Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kaya (Pub 20190004568).
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended while claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1, 3, and 4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (Pub 20190380165) in view of Kaya (Pub 20190004568).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher discloses device and display device having attached
mode and detached mode comprising:
an electronic device, (Base Processing Device 110 fig 1) with a single screen, consisting of the single screen, (Display Device 120 fig 1)
wherein the screen is battery operated and charges when attached to the electronic device, (Para. [0060] disclosing base power system may charge tablet battery via power connection element. The tablet here corresponds to the Display Device 120 fig 1)
wherein the electronic device has a wireless digital connection to the screen, (Para. [0062] disclosing automatic wireless connection between Display device and Base processing device).
However, the single screen being electrically detachable from the electronic device is not explicitly disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kaya discloses the single screen being electrically detachable from the electronic device, (note screen 102 fig 1A-1B may attach to base 104 such as in fig 1A using physical interfaces 110A/110B fig 1C which may comprise pins for delivering data as well as power between base 104 and display 102, Para. [0033]. Additionally, and/or alternatively, interfaces 110A/110B fig 1C may be wireless interfaces for transmitting data and power when display 102 is detached from base 104, Para. [0033]). One of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the electrically detachable screen mechanism of Kaya for allowing comfortable viewing of the detached screen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kaya and Fisher for the purpose of enhancing the user’s experience.
Regarding claim 4, Fisher discloses the electronic device according to claim 1 wherein the detached screen can be attached to a second electronic device, (Para. [0047] note Display Device 120 may inadvertently connect to a different computer. It is inferred that a user may connect the Display Device to a different computer if the user chose to).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (Pub 20190380165) in view of Kaya (Pub 20190004568) in view of Yamamoto (Pub 20210072798).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses claim 1. However, wherein the electronic device is a television is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yamamoto discloses wherein the electronic device is a television, (Para. [0075] note that either first or second electronic devices may be a tablet and a television). One of ordinary skill in the art would substitute the electronic device with a television device disclosed by Yamamoto in place of the Base Processing Device of Fisher so that an attachable screen may receive input from different sources and function in different operating modes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination for the purpose of allowing different operating modes to be implemented thereby increasing the value and entertainment capability of the display device and/or based device.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422