DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2023 and 06/12/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US20070253146A1).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a power storage module comprising:
a plurality of power storage devices each having a case having electrical conductivity (first capacitor 6A is completed when the end surface at the negative electrode side of capacitor element 14 inserted in metal case 15 is connected both mechanically and electrically to the inner bottom surface of metal case 15 by such means as laser welding. [Para. 0073]), and an electrode body housed in the case and including a positive current collector and a negative current collector (capacitor element 14 has a first electrode and a second electrode. One of the first electrode and the second electrode is a positive electrode, and the other is a negative electrode [0072]);
the power storage module comprising:
a power storage device pair (the capacitor device is characterized by a structure that a pair of the first capacitor and the second capacitor form a capacitor unit [Para. 0014]), having;
a first power storage device in which the case is a first case electrically connected to the negative current collector of the electrode body and held at a negative electrode potential (a model case, in which the first capacity 6A uses a metal case as a negative electrode [Para. 0066]); the first power storage device having a positive external terminal that is insulated from the first case and fixed to the first case; to be connected to the positive current collector of the electrode body in the first case (the positive electrode of capacitor element 14 is tapped through terminal 16a provided on terminal plate 16 and the negative electrode is tapped through metal case 15 [Para. 0075]); and
a second power storage device in which the case is a second case electrically connected to the positive current collector of the electrode body and held at a positive electrode potential (Second capacitor 6B uses a metal case as positive electrode [Para. 0066]); the second power storage device having a negative external terminal that is insulated from the second case and fixed to the second case, to be connected to the negative current collector of the electrode body in the second case (the positive electrode of capacitor element 14 is tapped through metal case 15 and the negative electrode is tapped through terminal 16a [Para. 0075]);
wherein the first case and the second case are electronically connected to each other, and the first power storage device and second power storage device are connected in series (capacitor device 100 comprises subunit 1 having a mutually connected plurality of capacitor units 6, each of which comprises two pieces of serially connected and coupled capacitors having opposite orientations to each other [Para. 0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue further discloses the power storage device pair is configured such that the first case of the first power storage device and the second case of the second power storage device are welded together (metal plate 19 is provided to bridge between the bottom exterior surface of metal case 15 of first capacitor 6A and bottom exterior surface of metal case 15 of second capacitor 6B, and coupled to metal case 15 by laser welding [Para. 0076]).
Regarding claim 3-4, Inoue further discloses a plurality of the power storage device pairs is provided; the first power storage device and the second power storage device that form each of the power storage device pairs are superposed on each other in a stacking direction ; and the power storage device pairs are stacked in the stacking direction with an insulating member intervening between adjacent ones of the power storage device pairs (a pair of the capacitors are so constructed that their polar orientations are opposite each other, and they are connected electronically and mechanically with metal plate 19 to configure capacitor unit 6. A plurality of capacitor unit 6 are connected to compose subunit 1 and a plurality of subunit one further connected to compose main unit 2 [Para. 0080]. Figs. 2-3A show that the two pairs are superimposed on each other in the stacking direction {Figs. 2-3A]. Subunit 1 is held in position between upper holder 7 and lower holder 8, both made of an insulation material [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue.
Regarding claims 3-4, Inoue discloses the limitations of claims 1-2 as outlined above. Inoue further appears to disclose the limitations of claims 3-4 as outlined in the 102 rejection above including wherein the pairs are “superimposed on each other in a stacking direction”.
However, to the extent Inoue may not teach this feature, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the orientation of the device pairs with no change to their respective functions. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device [See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)].
Conclusion
/CALEB U ORJI/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713