FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/13/2026 has been received and claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “blowing device” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “rotary valve element” has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder “element” coupled with functional language “rotary”, but it is modified by some structure “valve” that is ambiguous regarding whether that structure is sufficient for performing the claimed function. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20030062375 or KR20030077064 or KR20080104960) or Wang (CN107953752) in view of Koetteritz (DE102008033826).
As to Claim 1, Kim (‘375) discloses a vehicle fragrance supply device (see Figure 1), comprising:
a fragrance generator (18) configured to generate a fragrance;
a fragrance supply pipe (i.e. conduit connecting 18 and 19) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (18) to a vehicle cabin interior (29); and
an ion supply pipe (i.e. conduit connecting 19 and 20) connected (via 19) to the fragrance supply pipe (i.e. conduit connecting 18 and 19), through which ions generated at an ion generator (19) flow (see Figure 1).
Kim (‘375) discloses a vehicle fragrance supply device (see Figure 1), comprising:
a fragrance generator (19) configured to generate a fragrance;
a fragrance supply pipe (i.e. supply line which includes 20 and a conduit connecting 19 and 20 ) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (19) to a vehicle cabin interior (17); and
an ion supply pipe (i.e. conduit connecting 18 and 19) connected (via 19) to the fragrance supply pipe (i.e. supply line which includes 20 and a conduit connecting 19 and 20), through which ions generated at an ion generator (18) flow (see Figure 1).
Kim (‘960) discloses a vehicle fragrance supply device (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-4; English translation, Abstract), comprising:
a fragrance generator (50, 51, 52) configured to generate a fragrance (see entire document, particularly Figures 2-3; English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 23-29);
a fragrance supply pipe (i.e. airflow path from 40 and 30 to 51-52 and 60) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (50-52) to a vehicle cabin interior (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-3; English translation, p. 4 lines 18-24); and
an ion supply pipe (i.e. airflow path from 60 to 33, 22, 90) connected to the fragrance supply pipe (i.e. airflow path from 40 and 30 to 51-52 and 60), through which ions generated at an ion generator (60) flow (see Figures 2-3; English translation, p. 4 lines 22-24).
Wang (‘752) discloses a vehicle fragrance supply device (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; English translation, Abstract), comprising:
a fragrance generator (7) configured to generate a fragrance (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; English translation, particularly p. 3 – 2nd line from the bottom);
a fragrance supply pipe (i.e. conduit from 7 to the air outlet) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (7) to a vehicle cabin interior (see entire document, particularly Figure 1; English translation, p. 3 – 2nd to 4th lines from the bottom); and
an ion supply pipe (i.e. conduit from 6 and 7) connected (via 7) to the fragrance supply pipe (i.e. conduit from 7 to the air outlet), through which ions generated at an ion generator (7) flow (see Figure 1).
None of Kim (‘960 or ‘375 or ‘064) and Wang (‘752) appear to specifically teach that a plurality of the fragrance generators is provided, nor that the vehicle fragrance supply device further comprises a single switch valve that is switchable between a state in which one of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe, and a state in which another of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of fragrance generators with a single switch valve in a fragrance supply device. Koetteritz (‘826) discloses a fragrance supply device (10) (see Figure) comprising:
a plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) configured to generate a fragrance;
a fragrance supply pipe (20, 30) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (30) to a cabin interior capable of being a vehicle interior (see Figure 2); and
a single switch valve (34 or 36) that is switchable between a state in which one (18) of the plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (20, 30), and a state in which another (28) of the plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (20, 30) (see Figure; see English translation, p. 3 2nd – 4th lines from the bottom and p. 4 lines 11-19),
in order to enable switching between multiple/different fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior (see entire English translation, particularly p. 3 – 2nd – 6th lines from the bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of fragrance generators and a single switch valve with the vehicle fragrance supply device of Kim or Wang as a known configuration in order to provide multiple/different fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior as shown by Koetteritz.
Moreover, as to Claim 4, it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single switch valve such as a four-way switch valve where the ion supply pipe is connected to a four-way valve that is able to switch to a state in which the ion supply pipe rather than one of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicating with the fragrance supply pipe as a known alternate configuration in the vehicle fragrance supply device of Kim or Wang as modified by Koetteritz in order to allow selective control over which composition (i.e. one of a plurality of fragrances or ion) is provided to the vehicle cabin interior as desired. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, Claims 1 and 4 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Kim (‘960 or ‘375 or ‘064) or Wang (‘752), and Koetteritz (‘826).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (CN210970611) in view of Koetteritz (DE102008033826).
As to Claim 1, Chang (‘611) discloses a vehicle fragrance supply device (100) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2; English translation, Abstract), comprising:
a fragrance generator (176) configured to generate a fragrance (see entire English translation, particularly Abstract, p. 1 – “technical field”, p. 2 lines 12-14);
a fragrance supply pipe (172, 174, 120) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (176) to a vehicle cabin interior (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2; English translation, Abstract, p. 1 – “technical field”, p. 6 – 4th – 6th paragraphs); and
an ion supply pipe (i.e. airflow path from 162 to 164 that enters opening on 174) connected to the fragrance supply pipe (172, 174, 120) (see Figures 1-3), through which ions generated at an ion generator (160) flow (see Figures 1-3; English translation, p. 6 – 4th paragraph).
Chang (‘611) does not appear to specifically teach that a plurality of the fragrance generators is provided, nor that the vehicle fragrance supply device further comprises a single switch valve that is switchable between a state in which one of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe, and a state in which another of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of fragrance generators with a single switch valve in a fragrance supply device. Koetteritz (‘826) discloses a fragrance supply device (10) (see Figure) comprising:
a plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) configured to generate a fragrance;
a fragrance supply pipe (20, 30) configured to supply a generated scent from the fragrance generator (30) to a cabin interior capable of being a vehicle interior (see Figure 2); and
a single switch valve (34 or 36) that is switchable between a state in which one (18) of the plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (20, 30), and a state in which another (28) of the plurality of fragrance generators (18, 28, 12) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (20, 30) (see Figure),
in order to enable switching between multiple/different fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior (see entire English translation, particularly p. 3 – 2nd – 6th lines from the bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of fragrance generators and a single switch valve with the vehicle fragrance supply device of Chang as a known configuration in order to provide multiple/different fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior as shown by Koetteritz.
As to Claim 2, Chang (‘611) discloses that a blowing device (110) is provided at the fragrance supply pipe (172, 174, 120) (see Figure 1), and
the ion supply pipe (i.e. airflow path from 162 to 164 that enters opening on 174) is connected to the fragrance supply pipe (172, 174, 120) between the blowing device (110) and the fragrance generator (176).
As to Claim 4, it would have been obvious to and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a single switch valve such as a four-way switch valve where the ion supply pipe is connected to a single four-way valve that is able to switch to a state in which the ion supply pipe rather than one of the plurality of fragrance generators is communicating with the fragrance supply pipe as a known alternate configuration in the vehicle fragrance supply device of Chang as modified by Koetteritz in order to allow selective control over which composition (i.e. one of a plurality of fragrances or ion) is provided to the vehicle cabin interior as desired. Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, Claims 1-2 and 4 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Chang (‘611) and Koetteritz (‘826).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR20080104960 or KR20030062375 or KR20030077064) or Wang (CN107953752) or Chang (CN210970611) in view of Koetteritz (DE102008033826)as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe (JP2019038385).
Kim (‘960 or ‘375 or ‘064) or Wang (‘752) or Chang (‘611), and Koetteritz (‘826) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
None of Kim (‘960 or ‘375 or ‘064), Wang (‘752), Chang (‘611), and Koetteritz (‘826) appear to specifically teach that the single switch valve is provided with a rotary valve element, a first flow path and a second flow path.
It was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a switch valve comprised of a rotary valve element which includes a first flow path and a second flow path in a fragrance supply device. Watanabe (‘385) exemplifies a fragrance supply device (100) (see Figures 1-2) comprising:
a plurality of fragrance generators (36A, 36B) configured to generate a fragrance;
a fragrance supply pipe (40) configured to supply a generated scent from the plurality of fragrance generators (36A, 36B) to a cabin interior of a vehicle interior (see Figures 1-2; entire English translation, p. 4 [0017] – line 162 and p. 5 [0019] – lines 181-183); and
a switch valve (32A, 32B) that is switchable between a state in which one (36A or 36B) of the plurality of fragrance generators (36A, 36B) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (40) (see Figure 2B or 2A), and a state in which another (36B or 36A) of the plurality of fragrance generators (36A, 36B) is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe (40) (see Figure 2A or 2B),
in order to control selection and emission of a plurality of fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior (see Figure 2; entire English translation, particularly p. 4 [0017], p. 5 [0019]-[0020], p. 6 [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a switch valve provided with a rotary valve element, a first flow path and a second flow path with the vehicle fragrance supply device of Kim or Wang or Chang as modified by Koetteritz as a known internal configuration of a switch valve in order to control selection and emission of multiple/different fragrances to the vehicle cabin interior as exemplified by Watanabe.
Thus, Claim 6 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Kim (‘960 or ‘375 or ‘064) or Wang (‘752) or Chang (‘611), Koetteritz (‘826) and Watanabe (‘385).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s argument on p. 5 of Remarks in regard to Koetteritz, examiner disagrees and points out that while Koetteritz discloses two separate valves 34 and 36, Koetteritz also indicated that either one of valves 34 and/or 36 may be a three-way/switch valve (see English translation, p. 3 2nd – 3rd lines from the bottom and p. 4 lines 15-17); thus, Koetteritz does teach a configuration with only one/single three way/switch valve 34 (or 36) “that is switchable between a state in which one of the plurality of the fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe, and another state in which another of the plurality of the fragrance generators is communicated with the fragrance supply pipe”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758