Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 08/03/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended.
Claim 9 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/03/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Objections/Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rocker mechanism”; “rotating output shaft”; and “circuit board” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 10 recite limitations “the housing is configured to be fixed to two sides of the rocker mechanism through the side clamping pieces”; “the magnetic induction module is accommodated in the second cavity and is configured to be welded to a circuit board arranged below the housing”; “the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism” are indefinite. Because Examiner read para [0026]-[0027], [0035]-[0036] of claimed invention and it is not clear how the housing is fixed to two sides of rocker mechanism as rocker mechanism is not shown in drawing. It is unclear how the through hole receives rotating output shaft of rocker mechanism and how the rotating output shaft is connected to rocker mechanism and rotating output shaft and rocker mechanism are not shown in drawing. It is also unclear how the induction module is welded to circuit board and how the circuit board is arranged below the housing as circuit board is not shown in drawing.
For purpose of examination Examiner interprets Shenzhen teaches housing 200 is fixed to two sides of rocker mechanism 24 in fig. 1 and Fig. 3; and magnetic induction module 30 is welded on printed circuit board 40 in fig. 1; See [0044].
For purpose of examination Examiner interprets Nishimura teaches the through hole receives rotating output shaft of rocker mechanism and how the rotating output shaft is connected to rocker mechanism (through hole of housing 1 receives rotating output shaft 3 of rocker mechanism in Fig. 1; See [0025]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENZHEN et al. (Patent NO. CN 210156311 (U); hereinafter Shenzhen; translation attached) in view of NISHIMURA et al. (Patent NO. JPH08236314 (A); hereinafter Nishimura; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Shenzhen teaches an electromagnetic induction potentiometer (See Fig. 1-Fig. 3 and Fig. below) for use in a rocker mechanism (rocker mechanism 24 in Fig. 3), comprising:
a housing (housing 200 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0036]),
a rotor (rotor 12, 11 in fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0036]-[0040]),
a permanent magnet (13 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0037]), and
a magnetic induction module (30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0038]);
wherein side clamping pieces are respectively arranged on two sides of the housing (clamping pieces 24 are arranged two sides of housing in fig. 3), and the housing is configured to be fixed to two sides of the rocker mechanism through the side clamping pieces (housing 200 is fixed to two sides of rocker mechanism 24 in fig. 1 and Fig. 3);
wherein the housing defines a first cavity and a second cavity (upper cavity of 200 is first cavity and lower cavity of 200 is second cavity in Fig. 3);
the rotor is accommodated in the first cavity (rotor 12, 11 is accommodated in upper cavity of 200 in Fig. 3); and
is rotatable relative to the housing (See [0036]-[0038]);
the magnetic induction module is accommodated in the second cavity (23/30 is accommodated in lower cavity of 200 in Fig. 3) and is configured to be welded to a circuit board arranged below the housing (magnetic induction module 30 is welded on printed circuit board 40 arranged below housing 200 in fig. 1; See [0044]);
the rotor comprises a through hole and fasteners (11 has first though hole inside where fastener 212 is accommodated in Fig. 1);
the fasteners are configured to fix the permanent magnet on the rotor (fastener 212 to fix permanent magnet 13 to rotor 11 in Fig. 1).
Shenzhen is silent about the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism, so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing when the rotating output shaft rotates;
Nishimura teaches the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism (through hole of housing 1 receives rotating output shaft 3 of rocker mechanism in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]), so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing when the rotating output shaft rotates (when rotating output shaft rotates everything inside housing 1 rotates in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shenzhen by using the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism, so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing when the rotating output shaft rotates, as taught by in order to sense rotating position (Nishimura; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 1. Shenzhen further teaches wherein two fasteners are provided (two fasteners 212 and 24 in Fig. 1); the two fasteners are respectively disposed on two sides of the permanent magnet (212 and 24 are on two side of permanent magnet 13 in Fig. 1); a support portion is disposed below the permanent magnet (support portion 211 below 13 in fig. 1); an accommodating space for the permanent magnet is defined between the two fasteners and the support portion (accommodating space 22 for 13 is defined between 212/24 and 211 in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 2. Shenzhen further teaches wherein a stroke groove is defined on the housing (See the stroke groove of 12 of housing 20 in Fig. 3); top portions of the two fasteners are accommodated in the stroke groove (top portion of 212 and 24 are in stroke groove of 12 in Fig. 3 ion Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 1. Shenzhen further teaches wherein the through hole is a rectangular through hole (the cross section of hole inside 200 is rectangular through hole in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 1. Shenzhen further teaches wherein a round through hole is defined on a middle portion of the first cavity of the housing (See the round cavity of 200 in Fig. 3); claw locks are respectively arranged on two sides of the through hole of the rotor (See the claw locks if 11 in Fig. 6 and fig. below); and the claw locks are snapped on an edge of the round through hole (11 is positioned inside hole of 200 by claw locks in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 1. Shenzhen further teaches wherein an arc protrusion is arranged on a surface of the rotor close to an inner side of the housing (See the arc protrusion of 23 closer to rotor 11 to inner side of housing 200 in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 1. Shenzhen further teaches wherein the magnetic induction module is packaged as an integrated circuit chip (30 is packaged ac IC on board 40 in fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Shenzhen in view of Nishimura teaches the electromagnetic induction potentiometer according to claim 7. Shenzhen further teaches wherein notches are defined on a bottom portion of the second cavity of the housing (See the notches of bottom portion of 200 in fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Shenzhen teaches an electromagnetic induction potentiometer (See Fig. 1-Fig. 3 and Fig. below) potentiometer for use in a rocker mechanism (rocker mechanism 24 in Fig. 3), comprising:
a housing (housing 200 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0036]),
a rotor (rotor 12, 11 in fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0036]-[0040]),
a permanent magnet, and
a magnetic induction module (13 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0037]);
wherein the housing defines a first cavity and a second cavity (upper cavity of 200 is first cavity and lower cavity of 200 is second cavity in Fig. 3);
the rotor is accommodated in the first cavity (rotor 12, 11 is accommodated n upper cavity of 200 in Fig. 3);
the rotor is rotatable relative to the housing (See [0036]-[0038]);
the magnetic induction module is accommodated in the second cavity (23/30 is accommodated in lower cavity of 200 in Fig. 3);
the rotor comprises a through hole and two fasteners (11 has first though hole inside where two fasteners 212, 24 is accommodated in Fig. 1);
the two fasteners are configured to fix the permanent magnet on the rotor (fastener 212, 24 to fix permanent magnet 13 to rotor 11 in Fig. 1);
the two fasteners are respectively disposed on two sides of the permanent magnet (212 and 24 are on two side of permanent magnet 13 in Fig. 1);
a support portion is disposed below the permanent magnet (support portion 211 below 13 in fig. 1;
an accommodating space for the permanent magnet is defined between the two fasteners and the support portion (accommodating space 22 for 13 is defined between 212/24 and 211 in Fig. 1);
wherein a stroke groove is defined on the housing (See the stroke groove of 12 of housing 20 in Fig. 3);
top portions of the two fasteners are accommodated in the stroke groove (top portion of 212 and 24 are in stroke groove of 12 in Fig. 3 ion Fig. 1);
the through hole is a rectangular through hole (the cross section of hole inside 200 is rectangular through hole in Fig. 3);
a round through hole is defined on a middle portion of the first cavity of the housing (See the round cavity of 200 in Fig. 3);
claw locks are respectively arranged on two sides of the through hole of the rotor (See the claw locks of 11 in Fig. 6 and fig. below); and
the claw locks (See the claw locks of 11 in Fig. 6 and fig. below) are snapped on an edge of the round through hole (11 is positioned inside hole of 200 by claw locks in Fig. 3);
an arc protrusion is arranged on a surface of the rotor close to an inner side of the housing (See the arc protrusion of 23 closer to rotor 11 to inner side of housing 200 in Fig. 3);
the magnetic induction module is packaged as an integrated circuit chip (30 is packaged ac IC on board 40 in fig. 1) configured to be welded to a circuit board arranged below the housing (magnetic induction module 30 is welded on printed circuit board 40 arranged below housing 200 in fig. 1; See [0044]);
side clamping pieces are respectively arranged on two sides of the housing (clamping pieces of 40 are arranged on two sides housing 200 in fig. 3; See [0043]-[0045]), and the housing is configured to be fixed to two sides of the rocker mechanism through the side clamping pieces (housing 200 is fixed to two sides of rocker mechanism 24 in fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Shenzhen is silent about the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism, so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing when the rotating output shaft rotates.
Nishimura teaches the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism (through hole of housing 1 receives rotating output shaft 3 of rocker mechanism in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]), so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing (when the rotating output shaft rotates when rotating output shaft rotates everything inside housing 1 rotates in Fig. 1; See [0025]-[0030]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shenzhen by using the through hole is configured to receive a rotating output shaft of the rocker mechanism, so as to drive the rotor to rotate relative to the housing when the rotating output shaft rotates, as taught by in order to sense rotating position (Nishimura; [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858