DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 06 December 2023.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vukovic US 2020/0313469 A1.
As to claim 1, Vukovic discloses, a radio access network (RAN) node (Figure 1-4, the wireless power transmitter 110, 230, 400), comprising:
a memory [35]) storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry (Figure 4, the application processor 410) configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the RAN node to,
determine a wireless power transmission (WPT) control parameter (a preferred path) associated with at least one beam and a pathloss associated with at least one user equipment (UE) device (Figure 1, the at least one UE 170a,;;, 170n) receiving the at least one beam (Figures 1-5, and associated paragraphs, at step 202, authenticate and establish communication with the selected wireless power receiver 120a; and determine a preferred path in step 203, (e.g., synchronizing with the receiver and determining direction for one or more transmit beams) in order to determine a direction of at least one transmission beam transmitted by the wireless power transmitter to a selected wireless power receiver 120, 500, wherein the preferred path comprises a wireless power transmission path having the lowest path loss between the wireless power transmitter and the selected wireless power receiver, [23]-[24]); and
transmit a WPT signal on the at least one beam based on the WPT control parameter (Figures 1-4, and associated paragraphs, Figure 2B, “transmit RF power signal in a selected transmit direction” to the selected wireless Power receiver 120, 500).
As to claim 2, Vukovic discloses, wherein the WPT control parameter includes at least one of: WPT transmission time domain resource information, WPT frequency domain resource information, or WPT waveform information (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, [36]-[40]).
As to claim 3, Vukovic discloses, wherein the RAN node is further caused to: determine the WPT control parameter associated with the at least one beam based on a wireless power reception (WPR) setting associated with the at least one UE device, and the WPR setting includes at least one of, a power receiving window setting associated with at least one power receiving category, an upper bound of a power receiving window (a desired charging level) of the at least one UE device, or a lower bound of the power receiving window (a minimum charging threshold) of the at least one UE device (Figures 2A, 2B and associated paragraphs, [26]-[27]).
As to claim 4, Vukovic discloses, wherein the RAN node is further caused to determine the WPT control parameter associated with the at least one beam by: determining a plurality of default WPR settings associated with a plurality of WPR-capable UE device types, respectively; estimating an expected pathloss of the at least one UE device receiving the at least one beam; and determining the WPT control parameter based on the determined plurality of default WPR settings and the estimated expected pathloss (Figures 2A, 2B, and associated paragraphs, determining power levels and time slots for one or more transmit directions based on available transmit power, number of client devices, type of client device, and path loss, [27]).
As to claim 5, Vukovic discloses, wherein each of the default WPR settings of the plurality of default WPR settings includes a default power receiving window setting of the respective WPR-capable UE device type; and the RAN node is further caused to determine the WPT control parameter by, determining a lowest upper bound of power receiving windows corresponding to each of the WPR-capable UE device types among the plurality of default power receiving window settings; and determining the WPT control parameter based on the determined lowest upper bound and the estimated expected pathloss (Figures 2A, 2B, and associated paragraphs, determining power levels and time slots for one or more transmit directions based on available transmit power, number of client devices, type of client device, and path loss, .., During power monitoring step 208, the selected wireless power receiver computes the received DC power based on the measured DC voltage and DC current and sends the calculated data to the wireless power transmitter which compares the received DC power to a minimum power threshold, .., [27]).
As to claim 6, Vukovic discloses, wherein the RAN node is further caused to: receive a WPR setting associated with the at least one UE device, the received WPR setting including at least one of a power receiving window setting associated with the at least one UE device, a WPT power measurement information measured by the at least one UE device in response to the transmitted WPT signal, a WPT beam identifier associated with the transmitted WPT signal, or a power receiving time setting associated with the at least one UE device (Figures 2, and associated paragraphs, determining power levels and time slots for one or more transmit directions based on available transmit power, number of client devices, type of client device, and path loss, .., During power monitoring step 208, the selected wireless power receiver computes the received DC power based on the measured DC voltage and DC current and sends the calculated data to the wireless power transmitter which compares the received DC power to a minimum power threshold, .., [26]-[27]); (the bold underlined claimed element of “a WPT beam identifier associated with the transmitted WPT signal” above, which the skilled person in the wireless communication art would consider it as a well-known based on the teaching in Figure 1, paragraph [30] of Li et al. US 2022/0038165 A1).
As to claim 7, Vukovic discloses, wherein the WPR setting includes at least the power receiving window setting associated with the at least one UE device, the WPT power measurement information measured by the at least one UE device in response to the transmitted WPT signal, and the WPT beam identifier associated with the transmitted WPT signal; and the RAN node is further caused to: determine a dynamic pathloss of the at least one UE device; adjust the WPT control parameter based on the power receiving window setting of the at least one UE device and the determined dynamic pathloss; and transmit an adjusted WPT signal on the at least one beam based on the adjusted WPT control parameter (Figures 2, and associated paragraphs) (the bold underlined claimed element of “a WPT beam identifier associated with the transmitted WPT signal” above, which the skilled person in the wireless communication art would consider it as a well-known based on the teaching in Figure 1, paragraph [30] of Li et al. US 2022/0038165 A1).
As to claim 8, Vukovic discloses, wherein the RAN node is further caused to adjust the WPT control parameter in response to changes to the dynamic pathloss of the at least one UE from UE channel changes (Figures 1-4, and associated paragraphs).
As to claim 9, Vukovic discloses, a user equipment (UE) device (Figure 1, The UE 170a, …, 170n) comprising: a memory storing computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the UE device to, receive a wireless power transmission (WPT) control parameter associated with at least one beam (a preferred path) from at least one radio access network (RAN) node (Figure 1-4, the wireless power transmitter 110, 230, 400), receive a WPT signal on the at least one beam transmitted by the at least one RAN node based on the WPT control parameter (Figures 1-4, and associated paragraphs, Figure 2B, “transmit RF power signal in a selected transmit direction” to the selected wireless Power receiver 120, 500), and harvest the received WPT signal as stored energy (Figures 1-4, and associated paragraphs, Figure 2B, Start charging, “transmit RF power signal for charging client device”).
As to claim 10, Vukovic discloses, wherein the WPT control parameter includes at least one of: WPT transmission time domain resource information, WPT frequency domain resource information, or WPT waveform information (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, [36]-[40]).
As to claim 11, Vukovic discloses, wherein the UE device is further caused to: transmit a wireless power reception (WPR) setting to the at least one RAN node, the WPR setting including at least one of, a power receiving window setting associated with the UE device, an upper bound of a power receiving window (a desired charging level) of the UE device, or a lower bound of the power receiving window (a minimum charging threshold) of the UE device (Figures 2A, 2B and associated paragraphs, [26]-[27]).
As to claim 12, Vukovic discloses, wherein the UE device is further caused to: measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of the received WPT signal on the at least one beam; and transmit received WPT power measurement information to the at least one RAN node, the received WPT power measurement information including the measured RSRP of the received WPT signal and an associated WPT beam identifier (Figures 1-4 and associated paragraphs) (the bold underlined claimed element of “a WPT beam identifier” above, which the skilled person in the wireless communication art would consider it as a well-known based on the teaching in Figure 1, paragraph [30] of Li et al. US 2022/0038165 A1). .
As to claim 13, Vukovic discloses, wherein the UE device is further caused to: receive an adjusted WPT signal on the at least one beam in response to the transmitted received WPT power measurement information (Figures 1-4 and associated paragraphs, [26]-[27]).
As to claim 14, Vukovic discloses, wherein the UE device is further caused to: transmit the received WPT power measurement information to the at least one RAN node in response to UE channel changes (Figures 1-4 and associated paragraphs, [26]-[27]) .
Claims 15, 16, 17-20 correspond to the method claims of the RAN node claims 1, 2+3, 4-7 respectively; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in the RAN node claims 1, 2+3, 4-7 as shown above.
----------------------------------
The prior art cited in this Office action is: Vukovic US 2020/0313469 A1.
Other prior art of records having the same inventive concept with the instant application: ELSHAFIE et al. US 2022/0352751 A1; BELO et al. WO 2023/094000 A1; Davlantes et al. US patent No. 10,090,707 B2; Li et al. US 2022/0038165 A1.
Conclusion
/HAI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649