DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This is an office action in response to Applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 06/30/2026. Claims 1-6 are pending in the application and are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
3. All 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections are withdrawn, and all 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections from the previous office action are maintained.
Response to Arguments
4. In the arguments presented on p.6 of the amendment, the Applicant argues that Watanabe (US 20190184792 A1, cited in prior office action) in view of Yoshimatsu (US 20190070937 A1, cited in prior office action) does not teach the amended claim 1 limitations.
The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Watanabe still teaches wherein the switching valve (32A/B, Fig. 2A-B) comprises a rotary valve element (doors 32A/B are rotary, [0033]), and the rotary valve element comprises a valve element (the actual valve housing of 32A/B, Fig. 2A-B), a first flow path (32A1 or 32B1, Fig. 2A), and a second flow path (32A2 or 32B2, Fig. 2B), and
wherein by rotation of the switching valve (rotation of doors 32A/B, Fig. 2A-B), the first flow path can be communicated with any one of the plurality of fragrance generators (32A1 or 32B1 communicates with fragrance generator 36B, Fig. 2A), and the second flow path can be communicated with the external air introduction pipe (32A2 or 32B2 communicates with conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of valve 32A, Fig. 2A-C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 20190184792 A1), further in view of Yoshimatsu (US 20190070937 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a vehicle fragrance supply device (aroma generating device 22 for a vehicle, Fig. 1 and 2A-C), comprising:
a plurality of fragrance generators (fragrance cartridges 36A and B, Fig. 2A-C);
a supply pipe (air blowing port 40, Fig. 2A-C) configured to supply a fragrance generated from the plurality of fragrance generators to a vehicle cabin interior (“The perfume that is released from the cartridge 36B is, together with the blown air from the blower 30, released, via the air blowing path 38B and the air blowing channel 32B1, into the vehicle interior from the air blowing port 40”, Fig. 2A and [0034]);
a switching valve (valves 32A/B, Fig. 2A-C) configured to link the plurality of fragrance generators with the supply pipe (see Fig. 2A and B); and
an external air introduction pipe (conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of valve 32A, Fig. 2A-C) connected to the switching valve (valve 32A, Fig. 2A-C) and configured to introduce external air (air from blower 30, Fig. 2A-C),
wherein the switching valve is switchable between a first communication state (Fig. 2A) in which one fragrance generator of the plurality of fragrance generators (36B, Fig. 2A) and the supply pipe are communicated with each other (port 40, Fig. 2A), a second communication state (Fig. 2B) in which at least another one fragrance generator of the plurality of fragrance generators (36A, Fig. 2B) and the supply pipe are communicated with each other (port 40, Fig. 2A), and a third communication state (Fig. 2C),
wherein the switching valve (32A/B, Fig. 2A-B) comprises a rotary valve element (valves 32A/B are rotary, [0033]), and the rotary valve element comprises a valve element (the actual valve housing of 32A/B, Fig. 2A-B), a first flow path (32A1 or 32B1, Fig. 2A), and a second flow path (32A2 or 32B2, Fig. 2B), and
wherein by rotation of the switching valve (rotation of doors 32A/B, Fig. 2A-B), the first flow path can be communicated with any one of the plurality of fragrance generators (32A1 or 32B1 communicates with fragrance generator 36B, Fig. 2A), and the second flow path can be communicated with the external air introduction pipe (32A2 or 32B2 communicates with conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of valve 32A, Fig. 2B).
While Watanabe teaches a third communication state where the air introduction pipe and the supply pipes are fluidly blocked by the valve (see Fig. 2C), Watanabe fails to teach a third communication state in which the external air introduction pipe and the supply pipe are communicated with each other. It is important to note that in the Fig. 2C configuration that the purpose of the third communication state is to prevent aromas from being released (i.e., cut-off from any airflow, [0038-39]).
Yoshimatsu teaches a vehicle aroma generator (22, Fig. 2) having a plurality of aroma cartridges (34A-C, Fig. 2) each selected into individual separate airflow channels (doors 32A-D and 36A-D selecting airflow channels 40A-D, Fig. 2 and [0030]) connecting the air introduction pipe (conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of doors 32A-D, Fig. 2) with a supply pipe (42, Fig. 2), having a “third” communication state (channel 40D having no aroma cartridge, Fig. 2) where the external air introduction pipe and the supply pipe are communicated with each other (conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of doors 32A-D are in fluid connection via channel 40D to airflow path 42, Fig. 2), for the same purpose of preventing aromas from being released ([0030]).
Watanabe and Yoshimatsu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aroma generation for vehicle interiors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the valve structure of Watanabe with a valve structure having an airflow channel that is in fluid connection from the air introduction pipe to the supply pipe as taught by Yoshimatsu, because the substitution of this result yields the predictable result of preventing aromas from being released (Watanabe [0038-39] and Yoshimatsu [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Watanabe teaches wherein by rotation of the switching valve (valves 32A and B, Fig. 2A-C), switching among the first communication state, the second communication state, and the third communication state is performed (Fig. 2A-C).
Regarding claim 3, modified Watanabe teaches wherein, in the third communication state (Fig. 2C), all of the plurality of fragrance generators (cartridges 36A-B, Fig. 2C) are in a non-communicated state with the supply pipe ([0038]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Watanabe teaches a blower (30, Fig. 2A-C) provided at the air introduction pipe (conduit portion downstream of blower 30 but upstream of valve 32A, Fig. 2A-C), but fails to mention wherein the blower is provided at the supply pipe.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have rearranged the blower to be at a position at the supply pipe (port 40, Fig. 2A-C), because shifting the position of the blower would not have modified the operation of the apparatus (i.e., the fan would still generate airflow, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Regarding claim 5, modified Watanabe teaches wherein, when transitioning between the first communication state in which one fragrance generator of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the supply pipe (Fig. 2A) and the second communication state in which at least another fragrance generator of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the supply pipe (Fig. 2B), the switching valve passes through the third communication state (valves 32A and B are at intermediate positions at the third communication state relative to states Fig. 2A and 2B, i.e., the transition from Fig. 2A’s first communication state to Fig. 2B’s second communication state will inherently cross the Fig. 2C communication state before reaching Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 6, modified Watanabe teaches wherein the air blowing device is provided at an upstream side (blower 30, Fig. 2A-C), in flow direction of the fragrance (blows air in the direction indicated by arrow in port 40, Fig. 2A-C), of the plurality of fragrance generators (cartridges 36A-B, Fig. 2A-C) and the switching valve (32A/B, Fig. 2A-C), thus failing to teach wherein the air blowing device is provided at a downstream side.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have rearranged the blower to be at a position at the supply pipe (port 40, Fig. 2A-C), because shifting the position of the blower would not have modified the operation of the apparatus (i.e., the fan would still generate airflow, see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aham Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758