Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/30/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-12 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 8-12) in the reply filed on 6/30/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UENO (US-2016/0229129), hereinafter UENO, in view of MIKOSHIBA (US-2019/0193296), hereinafter MIKOSHIBA, and NISKANEN (US 4,834,547), hereinafter NISKANEN. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 12, UENO discloses A mixing apparatus {[abstract] note mixing unit}, comprising:
a carriage pipe section that adds a thermally meltable resin material to a fiber material obtained by fiberization of a raw material containing fabric and carries the resin material and the fiber material and a mixing section, at part of the carriage pipe section, that produces a deposition fiber material by mixing the resin material and the fiber material {[FIG. 1] 54 is the carriage pipe and 50 is the mixing section, [0004] note deposition of fiber-like material, [0012] note mixing fibers and composites, [0013] note resin particles, [0052] note resin is thermoplastic that is thermally meltable, [0035] note depositing unit 60, [0038] note the action is fiberization, the examiner also notes that the fiberization and depositions are not part of the mixing apparatus and they do not limit the mixing apparatus}.
Regarding the limitation “fiber-shaped thermally meltable resin material”, UENO is silent on the resin being fiber-shaped. However, material acted upon by an apparatus does not limit the apparatus (see MPEP 2115). Thus, the shape of the resin does not impart any patentable weight to the claim.
However, and in the interest of compact prosecution, and in the same field of endeavor that is related to sheet manufacturing apparatus, MIKOSHIBA discloses that resin could be particle/powder-shaped or fiber-shaped {[0101]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the particle resin of UENO with fiber shaped resin of MIKOSHIBA. Note that it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable result are achieved {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. Predicable results are achieved because in this case both are used as a reins and in the same field of endeavor.
Combination of UENO and MIKSHIBA, however, is silent on the detailed structure of the mixing section.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to apparatus for mixing fiber suspensions, NISKANEN discloses wherein the mixing section has a vane portion having a plurality of rib-shaped vanes on a rotatable disc {[abstract] note rotation, [FIG. 3] note disc 13 that rotates and has plurality of vanes 9/10 installed onto},
and a duct portion that couples the carriage pipe section in such a manner that the carriage pipe section faces the vane portion (claim 8), wherein the duct portion has an introduction port portion and a discharge port portion that are coupled to the carriage pipe section, and an angle formed by the introduction port portion and the discharge port portion is 85° or above and 95° or below (claim 12) {note carriage pipe is disclosed by UENA, [FIG. 1] note between inlet 3 and outlet 5, there lies the duct section, note inlet faces the vane or blades 10, note inlet 3 or introduction section is perpendicular to outlet 5 or the discharge port or 90° angle}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of NISKANEN in the combination apparatus of UENO and MIKOSHIBA and have introduced the mixing unit as described by NISKANEN in the combination apparatus of UENO and MIKOSHIBA. As disclosed by NISKANEN, the advantage of this mixing device is that its construction is simple and gas can be removed from the fibers that are mixed and thus obtain a better mixture {[C1, L53-55]}.
Regarding the last limitation of claim 8 reciting “and in the vane portion, an interval of adjacent ones of the vanes is larger than average longitudinal fiber lengths of the fiber material and the resin material”, the combination of UENO, MIKOSHIBA, and NISKANEN is silent about this limitation or the size of this interval. Note that NISKANEN shows the interval between vanes 9/10 {[FIG. 3]}.
The Examiner submits that in this case, the last limitation of claim 8 would have been the result of choosing from a very finite number of identified options: 1- the interval smaller than the average fiber length, 2- same, 3- larger.
It has been held that that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success would have been “obvious to try” {see MPEP 2143 (I)(E)}. One would have been motivated to have chosen the interval to be larger than average fiber length so that between these intervals, mixing of numerous fibers can take place since a larger interval can accommodate more individual fibers.
Regarding claim 9 limitation of “wherein the average longitudinal fiber length of the resin material is 1 mm or above and 20 mm or below”, the Examiner submits that material (fibers and their length) acted upon by an apparatus does not limit the apparatus (see MPEP 2115). Thus, the size of the fiber does not impart any patentable weight to the claim. However, and in the interest of compact prosecution, UENO discloses wherein the average longitudinal fiber length of the resin material is 1 mm or above and 20 mm or below {[0070]}.
The Examiner notes that UENO teaches a range of average length that overlaps with the claimed range. An overlapping range makes a prima facie case of obviousness.
A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range {see MPEP 2144.05 (I)}.
Regarding claims 10-11, as discussed under claim 8, NISKANEN discloses the limitations “wherein the duct portion has an introduction port portion coupled to the carriage pipe section (claim 10), wherein the duct portion has a discharge port portion coupled to the carriage pipe section (claim 11)”.
Regarding the remainder limitations of claims 10 (and a diameter of the introduction port portion is larger than the average longitudinal fiber length) and claim 11 (and a diameter of the discharge port portion is larger than the average longitudinal fiber length), The Examiner submits that in this case, these limitations would have been the result of choosing from a very finite number of identified options: 1- the diameter of port portion smaller than the average fiber length, 2- same, 3- larger.
It has been held that that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success would have been “obvious to try” {see MPEP 2143 )I)(E)}. One would have been motivated to have chosen the port diameter to be larger than the average fiber length so these fibers can easily enter and exit the mixing device and a clogging and plugging of the inlet/outlet can be avoided.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748