to its Msg1 such that a successful 2-step RA can be achieved;); and
detecting, by the terminal, the Msg2 by using the plurality of RA-RNTIs (para [0395]: At the UE side, after the UE successfully transmitted Msg1(s), the UE expects to detect/receive the following information from a RAR (interpreted as “Msg2”) that corresponds to its transmitted Msg1(s): … (1) the radio resource (e.g., time/frequency and/or carrier and/or spatial filter) that the UE used to transmit the Msg1; which can be either the PRACH part of a Msg1, or both PRACH part and data part of a Msg1; and this can conveyed through the RA2-RNTI;).
Claim 17, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 3, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 18-19, said claims contain the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
wherein the determining, based on the first transmission parameter, the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the analog beams that are associated with the first SSB comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the first transmission parameter, the number of the analog beams associated with the first SSB, and occurrence time information of each of the analog beams associated with the first SSB; and
using, by the terminal based on the determined number and occurrence time information of the analog beams, a PRACH transmission occasion within an occurrence time of each of the analog beams as the first PRACH transmission occasion.
Regarding claim 12, the claim contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
wherein the detecting, by the terminal, the CORESET, and determining the first PRACH transmission occasion corresponding to the second SSB comprises:
in response to detecting Downlink Control Information (DCI) based on the CORESET configuration information, and when the DCI is used for dynamically scheduling a PRACH transmission occasion, determining, by the terminal, that the PRACH transmission occasion dynamically scheduled with the DCI is the first PRACH transmission occasion; or
in response to detecting that signal strength of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) is greater than a third threshold or signal strength of the second SSB based on a relevant parameter of the CORESET, and when the PDCCH is configured to transmit the DCI that dynamically schedules the PRACH transmission occasion, determining, by the terminal, that a PRACH transmission occasion within a first time window is the first PRACH transmission occasion, wherein the CORESET is used as a start point of the first time window.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411