DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention (subcombinaton), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/2/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Election/Restriction of 5/5/2026 in the reply filed on 7/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the preamble of claims 8-14 were amended to include “pipe handling system” and should not be restricted out. This is not found persuasive because the mere amending of the preamble of claims 8-14 does not overcome the fact that claims 8-14 are directed to a “bore plug assembly” wherein the details of the subcombination are not required by the combination claims. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Chinese document (CN 111926907).
Chinese document ‘907 discloses a pipe handling system comprising:
an inboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an inboard end of a pipe bore in a flexible pipe (2), wherein the inboard bore plug assembly comprises an inboard inflatable plug (1); and an outboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an outboard end of the pipe bore in the flexible pipe, wherein the outboard bore plug assembly comprises:
an outboard inflatable plug (1); and a bore port that opens through the outboard inflatable plug, wherein the bore port is configured to enable bore fluid to be supplied to the pipe bore of the flexible pipe to facilitate elevating fluid pressure within the pipe bore of the flexible pipe (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 3, wherein: the outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity, and a bore port opening that extends through the inflatable bladder; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe; and the bore port is secured within the bore port opening such that the bore port extends through the outboard inflatable plug (see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chinese document (CN 210566964).
Chinese document ‘964 discloses a pipe handling system comprising:
an inboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an inboard end of a pipe bore in a flexible pipe (4), wherein the inboard bore plug assembly comprises an inboard inflatable plug (2); and an outboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an outboard end of the pipe bore in the flexible pipe, wherein the outboard bore plug assembly comprises:
an outboard inflatable plug (1); and a bore port that opens through the outboard inflatable plug, wherein the bore port is configured to enable bore fluid to be supplied to the pipe bore of the flexible pipe to facilitate elevating fluid pressure within the pipe bore of the flexible pipe (see Fig. 5).
Re claim 3, wherein: the outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity, and a bore port opening that extends through the inflatable bladder; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe; and the bore port is secured within the bore port opening such that the bore port extends through the outboard inflatable plug (see Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 1,3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by British document (GB 2562789).
British document ‘789 discloses a pipe handling system comprising:
an inboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an inboard end of a pipe bore in a flexible pipe (see Fig. 5, page 9+), wherein the inboard bore plug assembly comprises an inboard inflatable plug (44a,b); and an outboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an outboard end of the pipe bore in the flexible pipe, wherein the outboard bore plug assembly comprises:
an outboard inflatable plug (44a,b); and a bore port that opens through the outboard inflatable plug, wherein the bore port is configured to enable bore fluid to be supplied to the pipe bore of the flexible pipe to facilitate elevating fluid pressure within the pipe bore of the flexible pipe (see Fig. 5).
Re claim 3, wherein: the outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity, and a bore port opening that extends through the inflatable bladder; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe; and the bore port is secured within the bore port opening such that the bore port extends through the outboard inflatable plug (see Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Allen (US 4678370).
Allen discloses a pipe handling system (see Fig. 2) comprising:
an inboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an inboard end of a pipe bore in a flexible pipe, wherein the inboard bore plug assembly comprises an inboard inflatable plug (25, col. 2 line 55+); and an outboard bore plug assembly configured to facilitate plugging an outboard end of the pipe bore in the flexible pipe, wherein the outboard bore plug assembly comprises:
an outboard inflatable plug (24, col. 2 line 55+); and a bore port (26, Fig. 4)) that opens through the outboard inflatable plug, wherein the bore port is configured to enable bore fluid to be supplied to the pipe bore of the flexible pipe to facilitate elevating fluid pressure within the pipe bore of the flexible pipe (see Fig. 4). A bore port opening that extends through the inflatable bladder; and the bore port (26) is secured within the bore port opening such that the bore port extends through the outboard inflatable plug (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen ‘370 in view of WO document (WO 9616790).
Allen discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Allen is silent about
wherein: the flexible pipe is formed into a pipe coil. WO document ‘790 teaches a flexible pipe being formed into a pipe coil (see Fig. 10).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Allen to have the flexible pipe being formed into a pipe coil as taught by WO document '790 since such a modification avoids using winding head in the field. The combination above is configured to have the inboard bore plug assembly and the outboard bore plug assembly facilitate maintaining the pipe bore of the flexible pipe at an elevated fluid pressure at least while the flexible pipe is being unwound from the pipe coil.
With regards to claims 15,16, the recited method steps are considered obvious in view of the combination of references above.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen (US 4678370) in view of Morrell et al. (US 4072015).
Allen discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Allen is silent about the outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe. Morrell et al. teaches outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe (see Fig. 3). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Allen to have the outboard inflatable plug comprises: an inflatable bladder that defines a fluid cavity, an inflation port opening that opens to the fluid cavity; and an inflation fluid port secured within the inflation port opening such that the inflation port opens to the fluid cavity to enable inflation fluid to be supplied to the fluid cavity of the inflatable bladder to transition the inflatable bladder to a more inflated state to facilitate plugging the pipe bore of the flexible pipe as taught by Morrell et al since such a modification is well known means of inflating inflatable plugs.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese documents ‘907, ‘964, British document ‘789, Allen ‘370 in view of either Gartner (US 4531550) or Wentzell (US 4482076).
Chinese documents ‘907, ‘964, British document ‘789, Allen ‘370 all disclose the invention substantially as claimed. However they all are silent about wherein the outboard bore plug assembly comprises a fastener configured to be secured in a fastener opening that is formed in tubing of the flexible pipe such that the fastener extends into the pipe bore of the flexible pipe between the outboard inflatable plug and the outboard end of the flexible pipe. Gartner and Wentzell both teach outboard bore plug assembly comprises a fastener (49; Figs. 3,8,10) configured to be secured in a fastener opening that is formed in tubing of the flexible pipe such that the fastener extends into the pipe bore of the flexible pipe between the outboard plug and the outboard end of the flexible pipe. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify any of Chinese documents ‘907, ‘964, British document ‘789, Allen ‘370 to include the fastener as taught by either Gartner or Wentzell since such a modification prevents the plug from moving axially under pipe bore pressure.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen in view of WO document (WO 9616790) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of either Gartner (US 4531550) or Wentzell (US 4482076).
Allen (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Allen (as modified above) is silent about wherein plugging the outboard end of the pipe bore comprises: forming a fastener opening through tubing of the flexible pipe; and disposing a fastener of the outboard bore plug assembly within the fastener opening such that the fastener extends into the pipe bore of the flexible pipe between the outboard plug of the outboard bore plug assembly and the outboard end of the flexible pipe.
Gartner and Wentzell both teach outboard bore plug assembly comprises a fastener (49; Figs. 3,8,10) configured to be secured in a fastener opening that is formed in tubing of the flexible pipe such that the fastener extends into the pipe bore of the flexible pipe between the outboard plug and the outboard end of the flexible pipe. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Allen ‘370 (as modified above) to include the fastener as taught by either Gartner or Wentzell since such a modification prevents the plug from moving axially under pipe bore pressure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patents 1221733, 2279257, 3103235, 3834422, 3902528, 3958607, 5027895, 5100043, 20020083989 all teach inflatable plugs.
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
9/16/2026