DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A and Species v in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-6, 9, 10, 14-16, 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/2026. [Note: Applicant indicated claims 6 and 16 as readable on the elected species, but claims 6 and 16 are directed to a bubbler comprising a first fluid path and a separate second fluid path, which, as best understood from paras [0132-139] and Fig. 9 of the instant specification, corresponds to unelected species D.]
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BREATHING GAS HUMIDIFIER WITH SELECTIVE BUBBLING FUNCTIONALITY.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preambles of claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17 and 18 should read “The breathing gas humidifier” for clearer antecedent basis
Claim 3 would be clearer if it were to read “wherein is arranged to be changed by means of compressed air” to make it clearer that the element is not changed with respect to itself
Claim 7 would be clearer if it were to read “the bubbler elementcomprises” in order to make it clear that “forming” is not an action to be performed by the bubbler element
Claim 13, line 2 should read “change a position” for clearer antecedent basis
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, “branching off in a star shape” is indeterminate in scope. Branching off…from what? And stars come in many shapes, e.g. the sun is round/a ball, and is often drawn by children as a half-moon shape with radiating lines along the curved portion, the Star of David has six points with no central element, etc., all of which are different shapes, rendering it unclear what shape is intended to be claimed. As best understood, for purposes of examination, a shape with bodies that radiate like spokes in a plane from a central location is the disclosed “star shape,” see e.g. instant Fig. 1a, such that Applicant could address this rejection by amending claims 8 and 18 to read e.g. “radially extending in a plane from a central portion”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of compressed air” in claims 3 and 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loescher et al. (US 2010/0282256 A1; hereinafter “Loescher”).
Regarding claim 1, Loescher discloses a breathing gas humidifier (apparatus 10) (Fig. 1; the device comprehends a breathing gas humidifier because the liquid to be provided therein is taught to be water, see para [0015], and at least some water vapor will be entrained as breathing gas flows through the device as shown in Figs. 10-11, in the same way as the instantly disclosed device, see e.g. Figs. 1a-1b of the instant specification, thus humidifying the gas) comprising:
a water chamber (defined by water reservoir or jar 12 and cap 11) comprising a first area (lower area in Figs. 10-11) for receiving water (liquid 31) (para [0015]) and a second area (upper area in Figs. 10-11) for receiving breathing gas (arrows in Figs. 10-11) (paras [0015] and [0024]);
an inlet (opening 29) for supplying breathing gas to the humidifier (Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]);
an outlet (outlet ports 15) for discharging conditioned breathing gas from the humidifier (Fig. 1 in view of Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]); and
a bubbler comprising a bubbler element (drop tube 22) with outlet openings (gas diffusing ports 23) (Figs. 3, 7, 8, 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]),
wherein the breathing gas humidifier is configured to provide a first configuration with a fluidic connection between the inlet and the first area via the bubbler element to pass the supplied breathing gas through water in the first area so as to obtain the conditioned breathing gas (Fig. 11),
wherein the breathing gas humidifier is configured to provide a second configuration with a fluidic connection between the inlet and the second area to direct the breathing gas along a water surface of water in the first area so as to obtain the conditioned breathing gas (Fig. 10), and
wherein the breathing gas humidifier is configured to be selectively switched (via lever 16) between the first configuration and the second configuration (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 1, further comprising a position-variable element (any or all of lever 16, tube 30 and tube 22) configured to provide the first configuration in a first position and to provide the second configuration in a second position (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 2, wherein the bubbler element is adapted to form the position-variable element (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Loescher discloses a breathing gas humidifier (apparatus 10) (Fig. 1; the device comprehends a breathing gas humidifier because the liquid to be provided therein is taught to be water, see para [0015], and at least some water vapor will be entrained as breathing gas flows through the device as shown in Figs. 10-11, in the same way as the instantly disclosed device, see e.g. Figs. 1a-1b of the instant specification, thus humidifying the gas) comprising:
a water chamber (defined by water reservoir or jar 12 and cap 11) comprising a first area (lower area in Figs. 10-11) for receiving water (liquid 31) (para [0015]) and a second area (upper area in Figs. 10-11) for receiving breathing gas (arrows in Figs. 10-11) (paras [0015] and [0024]);
an inlet (opening 29) for supplying breathing gas to the humidifier (Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]);
an outlet (outlet ports 15) for discharging conditioned breathing gas from the humidifier (Fig. 1 in view of Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]); and
a bubbler comprising a bubbler element (drop tube 22) with outlet openings (gas diffusing ports 23) (Figs. 3, 7, 8, 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]), and
configuration changing means (the arrangement between lever 16, tube 30 and tube 22) for providing a first configuration with a fluidic connection between the inlet and the first area via the bubbler element to pass the supplied breathing gas through water in the first area so as to obtain the conditioned breathing gas (Fig. 11), and for providing a second configuration with a fluidic connection between the inlet and the second area to direct the breathing gas along a water surface of water in the first area so as to obtain the conditioned breathing gas (Fig. 10), and for being selectively switched between the first configuration and the second configuration (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 11, wherein the configuration changing means comprises a position-variable element (any or all of lever 16, tube 30 and tube 22) configured to provide the first configuration in a first position and to provide the second configuration in a second position (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 12, wherein the bubbler element includes the position-variable element (Figs. 10-11; paras [0015] and [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loescher in view of Zhu (CN 113483425 A; hereinafter “Zhu”, wherein the citations below refer to the translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 3, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 2, but Loescher is silent regarding wherein the position-variable element is arranged to be changed with respect to a position of the position-variable element by means of compressed air. However, providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, see MPEP 2144.04 III, and Zhu teaches that it was known in the respiratory humidifier art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vertically-adjustable, position-variable element (filter screen 4/lifting plate 5) (Figs. 2-4) wherein the position-variable element is arranged to be changed with respect to a position of the position-variable element by means of compressed air (pneumatic rod 7 is driven by the controller to control the lifting plate 5 to ascend or descend, second-to-last para on page 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vertical adjustment mechanism of Loescher with the pneumatic vertical adjustment mechanism of Zhu, thus providing wherein the position-variable element is arranged to be changed with respect to a position of the position-variable element by means of compressed air, in order to provide the predictable result of an automated means for controlling the vertical adjustment of the bubbler element of Loescher for ease of use and/or remote control.
Regarding claim 13, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claim 12, but Loescher is silent regarding wherein the configuration changing means comprises an actuating means to change the position of the position-variable element between the first position and the second position by means of compressed air. However, providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplishes the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, see MPEP 2144.04 III, and Zhu teaches that it was known in the respiratory humidifier art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include configuration changing means (comprising a controller, pneumatic rod 7, lifting plate 5 and filter screen 4) (Figs. 2-4; page 4) that comprises an actuating means (comprising the controller and pneumatic rod 7) to change the position of the position-variable element (filter screen 4/lifting plate 5) between a first position and a second position by means of compressed air (pneumatic rod 7 is driven by the controller to control the lifting plate 5 to ascend or descend, second-to-last para on page 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vertical adjustment mechanism of Loescher with the pneumatic vertical adjustment mechanism of Zhu, thus providing wherein the configuration changing means comprises an actuating means to change the position of the position-variable element between the first position and the second position by means of compressed air, in order to provide the predictable result of an automated means for controlling the vertical adjustment of the bubbler element of Loescher for ease of use and/or remote control.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loescher in view of Brown (US 4,622,139; hereinafter “Brown”).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Loescher discloses the breathing gas humidifier according to claims 7 and 17, Loescher teaches that small bubbles are desirable in order to produce a steady, regular and quiet flow of gas (Loescher para [0023]), but Loescher is silent regarding wherein the bubbler element comprises a plurality of hollow bodies branching off in a star shape. However, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04.IV.B, and Brown teaches that it was known in the bubbler element art/to solve the problem of evenly distributing small bubbles into a liquid column before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a bubbler element to comprise a plurality of hollow bodies branching off in a star shape (Figs. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Loescher to include wherein the bubbler element comprises a plurality of hollow bodies branching off in a star shape as taught by Brown, in order to provide the predictable result of a steady, regular and quiet flow of gas by ensuring the production of small bubbles/avoiding the formation of larger bubbles (Loescher para [0023]; Brown col. 1, lines 20-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references that could be applied under 35 USC 102 to reject at least claim 1: Bertoli (US 7,926,791 B1); Deaton (US 3,744,771); Lanfranchi (EP 2123321 A1); Pan (CN 105664317 B). Additional references teaching other known means for adjusting the height of bubbler tubes: Beyreuther et al. (US 4,459,983); Brossman, Jr. (US 4,566,450); DiBlasi et al. (US 2011/0073112 A1); Gutierrez Fonseca et al. (US 2012/0160242 A1); Hsiung (US 2018/0272097 A1 and US 9,765,928 B2); Jacobs et al. (US 2005/0072470 A1); Newman, Jr. (US 8,225,787 B2); Sims (US 2025/0332361 A1); Stenzler et al. (US 2014/0166013 A1); Tian (CN 107626025 B). Additional reference teaching directing humidifier air either above or under fluid: Li et al. (CN 111001072 A). Additional references teaching “star shaped” bubblers: Alenzi (US 8,622,370 B1); Hill (US 4,892,651); Magen (US 8,500,107 B2); McCullough (US 4,048,072); McWhirter et al. (US 3,911,064); Zhu (CN 202620424 U). Additional references teaching the interchangeability of manual, electric, pneumatic or hydraulic actuators in respiratory devices, including humidifiers: Abrams (US 2011/0283996 A1; Figs. 41, 43 and 48L); Gulanes et al. (US 2017/0152989 A1; para [0091]); Yang et al. (CN 104879873 A).
/KATHRYN E DITMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785