DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
Breadth of a claim is not to be equated with indefiniteness. In re Miller, 441 F.2d 689, 169 USPQ 597 (CCPA 1971); In re Gardner, 427 F.2d 786, 788, 166 USPQ 138, 140 (CCPA 1970) ("Breadth is not indefiniteness."). A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph / (b)
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-01.2024]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B [R-01-2024], which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10-2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim).
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1 and 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “some” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “some” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 6-24, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome this issue and are similarly rejected.
The term “smaller” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smaller” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “shorter” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “shorter” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Response to traversal
Applicant’s representative, at page 8 of the response of 23 January 2026, hereinafter the response, traverses the rejection of claim 1 for being indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “some”. As asserted to therein:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "at least some of the plurality of template nucleic acid molecules" is not indefinite in the context of the invention. A person of ordinary skill in the art of large-scale nucleic acid sequencing would understand that it is a technical reality that sequencing primers and polymerases may not bind to every template molecule in an assay. The term "some" is used to reflect this reality, meaning a non-zero quantity.
This argument has been fully considered and has not been found persuasive. Attention is directed to MPEP 2145 I [R-01.2024].
An argument by the applicant is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art.
Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of applicant statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Admissions as Prior Art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2129 Admissions as Prior Art [R-07.2022], which states in part:
I. ADMISSIONS BY APPLICANT CONSTITUTE PRIOR ART
A statement by an applicant in the specification or made during prosecution identifying the work of another as "prior art" is an admission which can be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations, regardless of whether the admitted prior art would otherwise qualify as prior art under the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 102. Riverwood Int’l Corp. v. R.A. Jones & Co., 324 F.3d 1346, 1354, 66 USPQ2d 1331, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 848 F.2d 1560, 1570, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1063 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Where the admitted prior art anticipates the claim but does not qualify as prior art under any of the paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102, the claim may be rejected as being anticipated by the admitted prior art without citing to 35 U.S.C. 102.
Attention is also directed to Ex parte Shirley, (BPAI, 2009) Appeal No. 2009002352, which, at pages 21 and 26, states:
The Specification’s omission of the term “prior art” and inclusion of the prior-art disclaimer may initially appear to indicate that Appellants do not consider the single-step soft bake process to constitute prior art. To place these latter, contraindicative factors into the proper context though, we note that patent-application drafters regularly endeavor to avoid the indiscriminate or imprudent use of the descriptive label, “prior art.” See Riverwood Intern. Corp. v. R.A. Jones & Co., Inc., 324 F.3d 1346, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (citing In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 300 (CCPA 1982)) for the proposition that “section 102 is not the only source of … prior art. Valid prior art may be created by the admissions of the parties”); In re Nomiya, 509 F.2d 566, 571 (CCPA 1975) (holding that an Applicant’s labeling of certain figures as “prior art,” ipsissimis verbis, constituted an admission that the pictured subject matter was prior art relative to Applicant’s invention); MPEP § 21294 (instructing that “the examiner must determine whether the subject matter identified as ‘prior art’ is applicant’s own work, or the work of another. In the absence of another credible explanation, examiners should treat such subject matter as the work of another”).
***
The Specification’s omission of the term “prior art” and inclusion of the boilerplate prior-art disclaimer do not change our conclusion. In view of the record as a whole, these factors are ineffective in shielding Appellants from having their prior-art admissions treated as such.
Standard for Obviousness.
Attention is directed to In re Jung, 98 USPQ2d 1174, 1178 (Fed. Cir. 2011) wherein is stated:
There has never been a requirement for an examiner to make an on-the-record claim construction of every term in every rejected claim and to explain every possible difference between the prior art and the claimed invention in order to make out a prima facie rejection. This court declines to create such a burdensome and unnecessary requirement. “[Section 132] does not mandate that in order to establish prima facie anticipation, the PTO must explicitly preempt every possible response to a section 102 rejection. Section 132 merely ensures that an applicant at least be informed of the broad statutory basis for the rejection of his claims, so that he may determine what the issues are on which he can or should produce evidence.” Chester, 906 F.2d at 1578 (internal citation omitted). As discussed above, all that is required of the office to meet its prima facie burden of production is to set forth the statutory basis of the rejection and the reference or references relied upon in a sufficiently articulate and informative manner as to meet the notice requirement of § 132. As the statute itself instructs, the examiner must “notify the applicant,” “stating the reasons for such rejection,” “together with such information and references as may be useful in judging the propriety of continuing prosecution of his application.” 35 U.S.C. § 132.
Attention is directed to the decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007):
When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
It is further noted that prior art is not limited to the four corners of the documentary prior art being applied. Prior art includes both the specialized understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art, and the common understanding of the layman. It includes “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art. . . [A] court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1396.
Suggestion, teaching or motivation does not have to be explicit and “may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole or the nature of the problem itself’” Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc. 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007) citing Dystar Textilfarben GMBH v. C. H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1 and 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0103093 A1 (Wong et al.) in view of US 2012/0184449 Al (Hixon et al.), US 2015/0100247 A1 (Koller et al.) and applicant’s admissions.
Wong et al., paragraph [0106], teach:
[0106] According to various exemplary embodiments, there may be provided a method for correcting nucleotide incorporation signals for fluid potential effects or disturbances arising in nucleic acid sequencing-by-synthesis, comprising: (a) disposing a plurality of template polynucleotide strands in a plurality of defined spaces disposed on a sensor array, at least some of the template polynucleotide strands having a sequencing primer and a polymerase bound therewith; (b) exposing the template polynucleotide strands with the sequencing primer and a polymerase bound therewith to a series of flows of nucleotide species flowed according to a predetermined ordering through a fluid manifold, the fluid manifold comprising passages for flowing nucleotide species and a branch passage for flowing a solution not comprising nucleotide species, the branch passage comprising a reference electrode and a sensing electrode; (c) obtaining a plurality of nucleotide incorporation signals corresponding to the plurality of defined spaces, the nucleotide incorporation signals having a signal intensity related to a number of nucleotide incorporations having occurred in the corresponding defined space; and (d) correcting at least some of the plurality of nucleotide incorporation signals for fluid potential effects or disturbances using a mathematical transformation comprising a scale factor determined based on signals obtained from the sensing electrode for each of a plurality of regions of defined spaces on the sensor array. (Emphasis added)
While Wong et al., teach of having a series of flows so to bring nucleotides to the array so that they could be incorporated and detected, they have not been found to teach cleavage of the label.
Hixon et al., at paragraph [0093], teach:
Sequencing of the forward strands is initiated by hybridizing a primer complementary to the adapter sequences, which is followed by addition of polymerase and a mixture of four differently colored fluorescent reversible dye terminators. The terminators are incorporated according to sequence complementarity in each strand in a clonal cluster. After incorporation, excess reagents are washed away, the clusters are optically interrogated, and the fluorescence is recorded. With successive chemical steps, the reversible dye terminators are unblocked, the fluorescent labels are cleaved and washed away, and the next sequencing cycle is performed. (Emphasis added)
The aspect of performing “the next sequencing cycle” is deemed to fairly finishing the first or prior cycle, and repeating the introduction of labeled nucleotides that may be incorporated, and that such finishing and repeating of cycles are repeated until the length of the target nucleic acid is determined.
Hixon et al., at paragraph [0100], teach:
[0100] Another nucleic acid sequencing technology that may be used in the methods described herein is the chemical-sensitive field effect transistor (CHEMFET) array. In one example of this sequencing technique, DNA molecules are placed into reaction chambers, and the template molecules can be hybridized to a sequencing primer bound to a polymerase. Incorporation of one or more triphosphates into a new nucleic acid strand at the 3' end of the sequencing primer can be detected by a change in current by a CHEMFET sensor. An array can have multiple CHEMFET sensors.
Neither Wong et al., and Hixon et al., have been found to disclose performing nucleic acid sequencing where the labeling reagent comprises a 3’-O-blocked reversible terminator.
Koller et al., at paragraph [0040], teach:
As an additional example, reversible terminators also may be utilized. Such terminators may include 3'-O-blocked reversible terminators and 3'-unblocked reversible terminators. Suitable 3'-O-blocked reversible terminators may include a terminating group linked to the oxygen atom of the 3' hydroxyl of the pentose. Several commercially available terminators of this type may be utilized in different implementations, including but not limited to 3'-ONH.sub.2 reversible terminators, 3'-O-allyl reversible terminators, and 3'-O-azidomethy reversible terminators. (Emphasis added)
The above showing is deemed to fairly suggest limitations of claims 1, 6, 7, 8, and 14-20.
Applicant, at paragraph [060], on page 12, bridging to page 13, of the disclosure, asserts:
Depending on the type of terminator selected, the particular polymerase 118 selected for use in the processes performed by system 100 may vary. That is, the type of nucleotide analog selected for the nucleic acid sequencing may impact the type of DNA polymerase 118 that will yield the optimal efficiency. For example, in one embodiment, the Lightening Terminators™ may be selected for use as the terminator, and the Therminator™ DNA polymerase developed for use with the Lightening Terminators TM may be utilized to optimize efficiency. Additional details related to terminator chemistry are provided in International Application No. PCT/ US 2016/023139, the contents of which are incorporated by reference herein in their entirety. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 16, paragraph [070], asserts:
[070) Although various embodiments of the present teachings may advantageously be used in connection with pH-based sequence detection, as described herein and in Rothberg et al., U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. Nos. 2009/0127589 and 2009/0026082 and Rothberg et al., U.K. Pat. Appl. Publ. No. GB2461127, which are all incorporated by reference herein in their entirety, for example, the present teachings may also be used with other detection approaches, including the detection of pyrophosphate (PPi) released by the incorporation reaction (see, e.g., U.S. Pat. Nos. 6,210,891; 6,258,568; and 6,828,100); various fluorescence-based sequencing instrumentation (see, e.g., U.S. Pat. Nos. 7,211,390; 7,244,559; and 7,264,929); some sequencing-by-synthesis techniques that can detect labels associated with the nucleotides, such as mass tags, fluorescent, and/or chemiluminescent labels (in which case an inactivation step may be included in the workflow (e.g., by chemical cleavage or photobleaching) prior to the next cycle of synthesis and detection); and more generally methods where an incorporation reaction generates or results in a product or constituent with a property capable of being monitored and used to detect the incorporation event, including, for example, changes in magnitude (e.g., heat) or concentration (e.g., pyrophosphate and/or hydrogen ions), and signal (e.g., fluorescence, chemiluminescence, light generation), in which cases the amount of the detected product or constituent may be monotonically related to the number of incorporation events, for example. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 12, paragraph [060] of the disclosure asserts:
As an additional example, reversible terminators also may be utilized. Such terminators may include 3'-O-blocked reversible terminators and 3'-unblocked reversible terminators. Suitable 3' -O-blocked reversible terminators may include a terminating group linked to the oxygen atom of the 3' hydroxyl of the pentose. Several commercially available terminators of this type may be utilized in different implementations, including but not limited to 3'-ONH2 reversible terminators, 3' -O-allyl reversible terminators, and 3' -O-azidomethy reversible terminators. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 17, paragraph [071], asserts:
[071] Further, exemplary embodiments disclosed herein provide different patterns or orders of reagent flows that are designed to maximize throughput while minimizing phase errors... Various nucleotide flow orders are discussed or contemplated in Hubbell et al., U.S. Pat. 9,428,807, issued August 30, 2016, the contents of which are incorporated by reference herein in their entirety. (Emphasis added)
The selection of the order of nucleotides being presented for possible incorporation for the first and second nucleotide species is deemed to constitute an obvious design choice in view of the teachings of “Hubbell et al., U.S. Pat 9,428,807, issued August 30, 2016”. Similarly, the concentrations of nucleotides for possible incorporation is deemed to be a matter of both routine optimization and an obvious design choice.
It is well settled that routine optimization is not patentable, even if it results in significant improvements over the prior art. In support of this position, attention is directed to the decision in In re Aller, Lacey, and Hall, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955):
Normally, it is to be expected that a change in temperature, or in concentration, or in both, would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art. In re Dreyfus, 22 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 830, 73 F.2d 931, 24 USPQ 52; In re Waite et al., 35 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1117, 168 F.2d 104, 77 USPQ 586. Such ranges are termed "critical" ranges, and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality. In re Swenson et al., 30 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 809, 132 F.2d 1020, 56 USPQ 372; In re Scherl, 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1193, 156 F.2d 72, 70 USPQ 204. However, even though applicant's modification results in great improvement and utility over the prior art, it may still not be patentable if the modification was within the capabilities of one skilled in the art. In re Sola, 22 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1313, 77 F.2d 627, 25 USPQ 433; In re Normann et al., 32 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1248, 150 F.2d 708, 66 USPQ 308; In re Irmscher, 32 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1259, 150 F.2d 705, 66 USPQ 314. More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Swain et al., 33 C.C.P.A. (Patents) 1250, 156 F.2d 239, 70 USPQ 412; Minnesota Mining and Mfg. Co. v. Coe, 69 App. D.C. 217, 99 F.2d 986, 38 USPQ 213; Allen et al. v. Coe, 77 App. D. C. 324, 135 F.2d 11, 57 USPQ 136. (Emphasis added)
In view of the above presentation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the methods of Wong et al., Hixon et al., and Koller et al., so to incorporate the use of labeled nucleotides where different nucleotides comprised different cleavable labels with reversible terminators for to do so would impart greater control over which nucleotide(s) are being rendered free of labels and would, in turn, be available for additional rounds of nucleotide incorporation.
The selection of which nucleotide species that is to have its label removed first, second, third, fourth, fifth sixth, etc., is deemed to be an obvious design choice. It is further noted that when as here one is attempting to determine the order or sequence of nucleotides in a target nucleic acid, it stands to reason that one would wish to remove the label from that first incorporated so as to permit the inclusion/incorporation of second, third, etc., nucleotides. In recognition of DNA comprising four different nucleotides, it stands to reason that one would selectively remove the cleavable associated label in the order presented for to do so would allow for the inclusion/incorporation of each nucleotide, and the detection of each as they are incorporated, yet the removal of each label of a previously-incorporated nucleotide such that the signal from prior labels does not corrupt the nucleotide order being determined.
As evidenced above, the methods of nucleotide sequencing were well known, as were the use of detectable and cleavable moieties. In addition, applicant has asserted that method of using terminator chemistry was well known in the art as were methods of pH-based sequence detection, and also that of flow order.
In view of such a well-developed state of the art, said ordinary artisan would have had a most reasonable expectation of success.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1 and 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0103093 A1 (Wong et al.) in view of US 2012/0184449 Al (Hixon et al.), US 2015/0100247 A1 (Koller et al.) and applicant’s admissions.
Response to traversal
Applicant’s representative, at pages 9-10 of the response, traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103(a).
As seen at page 9 of the response argument is focused on the teachings of Hixon. These arguments have been considered and have not been found persuasive for the rejection was not based solely on the teachings of Hixon. As evidenced above, the rejection was based on the combination of US 2016/0103093 A1 (Wong et al.) in view of US 2012/0184449 Al (Hixon et al.), US 2015/0100247 A1 (Koller et al.) and applicant’s admissions.
At page 10 of the response argument is presented that the rejection was improperly based on admissions of applicant and that such assertions constitute impermissible hindsight. This argument has been considered and has not been found persuasive towards the withdrawal of the rejection. In support of this position attention is directed to MPEP 2129 Admissions as Prior Art [R-07.2022].
I. ADMISSIONS BY APPLICANT CONSTITUTE PRIOR ART
A statement by an applicant in the specification or made during prosecution identifying the work of another as "prior art" is an admission which can be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations, regardless of whether the admitted prior art would otherwise qualify as prior art under the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 102. Riverwood Int’l Corp. v. R.A. Jones & Co., 324 F.3d 1346, 1354, 66 USPQ2d 1331, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 848 F.2d 1560, 1570, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1063 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Where the admitted prior art anticipates the claim but does not qualify as prior art under any of the paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102, the claim may be rejected as being anticipated by the admitted prior art without citing to 35 U.S.C. 102.
II. DISCUSSION OF PRIOR ART IN SPECIFICATION
Where the specification identifies work done by another as "prior art," the subject matter so identified is treated as admitted prior art. In re Nomiya, 509 F.2d 566, 571, 184 USPQ 607, 611 (CCPA 1975) (holding applicant’s labeling of two figures in the application drawings as "prior art" to be an admission that what was pictured was prior art relative to the claimed improvement).
In the present case, it is noted that the passages cited identified prior art. It was because of this identification that the admissions / characterization of such prior art was relied upon.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1 and 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0103093 A1 (Wong et al.) in view of US 2012/0184449 Al (Hixon et al.), US 2015/0100247 A1 (Koller et al.) and applicant’s admissions.
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682