DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/10/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 26-28, 34-42, 46, 47, 49 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2004/0038022 to Maugans in view of USPN 5,470,639 to Gessner and (when necessary) further in view of USPAP 2005/0133174 to Gorley, USPAP 2006/0121099 to Solarek, and/or USPAP 2010/0222755 to Westwood.
Claims 21 and 51, Maugans discloses a method of forming an elastomeric nonwoven fabric web, the nonwoven fabric web consisting of a plurality blended staple fibers formed from a melt-blend of (i) a polymer and (ii) a polyolefin, wherein the polymer and the polyolefin are different (see entire document including [0002], [0026], [0038], [0042], [0240], [0249], [0251], [0253] and [0254]). Specifically, Maugans discloses that the fibers comprise a melt-blend of at least one polypropylene polymer and at least one ethylene polymer resulting in a nonwoven fabric web with high elongation ([0026], [0038] [0042] and [0251]).
Maugans discloses that the nonwoven may be used form a laminate and/or diaper ([0249] and [0253]) but Maugans does not appear to explicitly disclose the polypropylene being elastomeric or the claimed nonwoven/core/nonwoven construction. Gessner discloses a method of forming a diaper, comprising: (a) providing a first nonwoven outer layer; (b) providing a second nonwoven outer layer; (c) providing a core layer; (d) positioning the core layer between the first nonwoven outer layer and the second nonwoven outer layer to form a composite web; and (e) bonding the composite web to form a nonwoven fabric, wherein bonding the composite web to form the nonwoven fabric consists of mechanically bonding the first nonwoven outer layer, the second nonwoven outer layer, and the core laver together; wherein the first nonwoven outer layer and the second nonwoven outer layer may be the same and include a plurality of blended fibers comprising a blend of (i) a polymer and (ii) an elastomeric polyolefin (e.g. elastomeric polypropylene), wherein the polymer and the elastomeric polyolefin are different (see entire document including column 1, lines 6-19, column 5, line 28 through column 10, line 17 and the Examples). Gessner disclose that it is known in the art to vary fiber polymer chemistry and/or blend elastomeric with non-elastomeric polymers to provide elastic properties ranging from fully elastic to relatively low elasticity (column 6, lines 3-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the claimed nonwoven/core/nonwoven laminate (as taught by Gessner) using the nonwoven of Maugans as the nonwoven layers and with elastomeric polypropylene to provide a diaper with excellent stretch/elongation and resilience.
Claim 26, Gessner discloses that providing a core layer comprises depositing a plurality of core layer-fibers onto the first nonwoven outer layer (column 8, line 13 to column 9, line 19).
Claim 27, Gessner discloses that the plurality of core layer-fibers comprises cellulosic fibers (column 8, line 13 to column 9, line 19).
Claim 28, Gessner discloses that the plurality of core layer-fibers may consist of cellulosic fibers (column 8, line 13 to column 9, line 19).
Claim 34, Maugans does not mention the nonwoven fabric comprising cellulosic fibers.
Claim 35, the nonwoven layer of Maugans is devoid of cellulosic fibers (column 2, line 31 through column 3, line 14).
Claim 36, Maugans discloses that the plurality of blended staple fibers comprise from about 10 wt. % to about 75 wt. % of the polypropylene [0073].
Claim 37, Maugans discloses that the polyolefin comprises copolymers of propylene and ethylene [0026].
Claim 38, Maugans does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric comprising a liquid additive but Gorley and Solarek each disclose that it is known in the art to include a liquid additive to provide improved product function (see entire documents including [0005], [0006], [0012], [0013], and [0035] of Solarek and [0024], [0043], and [0044] of Gorley). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a liquid additive to improve product function.
Claim 39, the liquid additive comprises a lotion, a skin-cleaning, composition, or an antimicrobial composition ([0005], [0006], [0012], [0013], and [0035] of Solarek and [0024], [0043], and [0044] of Gorley).
Claim 40, Gessner discloses that bonding the composite web to form the nonwoven fabric comprises thermally bonding, mechanically bonding, or ultrasonically bonding the first nonwoven outer layer, the core layer, and the second nonwoven outer layer together (column 7, lines 22-35).
Claim 41, Maugans discloses that a total fiber content of the nonwoven layers consist of the plurality of blended fibers [0026] and Gessner discloses that the plurality of core layer-fibers may consist of cellulosic fibers (column 8, line 13 to column 9, line 19).
Claim 42, Maugans discloses that the polymer of the plurality of blended staple fibers of at least one of the first nonwoven outer layer and the second nonwoven outer layer comprises at least one of a polyolefin, a polyester, a polyamide, or combinations thereof [0026].
Claims 46 and 47, Maugans discloses that the fibers may be bicomponent fibers ([0242] and [0246]) but does not appear to mention the polymer comprising a biopolymer. Westwood discloses that it is known in the art to construct a nonwoven fabric with monocomponent or bicomponent fibers comprising PLA (see entire document including [0060], [0061] and [0102]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven layer of Maugans from any suitable polymer material, such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 49, Gessner discloses that mechanically bonding the composite web includes a hydroentangling operation (column 7, lines 22-35).
Claim 51, Maugans discloses depositing the nonwoven layer onto a moving collection belt ([0269] and Table 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that the applied prior art fails to teach or suggest forming a nonwoven/core/nonwoven composite in which the only bonding mechanism used to bond the composite layers to each other is mechanical bonding. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Gessner discloses a nonwoven/core/nonwoven structure and discloses that the plies may be bonded together by just hydroentangling (column 7, lines 22-35 and column 8, line 13 through column 9, line 30).
The applicant asserts that the currently claimed nonwoven fabric (comprising a first nonwoven/core/second nonwoven structure) is devoid of thermal bonds and that the nonwoven of Maugans is thermally bonded. Applicant’s argument is not commensurate in scope with the current claims. The current claims do not require the first nonwoven or second nonwoven be devoid of thermal bonds. Rather, claim 1 states that the core layer is positioned between the first and second nonwoven layers to form a composite web and then the composite web is bonded only be mechanical bonding. Thus, claim 1 does not limit the structure of the first or second nonwoven (e.g. a thermally bonded first and second nonwoven) but rather only limits the method in which the first and second nonwoven are bonded to the core layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789