DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cameron (Pub. No.: 2017/0136193 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Cameron discloses the claimed controller (fig. 1: 102) for a suction apparatus (fig. 1: 100), that performs atomization processing of heating and atomizing an aerosol source in response to reception of an atomization request of the aerosol source (¶0068), comprising:
a processor (fig. 1: 102) configured to determine, for each of a plurality of elements used for the atomization processing (fig. 3: 202a/202b), whether a residual amount is below a predetermined threshold (fig. 14 display shows a level of each container); and
a display configured to display information for making a notification of a residual amount below the predetermined threshold for each of the plurality of elements (fig. 14: 1302 and 1310),
wherein the display is configured to display, even in a case where the processor determines residual amounts below the predetermined threshold for at least two elements among the plurality of elements, the information concerning one element selected from the at least two elements (fig. 14 shows each container level is displayed separately).
2) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine for each of the plurality of elements, whether the residual amount is below the predetermined threshold, based on whether the number of responses to the atomization request with a current residual amount is equal to or greater than the predetermined threshold (¶0127).
3) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the predetermined thresholds for at least two elements among the plurality of elements are set to different values (¶0127).
4) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the controller for the suction apparatus is detachably attached with an atomizer including a container configured to hold the aerosol source and a heater configured to heat the aerosol source in the container, the plurality of elements include a first element as a power supply configured to supply electric power to the heater and a second element as the aerosol source in the container, and a second threshold as the predetermined threshold for determining whether the residual amount of the second element is below the predetermined threshold is set to a value smaller than a first threshold as the predetermined threshold for determining whether the residual amount of the first element is below the predetermined threshold (fig. 3 and ¶0127).
5) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 10), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the controller for the suction apparatus is detachably attached with a capsule including a flavor source, the plurality of elements further include a third element as the flavor source in the capsule, and a third threshold as the predetermined threshold for determining whether the residual amount of the third element is insufficient is set to a value smaller than the second threshold (¶0174).
6) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller for the suction apparatus is detachably attached with an atomizer (fig. 1: 108) including a container configured to hold the aerosol source (fig. 1: 110) and a heater configured to heat the aerosol source (¶0062) in the container and with a capsule including a flavor source (¶0060), and the plurality of elements include at least two of a first element as a power supply configured to supply electric power to the heater, a second element as the aerosol source in the container, and a third element as the flavor source in the capsule (¶0069 and ¶0156).
7) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display is electronic paper (fig. 14).
8) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including a sleep mode, an active mode, an aerosol generation mode, and a charging mode, and controls display of the information differently in each mode (¶0124).
9) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor determines whether the residual amount is below the predetermined threshold by calculating a possible number of suctions remaining for each element and comparing the possible number of suctions to the predetermined threshold (¶0059).
10) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: maintain a notification array having elements corresponding to each of the plurality of elements; set values in the notification array to indicate residual amounts below predetermined thresholds; and select the one element based on the values in the notification array (¶0122).
11) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: prohibit supplying electric power to a heater when replacement of an atomizer or capsule is detected; and clear the display of information for residual amounts below predetermined threshold values when replacement is completed (¶0062).
12) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first display different from the display, wherein the first display displays residual amount information stepwise and consumes more power than the display (fig. 14 shows different displays wherein one display consumes more power than the other display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cameron (Pub. No.: 2017/0136193 A1) in view of Bache (Pat. No.: 11,160,936 B2).
1) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Cameron discloses the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 1.
Cameron does not explicitly disclose wherein in a case where the processor determines residual amounts below the predetermined threshold for at least two elements among the plurality of elements, the processor is configured to select the one element from the at least two elements in accordance with a predetermined condition concerning a priority order of displaying the information on the display.
However, Bache discloses it has been known for a suction device processor to determine a residual amount below a predetermined threshold for at least two elements among the plurality of elements, the processor is configured to select the one element from the at least two elements in accordance with a predetermined condition concerning a priority order of displaying the information on the display (col. 53, lines 34-48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the processor of Cameron to detect multiple elements and display the elements, as taught by Bache.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Cameron as described above in order to provide real-time data to a user of the device.
2) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Cameron and Bache further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that an element for which a time required for recovery of the residual amount is longer is preferentially selected as the one element from the at least two elements (Bache col. 53, lines 38-48).
3) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Cameron and Bache further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that an element that cannot be visually perceived by a user is preferentially selected as the one element from the at least two elements (Bache col. 53, lines 63-67 to col. 54, lines 1-9).
4) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 2), Cameron and Bache further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that an element whose degree of influence on a flavor of a gas generated by the atomization processing is higher is preferentially selected as the one element from the at least two elements (Bache col. 53, lines 63-67 to col. 54, lines 1-9).
5) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 2), Cameron and Bache further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that an element for which a timing of determining the residual amount is below the predetermined threshold is earlier is preferentially selected as the one element from the at least two elements (Bache col. 53, lines 38-48).
6) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 2), Cameron and Bache further disclose the controller for the suction apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in a case where the residual amount of the one element is recovered above the predetermined threshold, the processor is configured to control the display to display the information concerning another element of the at least two elements instead of the information concerning the one element (Bache col. 28, lines 20-39).
7) In regard to claim 19, claim 19 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
8) In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685