DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 for Application No. CN 202311205764 filed on 09/19/2023.
Duty to Disclose
No Information Disclosure Statement has been filed in the instant application. Examiner respectfully reminds Applicant of the duty of disclosure per 37 CFR 1.56 (a).
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for informalities, lack of antecedent support, or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 1: line 19, replace “module;” with “module; and”
Claim 2: line 4, replace “n noise” with “noise”
Claim 3: line 2, replace “whrein” with “wherein”; and line 3, replace “the dynamic temperature monitoring module” with “the dynamic monitoring module for temperature”
Claim 4: line 2, replace “claim 3,:” with “claim 3,”
Claim 5: line 2, replace “claim 1,:” with “claim 1,”; line 4, replace “a noise” with “the noise”; line 5, replace “a driving” with “the driving”; and line 9, replace “fan (2);” with “fan(2); and”
Claim 7: line 8, replace “frame (1);” with “frame (1); and”
Claim 8: line 3 and line 5, replace “wind speed sensor” with “the wind speed sensor”; line 3 and line 5, replace “thermometer” with “the thermometer”; and line 4, replace “fan (2);” with “fan (2); and”
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Referring to independent claim 1, this claim recites the claim limitations an “monitoring module”. As described in at least paragraph [0009] and [0016] of the published specification, the “monitoring module” is described as a function, however, without sufficient structure. For purposes of examination the “monitoring module” will be construed as sensor(s).
Claim 2 recites the claim limitations a “dynamic monitoring module for air pressure and wind speed”, a “dynamic monitoring module for temperature”, and a “dynamic monitoring module for n noise”. For purposes of examination, As described in at least paragraph [0009] and [0016] of the published specification, the “monitoring module” is described as a function, however, without sufficient structure. For purposes of examination the “dynamic monitoring module for air pressure and wind speed”, the “dynamic monitoring module for temperature”, and the “dynamic monitoring module for n noise” will be construed as sensor(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a sensor” in lines 2-3. The claim also recites that “the sensor comprises a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a sound level meter sensor” in lines 7-8. It is unclear how a sensor can comprise three sensors. Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, “a sensor” and “the sensor” will be interpreted as “sensors” and “the sensors”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to …”. It is unclear what the difference is between “an artificial intelligence” and “artificial intelligence technology”. Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “a cloud computing and artificial intelligence technology are used to …”
Claim 1 recites the additional limitation “an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology”. It is unclear what the difference is between “an artificial intelligence” and “artificial intelligence technology”. In addition, it is unclear how the “an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used … through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology”, as an artificial intelligence is a type of a machine learning algorithm. (emphasis added) Further, it is unclear what Applicant means by “deal with”. Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, the additional limitation will be interpreted as “a cloud computing and an artificial intelligence are used to identify an abnormal condition in environment.”
Claims 2-8 are dependent claims of claim 1. The claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 3 recites “wh[e]rein an artificial intelligence of the communication and data processor, the cloud computing data and the dynamic temperature monitoring module are respectively provided with an environmental temperature numerical opening point and an environmental temperature numerical closing point”. It is unclear what Applicant means by “an artificial intelligence of the communication and data processor”. There is no antecedent support for “the communication and data processor”. In addition, it is unclear how “the cloud computing data” is provided with an environmental temperature numerical opening point …”, in other words, it is unclear how data is provided data. (emphasis added) Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “wherein the cloud computing and an artificial intelligence are provided an environmental temperature numerical opening point and an environmental temperature numerical closing point.”
Claim 4 is dependent claims of claim 3. The claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 4 recites “the opening point of the fan is set at 40 degrees Celsius, and the closing point is set at 25 degrees Celsius”. It is unclear what Applicant means by the “opening point of the fan” and “the closing point” of the fan. Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “a temperature to turn on the fan is set at 40 degrees Celsius, and a temperature to turn off the fan is set at 25 degrees Celsius.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation “an outside of the installation frame (1) is provided with a noise reduction mechanism inside”. It is unclear how the outside of the frame can be provided with a mechanism inside. (emphasis added) Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the installation frame (1) is provided with a noise reduction mechanism inside the installation frame (1)”.
Claim 5 recites the additional limitation “one side of the installation frame (1) away from the driving device is provided with the control electric box (3)”. It is unclear what Applicant means by “one side of the installation frame (1) away from the driving device”, as the “away from the driving device” suggests a directional description. Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the limitation will be interpreted as “opposite side of the installation frame (1) from the side that the driving device is mounted is provided with the control electric box (3) mounted externally onto the installation frame (1).”
Claims 6-8 are dependent claims of claim 5. The claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Further, Independent claim 1 limitation “monitoring module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the monitoring. The use of the term “module” is not adequate structure for performing the monitoring because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-8 are dependent claims of claim 1. The claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
For similar reasons as discussed above for claim 1, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 3-4 are dependent claims of claim 2. The claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of monitoring. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-8 are dependent claims of claim 1. The claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), and therefore, claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
For similar reasons as discussed above for claim 1, claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 3-4 are dependent claims of claim 2. The claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), and therefore, claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Analytis et al. (US 2023/0125880 A1) (“Analytis”), in view of HE et al. (CN 216240336 U) (“He”), further in view of Shen et al. (Shen, Gongtian & Zhang, Junjiao & Lackner, Gerald, (2020), International acoustic emission standard analysis and development outlook, Insight ‐ Non‐Destructive Testing and Condition Monitoring. 62. 724‐734. 10.1784/insi.2020.62.12.724.) (“Shen”), further in view of Laughton et al. (US 2022/0303339 A1) (“Laughton”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Analytis teaches:
An intelligent control and ventilation energy-saving muffling system based on cloud system is characterized by comprising the following components: (Analytis: [0042] “The description below discloses various embodiments of a novel installation system and method for installing a split-architecture air conditioning unit through a window. As discussed herein, the term air conditioning unit can apply to a unit configured to condition air in various suitable ways including one or more of heating, cooling, moving air with a fan, de-humidifying, humidifying, filtering, and the like.”)
a monitoring module, a sensor, a communication equipment, a controller, a data processor, an internet cloud system, (Analytis: [0071] “In various embodiments, the modular air conditioning unit 100 can comprise various suitable sensors and other additional hardware. For example, the indoor unit 110 and/or outdoor unit 130 can comprise a temperature sensor, humidity sensor, barometric pressure sensor, light sensor, and the like. It can be desirable for the indoor and outdoor units to both have such sensors so that environmental conditions of both an indoor and outdoor environment can be determined.”) (Analytis: [0072] “Also, in various embodiments the modular air conditioning unit 100 can comprise a suitable computing device configured to perform one or more steps of at least one of the methods discussed herein, with such a computing system including elements such as a processor, memory, power source, sensor, communication unit, and the like. …”) (Analytis: [0076] “In some embodiments, there can be one or more external interface that is separate from the modular air conditioner unit 100. For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an example of an air conditioner network 700 that comprises modular air conditioner unit 100, a user device 710 and a server 730, which are operably connected via a network 750. In some embodiments, the user device 710 can be directly operably connected to the modular air conditioner unit 100 via a wired and/or wireless connection such as Bluetooth, or the like.”) (Analytis: [0080] “Additionally, in some embodiments the air conditioner network 700 can comprise external sensors such as temperature sensor, humidity sensor, barometric pressure sensor, light sensor, and the like, which can be disposed in internal or external environments to collect data about the same. Such sensors can be operably coupled to the modular air conditioner unit 100 directly via a wired and/or wireless connection or via the network 750 as discussed herein.”) [The collective sensors reads on “a monitoring module”. Any one of the sensors reads on “a sensor”. The communication unit reads on “a communication equipment”. The computing system reads on “a controller”. The processor reads on “a data processor”. The network with the connected server and the user device reads on “an internet cloud system”.]
an electrical controller, and a cooling and noise reduction equipment; (Analytis: [0076] as discussed above) (Analytis: [0137] “Furthermore, for proper room mixing and improved energy efficiency, in some embodiments the outlet air of an indoor unit 110 can automatically be directed downward in Heating mode, and upwards in Cooling mode by various suitable elements (e.g., stepper motors and a louver system 540 in front of the indoor fan 314). In some examples, a user may also choose to direct the louvers 540 left or right depending on how the system 100 is situated in a room (e.g., to deflect away from walls and furniture, and towards occupants). In various embodiments, air flow direction of the louvers 540 can be set at a static position, or in a sweeping motion, based on user preference.”) [The indoor unit reads on “a cooling and noise reduction equipment”, and the part of the computing system that controls the indoor unit reads on “an electrical controller”.]
wherein, the monitoring module is used for dynamic monitoring pressure, temperature and noise; the sensor comprises a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, … ; (Analytis: [0071] as discussed above) (Analytis: [0142] “In some examples, sensors internal to the system 100, such as thermistors and pressure sensors on refrigerant lines, and air temperature and humidity sensors near an air intake, and the like, are used to monitor the system 100 and improve a control scheme to run efficiently or for other suitable purposes. Data can be collected across multiple systems 100 wirelessly in various embodiments via a network 750, (e.g., such as through Wi-Fi, cellular communication and the like), and sent to a database (e.g., on a server 730). This data can be monitored in some examples to improve control algorithms and to provide troubleshooting and customer service.”)
the communication equipment receives real-time data transmitted by the monitoring module and upload it to the internet cloud system; the data processor stores … and includes a temperature data storage; (Analytis: [0080] “Additionally, in some embodiments the air conditioner network 700 can comprise external sensors such as temperature sensor, humidity sensor, barometric pressure sensor, light sensor, and the like, which can be disposed in internal or external environments to collect data about the same. Such sensors can be operably coupled to the modular air conditioner unit 100 directly via a wired and/or wireless connection or via the network 750 as discussed herein.”) (Analytis: [0082] “In some such embodiments, the plurality of modular air conditioner units 100 can be controlled by one or more servers 750, can send data to one or more servers 750 and/or can obtain data from one or more servers 750. For example, as discussed in more detail herein, use data from a plurality of modular air conditioner units 100 can be sent to a central server 750, where such data can be stored and used for various purposes such as to improve the operating software of one or more of the modular air conditioner units 100, provide suggestions to users associated with one or more modular air conditioner units 100 (e.g., via user devices 710), and the like. In some embodiments as discussed in more detail herein, a utility entity can control a plurality of modular air conditioner units 100 (e.g., via a utility entity server 730).”) [The collecting data from the collective sensors reads on “receives real-time data transmitted by the monitoring module”, and the central server receiving the collected data from the computing system reads on the computing system “upload it to the internet cloud system”. Data collection of the temperatures reads on “… includes a temperature data storage”.]
… a cloud computing … used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment … and data comparison technology; (Analytis: [0142] “In some examples, sensors internal to the system 100, such as thermistors and pressure sensors on refrigerant lines, and air temperature and humidity sensors near an air intake, and the like, are used to monitor the system 100 and improve a control scheme to run efficiently or for other suitable purposes. Data can be collected across multiple systems 100 wirelessly in various embodiments via a network 750, (e.g., such as through Wi-Fi, cellular communication and the like), and sent to a database (e.g., on a server 730). This data can be monitored in some examples to improve control algorithms and to provide troubleshooting and customer service.”) (Analytis: [0144] “For example, a method of operating a modular air conditioner 100 can include monitoring refrigerant condition, coolant conditions, ambient indoor conditions and/or ambient outdoor conditions (e.g., via one or more suitable sensors); determining that humidity levels are outside of a desirable range (e.g., default range or range set by a user); determining a response that is unlikely to cause over-drying or moisture buildup at the modular air conditioner 100; implementing the determined response; determining that humidity levels are inside the desirable range; and terminating the determined response based on the determination that humidity levels are inside the desirable range.”) [Determining the actual level is inside the desirable range reads on “data comparison technology”. Determining that the actual level is outside of the desirable range and implementing the response reads on “identify and deal with an abnormal condition”.]
the Internet cloud system accepts data processor information and the communication module is used for remote control; (Analytis: [0082] as discussed above) (Analytis: [0078] “The server 730 can comprise one or more virtual or non-virtual computing systems. In various embodiments, such a server 730 can be configured to obtain and/or send data from one or more user device 710, one or more modular air conditioner unit 100, another server, or the like. For example, in some embodiments, a given user device 710 and modular air conditioner unit 100 can be associated with a user profile, with the server 730 storing use data of the modular air conditioner unit 100, setting history of the modular air conditioner unit 100, health status of the modular air conditioner unit 100, geographic location of the modular air conditioner unit 100, and the like. In some embodiments, the server 730 can be configured to provide software updates to the modular air conditioner unit 100, change settings of the modular air conditioner unit 100, provide suggestions or alerts to a user via the modular air conditioner unit 100 and/or user device 710, or the like.”) (Analytis: [0079] “In various embodiments, the user device 710 can run an app that can allow users to perform various functions, such as set schedule events, control indoor fan speed and direction, set target temperature or fan only mode, view energy and usage trends over time, setting an Eco Mode, setting a Vacation Mode, and the like. Embodiments of interfaces of a user device 710 such as embodied in an app are shown and described herein; however, it should be clear that such examples can be applicable to an interface 600 of a modular air conditioner unit 100, so such examples should not be construed to be limiting. Similarly, examples related to an interface 600 of a modular air conditioner unit 100 shown in FIG. 6 can be applicable to embodiments of an interface of a user device 710, or the like.”) [The central server receiving the collected data reads on “… accepts data processor information”. Performing the control using the user device via the network reads on “… for remote control”.]
the electrical controller is used to control the cooling and noise reduction equipment according to the data transmitted in real time by data conduction module; (Analytis: [0137] “Furthermore, for proper room mixing and improved energy efficiency, in some embodiments the outlet air of an indoor unit 110 can automatically be directed downward in Heating mode, and upwards in Cooling mode by various suitable elements (e.g., stepper motors and a louver system 540 in front of the indoor fan 314). In some examples, a user may also choose to direct the louvers 540 left or right depending on how the system 100 is situated in a room (e.g., to deflect away from walls and furniture, and towards occupants). In various embodiments, air flow direction of the louvers 540 can be set at a static position, or in a sweeping motion, based on user preference.”) (Analytis: [0138] “FIGS. 20 and 21 illustrate an example interface 2000 to show fan direction selection (e.g., in a smartphone application of a user device 710), which in some examples can include static up, static down, center, full range sweep or others. Left/Right position (e.g., generated by louvers 540) can be selected in some examples from static left, static right, center, full range sweep or others. The speed of the fan 314 may be illustrated in some examples by an animated rotating fan-shaped icon that spins based on a set speed between Low to High, and/or with a numerical indication, and can be selected in some examples by dragging on a linear bar. FIG. 21 is an illustration of Selecting Auto Mode for fan control that can gray out all speed and direction options, and will not allow for user interaction to change the settings.”)
the cooling and noise reduction equipment includes a ventilation fan, a … louver, and a mechanical and electrical device. (Analytis: [0137] as discussed above) (Analytis: [0010] “Currently, very few systems exist that efficiently regulate temperature in indoor spaces. Most air conditioning and heat pump systems run on fixed speed components, i.e., compressors, fans and other motors run at constant, often at maximum speeds, which will not be efficient in all environmental conditions and desired target temperatures.”) [The stepper motors read on “a mechanical and electrical device”.]
Analytis does not expressly teach: wherein, the monitoring module is used for dynamic monitoring pressure, temperature and noise; the sensor comprises a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a sound level meter sensor; the data processor stores Chinese and international noise emission standard data … ; an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology; the cooling and noise reduction equipment includes a ventilation fan, a muffler louver, and a mechanical and electrical device.
He teaches:
wherein, the monitoring module is used for dynamic monitoring pressure, temperature and noise; the sensor comprises a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a sound level meter sensor; (He: Page 6 last two lines and Page 7 lines 1-4 “As a preferred embodiment, the sensing device comprises: an acoustic sensor module 52 for sensing external sound pressure information; a temperature sensor module 53 for sensing external temperature information; the driving control module 43 is respectively connected to the acoustic sensor module 52 and the temperature sensor module 53, and is configured to determine the driving gear according to the sound pressure information when the temperature information is within a preset temperature range.”) [The acoustic sensor module reads on “the monitoring module is used for … noise”, and “a sound level meter sensor”.]
the cooling and noise reduction equipment includes a ventilation fan, a muffler louver, and a mechanical and electrical device. (He: Page 2, Disclosure of Invention, line 3 to the end of the page “an automatic muffling ventilating shutter comprising: an automatic muffling ventilating shutter comprising: the frame is provided with a perforated plate on the outer side; the silencing blade positioning frame is fixedly arranged in the frame; the two ends of each silencing blade are respectively connected with the silencing blade positioning frame in a shaft mode, and two adjacent silencing blades are arranged at a preset distance; the silencing channel is arranged between two adjacent silencing blades; the induction device is arranged on the frame; a driving apparatus connected to the sensing device, the driving apparatus comprising: the transmission rod is connected with each silencing blade respectively; the driving motor is connected with the transmission rod and is used for driving the transmission rod to move up and down; and the drive control module is respectively connected with the induction device and the drive motor and is used for adjusting the drive gear of the drive motor according to the induction information of the induction device. Preferably, the sensing means comprise an acoustic sensor module, and/or a light sensor module, and/or a temperature sensor module, and /or a humidity sensor module, and/or a wind sensor module.”) [The automatic muffling ventilating shutter with blades reads on “a muffler louver”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Analytis and He before them, to modify the through-a-window air conditioning unit that controls a louver and a fan based on environment sensors, to incorporate the acoustic sensor and the muffling louver.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for a noise control for the indoor space according to the external noise entry into the space, in addition to providing ventilation for the indoor space. (He: Page 2, Background)
Analytis and He do not expressly teach: the data processor stores Chinese and international noise emission standard data … ; an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology.
Shen teaches:
the data processor stores Chinese and international noise emission standard data … (Shen: Abstract “At present, the major acoustic emission (AE) standards in the world mainly consist of American, European, International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and Chinese standards. The status of the four groups of standards is analysed in this paper and compared based on quantity and type. A comparative analysis of the content of certain similar standards is carried out. Compared with ISO and European standards, the quantity of American and Chinese standards is larger due to the rapid conversion of new technologies into standards. European standards are well‐principled and systematic and the general standards provide the basis for all AE testing and standard development. ISO standards, even when dealing in part with similar content, seek to be consistent with European and American standards, to have a distinct presentation of methodologies and to follow the principles of developing standards for new technologies.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Analytis, He and Shen before them, to modify the through-a-window air conditioning unit that controls noise level, to incorporate the major acoustic emission standards in the world for controlling the noise level.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for ssing standards that are major world standards that incorporates rapid conversion of new technologies into the standards. (Shen: Abstract)
Analytis, He and Shen not expressly teach: an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology.
Laughton teaches:
an artificial intelligence, a cloud computing, and artificial intelligence technology are used to automatically identify and deal with an abnormal condition and a change in environment through machine learning algorithm and data comparison technology. (Laughton: [0067] “In various embodiments, cloud building management platform 140 interacts with historical performance database 170, building model database 180, and/or machine learning models database 190. In various embodiments, historical performance database 170 includes historical operating data such as HVAC temperature setpoints represented as timeseries data, damper levels, occupancy data, energy usage information, and/or the like. Building model database 180 may store one or more building models. For example, building model database 180 may store a digital representation of a building as a graph data structure. In various embodiments, building model database 180 may store digital representations for multiple buildings and cloud building management platform 140 may use a digital representation from a first building to inform actions related to a second building. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may identify a root cause from a first building model that may explain an anomaly associated with a building associated with a second building model. Machine learning models database 190 may include one or more machine learning models such as an artificial intelligence algorithm. In various embodiments, machine learning models database 190 stores machine learning models trained by cloud building management platform 140. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may train a neural network using historical operating data to predict HVAC faults and may store the trained neural network in machine learning models database 190.”) (Laughton: [0101] “At step 1032, cloud building management platform 140 may identify an anomaly associated with the first data point based on the comparison. For example, cloud building management platform 140 may identify an anomaly in response to determining that a temperature of a space exceeds the historical temperature for the space by several standard deviations. In various embodiments, the anomaly relates to the first data point. For example the first data point may be related to a temperature sensor for a room and the first anomaly may be a high temperature anomaly.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton before them, to modify the through-a-window air conditioning unit that controls environmental conditions based on environmental sensors, to incorporate using artificial intelligence based machine learning to in identifying anomalies of the environmental conditions.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for using machine learning that is trained to generate abnormal conditions to mitigate. (Laughton: [0037])
Regarding claim 2, Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Analytis further teaches:
wherein, the monitoring module comprises a dynamic monitoring module for air pressure … , a dynamic monitoring module for temperature, … (Analytis: [0071] and [0142] as discussed in claim 1)
Analytis does not expressly teach: wherein, the monitoring module comprises a dynamic monitoring module for air pressure and wind speed, a dynamic monitoring module for temperature, and a dynamic monitoring module for n noise.
He teaches:
wherein, the monitoring module comprises a dynamic monitoring module for air pressure and wind speed, a dynamic monitoring module for temperature, and a dynamic monitoring module for n noise. (He: Page 2, Disclosure of Invention, line 3 to the end of the page, as discussed in claim 1) [Sensing by the wind sensor module and the acoustic sensor module reads on “the monitoring module comprises … a wind speed, … and a dynamic monitoring module for n noise”.]
The motivation to combine Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton teach all the claimed features of claims 1-2. He further teaches:
whrein … data processor, … and the dynamic temperature monitoring module are respectively provided with an environmental temperature numerical opening point and an environmental temperature numerical closing point. (He: Page 7, lines 2-6 “the driving control module 43 is respectively connected to the acoustic sensor module 52 and the temperature sensor module 53, and is configured to determine the driving gear according to the sound pressure information when the temperature information is within a preset temperature range. In a preferred embodiment, the priority of the temperature sensor module 53 is greater than the priority of the acoustic sensor module 52 when the temperature information exceeds the preset temperature range.”) [The upper value of the preset temperature range reads on “an environmental temperature numerical opening point, and the lower value of the preset temperature range reads on “an environmental temperature numerical closing point”.]
The motivation to combine Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
He does not expressly teach: whrein an artificial intelligence of the communication and data processor, the cloud computing data and the dynamic temperature monitoring module are respectively provided with an environmental temperature numerical opening point and an environmental temperature numerical closing point.
Laughton teaches:
whrein an artificial intelligence of the communication and data processor, the cloud computing data and the dynamic temperature monitoring module are respectively provided with an environmental temperature numerical opening point and an environmental temperature numerical closing point. (Laughton: [0067] as discussed in claim 1) (Laughton: [0041] “In various embodiments, the building management platform may perform one or more actions in response to identifying an anomaly associated with a data point. For example, the building management platform may determine whether the anomaly relates to an incorrect tag, a device fault, an unexpected configuration, and/or a change in at least one of a space of a building or a use of a space. Additionally or alternatively, the building management platform may automatically update incorrect tags and/or automatically update a device configuration associated with a data point to address an anomaly. In various embodiments, the building management platform may identify a drift condition associated with a data point. For example, the building management platform may perform signal analysis on temperature data to identify whether the temperature data transitions from an expected range to an unexpected range. As another example, the building management platform may compute a covariance between a number of data points and may identify a drift condition based on a change in the covariance (e.g., such as when two historically correlated equipment measurements begin to diverge, etc.).”) [The upper value of the temperature range reads on “an environmental temperature numerical opening point”, and the lower value of the temperature range reads on “an environmental temperature numerical closing point”.]
The motivation to combine Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Analytis, in view of He, further in view of Shen, further in view of Laughton, further in view of Foreman et al. (US 2012/0015597 A1) (“Foreman”).
Regarding claim 4, Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton teach all the claimed features of claims 1-3. Analytis, He, Shen and Laughton do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 4.
Foreman teaches:
the opening point of the fan is set at 40 degrees Celsius, and the closing point is set at 25 degrees Celsius. (Foreman: [0020] “While the illustration above has used specific numbers (e.g. 80 deg F., 75%, etc.) the invention is not so limited and any temperature and humidity numbers may be used in embodiments of the invention as well as the number of days to check for lack of solar power, the minutes running within a time period, etc.”) (Foreman: [0035] “In one embodiment of the invention the humidity sensor (aka humidstat) can't be disabled. The humidistat is by default ON all times to monitor the attic humidity, and turns the fan on when relative humidity reaches 75%. The fan will be turned off when relative humidity drops below 65%. If the Thermal Switch is enabled the fan will only turn on when the temperature is higher than 80 degrees F. and/or the humidity is higher than 75%. If you disable the Thermal Switch the fan will run anytime there is available power.”) (Foreman: [0044] “In one embodiment of the invention a temperature sensor monitors the attic temperature and will turn on the fan when the temperature reaches 80 degrees and will turn off the fan when the temperature dips below 77 degrees. This allows the fan to only run when it is necessary to vent hot air from the attic space, extending the life of the motor. The unit comes with the temperature switch disengaged. It is recommended that the temperature switch remain disengaged to enable year-round venting. However, you may engage the temperature switch if desired.”) [Turning off the fan when the temperature dips to 77 degrees F reads on “the closing point is set at 25 degrees Celsius”. Turning on the fan when the temperature is higher than 80 degrees F that is any temperature above 80 degrees F reads on “the opening point of the fan is set at 40 degrees Celsius”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Analytis, He, Shen, Laughton and Foreman before them, to modify the through-a-window air conditioning unit that controls a fan based on environment sensors, to incorporate specific temperature ranges that turn on or turn off the fan.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the fans to only run when it is necessary in order to extend the life of the fan motor. (Foreman: [0044])
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN et al. (CN 209983202 U) teaches a shelter ventilation window, as described in at least Page 3, second paragraph from the bottom, and FIGS. 1-5 (“In the figure: the device comprises a frame-1, a shutter-2, a control device-3, an external power line-4, an induced draft fan-5, a support plate-21, a first rotating shaft-22, a second rotating shaft-23, a shell-31, an electric push rod-32, a rack-33, a telescopic rod-34, a gear-35, a third rotating shaft-36, a clamping block-37, a sliding groove-38, an outer tube-321, a motor-322, a baffle-323, a screw rod-324, a push rod-325, a support rod-341 and a branch tube-342.”)
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116