DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final office action addressing reissue application 18/530,628 (“the ‘628 Reissue Application" or "reissue application") responsive to the Amendment and Arguments dated 4/23/2026. The ‘628 Reissue Application is a reissue application from original U.S. Application No. 16/716,813, hereinafter (the ‘813 Application) which was allowed as US Patent No. 11,194,466 (hereinafter “the ‘466 patent”) on December 7, 2021.
U.S. Patent Application 16/716,813 claims foreign priority to DE 10 2018 132 794.3, filed 12/19/2018.
A certified copy of the Foreign Priority document is found in the prosecution file of US patent application 16/716,813.
Because the instant reissue application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act ("AIA ") will govern this reissue proceeding and all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions. 37 CFR 1.171 through 1.178 are rules directed to reissue.
Because the effective filing date of the related original patent application (16/716,813) that the reissue application is based on is on or after March 16, 2013, the AIA First Inventor to File ("AIA -FITF") provisions do apply.
The broadening reissue application 18/530,628 is timely filed (12/6/2023) based on filing within two years of the issue date of US 11,194,466 (12/7/2021).
Litigation
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which US 11,189,218 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application. These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Based on Examiner's independent review of US 11,194,466 and the prosecution history, no ongoing proceeding before the office or current ongoing litigation involving the US 11,194,466 patent is found. Also, based upon the Examiner's independent review of the patent itself and the prosecution history, the Examiner cannot locate any previous reexaminations, supplemental examinations, or certificates of correction. The original patent issued with claims 1-20 ("Patented Claims").
Prosecution History
The parent application (the ‘813 application), was originally filed on 12/17/2019.
On 12/9/2020, the claims were initially rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowman et al., U.S. Publication No. 2017/0330479.
On 3/9/2021, the claims were substantially amended to further recite the segmentation of the image and simultaneous nature of the input.
On 6/4/2021, the amended claims were rejected as being anticipated by Jung et al., U.S. Publication No. 2014/0006033.
On 9/7/2021, the claims were further amended (see below) which led to the 10/12/2021 notice of allowance.
The below underlined elements were added to the claim during prosecution of the ‘813 application:
1. A method for entering commands into an electronic device, the method comprising the steps of:
displaying an image on a touch-sensitive display unit of the electronic device such that a fingertip of a user's finger is movable over at least a partial area of the displayed image, the electronic device having a speech recognition unit by means of which acoustic inputs into the electronic device are recognized;
receiving a selection made with the fingertip of the user of the electronic device on at least a segment of an image displayed on the touch-sensitive display unit;
receiving an acoustic input with the speech recognition unit of the electronic device and subjecting at least the selected segment of the image to image analysis after receiving the acoustic input; and
generating a command for the electronic device or carrying out an action on the electronic device only if the fingertip is on at least the selected segment of the image and the acoustic input is received simultaneously which command or action has been shown or symbolized on the display unit, and/or runs a program on the electronic device as a result of the image analysis and displays information about at least the selected segment of the image on the display unit as a result of the image analysis.
Oath / Declaration
The reissue oath/declaration filed 4/23/2026 is accepted.
Claim Objections
In the 4/23/2026 amendment Patent Owner appears to amend several claims without describing them as “amended new”, nor providing specific support for the amendment as is required by reissue practice under 37 C.F.R. 1.173 (c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghassabian, Patent No. 9,158,388 and Son et al., Publication No. 2016/0154624, hereinafter Son.
With regard to claims 1, 11, and 17, which teach “A method for entering commands into an electronic device,” Ghassabian teaches a system and method for entering commands into a device comprising a user interfaces, where commands are entered by a combination of touch and speech input (see paragraph 4, liens 8-30).
With regard to claims 1, 11, and 17, which teach “the method comprising the steps of: displaying an image on a touch-sensitive display unit of the electronic device such that a fingertip of a finger of a user is movable over at least a partial area of the displayed image, the electronic device having a speech recognition unit by means of which acoustic inputs into the electronic device are recognized;” Ghassabian teaches providing a touch sensitive screen displaying an onscreen keyboard where the user is enabled to make a selection, via a user’s finger, stylus, etc., over partial area of the entire displayed image (key and or surrounding keys). (see 26:32-50 and 27:9-15)
With regard to claims 1, 11, and 17, which teach “receiving a selection made with the fingertip of the user of the electronic device on at least a segment of an image displayed on the touch-sensitive display unit; receiving an acoustic input with the speech recognition unit of the electronic device and subjecting at least the selected segment of the image to image analysis after receiving the acoustic input; and”, Ghassabian teaches receiving a user selection of an area of the display providing a subset of selectable options (e.g. ‘h’, ‘j’, ‘y’, ‘u’) and receiving an input from a user audibly speaking a letter intended to be entered (e.g. saying ‘h’). (see 26:32-27:16) This audio input is processed via voice recognition software. (see 28:20-30)
With regard to claims 1, 11, and 17, which teach “generating a command for the electronic device or carrying out an action on the electronic device only if the fingertip is on at least the selected segment of the image and the acoustic input is received simultaneously which command or action has been shown or symbolized on the display unit, and/or runs a program on the electronic device as a result of the image analysis and displays information about at least the selected segment of the image on the display unit as a result of the image analysis”, Ghassabian teaches generating a command, via program code, for entry into the text entry system when a finger is on an impact zone comprising a few potential character entry candidates and a user audibly states one of the characters in the impact zone, while the impact zone is pressed. (see 26:55-27:16 and 19:31-43) Following selection confirmation is displayed on the screen and / or audibly provided to the user.
Though the keypad displayed on the touchscreen is known to one of ordinary skill in the art as an ‘image’, Ghassabian doesn’t specifically describe it as such. Son teaches a system for using a combination of touch and voice input to perform an action, similar to that of Ghassabian, but further specifically teaches operation being performed on an image where the specific area of an image the user’s press is over is used in combination with a spoken command to generate input (see paragraphs 202-208). Here for example a specific area touched on a map can be segmented out and identified by coordinate information to be used to send to a user, via a coded program, using text or email software. Alternately, an image can be selected parsed for persons in the image, information about those images found, and the system enabling the user to selectively send, via a coded program, the image to those individuals, via a text or email program. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the image data with embedded date of Son in the system of Ghassabian, as this is likely how Ghassabian operates without explicitly noting so.
With regard to claims 2, 12, and 18, which teach “the step of subjecting comprises segmenting at least the selected segment of the image as a result of the image analysis and displaying objects recognized by the image analysis on the display unit”; Ghassabian further teaches after segmenting the set of all keys (‘a’ – ‘z’, ‘1’-‘0’, etc.), in to the segment including those keys in the impact zone (e.g. ‘h’, ‘j’, ‘y’, ‘u’), and receiving verbal input confirming an area of that zone (e.g. ‘h’, ‘hello’), further segmenting out the desired key and outputting objects recognized through the image analysis (e.g. ‘h’, ‘hello’, ‘elllo’, etc.). (see 26:55-27:16 and 19:31-43)
With regard to claim 3, which teaches “wherein, during said step of receiving an acoustic input, the speech recognition unit responds to a plurality of predefinable or teachable inputs”; Ghassabian further teaches using speech recognition to aid in input through predefined language database while allowing for further correction of unrecognized words. (see 27:16-28-30).
With regard to claim 4, which teaches “further comprising the step of assigning predetermined acoustic inputs to selectable areas on the display unit such that the action associated with each of the selectable areas is carried out only after the assigned predetermined acoustic input is received”; Ghassabian further teaches assigned regions to different keys with associated assigned acoustic information. (see 4:16-30)
With regard to claim 5, which teaches “further comprising the step of optically changing the selectable areas or at least the selected one of the selectable areas when the pointer sweeps over it”; Ghassabian further teaches a gliding action effecting changes to the selectable areas and providing input (see 21:3-45)
With regard to claim 6, which teaches “wherein the selected one of the selectable areas is or remains displayed on the display unit regardless of the action taken or initiated”; Ghassabian further teaches the original keypad, the selected zone, and the final key all remaining displayed through selection (supra).
With regard to claim 7, which teaches “wherein, during said step of receiving an acoustic input, the speech recognition unit responds only to a plurality of predefinable or teachable inputs”; Ghassabian further teaches using speech recognition to aid in input through predefined language database while allowing for further correction of unrecognized words. (see 27:16-28-30).
With regard to claim 8, which teaches “further comprising the step of assigning predetermined acoustic inputs to selectable areas on the display unit such that the action associated with each of the selectable areas is carried out only after the assigned predetermined acoustic input is received”; Ghassabian further teaches assigned regions to different keys with associated assigned acoustic information. (see 4:16-30)
With regard to claim 9, which teaches “further comprising the step of optically changing the selectable areas or at least the selected one of the selectable areas when the fingertip sweeps over it”; Ghassabian further teaches a gliding action effecting changes to the selectable areas and providing input. (see 21:3-45)
With regard to claim 10, which teaches “wherein the selected one of the selectable areas is or remains displayed on the display unit regardless of the action taken or initiated”; Ghassabian further teaches the original keypad, the selected zone, and the final key all remaining displayed through selection. (supra)
With regard to claims 13 and 19, which further teach “wherein the information about at least the selected segment of the image comprises a display of recognized objects the objects are displayed with further information”,
Ghassabian further teaches after segmenting the set of all keys (‘a’ – ‘z’, ‘1’-‘0’, etc.), into the segment including those keys in the impact zone (e.g. ‘h’, ‘j’, ‘y’, ‘u’), and receiving verbal input confirming an area of that zone (e.g. ‘h’, ‘hello’), further segmenting out the desired key and outputting objects recognized through the image analysis (e.g. ‘h’, ‘hello’, ‘elllo’, etc.). (see 26:55-27:16 and 19:31-43) Ghassabian further teaches presenting options for the potential output objects and then the associated output recognized through the image analysis (e.g. for ‘h’, present ‘hello’, ‘elllo’, etc. and for ‘t’, present ‘text’ ‘ext’, etc.). (see 26:55-27:16 and 19:31-43)
Son further teaches an operation being performed on an image where the specific area of an image the user’s press is over is used in combination with a spoken command to generate input that then provides an output on the screen of additional information (see paragraphs 202-208 and 216-218). Here information about a user in the picture can be provided, a confirmation of a message sent can be provide, etc.
With regard to claim 14, which further teaches “wherein the image on the touch-sensitive display unit represents a photo”, Son further teaches in paragraph 208, the image representing a photo (image of a map / key).
With regard to claim 15, which further teaches “wherein the image on the touch-sensitive display unit represents a photo without active areas”, Son further teaches in paragraph 208, the image representing a photo, without active areas.
With regard to claim 16, which further teaches “wherein the information about at least the selected segment is a webpage”, Ghassabian further teaches revealing information about a webpage. (19:1-50) Son further teaches executing another application (see paragraph 208) via revealed information.
With regard to claim 20, which further teaches “wherein the image on the touch-sensitive display unit represents a photo”, Son further teaches in paragraph 208, the image representing a photo, without active areas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Patent Owner argues that Ghassabian does not “teach or suggest an ‘image analysis” and further does not show “subjecting at least the selected segment of the image to image analysis after receiving the acoustic input.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that Ghassabian teaches generating a command, via program code, for entry into the text entry system when a finger is on an impact zone comprising a few potential character entry candidates and a user audibly states one of the characters in the impact zone, while the impact zone is pressed. (see 26:55-27:16 and 19:31-43) Following selection confirmation is displayed on the screen and / or audibly provided to the user.
Here the user’s touch is in an area corresponding to multiple keys, where the “system may consider at least some of the neighboring keys” as an intended input (26:32-42). Here there is a form of partial input selection where a user’s finger is on a zone of the display (13101-13104 from figure 7), this zone alone is not sufficient for determining intended entry, so a user follows up with an acoustic input specifying a character of the perspective group in which they intend. Here after the user receives the acoustic input a determination is made as to which of the displayed optional characters the user intends.
As the rejection sets forth, the Examiner submits that Ghassabian is being combined with Son for the feature of image analysis. Son teaches a system for using a combination of touch and voice input to perform an action, similar to that of Ghassabian, but further specifically teaches operation being performed on an image where the specific area of an image the user’s press is over is used in combination with a spoken command to generate input (see paragraphs 202-208). Here for example a specific area touched on a map can be segmented out and identified by coordinate information to be used to send to a user, via a coded program, using text or email software. Alternately, an image can be selected parsed for persons in the image, information about those images found, and the system enabling the user to selectively send, via a coded program, the image to those individuals, via a text or email program.
Here with Son there is nothing to analyze pre-acoustic input. Only after a user states a command does the system know how to analyze the location of press, whether that be to determine a location on a map or to transmit content to a person in an image.
Patent Owner argues that the references lack “subjecting at least the selected segment of the image to image analysis after receiving the acoustic input.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the PO is presenting invention as a system / method where all the analysis is done after the acoustic input, turning the ‘466 specification, this is simply not the case.
FROM THE ‘466 PATENT:
The smartphone 11 is equipped with an acoustic speech recognition unit, which may be designed as a program. If the user selects the control panel 5 he desires with his fingertip 18, there is initially no reaction. An image analysis takes place, which recognizes the presence of four control panels 1, 2, 4, 5 in the area 19 touched. The smartphone then waits for an acoustic input 21, for example the word “FIVE,” which is linked to the control panel 5. It is thus made completely clear that even though the control panels 1, 2, 4, 5 were touched, only the control panel 5 was actually intended. The corresponding stored command can then be executed. The command is, in fact, only carried out when the control panel 5 is touched, and the appropriate acoustic command “FIVE” is given so that incorrect operations are prevented.
The claims read in view of the specification make clear the level to which some analysis is done prior to acoustic input and some is done after. This is the case in the ‘466 Patent and in the combination of Ghassabian and Son.
Patent Owner argues that Son is silent about the mechanism by which the coordinates are derived from the map.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that a specific mechanism is not claimed just that the image is analyzed and an output is produced. Son notes in paragraph 206, that the coordinates information (“latitude and longitude”) indicate by the marker are determined.
Summary
Claims 1-20 are REJECTED.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS G BONSHOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 Conferees:
/B. James Peikari/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992