DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to application number 18/530,410 filed on December 6th 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 02/02/2024.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on December 6th , 2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5-7,11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII et al. (EP 2789509 B1) in view of Lin et al. (CN 204697075 U).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, NII et al. disclose a detection unit for detecting a presence status of an electric vehicle, the electric vehicle configured for connecting to a charger that comprises the detection unit, the detection unit comprising: a first output configured for driving a two-line bus, which is to connect the charger and the electric vehicle (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0065 and FIG. 5 discloses “The pair of communication lines 14a and 14b that are internal wiring of the communication device 14 are respectively connected to a Tx protection circuit 143 functioning as a transmission part outputting various signals such as communication signal…”); a first input configured for receiving signals from the two-line bus (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0065 and FIG. 5 discloses “…an Rx filter 144 functioning as a reception part to which various signals are input. The Rx filter 144 is provided with a terminal resistance Rr to which the pair of communication lines 14a and 14b are connected.”); and an additional input configured for detecting a second bus termination arranged within the electric vehicle by means of a voltage measurement and/or a current measurement of the two-line bus (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0055 discloses “It is noted that the CPU 141 includes an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) 141a as a detection means for detecting the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3. When the switch element20 Q1 is closed for abnormality inspection, the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3 is detected.”), wherein detecting the second bus termination is an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle.
NII et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein detecting the second bus termination is an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle.
However in an analogous art Lin et al. teaches wherein detecting the second bus termination is an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle (CN 204697075 U Page 5 Paragraph 4 discloses “In this embodiment, the detection device through a bit data line access vehicle CAN bus CAN 3 and CAN-L with low bit data line 4, terminal resistor of the CAN bus system to detect the vehicle,…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Lin et al. to detect the second bus termination an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle, in order to enable the charging device to verify and validate the presence/absence of the electric vehicle through the electrical connection.
Regarding claim 2, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1, wherein the detection unit is only activated when no information packets are transferred over the bus (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0055 discloses “It is noted that the CPU 141 includes an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) 141a as a detection means for detecting the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3. When the switch element Q1 is closed for abnormality inspection, the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3 is detected.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 2, wherein the detection unit is activated between one of: every 0.1 and 40 seconds, every 0.5 and 20 seconds, every 1 and 10 seconds, and/or on demand (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0012 discloses “The communication device according to the present invention is characterized by including a detection means for detecting a potential between the second resistance and the third resistance when the switch is closed,…”)
Regarding claim 5, NII et al disclose the detection unit of claim 1, wherein the bus is one of: a CAN bus, an Ethernet bus, a HART bus, a proprietary bus, and/or a two-line communication bus that is suitable for measuring a second bus termination (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0051 discloses “Furthermore, the communication device 14 includes a CAN transceiver circuit 146 connected to the in-vehicle communication network NW such as a CAN bus based on the communication standard such as the CAN disposed in the vehicle 1.”).
Regarding claim 6, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1, wherein the first bus instance further comprises a first bus termination (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0065 discloses “The Rx filter 144 is provided with a terminal resistance Rr to which the pair of communication lines 14a and 14b are connected.”).
Regarding claim 7, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 5, wherein the first bus termination can be switched on and off (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0066 discloses “The first branch line is connected to the midway of one communication line 14a among the pair of communication lines 14a and 14b, the first branch line being connected to the first reference potential (reference potential Vref) through the first resistance R1 and switching element Q1 connected in series”).
Regarding claim 11, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1, wherein the bus is part of a charging cable arrangement (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 003 discloses “It is noted that the charge cable also encloses wiring other than the feed line, e.g., a ground line and a control line. The control line is wiring used to transmit control signals such as a control pilot signal used for feed control of an electric storage device. By transmitting and receiving control signals between a power feeding device fault such as disconnection of a communication line, which also requires to assume the possibility of another and a vehicle through the control line, various states, such as the connection state of a charge cable, the state of a battery as to whether it is chargeable and the state of charging, may be detected so as to perform charge control in accordance with the detected state.”).
Regarding claim 12, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1, wherein the charging cable arrangement is pluggable via a charging connector into a charging socket of the electric vehicle (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 003 discloses “The external power feeding device corresponds to a power feeding device installed in facilities such as general houses and commercial power feeding stations. In feeding power from the power feeding device to a vehicle, a plug at the tip end of a charge cable connected to the power feeding device becomes connected to a feed port provided at a vehicle as a power receiving connector. Power is then fed from the power feeding device to the vehicle through a feed line enclosed in the charge cable to charge a battery.”).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII et al. (EP 2789509 B1) in view of Lin et al. (CN 204697075 U Translated) further in view of Song et al. (WO2021184183).
Regarding clams 4 and 17, NIII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 2.
NII et al. fail explicitly to disclose wherein the detection activation time span of the detection unit is less than one of: 10 ms, 1 ms, or 0.1 ms.
However in an analogous art Song et al teaches wherein the detection activation time span of the detection unit is less than one of: 10 ms, 1 ms, or 0.1 ms (WO2021184183 Paragraph 222 discloses “Typically, the activation duration is on the millisecond (ms) level, for example, 10 ms or 20 ms.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Song et al. to implement the detection activation time span to be in the order of 10ms, in order to provide the detection unit sufficient time to detect presence or absence of the vehicle efficiently.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII et al. (EP 2789509 B1) in view of Lin et al. (CN 204697075 U Translated) further in view of Jiang et al. (DE 102015108342 A1 Translated).
Regarding claim 8, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1.
NII et al. fail explicitly to disclose wherein the detection unit comprises a first voltage measurement unit input configured for measuring a first voltage between one of the lines of the two-line bus and ground.
However in an analogous art Jiang et al. teaches wherein the detection unit comprises a first voltage measurement unit input configured for measuring a first voltage between one of the lines of the two-line bus and ground (DE 102015108342 A1 Page 16 Paragraph 3 discloses “To calculate (V .sub.H + V .sub.L - 5), V .sub.H and V .sub.L are preferably measured simultaneously. However, if the simultaneous measurement request cannot be reliably obtained, the line breakage failure type can be detected by using the values of V .sub.H and V .sub.L detected individually.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Jiang et al. to implement measuring a first voltage between one of the lines of the two-line bus and ground, in order to check the health and safety of the physical wires.
Regarding clam 9, NII et al. disclose the detection unit of claim 1.
NII et al. fail explicitly to disclose wherein the detection unit comprises a second voltage measurement unit input configured for measuring a second voltage between the lines of the two-line bus.
However in an analogous art Jiang et al. teaches wherein the detection unit comprises a second voltage measurement unit input configured for measuring a second voltage between the lines of the two-line bus (DE 102015108342 A1 Page 16 Paragraph 3 discloses “To calculate (V .sub.H + V .sub.L - 5), V .sub.H and V .sub.L are preferably measured simultaneously. However, if the simultaneous measurement request cannot be reliably obtained, the line breakage failure type can be detected by using the values of V .sub.H and V .sub.L detected individually.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Jiang et al. to implement measuring a differential line voltage, in order to measure communication signal activity on the bus.
Regarding claim 10, NII et al. disclose The detection unit of claim 1.
NII et al. fail explicitly to disclose wherein the detection unit comprises a current
measurement unit input configured for measuring a current in series with at least one driving component of the bus.
However in an analogous art wherein the detection unit comprises a
current measurement unit input configured for measuring a current in series with at least one driving component of the bus (DE 102015108342 A1 Page 11 Paragraph 3 discloses “A person skilled in the art will recognize that the CAN bus current (I) can alternatively be determined using a current sensor embedded as part of the monitoring controller”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Jiang et al. to measure a current in series with at least one driving component of the bus, in order to provide a more advanced health check matrix required for high reliability systems.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NII et al. (EP 2789509 B1) in view of Lin et al. (CN 204697075 U Translated) further in view of Breitwieser et al. (EP 3826130 A1 Translated).
Regarding claim 14, NII et al. disclose a method for detecting a presence status of an electric vehicle, the method comprising: activating a detection unit within the first bus instance for a detection activation time span (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0055 discloses “It is noted that the CPU 141 includes an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) 141a as a detection means for detecting the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3. When the switch element Q1 is closed for abnormality inspection, the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3 is detected.”); and detecting, by the detection unit, the second bus termination by utilizing a voltage measurement and/or a current measurement of the two-line bus (EP 2789509 B1 Paragraph 0055 discloses “It is noted that the CPU 141 includes an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) 141a as a detection means for detecting the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3. When the switch element20 Q1 is closed for abnormality inspection, the potential between the second resistance R2 and the third resistance R3 is detected.”).
NII et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein detecting the second bus termination is an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle.
However in an analogous art Lin et al. teaches wherein detecting the second bus termination is an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle (CN 204697075 U Page 5 Paragraph 4 discloses “In this embodiment, the detection device through a bit data line access vehicle CAN bus CAN 3 and CAN-L with low bit data line 4, terminal resistor of the CAN bus system to detect the vehicle,…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Lin et al. to detect the second bus termination an indication of the presence status of the electric vehicle, in order to enable the charging device to verify and validate the presence/absence of the electric vehicle through the electrical connection.
NII et al. fail to explicitly disclose pausing a two-line bus configured for exchanging information packets between a first bus instance within a charger and a second bus instance within the electric vehicle, the second bus instance comprising a second bus termination;
However in an analogous art Breitwieser et al. teaches pausing a two-line bus configured for exchanging information packets between a first bus instance within a charger and a second bus instance within the electric vehicle, the second bus instance comprising a second bus termination (EP 3826130 A1 Page 8 Paragraph 2 discloses “ According to the invention, the charging circuit 5 is designed to charge the energy store 9 at least during the pauses in communication via the at least two CAN bus data lines CAN .sub.H , CAN .sub.L. The control device 8 thus detects via the CAN transceiver 4 when there is no communication via the CAN bus and controls the charging circuit 5 accordingly, so that at least during the breaks in communication via the CAN bus or the at least two CAN bus data lines CAN .sub.H , CAN .sub.L charging of the energy store 9 can take place.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Breitwieser et al. to pause a two-line bus configured for exchanging information packets between a first bus instance within a charger and a second bus instance within the electric vehicle, in order to enable the detection unit to perform analog measurements.
Regarding claim 15, NII et al. discloses the method of claim 14.
NII et al. fail to explicitly disclose forwarding the presence status of the electric vehicle to an evaluation unit.
However in an analogous art Lin et al. teaches forwarding the presence status of the electric vehicle to an evaluation unit (CN 204697075 U Page 6 Paragraphs 6-7 disclose “Condition 1, when detecting the vehicle CAN bus equivalent resistance is 30 ohm to 90 ohm range, electronic controller 5 to the first controller 6 and the second controller 7 are not enable output, first controller 6 and second controller 7 does not act. Condition 2, when detecting the vehicle CAN bus equivalent resistance is 90 ohm to 150 ohm range, electronic controller enable output 5 to the first controller 6,the second controller 7 can output, a first controller 6, a first resistor 8 connected in parallel to a vehicle CAN bus, the vehicle equivalent resistance of CAN bus is60 ohms, then the electronic controller 5 to the indicator lamp 10 output signal, the indicator light is lighted, providing fault alarm.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified NII et al. to incorporate the teachings of Lin et al. to forward the presence status of the electric vehicle to an evaluation unit., in order to enable the evaluation unit to indicate presence or absence of the vehicle base on input measurements provided.
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Samuel Dilan Rutnam/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471