DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0021635), hereon referred to as Lee, in view of Tian et al. (US 2021/0014052), hereon referred to as Tian, in view of Peng et al. (US 2020/0022209), hereon referred to as Peng.
In regards to claims 1, 7 & 15, Lee discloses receiving, by a second terminal, first information, sent by a third-party function or a first network function wherein the first information is used to determine a first association relationship between a first terminal and the second terminal (Prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow, UE may establish a local communication link with the device to obtain identification information for device...UE may then obtain identification information for a device...The UE may register the device to access the wireless network for service over the connection; the registration may include associating the identification information for the device with the network credential of the UE; may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0050-0065); and sending, by the second terminal, a key material of the first terminal to the third-party function or the first network function based on the first association relationship, wherein the key material of the first terminal comprises security information required for communication performed by the first terminal (If the association is successful, HSS (or another network entity) may send a confirmation message to UE. The confirmation message may include credentials for device to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network for the network to the device over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0050-0070).
However, Lee does not disclose the key material of the first terminal is then sent to the first terminal by the third-party function or the first network function. In an analogous art Tian discloses the key material of the first terminal is then sent to the first terminal by the third-party function or the first network function (An intermediate service organization receives a key sent by a third-party; Paragraphs 0175-0180; 0209; 0223-0227).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by Lee, with the teachings disclosed by Tian regarding the key material of the first terminal is then sent to the first terminal by the third-party function or the first network function. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security in payment security and secure infrastructure (Tian; Paragraph 0002).
However, the combination of Lee and Tian does not disclose …without being forwarded by the second terminal. In an analogous art Peng discloses …without being forwarded by the second terminal (the SN may send a request message to the MN, and then the MN sends an updated key to the SN and the terminal, where the request message is used to request the updated key from the MN. This process causes a specific latency; When the SN sequentially selects the key, the MN may not send the count value group to the SN, and send the count value group to the terminal; Paragraphs 0175-0185).
At the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings disclosed by the combination of Lee and Tian, with the teachings disclosed by Peng regarding …without being forwarded by the second terminal. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to provide additional security in communication technologies (Peng; Paragraph 0002).
In regards to claims 2, 8, 10 & 16, Lee discloses wherein: the first association relationship comprises at least one of the following: an association relationship between a device identifier of the first terminal and a device identifier of the second terminal; an association relationship between the device identifier of the first terminal and a user identifier of the second terminal; an association relationship between a user identifier of the first terminal and the user identifier of the second terminal; or an association relationship between the user identifier of the first terminal and the device identifier of the second terminal, the first information comprises at least one of the following: a first identifier, wherein the first identifier is a device identifier and/or a user identifier of the first terminal; a second identifier, wherein the second identifier is a device identifier and/or a user identifier of the second terminal; or association information, wherein the association information is information used for determining the first association relationship; the security information comprises at least one of the following: a security key; a security parameter; or subscription credential information; and the key material of the first terminal further comprises: valid time, wherein the valid time is valid time of the security information (UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device; the identification information may be obtained without a local communication link. For example, information may be obtained by scanning a Quick Response (QR) code, accessing a uniform resource locator (URL), or by entering information printed on device 115-e or the associated documentation. Identification information may include a serial number of the device; UE 115-f may send an attach request via a base station 105 to MME 205-a. In some cases, UE 115-f may send a temporary identity (e.g., a GUTI) with the attach request. If the GUTI was issued by MME 205-a, it may have information about UE 115-f stored in memory; The UE 115-f may register the device 115-e to access the wireless network for service over the connection; the registration 315 may include associating the identification information for the device with the network credential of the UE 115-f. The registration may involve sending a request including the identification information of the device 115-e to HSS 210-a via MME; UE 115-f may communicate with HSS 210-a to update the subscriber's device subscription list stored in the HSS; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claim 3, Lee discloses deriving, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal based on a key material of the second terminal, wherein the key material of the second terminal comprises security information required for communication performed by the second terminal (The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE. In some examples, the credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may include the network credential, a network list, a subscription identity associated with the network credential of the UE or a network identifier. The network credential may include at least one of a shared key provisioned by a device manufacturer or a private-public key pair provisioned by a device manufacture; Paragraphs 0060-0065).
In regards to claim 12, Lee discloses wherein sending, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal comprises any one of the following: sending, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal to the first terminal; sending, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal to a third-party function, wherein the key material of the first terminal is sent to the first terminal through the third-party function; or sending, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal to a first network function, wherein the key material of the first terminal is sent to the first terminal through the first network function, wherein when the second terminal sends the key material of the first terminal to the first terminal, the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, the key material of the first terminal to the first network function or the third-party function (prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow 300, UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claim 6, Lee discloses starting, by the second terminal, a first timer, wherein a timing period of the first timer is valid time of the security information of the first terminal; and the security information of the first terminal is invalid after the valid time expires (UE 115-f may establish access restrictions for device 115-e by communicating with one or more network entities (e.g., MME 205-a or HSS 210-a). For example, UE 115-f may restrict the frequency, duration, or location that device 115-e may be allowed to access the wireless network. In some examples, the access restrictions include access time duration limits, quality-of-service (QoS) parameters, traffic type restrictions, time of use specifications, an expiry time, maximum bandwidth limits, service parameters, uplink throughput limits, or downlink throughput limits; Paragraphs 0060-0065)as.
In regards to claim 9, Lee discloses wherein before receiving, by the first terminal, the key material of the first terminal that is determined by the second terminal, the method further comprises: sending, by the first terminal, first information to the second terminal, wherein the first information is used to determine a first association relationship between the first terminal and the second terminal prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow 300, UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claims 13 & 20, Lee discloses wherein the initial verification message comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the first terminal; a default credential of the first terminal; or a network identifier of a local network of the first terminal (prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow 300, UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claim 14, Lee discloses sending, by the first terminal, first update indication information to the second terminal after the valid time expires, wherein the first update indication information is used to instruct the second terminal to update the key material of the first terminal (UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device; the identification information may be obtained without a local communication link. For example, information may be obtained by scanning a Quick Response (QR) code, accessing a uniform resource locator (URL), or by entering information printed on device 115-e or the associated documentation. Identification information may include a serial number of the device; UE 115-f may send an attach request via a base station 105 to MME 205-a. In some cases, UE 115-f may send a temporary identity (e.g., a GUTI) with the attach request. If the GUTI was issued by MME 205-a, it may have information about UE 115-f stored in memory; The UE 115-f may register the device 115-e to access the wireless network for service over the connection; the registration 315 may include associating the identification information for the device with the network credential of the UE 115-f. The registration may involve sending a request including the identification information of the device 115-e to HSS 210-a via MME; UE 115-f may communicate with HSS 210-a to update the subscriber's device subscription list stored in the HSS; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claim 17, Lee discloses wherein after sending, by the third-party function or the first network function, the first information to the second terminal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the third-party function or the first network function, the key material of the first terminal that is determined by the second terminal and sent by the second terminal; and sending, by the third-party function or the first network function, the key material of the first terminal to the first terminal (prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow 300, UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
In regards to claim 19, Lee discloses wherein before sending, by the third-party function, the first information to the second terminal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the third-party function, an initial verification message sent by the first terminal, wherein the initial verification message is used by the third-party function to check and trust the first terminal (prior to initiating the operations depicted by call flow 300, UE 115-f may establish a local communication link with the device 115-e to obtain identification information for device 115-e...UE 115-f may then obtain identification information 305 for device 115-e...If the association 320 is successful, HSS 210-a (or, in some cases, MME 205-a or another network entity) may send a confirmation message 325 to UE 115-f. The confirmation message 325 may include credentials for device 115-e to use for accessing the wireless network ...UE 115-f may then send credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 for the network to the device 115-e over the local communication link. The credentials for accessing the wireless network 330 may, as discussed, be different from the network credential of the UE; Paragraphs 0055-0065).
Conclusion
/SHARIF E ULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495