DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Chile on 12/7/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CL202203482 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. An attempt to electronically retrieve the documents failed on 5/7/2024. A certified copy of the foreign application should be filed with the next response to avoid processing delays.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carbaugh et al. (9,587,375) in view of Kidd (2003/0182761).
Regarding claim 20, Carbaugh et al. discloses a pin locking device comprising:
A pin (18) that connects with an ear (12) of the bucket (10) with the connection elements (14) of a padlock (16)
A removable retention mechanism (36) at one of the ends of the pin (18) to restrict the longitudinal movement of the pin
A fin (24) or retaining arm located at the other end of the pin, being arranged perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the pin, which comprises a rim that surrounds and joins said end of the pin and a fin edge portion (44) projecting from said edge
A bushing (32,34) between the pin (18) and the ear (12) of the bucket (10) and the connection elements of the lock (correct to read “padlock” for antecedent basis) which receives rotational friction; and
Retaining elements (26) that receive and engage with the edge portion (44) of the fin (24) so that said fin restricts the longitudinal and rotational movement of the pin
Where the retention elements (26) correspond to two guide straps/forked shaped piece (Carbaugh shows two “prongs” 26 that are considered the forked shape), installed in the upper front part of the bucket, on the outside of each connection of the bucket between an ear and the padlock (Figure 1), the guide straps being separated from each other so that it allows receiving and retaining the fin edge portion in which a separation distance of the guide straps is greater than a width of the end of the fin edge portion so that there is a play that allows a small movement of the fin between said guide straps without said fin being able to free itself from these, preventing the transfer of load, by restricting the movement of the pin, towards the retention elements, preventing them from detaching from the bucket (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 20, Carbaugh discloses that bushings are subject to wear in bucket and door connections of electric shovels. Carbaugh fails to specifically disclose monitoring for the degree of wear. Like Carbaugh, Kidd discloses hinged door connections that are subject to bushing wear. Unlike Carbaugh, Kidd discloses that wear is evidenced by sag of the door and misalignment of elements between the door and the frame (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to monitor for wear of the bushings in Carbaugh via misalignment of elements as taught by Kidd as it would be applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowed.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 20, Applicant argues that Kidd does not teach or suggest any wear indicator for monitoring and preventing wear of bushings. The examiner disagrees. Kidd disclose that sag in the door is an indicator of wear and indicates that a bushing should be replaced. The sagging of either end of the bucket would result in the door being skewed from the horizontal line of the bucket edge. When the bushings are new, the door and the bucket would align. When wear occurs, they would not align and the horizontal line of the bucket would not align with the door (the bucket edge being the reference line). There is insufficient structure/detail in the current claim to prevent this disclosure of monitoring a door for sag from reading on the claimed “wear indicator.”
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 4/7/2026, with respect to claim 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 21 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671